Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

On that I'm not sure but frees often go a lot less and arent pulled up.

13:20 in this vid- maybe it's for body checking the Mayo player?

Yeah going by that assuming he didn't actually get the touch before Jack there wasn't much in it.

PARlance wrote: »
    I think putting O'Shea in FB was crazy but that it worked to a degree. What we lost as a result is my main gripe.

Our achilles heel in these kind of games has always been the concession of a few easy / early goals. I think the main aim of putting him in there was to stop Donaghy beging the fulcrum of attack in front of goal / around the D. That was the real danger and it was successful in that sense.
    However, he wasn't able to get near Donaghy when he drifted out and he was still influential, albeit much less of a danger.
    But if the job was to Donaghy winning it close to goal and laying it off to runners on goal, then it worked.

However, that meant taking one of our most influential players out of the game.
    Fielding, we were destroyed in the first half with the pressure on the kick outs. Having one of the best fielders in the game standing beside the keeper meant losing a serious option to help relive that pressure.
    The way ye crowded the middle was to be expected. Having O'Shea in there drawing tackles and off loading to runners would have been massive. A scenario made for him.

I can see why he was put in there. The big question is would the likes of Vaughan been able to do the job just as good.

I mean, I can see why if you were looking around for some way to justify this move as not a disaster you would land on 'we stopped him winning a load of high ball in the square', but realistically the only goal worth pursuing is limiting the amount of scores Donaghy is involved in.

He has rarely if ever been involved in as much of Kerry's attacking output in an All Ireland semi or final. I'm trying to think of a more influential performance by him in the last ten years and struggling.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,180 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

keane2097 wrote: »
    I mean, I can see why if you were looking around for some way to justify this move as not a disaster you would land on 'we stopped him winning a load of high ball in the square', but realistically the only goal worth pursuing is limiting the amount of scores Donaghy is involved in.

He has rarely if ever been involved in as much of Kerry's attacking output in an All Ireland semi or final. I'm trying to think of a more influential performance by him in the last ten years and struggling.

I'm not trying to justify it. I hope it's changed around the next day.

I'm just saying it stopped one problem which was rightly a concern. In doing so it created another lesser one. With that we lost a whole pile extra that O'Shea brings and I think the likes of Vaughan (with proper assistance) could do the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Just rewatched the game there this time on sky and with the benefit of a cooler head.
    M Geaney was very very poor in his 20 mins.
    Savage got on a pile of ball but wasn't really being picked up by anyone.
    Stephen O'Brien was very dangerous when used correctly but the wet day really didn't suit him.
    Star had very very good game. The rain had really negated the high ball so the AOS gimmick worked out great for us.
    Crowley very good. As was Paul Geaney. Maher poor Moran pretty good. JL did well enough when brought on as did Barry.

The one thing I really noticed the 2nd time round was that I thought After an hour Mayo did look like they were really tiring as players sat back and weren't making the runs like earlier, and there subs didn't do much to help them apart from Durcans point.

This I think will be a factor Saturday. Mayo will tire and don't have to bench to counter act it. This is when we need to push on and drive it into them. Can't wait for Saturday now.

Yeah a six day turnaround after the season Mayo have had is cat.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

The Diarmuid O'Connor dive is infuriating second time round. Gaa has to look at guys cheating to get other players sent off.

Contrast that with Moran's high tackle on Aidan O'Shea who got straight back up and told the referee that he was fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PARlance wrote:
    I can see why he was put in there. The big question is would the likes of Vaughan been able to do the job just as good.

One thing I noticed against Roscommon again . The fast running game that Mayo are decent at often slows up when AOS is on the ball. They run the ball up the field and he has a habit of turning back with it , then he's swamped with players and he can at times suck the life out of a decent fluid attack.

This would be an issue against Kerry as running at them gets results .

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I get the feeling we might go for the high press again at midfield the next day but try and move the man to man matchups about a bit.

The full back line did look exposed but the first goal was a bit of a freak after Enright and Young took each other out and the second was Mikey Geaney slipping and Boyle taking an amount of steps. I think Killian did fine on COC. Morley might be the man for Andy Moran. Maybe Enright on Doherty. Then have Crowley, Lyne and Murphy in the half back line. I still think Fionn could have a role in the half back line with his pace - however he wasn't called upon at all the last day. Shanahan would be ideal for Doherty IMO, but didn't even make the 26.

In the forwards Geaney has to go. A straight swap for Savage leaves us wuite light in the half forwards so i'm hoping Donnacha is fit. James is also on thin ice. He's clearly not 100% but ro be fair the wet day wouldn't suit him all that well. A dry ball brings himself, Darren and SOB on an extra 15% with their direct running threat.

Jack Barry for Maher seems straightforward enough, but we know Maher gives nothing as a sub and takes an age to warm up to a game.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

1.2 When the ball is on the ground, it may be played by any part of the body except the hand(s). It may be lifted off the ground with the feet.
    Exceptions
    (i) The goalkeeper may play the ball on the ground with his hand(s) inside his own small rectangle.
    (ii) Any player who falls or is knocked to the ground while in possession of the ball may fist or palm the ball away on the ground, and may score by so doing.
    (iii) The ball may not be lifted off the ground with the knees.

That's fascinating. Gooch used to pick the ball up with his knees all the time.

I've not rewatched the game but I was right down by the sideline and got soaked. Thoughts.

1. AOS on Star was a good tactic. It worked for Kerry however because it was a wet day and we stopped kicking in high ball because of AOS 's presence. When AOS went out we kicked in a high ball and got the goal. I think it was a shrewd move by Mayo and they could persist with it.

2. Geaney is not at this level. He is fast but he is not up to the same speed of thought. What happened to McCarthy? Is he injured?

3. Mayo's runs were lightning. They are a dynamic team and I cant help but think that took much more out of them than Kerry who seemed to be able to pick off scores much easier.

4. Mayo blew us away in the first half. Totally. We came into it in the second half in spades with Savage leading the way.

5. The modern game requires two refs. The refs get tired and the decision making goes. We say it last year when Kevin Mc shouldered Crowley in the chest and the ref waved play on . Same nonsense yesterday when one of the Mayo lads literally jumped on Morans Back and batted the ball out of his hands and the ref made a ball symbol to say he got the ball. I think these decisions are down to fatigue. The players can rest and the ref is running non stop for 70 mins. Its not reasonable to expect him to be perfect but we surely have to help them out.

6. I backed a draw. I backed Mayo at the start of the year and again when Galway beat them. There's shades of 09 when we won all over this. They are improving as we go and only for the conditions and frees in the first half we would have been beaten well. I expect Mayo to turn us over by 1-3 points and beat Tyrone in the final who will catch Dublin cold on Sunday.

That tackle by Parsons on Moran that was waved play on was the most ludicrous of the day for sure.

We were all at see for the first 20 minutes, you could blame rustiness I think. After about 20 minutes we were totally dominant, think Mayo didn't score for the last ~17 mins of the first half. They only got one point in the from ~62 mins to 75 also.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,180 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

keane2097 wrote: »
    That tackle by Parsons on Moran that was waved play on was the most ludicrous of the day for sure.

We were all at see for the first 20 minutes, you could blame rustiness I think. After about 20 minutes we were totally dominant, think Mayo didn't score for the last ~17 mins of the first half. They only got one point in the from ~62 mins to 75 also.

The final quarter was very low scoring. You only managed 2 points from ~62 to 75.

Watched it again last night, you really could have put it to bed from ~52mins to 62. Barry's goal chance was accompanied by 3 or 4 kickable scores and the JO'D missed free in that period.

PARlance wrote: »
    The final quarter was very low scoring. You only managed 2 points from ~62 to 75.

Watched it again last night, you really could have put it to bed from ~52mins to 62. Barry's goal chance was accompanied by 3 or 4 kickable scores and the JO'D missed free in that period.

Yeah I really felt we had the winning of it in the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭munster87

Any word on either Walsh or McCarthy?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Same As

Would be very surprised if Donnchadh was to make it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Same As wrote: »
    Would be very surprised if Donnchadh was to make it.

I heard it mentioned on the radio that he'd a slight hamstring injury and there was highly improbable he'd be fit for action on Saturday.It was either the GAA hour or Terrace Talk.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Jimmy Deenihan said Walsh will be back.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,769 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

seligehgit wrote: »
    Jimmy Deenihan said Walsh will be back.

Be massive if he is but you wouldn't want him taking a risk on a hamstring.

• Registered Users Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Kerry are in a great position I feel. They have been written off by all and sundry. The performance has been roundly criticised, while Mayo were roundly lauded, yet, once we got the second goal, I did not once feel we were going to lose the game.

The O'Shea situation is great, and I was delighted to see it lining up that way on a horrible wet day. Donaghy does not dominate in the air on a wet day. We've seen this in past v Dublin. I don't believe Kerry were ever going to kick it in long to him given the conditions.
    If Mayo people want to laud the aerial contribution that AOS had on KD, then I won't stop them. I think 4 high balls went into KD, two that were broken by AOS, one that was fouled, and one which led to the Kerry 2nd goal. Not one clean catch. Rochford is in a really awkward situation now. If he moves AOS off Donaghy, it is tantamount to saying it was a failed decision. The first opportunity in the replay, Kerry should test the waters against the new marker, and if Kerry got a score, then it's panic stations for Mayo. If they keep AOS on KD, then in all likelihood they will have to retain a sweeper in front, which lightens the load going forward for Kerry to be concerned with, and thus allows Kerry greater space to bring the ball out with when in possession.

The argument that Kerry are coughing up large amounts of goals chances cannot be defeated - it is obvious. But that is not the fault of personnel so to speak, but a fault of the system. However no matter what the system, when your defenders are sluggish, as ours were on Sunday, then you're going to struggle regardless of the system employed. Mark Griffin has generally been good in the 1-on-1 battles, but was poor on Sunday.

My perception is that the management have 2 specialist full-back-line defenders (Griffin and Enright), and then a number of hybrid defenders (Fionn Fitz, Paul Murphy, Killian Young, Crowley, Morley, Lyne). Killian Young is not incredibly brilliant retreating, but as an attacking half-back he's outstanding.

The match-ups need to be exact. I'm going to be bold and assume there will be no change in defensive personnel. In that scenario I'd like to see the following:

Tadhg Morley on Andy Moran;
    Mark Griffin on COC;
    Shane Enright on Jason O'Doherty;
    Peter Crowley on DOC;
    Paul Murphy on Lee Keegan;
    and the big one, Killian Young on Kevin McLoughlin, who did a serious amount of damage to Kerry on Sat that has gone unreported. McLoughlin, to me anyway, appears to have licence to float and pop up wherever, and has serious stamina without electric pace, and for me Killian Young needs to be tasked with chasing him. Murphy did a superb job on Keegan, and hopefully he'll do more of the same on Saturday.

I obviously am oblivious to what is required in a modern day midfielder, because in the first half, there was one Kerry midfielder who performed reasonably well in my eyes, and it wasn't David Moran. However, in the 2nd half he stood up to be counted (not just the goal) but he led from the front.

The half-forward line was not good. Donncadh was a massive loss, and I'm not sure it's worth risking him, when he clearly can't be sure how he's fixed. Mikey Geaney just can't be started, or brought on, he's just not at the required level. Savage deserves to start purely based on his 2nd half performance where he really stood up to be counted. Johnny Buckley is too flirtatious with involvement; without Donncadh around he needs to up the levels and I don't believe he did. Stephen O'Brien had an excellent game.

What I wouldn't mind seeing is this:

Kelly
    Morley---Griffin
    Enright
    Maher
    Crowley--Young----Murphy
    Moran--Barry
    Lyne
    Savage
    O'Brien
    Donaghy-Geaney

Jonathan Lyne is another hybrid footballer; can defend, can score. We struggled with Boyle and Higgins coming up the field, while our own half-forwards weren't really able to give them enough to think about. In that situation having Lyne
    there would be a good counter-act. One of the main differences I found (especially up to the 23rd min - I can remember looking at the clock and thinking finally we've found the pitch of the game), was that Kerry almost didn't know what to do with the ball early on, whereas Mayo were efficient in their use of the ball in their half. Kerry not so much. Maher sitting in front of the "full-back-line" does two things: it shores up the middle of the defensive third where we struggled, and it also is an effective outball for all the defenders, while his range of distribution keeps Mayo honest. It's been said that he offers nothing coming into a game in the 2nd half, which I'm beginning to agree with, but his ball distribution generally is of a much higher standard than his peers.

That would leave Buckley, James O'D, Barry John Keane, to come in, hopefully with Donncadh and Kevin McCarthy as options if fit also.

just my tuppence worth.

Of course, in the event AOS is moved back to the half-forwards, at whose expense is it? I'd assume Keegan would revert back to the half-backs, with Higgins going into the corner, but then do they drop Chris Barrett? He was good; Donal Vaughan? He was good. If AOS is moved up, I'd assume Crowley takes him, with maybe Paul Murphy going onto Moran, and Morley out to DOC.

I'm not remotely nervous about Saturday. I think Kerry are in a great position and had their first match of the Championship last Sunday, and are still standing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Kingdom wrote: »
    Kerry are in a great position I feel. They have been written off by all and sundry. The performance has been roundly criticised, while Mayo were roundly lauded, yet, once we got the second goal, I did not once feel we were going to lose the game.

The O'Shea situation is great, and I was delighted to see it lining up that way on a horrible wet day. Donaghy does not dominate in the air on a wet day. We've seen this in past v Dublin. I don't believe Kerry were ever going to kick it in long to him given the conditions.
    If Mayo people want to laud the aerial contribution that AOS had on KD, then I won't stop them. I think 4 high balls went into KD, two that were broken by AOS, one that was fouled, and one which led to the Kerry 2nd goal. Not one clean catch. Rochford is in a really awkward situation now. If he moves AOS off Donaghy, it is tantamount to saying it was a failed decision. The first opportunity in the replay, Kerry should test the waters against the new marker, and if Kerry got a score, then it's panic stations for Mayo. If they keep AOS on KD, then in all likelihood they will have to retain a sweeper in front, which lightens the load going forward for Kerry to be concerned with, and thus allows Kerry greater space to bring the ball out with when in possession.

The argument that Kerry are coughing up large amounts of goals chances cannot be defeated - it is obvious. But that is not the fault of personnel so to speak, but a fault of the system. However no matter what the system, when your defenders are sluggish, as ours were on Sunday, then you're going to struggle regardless of the system employed. Mark Griffin has generally been good in the 1-on-1 battles, but was poor on Sunday.

My perception is that the management have 2 specialist full-back-line defenders (Griffin and Enright), and then a number of hybrid defenders (Fionn Fitz, Paul Murphy, Killian Young, Crowley, Morley, Lyne). Killian Young is not incredibly brilliant retreating, but as an attacking half-back he's outstanding.

The match-ups need to be exact. I'm going to be bold and assume there will be no change in defensive personnel. In that scenario I'd like to see the following:

Tadhg Morley on Andy Moran;
    Mark Griffin on COC;
    Shane Enright on Jason O'Doherty;
    Peter Crowley on DOC;
    Paul Murphy on Lee Keegan;
    and the big one, Killian Young on Kevin McLoughlin, who did a serious amount of damage to Kerry on Sat that has gone unreported. McLoughlin, to me anyway, appears to have licence to float and pop up wherever, and has serious stamina without electric pace, and for me Killian Young needs to be tasked with chasing him. Murphy did a superb job on Keegan, and hopefully he'll do more of the same on Saturday.

I obviously am oblivious to what is required in a modern day midfielder, because in the first half, there was one Kerry midfielder who performed reasonably well in my eyes, and it wasn't David Moran. However, in the 2nd half he stood up to be counted (not just the goal) but he led from the front.

The half-forward line was not good. Donncadh was a massive loss, and I'm not sure it's worth risking him, when he clearly can't be sure how he's fixed. Mikey Geaney just can't be started, or brought on, he's just not at the required level. Savage deserves to start purely based on his 2nd half performance where he really stood up to be counted. Johnny Buckley is too flirtatious with involvement; without Donncadh around he needs to up the levels and I don't believe he did. Stephen O'Brien had an excellent game.

What I wouldn't mind seeing is this:

Kelly
    Morley---Griffin
    Enright
    Maher
    Crowley--Young----Murphy
    Moran--Barry
    Lyne
    Savage
    O'Brien
    Donaghy-Geaney

Jonathan Lyne is another hybrid footballer; can defend, can score. We struggled with Boyle and Higgins coming up the field, while our own half-forwards weren't really able to give them enough to think about. In that situation having Lyne
    there would be a good counter-act. One of the main differences I found (especially up to the 23rd min - I can remember looking at the clock and thinking finally we've found the pitch of the game), was that Kerry almost didn't know what to do with the ball early on, whereas Mayo were efficient in their use of the ball in their half. Kerry not so much. Maher sitting in front of the "full-back-line" does two things: it shores up the middle of the defensive third where we struggled, and it also is an effective outball for all the defenders, while his range of distribution keeps Mayo honest. It's been said that he offers nothing coming into a game in the 2nd half, which I'm beginning to agree with, but his ball distribution generally is of a much higher standard than his peers.

That would leave Buckley, James O'D, Barry John Keane, to come in, hopefully with Donncadh and Kevin McCarthy as options if fit also.

just my tuppence worth.

Of course, in the event AOS is moved back to the half-forwards, at whose expense is it? I'd assume Keegan would revert back to the half-backs, with Higgins going into the corner, but then do they drop Chris Barrett? He was good; Donal Vaughan? He was good. If AOS is moved up, I'd assume Crowley takes him, with maybe Paul Murphy going onto Moran, and Morley out to DOC.

I'm not remotely nervous about Saturday. I think Kerry are in a great position and had their first match of the Championship last Sunday, and are still standing.

If Aidan O'Shea goes to the forwards, it will probably be his brother who will make way, with Keegan going to midfield. Himself and Parsons rotate on Moran and possibly whichever of those Jacks is midfield, if Maher doesn’t start. Parsons for the kickouts etc. and Keegan for the running. Gives Keegan more freedom and will ask a lot more questions of the Kerry defence. Get D. Moran on the back-foot. Mayo will need that extra option, if they are to place 2 in the vicinity of Donaghy. Of course, from a Kerry point of view, this will give Paul Murphy more license. Maybe Mayo could start Paddy Durkan and station him wing forward instead of Diarmuid O’Connor, and have Murphy track his runs.

There isn't a hope of any of the Kerry midfielders being tasked with marking Lee Keegan.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

I dont think there'll be huge changes.
    Kerry's system didnt work because the press out in the middle of the field wasnt good enough. Mayo had too much time to pick out perfect passes into their full forward line and made our full back line look bad.

Kerry had only one rather flat game in 2 months, I think theyll be at a higher intensity the next day and you wont see Mayo having so much time on the ball.

I dont think JOD will be dropped, to me he looks fit but lacking form and match sharpness. If we are to win the AI we will need so he will be given the opportunity to prove himself again.
    Likewise Enright, he had a bad day but I think he will start again.
    It's difficult to drop Griffin also, because if Mayo put AOS in ff, who will mark him? Its a conundrum. But at the same time I think Griffin is most likely to be dropped. Doherty won every ball off him in the 1st half.

The rationale for starting Maher is that Kerry press Clarkes kickout to force him long and Maher is a better fielder than Barry. But I would start Barry to help tracking Mayos pacey middle 8. But if Mayo put AOS in midfield or center forward contesting kickouts, it would be useful to have Maher there. So thats another conundrum.

Mikey Geaney has come under a lot of criticism but theres rumours that he wasnt 100%. He gave away a very bad handpass early on and obviously slipped for the second goal, but I wouldnt hold that against him as it could happen to anyone.
    He is an aggressive, energetic player around the middle 8, whereas Savage is less physical but offers more going forward.
    If Walsh is fit Id play him instead of Geaney, but thats a big "if". He did his hamstring on Tuesday, so 10 days might not be enough time unfortunately.

I think the key for Kerry is high energy tackling and pressure around the middle 8 and tracking the runners. That was the original gameplan and I would stick with it. Mayos full forward line will look less heroic if the ball going in is less quality.

I would consider moving our middle 8 defensive block back torwards our goal maybe 5 or 10 yards to squeeze that space if possible. I think that could be done short notice with little coaching. Maher would be ideal for holding that position and organising the defensive block. He has the intelligence and experience to do it. We need Moran pushing forward. But that would mean not playing Barry who I like a lot.
    Perhaps drop Buckley for Barry, but thats not fair on Buckley either.

I wouldnt like to be a manager.

I think Mayo should absolutely put Vaughan on Donaghy and put AOS out the field in the "Michael Murphy" role, i.e. contesting kickouts, carrying the ball, getting into shooting positions. I dont think Kerry have anyone to really stop him in those positions. Also, Kerry will end up fouling him and then COC will knock them over and keep the scoreboard ticking over.

Saturday is supposed to be a dry day so this will help Kerrys kicking game. The great irony of the last day was that Mayo played more like Kerry and vice versa. Everyone was talking about the Kerry FF line but it was the Mayo one which did all the damage.

My prediction is that Kerry will prevail but it will go to the wire. I think the extra sharpness and intensity will bring them on a lot, also psychologically it gets boring training for months behind closed doors, but now theyre in sight of the final and know what to do. It think also with the dry pitch, Morans et al kicking will be more accurate.

I was genuinely worried about the first game. I thought Mayo would just outrun and outfight kerry and the game would pass them by, which is what looked like would happen after 25 minutes.
    I think the worry for Mayo is that Kerry played badly yet should have won in the end really. Thats why Im tipping Kerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I think Savage has to start- when he wasn't on the pitch we essentially didn't have a half forward line and when he came on- we had a player there who got on the ball in a half forward position and carried it.

If you watch it back then it's quite easy to see the improvement he made!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭dobman88

Moran would want to stop all these hail Mary attempts from ridiculous range and angles. He had enough for a decade of the rosary the last day and I was disappointed to see Maher go and him stay on.

I think Savage has to start- when he wasn't on the pitch we essentially didn't have a half forward line and when he came on- we had a player there who got on the ball in a half forward position and carried it.

If you watch it back then it's quite easy to see the improvement he made!

Absolutely. I wasn't sold on him previously, but he got on some ball in the 2nd half and was the cog that got the middle 3rd motoring.
    dobman88 wrote: »
    Moran would want to stop all these hail Mary attempts from ridiculous range and angles. He had enough for a decade of the rosary the last day and I was disappointed to see Maher go and him stay on.

Agreed as I said above, however he played much better in the 2nd half.

Kingdom wrote: »
    Absolutely. I wasn't sold on him previously, but he got on some ball in the 2nd half and was the cog that got the middle 3rd motoring.

I think on Terracetalk he got on 3rd most ball which is impressive considering he was a sub.

Agreed as I said above, however he played much better in the 2nd half.

Sometimes I think Moran tries too hard. Hes a very dominant player but needs to keep it simple sometimes. The same can be said of JOD.

The 3 hail marys were in first 10/15 minutes I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Only got a chance to watch game back last night. Fairly ragged and sluggish first half by most Kerry players. We were lucky to be level at half time.
    After another sluggish few minutes at start of second half, we took control I thought and could have gone 4 or 5 clear by the 60th minute or so. Just not sharp enough in front of goal or anywhere else really to merit winning the game though. BJK taking the quick free when we were up by 1 was ridiculous, no idea what he was thinking and to scuff it then was worse. He had got a good point before that but needs to use the head a bit better.

Kelly is showing why he was preferred to Kealy at this stage. Some excellent accuracy on kickouts. 1 or 2 errors, like going too high to Paul Murphy, but otherwise sound. Also kept the head and refused to give a couple of dodgy Kickouts late when pressure was on. Moran came way too short at one stage and was screaming for it to be played, but he would have been doing well to win it and Kelly didn’t give it. Sometimes “no” is the right answer!
    Fullback line were all roasted for most of the game although they had moments of good defending aswell when you look back at it. They all need to improve massively next Saturday (if playing) and they need more protection. The space the Mayo front 3 of Doherty, Andy Moran and COC had at times was ridiculous.
    Crowley mixed the good with some very sloppy stuff. He appeared to not be killing himself at times to cover either.
    Morley wasn't great I thought. Offered no protection to the defence and was too high up the field too often. Had a bad wide from a scoreable shot and gave a crazy pass to Darran near the end of the game which was lucky not to be a turnover also.
    Murphy was good. Did lose Keegan a couple of times but did well going forward himself also. Did have 1 bad wide but excellent score near the end. Need a big game again from him.
    Moran mixes the sublime with the absolutely stupid. He seems to want to play his own game and not do what's best for the team quite often. Between the crazy wides, the losses in possession by carrying too much and kicking the ball away, he wasted 7 or 8 possessions himself. So far in the championship he hasn't impressed and he needs a kick in the ar5e if you ask me. Was regularly spotted strolling with hands on hips during play also. I thought himself and Maher were outworked and outfought by Parsons and SOS a lot the last day. Maher was very sloppy and couldn't argue with his subbing.
    Barry did well enough when he came in. May start on Saturday.
    Mikey Geaney is not good enough, end of. Sick of saying it, sick of seeing it proven time and time again, sick of seeing him get picked again.
    Buckley needs to up it, he was out of the game for long spells. Was tracking back a lot in fairness and the game can sometimes just pass you by. Has more in him. Needs to get tight to Vaughan when he attacks.
    O'Brien did some good things, but also some things an under 14 player would be castigated for. 3 or 4 times he lost the ball by hopping it loosely on the wet ground. Dumb stuff. He didn't track Boyle very well either a few times and also lost Durkan on 3 occasions when he attacked. Finished his goal well and on a dry day could be very effective but needs to sharpen up.
    JOD looked sharp at times in 1st half, but was too far from goal often aswell, deliberately or not, I don't know. He missed a few chances he should be taking, but you'd hope the dry ball might suit him better.
    Donaghy was good, very sharp on the ball in the main, missed a decent chance in 2nd half for a point but he's looking sharp and has exceeded my expectations this year.
    Geaney had a good battle with Harrison and was double-marked by Higgins a lot also. Harrison defended very well in fairness but Paul still scored 3 from play and hit the post another time. He set up our last point under immense pressure with great composure. More to come here hopefully.
    Savage - I thought on the day, he ran around and did little of consequence. Having watched it back though, he wasn't too bad and linked the play well at times. He's not strong enough to play his natural game on the 40 at this level yet though and I'd only bring him on late in the game. Playing his wing forward would be stupid IMO.
    Darran surely must start. He put in a great shift and even if he can handle 40 minutes he has to be put in. Twice the player Mikey Geaney is FFS!
    Lyne was ok, bit too loose to be a starting defender IMO but an option when game breaks up.
    Sheehan isn’t really an option for very long any more I don’t think.
    I rate Gavin Crowley as a defender, but he hasn’t been seen since the League final when he did pretty well for 50 odd mins. He has plenty experience of playing in the fullback line aswell and we are very short of options back there. Brian Begley is injured I think which rules him out unfortunately. Another player who I would have faith in.

Overall, I’d be fairly confident Kerry can improve and win IF Fitzmaurice gets the selection, tactics and in-game changes right.
    Right now, I’d probably go with just the 1 change for the replay, with Darran replacing Mikey Geaney. The rest of it is a matter of tweaking the match-ups and tactics slightly.

I was thinking earlier about the way Mayo were dropping a sweeper out of the HB line into the FB line a good bit and figured the way to disrupt that would be to have Darran and SOB on either wing.

Only got a chance to watch game back last night. Fairly ragged and sluggish first half by most Kerry players. We were lucky to be level at half time.
    After another sluggish few minutes at start of second half, we took control I thought and could have gone 4 or 5 clear by the 60th minute or so. Just not sharp enough in front of goal or anywhere else really to merit winning the game though. BJK taking the quick free when we were up by 1 was ridiculous, no idea what he was thinking and to scuff it then was worse. He had got a good point before that but needs to use the head a bit better.

Kelly is showing why he was preferred to Kealy at this stage. Some excellent accuracy on kickouts. 1 or 2 errors, like going too high to Paul Murphy, but otherwise sound. Also kept the head and refused to give a couple of dodgy Kickouts late when pressure was on. Moran came way too short at one stage and was screaming for it to be played, but he would have been doing well to win it and Kelly didn’t give it. Sometimes “no” is the right answer!
    Fullback line were all roasted for most of the game although they had moments of good defending aswell when you look back at it. They all need to improve massively next Saturday (if playing) and they need more protection. The space the Mayo front 3 of Doherty, Andy Moran and COC had at times was ridiculous.
    Crowley mixed the good with some very sloppy stuff. He appeared to not be killing himself at times to cover either.
    Morley wasn't great I thought. Offered no protection to the defence and was too high up the field too often. Had a bad wide from a scoreable shot and gave a crazy pass to Darran near the end of the game which was lucky not to be a turnover also.
    Murphy was good. Did lose Keegan a couple of times but did well going forward himself also. Did have 1 bad wide but excellent score near the end. Need a big game again from him.
    Moran mixes the sublime with the absolutely stupid. He seems to want to play his own game and not do what's best for the team quite often. Between the crazy wides, the losses in possession by carrying too much and kicking the ball away, he wasted 7 or 8 possessions himself. So far in the championship he hasn't impressed and he needs a kick in the ar5e if you ask me. Was regularly spotted strolling with hands on hips during play also. I thought himself and Maher were outworked and outfought by Parsons and SOS a lot the last day. Maher was very sloppy and couldn't argue with his subbing.
    Barry did well enough when he came in. May start on Saturday.
    Mikey Geaney is not good enough, end of. Sick of saying it, sick of seeing it proven time and time again, sick of seeing him get picked again.
    Buckley needs to up it, he was out of the game for long spells. Was tracking back a lot in fairness and the game can sometimes just pass you by. Has more in him. Needs to get tight to Vaughan when he attacks.
    O'Brien did some good things, but also some things an under 14 player would be castigated for. 3 or 4 times he lost the ball by hopping it loosely on the wet ground. Dumb stuff. He didn't track Boyle very well either a few times and also lost Durkan on 3 occasions when he attacked. Finished his goal well and on a dry day could be very effective but needs to sharpen up.
    JOD looked sharp at times in 1st half, but was too far from goal often aswell, deliberately or not, I don't know. He missed a few chances he should be taking, but you'd hope the dry ball might suit him better.
    Donaghy was good, very sharp on the ball in the main, missed a decent chance in 2nd half for a point but he's looking sharp and has exceeded my expectations this year.
    Geaney had a good battle with Harrison and was double-marked by Higgins a lot also. Harrison defended very well in fairness but Paul still scored 3 from play and hit the post another time. He set up our last point under immense pressure with great composure. More to come here hopefully.
    Savage - I thought on the day, he ran around and did little of consequence. Having watched it back though, he wasn't too bad and linked the play well at times. He's not strong enough to play his natural game on the 40 at this level yet though and I'd only bring him on late in the game. Playing his wing forward would be stupid IMO.
    Darran surely must start. He put in a great shift and even if he can handle 40 minutes he has to be put in. Twice the player Mikey Geaney is FFS!
    Lyne was ok, bit too loose to be a starting defender IMO but an option when game breaks up.
    Sheehan isn’t really an option for very long any more I don’t think.
    I rate Gavin Crowley as a defender, but he hasn’t been seen since the League final when he did pretty well for 50 odd mins. He has plenty experience of playing in the fullback line aswell and we are very short of options back there. Brian Begley is injured I think which rules him out unfortunately. Another player who I would have faith in.

Overall, I’d be fairly confident Kerry can improve and win IF Fitzmaurice gets the selection, tactics and in-game changes right.
    Right now, I’d probably go with just the 1 change for the replay, with Darran replacing Mikey Geaney. The rest of it is a matter of tweaking the match-ups and tactics slightly.

Interesting point about Gavin Crowley. Dont know much about him but he was good in the league final. He might be the surprise inclusion, maybe on Doherty

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭john9876

Are the teams being named tonight?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I know that he probably wouldn't be in the starting line up on form but M. Geaney is being reported as an injury concern.