Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭MOTM

James o donoghue out for 6 months. Shoulder op. We'll need gooch and tommy for the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭MOTM

James o donoghue out for 6 months. Shoulder op. We'll need gooch and tommy for the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

MOTM wrote: »

6 months seems to be a very long time for that but anyway, hope it doesnt effect him next year.

Gooch wont play until March, not sure about Tommy either. i think Division 1 will be a scrap for survival next year anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

6 months seems to be a very long time for that but anyway, hope it doesnt effect him next year.

Gooch wont play until March, not sure about Tommy either. i think Division 1 will be a scrap for survival next year anyway.

He is as well off to take the 6 months and make sure it's fixed for the long term.

It's going to be a very tough division, you have Monaghan and Donegal replacing Kildare and Westmeath

Depending on injuries, form, bad luck etc all except Dublin could find themselves in a scrap for survival, and in such a small competition the difference between relegation and survival can be tiny.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I would guess he had that torn meniscus thing and has elected to go for the surgery to get it fixed totally.

You can try and manage that injury by just popping the shoulder back in and hoping for the best, but every time it pops then the meniscus tears a bit more and you get more and more susceptible to it, so best to get it fixed up properly during downtime.

If anything we're going to struggle to get forwards the amount of game time they need in the league this year so this really isn't that bad a thing.

Still likely picking from:

Paul Geaney, Michael Geaney, Stephen O'Brien, Kieran O'Leary, Buckley, Darran Sullivan, Donnchadh, BJK, Jonathan Lyne - and that's only guys from this year's championship panel.

There's obviously a ****load more to add in there like Tommy, Conor Cox, Daithi Casey, Gavan O'Grady, Conor Keane and I'm sure a whole heap more, including obviously Return of El Goocho in March.

Enjoy the break is what I'd be saying to James!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Any idea why Stacks v Balloncollig is in Tralee when Crokes v Castlehaven was in Kilarney last year too?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Any idea why Stacks v Balloncollig is in Tralee when Crokes v Castlehaven was in Kilarney last year too?

Luck of the draw. There is no home or away agreements regarding club championships. It depends on what club comes out of hat first.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Luck of the draw. There is no home or away agreements regarding club championships. It depends on what club comes out of hat first.

Ok thanks, learn something everyday.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

JOD has had trouble with his shoulder since his minor days I believe - with the trouble it caused him this year, I half expected him to be out for a bit of the league but 6 months was a bit of a shock.

Main thing is that he does the recovery/rehab right and comes back stronger. Again, I'm sure Eamon will be happy to go through the league trying fellas out and building a team for championship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

https://twitter.com/Brennan_PB/status/529941211235504128

anyone get the Kerryman yet to see what the story on this was?

would any of the Stacks team be good enough now to make the step up, at least to the panel next year?

Donaghy is the obvious one, anybody else? would Bohane will be in with a shout of getting back in?

would any of the Stacks team be good enough now to make the step up, at least to the panel next year?

Donaghy is the obvious one, anybody else? would Bohane will be in with a shout of getting back in?

I don't really think any of them are likely to shake up the current panel.

Shanahan was a brilliant centre back coming through a few years ago - has he progressed or fallen back?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Fearghal McNamara is a serious footballer. A bit small and inexperienced, but reads the game really well.

Shane O'Callaghan is a great footballer as well, but very light. Not speedy/physical enough to play anywhere except Centre Forward (a la Cooper) as of yet, but could develop more physically and make the step up.

Both were on the extended panel this year and should play in the league this year if Stacks don't get the the Club Final.

Greg Horan and Conor Jordan, were decent minors, so they could make it in a few years.

Not sure if the boat has sailed for Shane Carroll/Guthrie/Shanahan, all talented footballers.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭JessePinkman

Fergal McNamara & Shane O Callaghan will defo be part of the league panel.

I'd also be expecting to see Barry Shanahan,Shane Carroll & Pa McCarthy in the McGrath Cup

I don't think those guys are as good as what's there already, besides probably Fergal McNamara who has the best chance of forcing a way in.

The forwards named I would give no chance to. They weren't in this year, next year the forward line will be stronger if anything and there's some extremely good minors who will be knocking around the place as well.

All good players at club level but not good enough for the current Kerry forward set-up.

I see a Glenbeigh/Glencar player got a 48 week ban for playing in the 7's tournament on the weekend of the All Ireland with an English side despite being registered with Glenbeigh.

Its a fúcking disgrace IMO that a guy, who's only crime is to tog out with his local club in England in a small time tournament gets nearly a year out of the game!

Fadó Fadó, my father got a year ban from all GAA activities for fielding an overage player in an u14's Hurling competition in Kerry.The player told him he was the right age, but it turned out he was a few weeks outside the age bracket, and a selector from a completely different team (not even in the same division), reported it to the county board.

My father practically ran the team on his own, he went around in the car and collected all the lads for training and matches, he financed a lot of the gear himself and organized trips to Kerry Hurling matches, organizing friendly games against teams in other counties.

Because of this ban and the fact that no one was there to take up the mantle; the club died, and has been consigned to the history books. A lot of young lads never picked up a hurley again, because of a player a few weeks overage at the lowest level of hurling in Kerry, at u14's. Also, when he went to my underage football games for the year, he had to stay outside the wire (if there was one), or watch from outside the field area. I didn't realize at the time what an effect it had on him, being too young, but that year still effects him to this day. Now, chances are no one would have said a word if he did, but he would have received a much greater punishment if he was reported for breaking the ban.

The club has since been revived (15+ years later) under a different name, and is doing well, with lots of kids playing at all age groups, and plenty of mentors etc.

Fúck decisions like that and the one made this week. Guys smash peoples jaws in, racially abuse other players, abuse the shít out of officials/players/managers and get little or no punishment for it. But play football with a different group of lads, in a different coloured jersey, in a different competition and you can take a year off.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,067 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

DDC1990 wrote: »
    I see a Glenbeigh/Glencar player got a 48 week ban for playing in the 7's tournament on the weekend of the All Ireland with an English side despite being registered with Glenbeigh.

Its a fúcking disgrace IMO that a guy, who's only crime is to tog out with his local club in England in a small time tournament gets nearly a year out of the game!

Fadó Fadó, my father got a year ban from all GAA activities for fielding an overage player in an u14's Hurling competition in Kerry.The player told him he was the right age, but it turned out he was a few weeks outside the age bracket, and a selector from a completely different team (not even in the same division), reported it to the county board.

My father practically ran the team on his own, he went around in the car and collected all the lads for training and matches, he financed a lot of the gear himself and organized trips to Kerry Hurling matches, organizing friendly games against teams in other counties.

Because of this ban and the fact that no one was there to take up the mantle; the club died, and has been consigned to the history books. A lot of young lads never picked up a hurley again, because of a player a few weeks overage at the lowest level of hurling in Kerry, at u14's. Also, when he went to my underage football games for the year, he had to stay outside the wire (if there was one), or watch from outside the field area. I didn't realize at the time what an effect it had on him, being too young, but that year still effects him to this day. Now, chances are no one would have said a word if he did, but he would have received a much greater punishment if he was reported for breaking the ban.

The club has since been revived (15+ years later) under a different name, and is doing well, with lots of kids playing at all age groups, and plenty of mentors etc.

Fúck decisions like that and the one made this week. Guys smash peoples jaws in, racially abuse other players, abuse the shít out of officials/players/managers and get little or no punishment for it. But play football with a different group of lads, in a different coloured jersey, in a different competition and you can take a year off.

In a different country as well! That is a shocking decision. Some of the pettiness within the Association is unbelievable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

On Stacks players making it- I rate Conor Jordan very highly and think that he will have a good chance in a few years.
    He was dropped for the replay on sunday but from what I have seen of him- there is a top player in there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Fearghal McNamara is a serious footballer. A bit small and inexperienced, but reads the game really well.

Shane O'Callaghan is a great footballer as well, but very light. Not speedy/physical enough to play anywhere except Centre Forward (a la Cooper) as of yet, but could develop more physically and make the step up.

Both were on the extended panel this year and should play in the league this year if Stacks don't get the the Club Final.

Greg Horan and Conor Jordan, were decent minors, so they could make it in a few years.

Not sure if the boat has sailed for Shane Carroll/Guthrie/Shanahan, all talented footballers.

I'd largely agree..but Ferghal Mc isn't small..I'd estimate he's 5'10 or 11. a damn sight taller than Pa Kilkenny or Paul Murphy anyway. He wasn't at his best in the drawn final and got a bit roasted by O'Grady but has done well enough with Kerry 21s and at Sigerson level in recent years. I'd give him a shot in the league if possible, plus he'll be playing McGrath cup with UCC (if Stacks don't win Munster club) so that may tell something.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,020 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Really the story about your father and this case are two totally different arguments.

First the tournament was the St Judes 7s in Dublin the weekend of the AI final. Second, in relation to the suspension, it doesn't matter if it was a "mickey mouse" tournament as Darran O'Sullivan called it, the fact is that the player is registered with Glenbeigh and cannot play for another club in a tournament like he did. Darran probably also thinks the Mid Kerry league is a "mickey mouse" competition. If he had broken his leg or got his jaw smashed the player insurance scheme would not have covered him as he was not registered as a player with the club. Two summers ago in America, a player ended up in a coma for a few weeks after getting a belt in a match over there. There was problems with the player insurance. In Kerry a few years ago a player got his jaw broken in a challenge game where there was no official referee and the case ended up in Court.

Players aren't so naïve anymore to think they can play illegally and expect to get away with it. Especially when pictures are put on FB and twitter.

I think in this case the player has nobody to blame but himself. And fair play to Glenbeigh for making this known to the county board rather than hold up competitions with appeals if the player had played and the club were then thrown out of the competition.

BPKS wrote: »
    Really the story about your father and this case are two totally different arguments.

First the tournament was the St Judes 7s in Dublin the weekend of the AI final. Second, in relation to the suspension, it doesn't matter if it was a "mickey mouse" tournament as Darran O'Sullivan called it, the fact is that the player is registered with Glenbeigh and cannot play for another club in a tournament like he did. Darran probably also thinks the Mid Kerry league is a "mickey mouse" competition. If he had broken his leg or got his jaw smashed the player insurance scheme would not have covered him as he was not registered as a player with the club. Two summers ago in America, a player ended up in a coma for a few weeks after getting a belt in a match over there. There was problems with the player insurance. In Kerry a few years ago a player got his jaw broken in a challenge game where there was no official referee and the case ended up in Court.

Players aren't so naïve anymore to think they can play illegally and expect to get away with it. Especially when pictures are put on FB and twitter.

I think in this case the player has nobody to blame but himself. And fair play to Glenbeigh for making this known to the county board rather than hold up competitions with appeals if the player had played and the club were then thrown out of the competition.

I agree that they are totally different, but my point was more that both those offences were year long bans, neither of which should be anywhere near that length of a ban, IMO.

Both made errors in judgement where nobody got hurt. They were both in the wrong according to the rules. A ban is absolutely justified in both cases. But a year? Give them a month. 2-3 matches. They'll know for the future.

The level of punishment compared to - as mentioned - sanctions for on-field thuggery, racism etc. is outrageous.

This is the same ban that fat fool from Mayo got for running out onto the pitch during an All Ireland semi-final to try and assault the referee, having to be restrained by half a dozen stewards.

We've also had plenty of people stating they think a year ban was too big a sentence for even that egregious carry on.

Surely there's an appeal process where common sense might prevail?

Note the use of 'might'

keane2097 wrote: »
    The level of punishment compared to - as mentioned - sanctions for on-field thuggery, racism etc. is outrageous.

This is the same ban that fat fool from Mayo got for running out onto the pitch during an All Ireland semi-final to try and assault the referee, having to be restrained by half a dozen stewards.

We've also had plenty of people stating they think a year ban was too big a sentence for even that egregious carry on.

the same happens in most games unfortunately. look at Suarez, got 10 games for racism, 4 months for biting and while both are deplorable incidents, are they really any worse than a shocking, potentially leg breaking challenge that tend to have only maximum 3 game?

ben thatcher got 8 games i think for his jaw breaking challenge when he should have got 8 months. yet, cantona kicked a scumbag and got 8 months.

i know a lad who got 12 months for spitting, yet lads who have been sent off for punching and kicking, have barely served 12 weeks.

the level on inconsistency in sport is simply appaling,

I agree that they are totally different, but my point was more that both those offences were year long bans, neither of which should be anywhere near that length of a ban, IMO.

Both made errors in judgement where nobody got hurt. They were both in the wrong according to the rules. A ban is absolutely justified in both cases. But a year? Give them a month. 2-3 matches. They'll know for the future.

Sorry yeah I see what your saying now about the length of the ban but the problem the GAA has is that if a month or a 2-3 game ban is what is stopping me from heading over the the States in September to play a final (get my flights paid for and spending money) when the ban will only see me miss the last 2 rounds of the county league for example.

keane2097 wrote: »

If you are talking about consistency then if every supporter who went onto the field of play to remonstrate with a referee (which is what the fat lad from Mayo did) then there would be people banned for 48 weeks after a lot of underage and senior games. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭liam7831

Galvo is on The Late Late tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Didnt get his book yet,anyone here read it yet?

Worth getting?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭Radio5

Any thoughts on how Stacks will fare out in the Munster C'ship? Interesting to see after so many years with Crokes flying the flag.