Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

dobman88 wrote: »
    Agree with the congrats. Huge achievement.

Disagree that he should be allowed lift the cup after being sent off. A valuable lesson learned today. A captain is supposed to be a leader.

Ruining the biggest achievement in a guys career to date to teach him a lesson. Being sent to the line in an All Ireland Final is painful enough without being the victory being tarnished as well. Young guys make mistakes. Kerry were allowed to have Declan O'Sullivan and Gooch lift Sam together, why not have the captain lift the cup with another lad? You could hear all the team calling him to lift the cup at the end, and he looked like he wanted to be anywhere else but there.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,546 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

It's a strange situation - win the group, and you'll likely get hammered by Galway, whereas the runner-up plays Laois and has a decent chance of winning the semis!

V good point, plus a victory over Laois after finishing second would mean no pre-qualifying group next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

KevIRL wrote: »
    I agree with Kerry being in the round robin group. Its a good idea to have teams of around the same level playing each other with the best progressing to tougher challenges. However if Kerry finish in the top 2 then they should have been routed into Munster. This year they would have played one of clare/Waterford in a Munster QF.

Im sure if we manage to come out of the qualifier group this year we will be playing in Munster next year

But that's for another day,

Great performance today by the whole team,scoring 17 points in the first half,its been a long time since a Kerry team has done that,it was one of those days everything went over the bar,

Delighted for the lads,the effort they are putting in is massive and now they are getting the rewards

• Registered Users Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Spa win Scór All-Ireland for figure dancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭dobman88

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Ruining the biggest achievement in a guys career to date to teach him a lesson. Being sent to the line in an All Ireland Final is painful enough without being the victory being tarnished as well. Young guys make mistakes. Kerry were allowed to have Declan O'Sullivan and Gooch lift Sam together, why not have the captain lift the cup with another lad? You could hear all the team calling him to lift the cup at the end, and he looked like he wanted to be anywhere else but there.

I'll be honest. I have no pity for him, harsh as that may sound. You're on a yellow. Captain, in an all irealnd final. Need to have more cop on. This is the future of football in Kerry and if he learns his lesson today it will stand to him in years to come. Next time he's on a yellow he might think about how it felt seeing someone else lift your trophy and act accirdingly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭kala85

Why can't a player who is sent off lift the cup?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I'll be honest. I have no pity for him, harsh as that may sound. You're on a yellow. Captain, in an all irealnd final. Need to have more cop on. This is the future of football in Kerry and if he learns his lesson today it will stand to him in years to come. Next time he's on a yellow he might think about how it felt seeing someone else lift your trophy and act accirdingly.
    Ya agree with you there will drive him on and make him harder and more determined to get back up there again still a proud day for the lad and his family well done to all involved

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Normally I'd be advocating for the GAA to take a tougher line as regards discipline but this is a rule I really don't like - it just smacks a bit of pettiness - the thing is if you are sent off in a final, you are just as likely to learn a lesson imo as there must be nothing worse for a captain to be sitting on the sidelines as a game continues out and not being able to do anything.

Also I think it was a straight red as opposed to a yellow (not sure on this)

Congrats to the hurlers as well - overall a very decent league, so roll-on the championship.

Penalty looked outside the area. What was it like on TV. Soft soft frees keeping Cork in it. 2 joke yellow cards. Black was definite though. Crowley was injured anyway. Couldnt run.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Penalty looked outside the area. What was it like on TV. Soft soft frees keeping Cork in it. 2 joke yellow cards. Black was definite though. Crowley was injured anyway. Couldnt run.

He hit the ground before the goalkeepers kicking tee so it looked to me as if he was definitely outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Ref blowing up a lot on both sides not letting game flow somebody should tell him its cork v kerry ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

kerryjack wrote: »
    Ref blowing up a lot on both sides not letting game flow somebody should tell him its kerry ffs

FYP;)

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Is this ref shockingly bad or am I just biased. Great point by Marc just there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

That the ref was very poor as a neutral. Kerry would have been hard done by to lose.

Great recovery in the finish - if Monaghan win, would Cork be relegated?

Yes, Cork's awful points difference sends them down.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,770 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

Good to get the win and see the cork lads get relegated, as good a day as you could wish for :)

Sem win the Hogan Cup
    Kerry Ladies U16 beat Cork
    Kerry hurlers beat Laois to stay in Division 1B
    Spa GAA dancers won Scor
    Kerry relegate Cork in Tralee.

Good weekend for Kerry GAA all around :D

TBH I like playing Cork. I prefer javing them around. Winning today was important to keep momentum up, but I'd nearly have preferred that Cork would stay up.

Not going to be a popular opinion here though :P

TBH I like playing Cork. I prefer javing them around. Winning today was important to keep momentum up, but I'd nearly have preferred that Cork would stay up.

I'm withdrawing your Kerry citizenship.

Wasting their time splashing about in Division 2 for a year is just perfect for them.

Probably just as well the hurlers didn't sneak into the QFs - Cats lead Offaly by 24 with time nearly up! Cork win the small-ball relegation play-off, so Galway could be heading to Tralee next spring.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Boom__Boom wrote: »

Wasting their time splashing about in Division 2 for a year is just perfect for them.

I think getting back that winning feeling next year will suit Cork just fine.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I think getting back that winning feeling next year will suit Cork just fine.

Yup wins against the likes of Kildare, Clare, Down, Galway, Derry, Fermanagh and Meath are sure to be of immeasurable value in developing players and getting them ready for championship. :p:p:p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Yup wins against the likes of Kildare, Clare, Down, Galway, Derry, Fermanagh and Meath are sure to be of immeasurable value in developing players and getting them ready for championship. :p:p:p

As against the losses this year, especially Roscommon, yes. ;)

Semi finals should be interesting, hard to see beyond Dublin.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    As against the losses this year, especially Roscommon, yes. ;)

Semi finals should be interesting, hard to see beyond Dublin.

It's all about winning the championship and relegation to Division 2 is a massive blow to any side who want to have any notion of doing so. Winning some games against the also-rans is going to be worth the sum total of feck all in terms of increasing Cork's chances of winning an All-Ireland - in fact it's far more likely that the gap between Cork and the serious challengers is just going to get wider.

Yerra sher we'll give it a go against Roscommon in the semi-finals but sher we haven't beaten them in years.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭lukin

No surprise to see a lot of Kerry folk gloating over us getting relegated.I'd say ye took more pleasure in that than qualifying for the knockout stages.

lukin wrote: »
    No surprise to see a lot of Kerry folk gloating over us getting relegated.I'd say ye took more pleasure in that thanks qualifying for the knockout stages.

We were pretty much guaranteed a spot in the semi-finals anyway even if we lost today because of the way the table was before the game. Cork getting relegated as opposed to Monaghan improves the odds of Kerry winning Sam over the next few years so definitely a cause for celebration.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Sem win the Hogan Cup
    Kerry Ladies U16 beat Cork
    Kerry hurlers beat Laois to stay in Division 1B
    Spa GAA dancers won Scor
    Kerry relegate Cork in Tralee.

Good weekend for Kerry GAA all around :D

Kerry senior ladies beat Monaghan as well

• Registered Users Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

I was hoping their hurlers would go down and the footballers stay up, a double headder with Cork in next years league would have been a great day out! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭dobman88

SomeFool wrote: »
    I was hoping their hurlers would go down and the footballers stay up, a double headder with Cork in next years league would have been a great day out! :)

Yeah but the footballers get relegated after losing to Kerry in Tralee :D:D:D

Any day Kerry beat Cork is a great day. Seeing them relegated is the icing on the proverbial cake.