Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    yerra it's not like ye won anything last year or have players to come back.

Its not as simple as that.
    Poor league form overall is often an indication of something that can't just be solved by players coming back and people "getting up for" the championship.

Its often a good sign when you finish the league better than you start it.
    That will not be the case if Kerry go down

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

keane2097 wrote: »
    If we're not good enough to get over this Tyrone team with the threat of relegation over us we may need to reassess our expectations for the year imo.

I agree we should be winning but we'd need to up it considerably. I didn't see today's game but from what I'm hearing we were poor in a lot of sectors. If we play like we did in Cork for example, we could easily be beaten. Tyrone drew with Dublin in Croker a few weeks ago..they're not brilliant but they still have a big performance at home in them. I'd take any sort of a win with a decent performance tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

343472.jpg

Seems a bit harsh:D

They deleted it when they finally copped on

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    yerra it's not like ye won anything last year or have players to come back.

You realise I'm saying I expect us to beat Tyrone easily?

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Big changes to county championship passed at meeting last night.

3 teams relegated from senior this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭9bred4

Big changes to county championship passed at meeting last night.

3 teams relegated from senior this year.

How are teams relegated from Senior/intermediate/junior/novice etc?

I thought the club chose? God im naive!

Currently 11 club teams in Senior County Championship. 3 teams are being relegated this year leaving 8.

The two county club finalists are exempted from relegation. The remaining 9 Senior clubs will be entered in to 3 groups of 3 with the 3 bottom placed teams being relegated.

Regarding the intermediate, Junior and Novice championships, I’m not sure on how relegation works.

They are also restructuring these championships. Don't think they've released any final details on this yet. Draft proposals were in last weeks Kerryman if thats any good to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Austin Stack Park closing at the end of May for redevelopment,laying a new sand based pitch and also upgrading the floodlights

relegation from intermediate and junior is along these lines. All the losing teams from Round 1 are up for relefation, of those losing teams, whoever is the lowest ranked county league team at the end of the year is demoted. Seems an odd way to do things but thats how its done, I guess if a team requested to be dropped down then it might be considered depending on their situation.

Austin Stack Park closing at the end of May for redevelopment,laying a new sand based pitch and also upgrading the floodlights

Closing till next March I think? Did they not do up that pitch a few years ago with the rubber, which was supposed to be the new big thing...

wonga77 wrote: »
    Closing till next March I think? Did they not do up that pitch a few years ago with the rubber, which was supposed to be the new big thing...

The rubber was just spread on the pitch after spiking instead of sand,this time the pitch is been re laid with a new sand base.

So I had a look at the info on the club and county championships. This is what I think the outcome will be. I could have interpreted it wrong though.

Senior County Championship
    2015: No impact
    2016: Reduced to 8 club teams and remaining divisional sides. Is there 9?

Senior Club Championship
    2015: 3 teams relegated to intermediate. Two finalists exempt from relegation leagues at end of year.
    2016: 8 club teams participate. Not sure how relegation is decided.

Senior Club Relegation Playoff 2015
    9 teams who don’t make the Senior club final are entered in to 3 groups of 3 with the bottom placed team in each group relegated to intermediate. They will compete in the 2016 intermediate championship. There is no seeding for these groups.

Intermediate Championship
    2015: Winners not promoted to senior. 4 teams relegated. 8 first round losers play off to see who is relegated.
    2016: 16 teams participate. Winners promoted to senior. Not sure how relegation is decided.

Junior Championship
    2015: Winners promoted to intermediate.
    2016: New Premier Junior & Junior Championships begin.

Novice Championship
    2015: Promotion doesn’t matter with introduction of Premier Junior & Junior Championships.
    2016: New Premier Junior & Junior Championships begin.

Premier Junior & Junior Championship 2016
    2016: 32 teams enter Premier Junior. 16 losers regraded to Junior Championship (formerly the novice championship). 16 winners compete in the Premier Junior Championship (formerly the Junior Championship).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Premier Junior & Junior Championship 2016
    2016: 32 teams enter Premier Junior. 16 losers regraded to Junior Championship (formerly the novice championship). 16 winners compete in the Premier Junior Championship (formerly the Junior Championship).

Is this the case every year or just 2016 ?

Prop Joe wrote: »
    Is this the case every year or just 2016 ?

Not sure to be honest. I'm assuming that the losers will be regraded to Junior and will have to win the Junior competition to be promoted to Premier Junior.

They did this also about 4 or 5 years ago where all Novice and Junior teams played against each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Think it would be good to run it like that every year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Team named for Omagh:

1.Brendan Kealy
    2.Paul Murphy
    3.Mark Griffin
    4.Shane Enright
    5.Jonathan Lyne
    6.Peter Crowley
    7.Killian Young
    8.Anthony Maher
    9.David Moran
    10.Alan Fitzgerald
    11.Bryan Sheehan
    12.Johnny Buckley
    13.Stephen O’Brien
    14.Kieran Donaghy
    15.Barry John Keane

AND................A certain P.Galvin and C.Cooper named on the bench.

There'll be a mass media convergence on Healy Park this Sunday!

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

That makes three changes to the starting team, with Kealy, Murphy and Sheehan back in. Kealy has done well in the league so far and is surely well in contention to regain the starting spot he lost for last year's championship. Murphy should strengthen the defence - Pa Kilkenny hasn't been terrible, but hasn't really made a very convincing case that he should be a starter either IMO. Sheehan's return is potentially important given Kerry's recent free-taking issues, especially as P Geaney has been ruled out with the hamstring problem he picked up last week.

The Tyrone team is as follows;

Comórtas: Sraith Náisiúnta Peil
    Cluiche: Ciarraí v Tír Eoghain
    Ionad: Páirc Uí hÉilí, An Omaigh
    Dáta: 05 Aibreán 2015

1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
    2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
    3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin
    4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
    5 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mór
    6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
    7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
    8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
    9 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn
    10 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
    11 – Mattie Donnelly – Trí Leac
    12 – Ryan McKenna – Eaglais
    13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
    14 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
    15 – Connor McAliskey – Cluain Eo
    16 – Sean Fox – Coill an Chlochair
    17 – Conor Clarke – An Omaigh
    18 – Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
    19 – PJ Lavery – Cluain Eo
    20 – Danny McBride – An Srath Bán
    21 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chochair
    22 – Shea McGuigan – Ard Bó
    23 – Emmett McKenna – Eaglais
    24 – Patrick McNiece – Oileán a’Ghuail
    25 – Ronan O Neill – An Omaigh
    26 – Patrick Quinn – Dún Geanainn

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Agus wrote: »
    That makes three changes to the starting team, with Kealy, Murphy and Sheehan back in. Kealy has done well in the league so far and is surely well in contention to regain the starting spot he lost for last year's championship. Murphy should strengthen the defence - Pa Kilkenny hasn't been terrible, but hasn't really made a very convincing case that he should be a starter either IMO. Sheehan's return is potentially important given Kerry's recent free-taking issues, especially as P Geaney has been ruled out with the hamstring problem he picked up last week.

The Tyrone team is as follows;

Comórtas: Sraith Náisiúnta Peil
    Cluiche: Ciarraí v Tír Eoghain
    Ionad: Páirc Uí hÉilí, An Omaigh
    Dáta: 05 Aibreán 2015

1 – Niall Morgan – Éadan na dTorc
    2 – Aidan McCrory – Aireagal Chiaráin
    3 – Ronan McNamee – Achadh Uí Aráin
    4 – Cathal McCarron – An Droim Mór
    5 – Ronan McNabb – An Droim Mór
    6 – Justin McMahon – An Omaigh
    7 – Peter Harte – Aireagal Chiaráin
    8 – Colm Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
    9 – Padraig McNulty – Dún Geanainn
    10 – Tiernan McCann – Coill an Chlochair
    11 – Mattie Donnelly – Trí Leac
    12 – Ryan McKenna – Eaglais
    13 – Darren McCurry – Éadan na dTorc
    14 – Sean Cavanagh – An Mhaigh
    15 – Connor McAliskey – Cluain Eo
    16 – Sean Fox – Coill an Chlochair
    17 – Conor Clarke – An Omaigh
    18 – Peter Hughes – Eiscreach
    19 – PJ Lavery – Cluain Eo
    20 – Danny McBride – An Srath Bán
    21 – Conall McCann – Coill an Chochair
    22 – Shea McGuigan – Ard Bó
    23 – Emmett McKenna – Eaglais
    24 – Patrick McNiece – Oileán a’Ghuail
    25 – Ronan O Neill – An Omaigh
    26 – Patrick Quinn – Dún Geanainn

A lot of running in that team. We're not the most mobile in the half forwards,we'll need BJK and SOB to cover the runners for the likes of Sheehan.

Best of luck to the Hurlers today against Westmeath in the NHL 2A final

Its on live on Radio Kerry at 3pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

That pitch (Omagh) was a struggle during the week for our u-21's by the way.Waterlogged in parts, very very heavy.

Both teams coming off the back of poor results. Survival at stake. I fear tomorrow is going to be wretched- Quite looking forward to it as it happens!

You'd imagine Tyrone will have a reaction to last week having been absymal against Donegal but that sort of reacton will only take you so far. Kerry were under par against Monaghan but have better footballers and the two cute boys back on the bench will help as will Sheehan.

Just feel like you boys will just have that extra few gears to go through when needed.

20 minutes gone

Kerry 4-05
    Westmeath 1-05

Make that

Kerry 5-05

Westmeath 1-06

Mental first half,half time now

Kerry 5-08

Westmeath 1-11

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Sounds like Kerry took their eye off the ball a bit towards the end. Westmeath getting a few quick points. Probably a good time for HT to come for Kerry. Scoring goals for fun though at one stage. Hard to see WM coming back into it but as Tipp did to us two weeks ago, anything is possible.

Lads on the Radio saying at the pitch is in poor condition

TG4 show all the league finals in the NFL,pity they dont do the same in the hurling.

Now it is

Kerry 5-16

Westmeath 2-17

Full time

Kerry 5-17

Westmeath 3-17

Some turn around from the game in Tralee in the league stages when Westmeath won by 15 points,

Well done to all involved,

Roll on Antrim in the 1B relegation/promotion play off

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

a lot of good things about the league setup but the div 2 winner not going straight up is one of the strangest things about it

Its a joke,Antrim have gone 2 years in a row without winning a game in the league stages,they only stayed up last year by beating Offaly in the relegation play off,the week before Offaly beat them in last round of the league

Antrim should be down,simple as that

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

where do ye think tat match will be played