Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Killian Spillane and Jack Savage having great games, but defense and midfield in big trouble.

Ball cleared off the Cork line, Micheál Burns with the shot. A pity.

1 in it now. Point from M.Burns.

3-7 to 1-12

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

Time left/gone?

2 point game now.

3-8 to 1-12.

Not looking good.

5mins to go AFAIK.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Fair play DDC1990.

Better than Twitter, no @ or # BS

Short free missed by J.Savage. Only mistake all day.

Kerry pressing high up, but over zealous. Giving a few frees away.

Kelliher is serious danger, but Cork's point shooting seriously lacking.

Actually 4 minutes left, Sorry :/

Kerry panicking a bit. J. Kiely with a wide under pressure.

Need to get Spillane on the ball.

EDIT: Ball brought forward for Kerry free, Savage nails it. 1 in it.

4 minutes additional time.

Point for Kerry! Draw game. 2mins to play. Tony Brosnan with the point.

Point Cork!

Lads on the Radio have no idea what time is left! I'm in the dark really :/ They think there is still 3?

Yellow Card Cormac Coffey. High tackle. Looks like its gone.

Ball off the post from Cork - Kerry counter attack, but full time blown.

Gutted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

Unlucky, sounded like a belter

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

reading the reports , i am surprised corks shooting was so wayward , they scored or fun from out the field against a blanket against clare, they are all big men down the middle , there are two good minor teams from the last 3 years in kerry so taught they would have gone all the way this year ,it will be tough to beat cork now for whoever is left , hard luck lads

The difference between the 19 year olds and 21 year olds is massive at this level physically.

Skillwise and intelligence wise, this Kerry team is as good as any team at this level. Physically they are way behind.

I wouldn't be surprised to see them win the next 2 in a row, but with so many really young lads, it was always going to be an uphill battle no matter what the bookies said.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

why is it when Cork win its because they are all big men? God forbid ye would give them credit for being better footballers

• Registered Users Posts: 6,493 ✭✭✭dobman88

Great updates DDC. Thank you very much. Sounded like a cracking finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

why is it when Cork win its because they are all big men? God forbid ye would give them credit for being better footballers

this is one of the biggest teams in this grade i have seen for some time , and to be fair they are a decent footballing side but listening to the reports it would seem they had to slug it out rather be fancy in there play , i doubt it really matters though

I fully believe that this Kerry team were better footballers.

The better footballers don't always win the game. You need a good balance. Cork had that better balance and won the game.

Players like Kelliher, Cronin and White have that physicality and are also incredible footballers.

Sorry if that offend you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Because you won't get many Kerry folk admitting a Cork team can come to Kerry and beat them at football. I'm sure Jack O'Connor will say the better footballing team won.....

It is a joke that this was not on TG4 though. It sounded like an absolute cracker.

Thanks for the informative updates.

I'll also say that Cork had the cooler heads. To kick the winning point when Kerry were all over them for the last 5 minutes, and had the crowd behind them was a great score. Not sure who kicked it. Kerry missed 3 chances in a row when 2 points down.

That again comes with experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

there are two good minor teams from the last 3 years in kerry so taught they would have gone all the way this year

Not be more likely to be next year?

Interesting one with the minors moving up. Seems to take a year of acclimatising and then bang at it again. Almost like the old 'bad year/good year' community games/underage football thing.

Also, I'm not just mentioning physicality because it's Cork. If you go back and read around the time of the earlier games, Limerick and Tipperary were also more physical and caused lots of problems in the defence, but didn't have the footballers that Cork had to outscore Kerry at one end and the defensive organization to keep Kerry out at the other.

Limerick got very similar goals to the ones Cork got tonight.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Also, I'm not just mentioning physicality because it's Cork. If you go back and read around the time of the earlier games, Limerick and Tipperary were also more physical and caused lots of problems in the defence, but didn't have the footballers that Cork had to outscore Kerry at one end and the defensive organization to keep Kerry out at the other.

Limerick got very similar goals to the ones Cork got tonight.

How come Kerry are so small?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

only rising ye lads but Cork not getting credit for being good footballers is something that happens a fair bit.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    How come Kerry are so small?
    Not Hobbits or anything, just 19 year olds against 21 year olds in Key positions: Full Back, Centre Back, Midfield. In a year or two they will be grand.

TBH, I don't give a shíte if we are beaten because we are outfootballed, outfought or outmuscled. A loss is a loss, and its 5 out of 6 Munsters for Cork now.

2008 since Kerry won an u21 Munster.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

As a neutral at tonight's game, agree that Cork seemed physically stronger and showed a bit more experience as well. Kerry had plenty of classy players but Cork full value for the win.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Redsoxfan wrote: »
    As a neutral at tonight's game, agree that Cork seemed physically stronger and showed a bit more experience as well. Kerry had plenty of classy players but Cork full value for the win.

Who played well in your opinion?
    I always like to hear the view of a neutral

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Who played well in your opinion? I always like to hear the view of a neutral

I will struggle here as wasn't making notes and the Kerry players were more familiar to me from Minor and Schools games I'd seen.

Fwiw, both full forwards (Kelliher and Spillane) were excellent. Cork bossed nearly every kickout, their own or Kerry's.