Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post #4167

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

no doubt Kerry will improve but Cork would possibly have the chance to relegate Kerry in Tralee. not better motivation

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

I would have said the same until cork won up in omagh. I actually think cork have a chance in tralee now.

Cork will rightly be favourites given the results today and unless Kerry's forward line appears for the 1st time, then it'll be another Cork win in Tralee I'm afraid.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Just back in Dublin from Ballybofey.

Marc injured, Donaghy injured, Tomás sent off.

Missed penalty.

Given a right hammering.

Management not learning from previous mistakes.

Was annoyed with some cynical play from Donegal, especially in the lead up to Tomás' Red Card.

Tomás passed the ball up the line and was shouldered into the chest after he laid off the ball. I am adamant he did not strike, he pushed out and shoved the Donegal player in the chest. Donegal player hit the deck. Whole stand jump up and shout. Jim McGuinness gets in the Linesmans ear. Tomás gets himself in these situations too often, so it was stupid of him to make any motion with his arm, but it was a forceful push and not a strike.

This same linesman ignored a push to the face on a Kerry player at a free moments earlier. If he was so sure that Tomás deserved a Red then so did that Donegal player. Consistancy is what you want.

First Penalty was 50/50 but there was contact so that was fair enough.
    Mahoney then chopped Murphy down later, which was a blatant penalty but ref played on. We were lucky.
    Donaghy could have had another penalty before the one that was given, but you knew O'Leary was going to miss. No one wanted to take it!

Donegal are on a different level to us atm, and didn't need the cynical fouling and throwing the ball away to stop Kerry playing quickly.

Fitzmaurice is around long enough to see that 3 small men inside doesn't work. We were outmuscled. We must be one of the lightest teams in the country. Donaghy went in and caused mayhem. However we were a man down, and we had no-one to run off Donaghy.

A shít day all round.

Usually you can say, we had a bad day but it could be worse...

There is no "Could be worse" in this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Cheers for the update. Always good to head from someone who was there - Radio Kerry only goes so far.
    DDC1990 wrote: »
    Management not learning from previous mistakes.

The fact that the management team though Darran and James O'Donoghue and Geaney would be an adequate full-forward lineup has me asking serious questions if they know what they are doing. I thought Fitzmaurice would be a bit sharper than that when he was appointed. Did it seem that the attack had any sort of a gameplan at all?
    Donaghy could have had another penalty before the one that was given, but you knew O'Leary was going to miss. No one wanted to take it!

The fact that no-one wanted to take it says a lot in relation to how poor our attack has been of late.
    Donaghy went in and caused mayhem. However we were a man down, and we had no-one to run off Donaghy.

Says it all - playing Donaghy in as full-forward on his own is close enough to pointless when he doesn't have at least one forward close by to support him.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Boys on the radio were harping on about Donaghy made a difference when he went in full but he didn't have no one running off him.

Gooch is needed asap

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

Declan is needed back too, need some cool heads on the ball in the forward line. Tomais seems to land himself in trouble all too easy

Boys on the radio were harping on about Donaghy made a difference when he went in full but he didn't have no one running off him.

Gooch is needed asap
    Nah feck it.

Take relegation if it comes, no point rushing guys back and having them play when not match fit and end up going down anyway.

Good experience for the likes of Enright, Lyne, Buckley, Crowley, Geaney, James O'Donaghue etc. to be playing week in week out.

Anyway, I'll have a bash at a players rating, totally my own opinion.

Kealy: Good kickouts. Confident under high ball. Nothing he could do for the goal.
    Marc: Injured himself bravely throwing himself between two Donegal players for a ball. Good up to then.
    AOM: Murphy got 1-5 (but only 3 from play) off him. But he actually played fairly well. Murphy is just an animal. Best player in the country by a mile this year.
    Enright: Big improvement. Physically strong and good reading of the game.
    Tomás: Was being run around a bit. Got a nice score but struggled to get on breaks around the middle. Sent off, silly to get himself if the situation.
    Crowley: Was a free man for the game, but made no impact. Seemed afraid to go too far forward in case Donegal broke and scored. Unsure of his role. No impact under breaks.
    Donaghy: Tried hard, but misjudged a few kickouts. Tackled hard, even when on a yellow (had me cringing, waiting for him to catch a guy high). Dominated in Full Forward but no one to help.
    Brosnan: Massive let down. He's captain but showed no leadership, either vocally or in leading by example on the field. Looked jaded even in the first 5 minutes, letting guys pass him. Needs a break.
    Lyne: Made little impact, but marshalled McHugh (Not Mark but his brother). No impact under breaks.
    Donnacha Didn't really notice him playing tbh. Anonymous. Again not a factor in the breaks.
    Buckley: Outmuscled as a Midfielder. Not enough of a mean streak. Good under breaks. Clever setting up attacks. Fantastic scores. A wing forward, not a midfielder yet. Only guy with the balls to shoot.
    JOD: Nightmare. Big fan of him as a player but fumbled everything. No confidence. Looked afraid. Up against one of the McGee's who looked literally twice his size.
    Darren: Good. Won ball was clever with it. Ineffective position for him. He's best bursting onto a ball going towards goal. Only got ball with back to goal. Donegal able to marshal him.
    Geaney: Not as bad as he was vs Dublin. Tried hard. Too weak though.

Maguire: Excellent. Physical full back line with Enright and AOM after coming on for Marc. Has to start next game IMO.
    Fionn Fitz: Looks small, but brave. Won a few breaks. Donegal perhaps switched off at that stage.

Rest: Either not on long enough or did nothing much of note.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭buyer95

Nah feck it.

Take relegation if it comes, no point rushing guys back and having them play when not match fit and end up going down anyway.

Good experience for the likes of Enright, Lyne, Buckley, Crowley, Geaney, James O'Donaghue etc. to be playing week in week out.

Anyway, I'll have a bash at a players rating, totally my own opinion.

Kealy: Good kickouts. Confident under high ball. Nothing he could do for the goal.
    Marc: Injured himself bravely throwing himself between two Donegal players for a ball. Good up to then.
    AOM: Murphy got 1-5 (but only 3 from play) off him. But he actually played fairly well. Murphy is just an animal. Best player in the country by a mile this year.
    Enright: Big improvement. Physically strong and good reading of the game.
    Tomás: Was being run around a bit. Got a nice score but struggled to get on breaks around the middle. Sent off, silly to get himself if the situation.
    Crowley: Was a free man for the game, but made no impact. Seemed afraid to go too far forward in case Donegal broke and scored. Unsure of his role. No impact under breaks.
    Donaghy: Tried hard, but misjudged a few kickouts. Tackled hard, even when on a yellow (had me cringing, waiting for him to catch a guy high). Dominated in Full Forward but no one to help.
    Brosnan: Massive let down. He's captain but showed no leadership, either vocally or in leading by example on the field. Looked jaded even in the first 5 minutes, letting guys pass him. Needs a break.
    Lyne: Made little impact, but marshalled McHugh (Not Mark but his brother). No impact under breaks.
    Donnacha Didn't really notice him playing tbh. Anonymous. Again not a factor in the breaks.
    Buckley: Outmuscled as a Midfielder. Not enough of a mean streak. Good under breaks. Clever setting up attacks. Fantastic scores. A wing forward, not a midfielder yet. Only guy with the balls to shoot.
    JOD: Nightmare. Big fan of him as a player but fumbled everything. No confidence. Looked afraid. Up against one of the McGee's who looked literally twice his size.
    Darren: Good. Won ball was clever with it. Ineffective position for him. He's best bursting onto a ball going towards goal. Only got ball with back to goal. Donegal able to marshal him.
    Geaney: Not as bad as he was vs Dublin. Tried hard. Too weak though.

Maguire: Excellent. Physical full back line with Enright and AOM after coming on for Marc. Has to start next game IMO.
    Fionn Fitz: Looks small, but brave. Won a few breaks. Donegal perhaps switched off at that stage.

Rest: Either not on long enough or did nothing much of note.

This. Although relegation would be a dissapointment, Gooch needs a break, even though he is only 29, theres a lot of miles on the clock. Its much more important that he is fresh for the championship, imo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Do Kerry not see staying up in Division 1 as important or a priority?Is bringing Cooper back to get him back to intercounty pace not viable?

blackbelt wrote: »
    Do Kerry not see staying up in Division 1 as important or a priority?Is bringing Cooper back to get him back to intercounty pace not viable?

He's taken a lot of punishment from defenders in his career.

He's already played 71 Championship games and 50 League games.
    121 games at senior for Kerry at 29. Pretty much every defender he has faced at inter-county has been stronger than him. That's before all the games with Crokes. Let him have his rest.

Anyway the way the league is now Kerry are pretty much already relegated.

[Unless Kerry get 3 wins or Kerry win two and Mayo lose all three, Kerry will be relegated - really hard to see that happening on the basis of Kerry's form so far]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

68Murph68 wrote: »
    Anyway the way the league is now Kerry are pretty much already relegated.

[Unless Kerry get 3 wins or Kerry win two and Mayo lose all three, Kerry will be relegated - really hard to see that happening on the basis of Kerry's form so far]

Kerry are not relegated until they are relegated. Another loss next time out and I would think then it would be looking dodgy but other teams loosing could really determine what happens in the league. All not lost yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

It has been a disastrous start to the League campaign for Kerry and things might look bleak for Kerry at the moment but I still think there's a good chance they'll stay up. As a Cork fan I see Cork have to travel to Tralee to take on the Kingdom and personally I can't see Cork winning here. Kerry are more than capable of beating Down at home. The game above in Tyrone will decide Kerry's future but it is possible that 2 wins out of the last 3 games will be good enough for Kerry to stay up.

Treble20 wrote: »
    It has been a disastrous start to the League campaign for Kerry and things might look bleak for Kerry at the moment but I still think there's a good chance they'll stay up. As a Cork fan I see Cork have to travel to Tralee to take on the Kingdom and personally I can't see Cork winning here. Kerry are more than capable of beating Down at home. The game above in Tyrone will decide Kerry's future but it is possible that 2 wins out of the last 3 games will be good enough for Kerry to stay up.
    Kerry wont win a game if they play like they did today, plain and simple.

We might beat Down, because they are a little lighter then the other two.

Our lack of physicality is alarming.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

Kerry wont win a game if they play like they did today, plain and simple.

We might beat Down, because they are a little lighter then the other two.

Our lack of physicality is alarming.
    You seem very downbeat but Kerry have a habit of turning things around when all looks lost. Take Cork for example,haunted to beat Down last Sunday and today turned over Tyrone much to the surprise of everyone including the Cork support!

Amprodude wrote: »
    Kerry are not relegated until they are relegated. Another loss next time out and I would think then it would be looking dodgy but other teams loosing could really determine what happens in the league. All not lost yet.

I did use "pretty much" as a qualifier.

However the table makes grim reading.

Kerry have scored the following in their four league games.
    1-6 v v Mayo
    0-4 v Dublin
    0-12 v Kildare
    0-6 v Donegal

The Kildare game is a bit of an aberration, especially when you consider Kerry kicked 16 wides plus hit a few balls into the keepers hands. I think it says more about Kildare not performing that Kerry having all that good of a game.

Kerry have a score differential of -28 ; Down are next worst with -7

To be honest I would expect/hope for Kerry to beat Down the next time out.

Saw the Down game versus Mayo last night and Down's game against Tyrone.

I really cant see Kerry getting two results against Cork at home and Tyrone away, which I think will be needed as ending up on 4 points will most likely not be enough, given the score differential.

The odds are massively against Kerry not getting relegated.

Treble20 wrote: »
    You seem very downbeat but Kerry have a habit of turning things around when all looks lost. Take Cork for example,haunted to beat Down last Sunday and today turned over Tyrone much to the surprise of everyone including the Cork support!
    Sorry, travelled up to Ballybofey, got snowed on.

Tea was gone at half time after queuing for the bástard stuff, was very aggrieved with the Tomás sending off, we were humiliated, and the same old failings came back to haunt us.

Shíte day :(

I'm a huge fan of Fitzmaurice, and hope we give him 3/4 year regardless of results, because he's a guy clever enough to win all Irelands and build a great team. But, he and his advisors have got it wrong all league, with Donaghy especially. I appreciate trying a new strategy of quick full forwards, but that doesn't work, when you slow the ball down going in. Also everytime our forwards tried to take Donegal on, they were outmuscled. Try soemthing, then change it when it doesn't work. It hasn't worked, and what is more infuriating is the fact that everytime Donaghy goes it, we get scores off him!

If its all part of a master plan, I hope he gives us a sign... soon!

Thanks for the report on today DDC..mustn't have been nice making the journey south after what sounds like another miserable spectacle for Kerry eyes.

You make a lot of salient points in the last few posts.
    1. The physicality/conditioning of our panel:
    Watching the Dublin game a friend remarked to me that Dublin (despite having several younger starters themselves) were by far the stronger and better conditioned team. Another point he made was that no Dublin player would be allowed to get into the shape Bryan Sheehan is in now....but thats another story. Dublin, Cork, Donegal...maybe Mayo also, look to have squads that are in better shape strength-wise than Kerry are right now. The likes of Fionn Fitz for example, while having plenty football and great potential, is a country mile off being ready for c/ship football. The Crokes v Ballymun game illustrated that clearly I think.
    I often wonder how we slipped so far behind in this regard...I remember the emphasis being on mainly ballwork back in my younger days but we also did plenty of resistance training even though it was stuff I now know mightn't be that beneficial. Quite a few of this current Kerry panel are literally 18 months to 2 years behind the current Dublin panel in this area and its something that needs to be worked on, not just with current U-21s and minors, but right down to U-15 and U-16 squads. Even U-14s can do some bodyweight/resistance exercises to get them ahead of the curve.

2. Don't rush Gooch/Declan back
    - I totally agree on this also. 2 of them have been on the senior panel since 2002 and 2003 respectively. They are facing into their 12th and 11th seasons, Gooch has played into September in 8 of those 11 seasons along with several club campaigns with Crokes. Don't underestimate the toll it all takes. Declan was rushed into the Dublin game and picked up a back injury. I would hope they are totally injury free and rested when they come back and can build from there.

3. The management team need to be given time.
    - Again, agree on this. Eamon is an intelligent man, as is O'Neill. Things aren't going well, they will be disappointed with this, but can't be faulted in the main for trying fellas out. I might have quibbled with a few selections from today for example, but when you look at the squad togged out, its not as if there's any scandalous calls being made. I would like to see Mark Griffin get a go at fullback and would persist with BJK as I feel there's good stuff in him (even though he was horrible in the Dublin game especially), but they are just my personal views and I'm not privy to going's on in camp, nor would I assume to second guess the management. Cian O'Neill's record of having teams in top notch shape for AI finals is there for all to see, so one can only hope he is following a formula and the players will be at their peak when it is really called for.

On another note, the U-21 game on Wednesday in Cork is an important one. After the debacle of 2011 (as bad an experience as I've ever had watching Kerry teams) this team gave a good account of themselves last year so continuing that upward trend is vital. This is a serious looking Cork U-21 team though..its not often you can call on ALL 6 starting forwards from last year like they can. Add Cahalane, Tom Clancy (the Clonakilty variety), Jamie Wall and Brian O'Driscoll to the mix and its going to be a tall order to win in Cork. One thing I would hope the new manager would pass onto these players though is the steely determination he himself possessed in the face of any adversary, so we'll wait and see.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,953 ✭✭✭Radio5

Thanks for the report on today DDC..mustn't have been nice making the journey south after what sounds like another miserable spectacle for Kerry eyes.

You make a lot of salient points in the last few posts.
    1. The physicality/conditioning of our panel:
    Watching the Dublin game a friend remarked to me that Dublin (despite having several younger starters themselves) were by far the stronger and better conditioned team. Another point he made was that no Dublin player would be allowed to get into the shape Bryan Sheehan is in now....but thats another story. Dublin, Cork, Donegal...maybe Mayo also, look to have squads that are in better shape strength-wise than Kerry are right now. The likes of Fionn Fitz for example, while having plenty football and great potential, is a country mile off being ready for c/ship football. The Crokes v Ballymun game illustrated that clearly I think.
    I often wonder how we slipped so far behind in this regard...I remember the emphasis being on mainly ballwork back in my younger days but we also did plenty of resistance training even though it was stuff I now know mightn't be that beneficial. Quite a few of this current Kerry panel are literally 18 months to 2 years behind the current Dublin panel in this area and its something that needs to be worked on, not just with current U-21s and minors, but right down to U-15 and U-16 squads. Even U-14s can do some bodyweight/resistance exercises to get them ahead of the curve.

2. Don't rush Gooch/Declan back
    - I totally agree on this also. 2 of them have been on the senior panel since 2002 and 2003 respectively. They are facing into their 12th and 11th seasons, Gooch has played into September in 8 of those 11 seasons along with several club campaigns with Crokes. Don't underestimate the toll it all takes. Declan was rushed into the Dublin game and picked up a back injury. I would hope they are totally injury free and rested when they come back and can build from there.

3. The management team need to be given time.
    - Again, agree on this. Eamon is an intelligent man, as is O'Neill. Things aren't going well, they will be disappointed with this, but can't be faulted in the main for trying fellas out. I might have quibbled with a few selections from today for example, but when you look at the squad togged out, its not as if there's any scandalous calls being made. I would like to see Mark Griffin get a go at fullback and would persist with BJK as I feel there's good stuff in him (even though he was horrible in the Dublin game especially), but they are just my personal views and I'm not privy to going's on in camp, nor would I assume to second guess the management. Cian O'Neill's record of having teams in top notch shape for AI finals is there for all to see, so one can only hope he is following a formula and the players will be at their peak when it is really called for.

On another note, the U-21 game on Wednesday in Cork is an important one. After the debacle of 2011 (as bad an experience as I've ever had watching Kerry teams) this team gave a good account of themselves last year so continuing that upward trend is vital. This is a serious looking Cork U-21 team though..its not often you can call on ALL 6 starting forwards from last year like they can. Add Cahalane, Tom Clancy (the Clonakilty variety), Jamie Wall and Brian O'Driscoll to the mix and its going to be a tall order to win in Cork. One thing I would hope the new manager would pass onto these players though is the steely determination he himself possessed in the face of any adversary, so we'll wait and see.

Very good post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

The likes of Fionn Fitz for example, while having plenty football and great potential, is a country mile off being ready for c/ship football. Quite a few of this current Kerry panel are literally 18 months to 2 years behind the current Dublin panel in this area and its something that needs to be worked on, not just with current U-21s and minors, but right down to U-15 and U-16 squads. Even U-14s can do some bodyweight/resistance exercises to get them ahead of the curve.

This is what is fundamentally wrong with our game and could end up destroying it,I blame the Rugby era.

People claim you need to be musclebound to play the game,That is utter horsesh1t.

Putting u14's on weight training is crazy,Look at the Kildare team what has it achieved for them?

Kerry would be performing alot better with a change in tactics not weight programmes,No matter how hard you train you will never run faster than a ball.

The Kerry team that lined out yesterday was full of talented footballers who are not allowed express themselves,Cian O Neill is doing damage to these guys morale.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Prop Joe wrote: »
    This is what is fundamentally wrong with our game and could end up destroying it,I blame the Rugby era.

People claim you need to be musclebound to play the game,That is utter horsesh1t.

Putting u14's on weight training is crazy,Look at the Kildare team what has it achieved for them?

Kerry would be performing alot better with a change in tactics not weight programmes,No matter how hard you train you will never run faster than a ball.

The Kerry team that lined out yesterday was full of talented footballers who are not allowed express themselves,Cian O Neill is doing damage to these guys morale.

You still need footballing ability, but being a stronger athlete than the man you're marking gives you a distinct advantage - most noticibly at minor & club level but also at Senior inter county level.

I don't agree with getting players doing hard physical training until they are 17 or so.

Also the argument could be made that they're not being allowed to express themselves by opposition who are changing the way the game is played - involving more physicallity & hard work.

Elaborate on the Cian O'Neill comment too please as I don't know what you're on about

D'Agger wrote: »
    You still need footballing ability, but being a stronger athlete than the man you're marking gives you a distinct advantage - most noticibly at minor & club level but also at Senior inter county level.

I don't agree with getting players doing hard physical training until they are 17 or so.

Also the argument could be made that they're not being allowed to express themselves by opposition who are changing the way the game is played - involving more physicallity & hard work.

Elaborate on the Cian O'Neill comment too please as I don't know what you're on about

I fully understand that players do need to do a some upper body weight training, as much though as they need to do agility training and skills training its all part and parcel of trying to gain that inch.

I just dont understand this idea of trying to morph the likes of Kieran O Leary and Barry John Keane into John Crowley sort players.

Each player is different and has different characteristics and they should be utilised instead of trying to clone each other.

Regards Cian O Neill it seems he is calling the shots here,All the warm up drills are about breaking tackles etc..

Very negative tactics deployed by Kerry this year,In contrast to Fitzys U21 team last year who were very positive in their play

Eh, I didn't say anything about putting U-14s on weights. "Resistance training" does NOT mean Weight training in case you aren't aware. In the case of 14/15 year old I meant bodyweight exercises like push ups and squats for example.

The rest of your post is fairly ridiculous..."the rugby era"? When was that exactly?

Cian O'Neill trained a team that got to an All Ireland final last year in case you've forgotten and they were probably going stronger than Donegal by the end of it, so I'm not going to judge him after league games in February or March, but rather when I see how the team shape up in July, August or maybe even September.

Regards Cian O Neill it seems he is calling the shots here,All the warm up drills are about breaking tackles etc..

Very negative tactics deployed by Kerry this year,In contrast to Fitzys U21 team last year who were very positive in their play

Against the best teams out there at the moment, Donegal, Dublin, Cork and Mayo..breaking tackles is a fairly crucial part of the game. Surely you realise that. The part of the warm-up you see as a fan (10 mins or so before throw in) is only part of the warm up and it is done (I would imagine)that close to throw in to get the players tuned in to what they are about to get into during the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭JessePinkman

Kerry wont be far away come August

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Agreed. Fitz using the league to blood a lot of new lads and lower expectations before easing the big players back for championship. He has learned well, although I'd still put Dublin and Donegal ahead of Kerry as of right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,241 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

They will

What you see from Kerry is the stark reality that the guys who are coming up are not ready and even with their top players back they will not be a force.

They will get to the Munster final and may win it depending on what Cork are like and seeing it will be in Killarney but after that they ill not be a force.

An August ready Dublin, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone would beat them.

Dublin will beat Kerry in the AI Semi this year on route to Sam,Kerry will claim a scalp along the way,Donegal & Tyrone wont win nowt.

Marc O Sé,Tómas,Brosnan,Maher,Sheehan,Buckley,Gooch,Declan Sullivan,Star would walk on any team in Ireland

James O D,Darran,Aidan O M,Gally wouldnt be far off eithir.

Kerrys problem at the moment is upstairs

• Registered Users Posts: 15,241 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Dublin will beat Kerry in the AI Semi this year on route to Sam,Kerry will claim a scalp along the way,Donegal & Tyrone wont win nowt.

Marc O Sé,Tómas,Brosnan,Maher,Sheehan,Buckley,Gooch,Declan Sullivan,Star would walk on any team in Ireland

James O D,Darran,Aidan O M,Gally wouldnt be far off eithir.

Kerrys problem at the moment is upstairs

No it's not upstairs

They just don't have the quality any more

Brosnsn who you mention is well past his best, Marc and Thomas are not far off it either and Thomas is a liability the amount of times he gets sent off theses days
    Maher is a good midfield but not a stand out.
    Sheehan if he can stay injury free is a great player
    Time will tell this year about Declan, he did not do much in 2012
    Gooch is obviously a great player and should still have a bit in him.
    star was great in 2006 and has been patch at best since

After that you are talking about a very average and below average bunch as the last four league games have shown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Its only spring lads, this time last last year down in Kerry, we got hammered all over the pitch and lost 2-16 to 1-8, the exact same starting 15 that day started the All Ireland final against Mayo...Would not think many left Killarney that day, thinking they just had witnessed the AI winners..
    Come the summer, I reckon Kerry will be a better oiled machine and a threat to anyone..

No it's not upstairs

Brosnsn who you mention is well past his best, Marc and Thomas are not far off it either and Thomas is a liability the amount of times he gets sent off theses days
    Maher is a good midfield but not a stand out.
    Sheehan if he can stay injury free is a great player
    Time will tell this year about Declan, he did not do much in 2012
    star was great in 2006 and has been patch at best since

They would still be on the starting 15 for any other county including Dublin & Donegal