Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Matchplay Match Day1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭kingshankly

id like to thank licksy for an enjoyable match.i was fortunate enough to come out on top on the day,headford new has some fine holes and an awful lot of water but is sadly let down by its greens.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I didn't get to write a proper reply earlier because I was on the mobile... but really enjoyed the day, fine course but like kingshankly said, the greens were a let down. It's not too expensive to play there now but I'd recommend waiting until the summer to get the best experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Plus 10

Congrats to Plus 10 who won this morning 3 & 2. Turning point came on the 12th. I had a shot on him on this hole, and he put his first out of bounds. So I'm laughing, until i put my second into the gorse and lost it. Had a putt to half the hole, but as I stepped up to putt it, I accidentally touched it, very annoyed with myself about that.

Some great golf played, From 4th to 7th, I was 4over and went from A/s to 4 down! Plus 10 played some great stuff. Good luck in the next round. Me I'm off to the plate :)

Cheers Ian - Good Game - I have to admire your honesty on the 12th - didn't see it move myself - reckon most players would have played on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Had a putt to half the hole, but as I stepped up to putt it, I accidentally touched it, very annoyed with myself about that.

This is not a penalty unless the ball moved from its position (rule 18/2). The ball can be touched and 'oscillate' (ie move but return to original position)without penalty. Is this what happened?

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Myksyk wrote: »
    This is not a penalty unless the ball moved from its position (rule 18/2). The ball can be touched and 'oscillate' (ie move but return to original position)without penalty. Is this what happened?
    ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Myksyk wrote: »

No it moved about a quarter of an inch and stayed there. If it had of been a practice round I would not have penalised myself a stroke but in a match play I had to, I would hope most people would do the same.

Regards
    Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

I'm gonna have to give the walkover to Mr check raise... The car is a write off so won't be able to travel for the game! :(

Hopefully it won't be the last time we see this comp running!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Congrats to tobinj6 who took the honours today at Highfield, very enjoyable day out, will repay the hospitality soon John.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 tobinj6

CLADA wrote: »
    Congrats to tobinj6 who took the honours today at Highfield, very enjoyable day out, will repay the hospitality soon John.

Dont mention it martin aka clada we had a great match which could have went either way and had a thorougly enjoyable day, look forward to playing with you again mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

i hate to get it by default. i'll see if i can go up on saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Folks,

Results in:

tobinj6 V CLADA : tobinj6
    DonkeyPokerTour V Plus 10 : Plus 10
    Licksy V kingshankly : kingshankly
    JCDUB V poster : (yet to hear) playing the 15th
    1stuey1 MCScull : playing the 22nd
    Blunder V Hobart : playing the 22nd
    Mr check raise V Stevire : (possible WO) Mr check raise to confirm
    Obni V WHIP IT! : Obni

TBC
    The following Matches have to played/confirmed before next Monday:
    Whodini V ziggy
    denisoc16 V Willywonka
    Hallowed V BUACHAILL
    Jabberwocky V Neckedit

Hobart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Jabberywocky Vs Neckedit..... Today @ Wicklow Golf Club, 12;14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

Hallowed v. Buachaill Sun 22nd @ Coolattin golf club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I must say, the amount of games already completed and confirmed to be played soon is a credit to you Hobart. Any chance you'll come and run our club matchplay?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Denisoc16 V WillyWonka playing in Goldcoast next Saturday 21st @ 10.30.

I hope WillyWonka isn't worn out from his week skiing last week!!!

neckedit wrote: »
    Jabberywocky Vs Neckedit..... Today @ Wicklow Golf Club, 12;14.

Good luck today, and thanks to the rest of the lads that came back to me. Myself and Blunder are playing at 10:52 next sat in Knightsbrook.
    I must say, the amount of games already completed and confirmed to be played soon is a credit to you Hobart. Any chance you'll come and run our club matchplay?? ;)

I have a small taste of what you have to go through.......thanks for the offer, but erm...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

Thanks Hobart,

I beat poster in Moyvalley, nice course, greens in very good shape, we shared the course with about 4 or 5 other groups at 11am on a Sunday, I was amazed.
    Course would have been rammed 3 years ago I reckon.
    Thanks Poster, apologies for taking off, I was not in good shape:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Jabberwocky Vs Neckedit, Result just in............ In a well played game at Wicklow Golf Club, It is my pleasure to inform you that Jabberwocky was triumphant in a well payed and mannerly Match, After going 2 down early doors I fought back to 2 up, then Jabberwocky came back again to go 1 up on 16, A par on 17 saw us standing on 18 all square, 2 excellent 2nd shots left us both with birdie chances from 6 feet or so. The gallery at this stage where beside them selves in anticipation, Neckedit missed on the high side, Jabberwocky cosies it up to 6 inches and with his shot takes the match by one hole. The gallery applaudes the local and carry him off shoulder high in a mist of champagne.
    jabberwockey I had a great day and a very enjoyable match, with some very strong golf played through out, I wish you all the best as the match's continue. Good luck to who he meets in the next round, this man can play. I left Wicklow with lead like legs, but I gotta say one of the most sceniec tracks I've had the pleasure of playing. And I now have a playing partner should I wish to return to wicklow (which I will). Good work Horbart a complete success.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

neckedit wrote: »
    Jabberwocky Vs Neckedit, Result just in............ In a well played game at Wicklow Golf Club, It is my pleasure to inform you that Jabberwocky was triumphant in a well payed and mannerly Match, After going 2 down early doors I fought back to 2 up, then Jabberwocky came back again to go 1 up on 16, A par on 17 saw us standing on 18 all square, 2 excellent 2nd shots left us both with birdie chances from 6 feet or so. The gallery at this stage where beside them selves in anticipation, Neckedit missed on the high side, Jabberwocky cosies it up to 6 inches and with his shot takes the match by one hole. The gallery applaudes the local and carry him off shoulder high in a mist of champagne.
    jabberwockey I had a great day and a very enjoyable match, with some very strong golf played through out, I wish you all the best as the match's continue. Good luck to who he meets in the next round, this man can play. I left Wicklow with lead like legs, but I gotta say one of the most sceniec tracks I've had the pleasure of playing. And I now have a playing partner should I wish to return to wicklow (which I will). Good work Horbart a complete success.:p

Cheers man... you're a gent... it was a really great tussle, thoroughly enjoyed the match and the company. The greens at #1 and #9 were Hollow Tined (sp?) and being honest, the victory is somewhat hollow too, given the amount of shots neckedit was giving away and the fact he was giving up home advantage to boot. :eek:

Giving away a monumental 13 shots, it was 9 holes into the match before neckedit dropped a shot and even at that he was 1 down... No fair!! But after a bogey on hole 9, he bounced straight back with a Birdie on 10.

Neckedit finished with an excellent 4 over par, 75 on a notoriously tight track he never played before. 4 of the measly 5 shots he dropped came at 2 holes where local knowledge is crucial with the elevation difference and the club selection proving the killer. All in all, neckedit had 14 pars, 1 birdie, one bogey and 2 doubles - he really made it look easy!! Great shooting man - was a pleasure - and looking forward to witnessing you rip the place apart at the next open. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

fair play lads thats what its all about, great posts.
    Hobart congrats on this also great success so far.

Can I just ask as I have my game this weekend what way exactly does the handicap/ format work in this event ? I think I am sure but just would like it confirmed !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I'm not sure what the exact terminology is but it's the full difference between the Handicaps. So for e.g. neckedit is off 2 and I am off 15 - so the difference is 13. So I had "a shot" on Index 1-13 and none on 14-18... and necked it had no shots on any holes.

brilliant thats exactly what i had thought just wanted to be sure thanks Jabberwocky and congrats on today great win

Results in:

tobinj6 V CLADA : tobinj6
    DonkeyPokerTour V Plus 10 : Plus 10
    Licksy V kingshankly : kingshankly
    JCDUB V poster : JCDUB
    1stuey1 MCScull : playing the 22nd
    Blunder V Hobart : playing the 21st
    Mr check raise V Stevire : (possible WO) Mr check raise to confirm
    Obni V WHIP IT! : Obni
    Denisoc16 V WillyWonka playing Saturday 21st
    Hallowed v. Buachaill Playing Sun 22nd
    Jabberwocky V Neckedit Jabberwocky

TBC
    The following Matches have to played/confirmed before next Monday:
    Whodini V ziggy

Fairplay to Jabberwocky and Neckedit who seemed to have a real ding-dong game. Nice write-up lads, really glad ye enjoyed it. BUACHAILL as Jabberwocky has said, it's full difference. Good luck, and enjoy it lads!!

Hobart.

Hobart wrote: »
    Good luck today, and thanks to the rest of the lads that came back to me. Myself and Blunder are playing at 10:52 next sat in Knightsbrook.

yee will enjoy knightsbrook its a fantastic course and the greens were superb the last time i was there,nice clubhouse too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Hobart wrote: »

yee will enjoy knightsbrook its a fantastic course and the greens were superb the last time i was there,nice clubhouse too.

Thanks. Looking forward to this now! Weather isnt looking too bad either so should be a good day all round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭stephenoleary

If I can Ziggy to St Andrew's on Saturday morning, we might just get our match in :) .... if not, looks like I'm going to have to concede :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Myself (9) and Blunder (10) had a lovely game of MP this morning in Knightsbrook. I won the day out on the 15th (4&3), not surprising as it was Blunder's first game this year.

There are some magnificent holes on this course, and the wind meant an extra club on every second hole. I don't think that there is a par 4 under 400 yards, a real challenge tbh, and it won't be long before there is a PGA Professional tournament played on it.

Was really nice to meet Blunder, he's a top bloke and a good golfer (the 3 iron into the first from 200 plus was very impressive), and I hope to see him on a golf course again soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

Thank Hobart. I really enjoyed the match even though the old short game was left at home in bed!! Hobarts 2nd shot to a foot on 10 was ultimately the killer blow and was one of many fine shots out there today. I thoroughly enjoyed the company and the course.

Thanks again for the game and organising the comp as its a great way to play different courses and playing with new people. As you say I hope it won't be last time we cross paths on the golf course!

Best of luck in the next round!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Myself and 1stuey1 played a great game this morning in Luttrelstown . First time for both of us on this course and we both thoroughly enjoyed it . Fabulous course in great condition , pity it's closing down .The greens had both of us stumped for a few holes . Stuey had the better of the front nine going 2 up at one stage , but I found a bit of form on the back nine to eventually battle to a 3and2 win . Great game and good to meet you Stu. Dont think you'll be off 18 for long with that massive drive and great iron play .

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭1stuey1

mscull wrote: »
    Myself and 1stuey1 played a great game this morning in Luttrelstown . First time for both of us on this course and we both thoroughly enjoyed it . Fabulous course in great condition , pity it's closing down .The greens had both of us stumped for a few holes . Stuey had the better of the front nine going 2 up at one stage , but I found a bit of form on the back nine to eventually battle to a 3and2 win . Great game and good to meet you Stu. Dont think you'll be off 18 for long with that massive drive and great iron play .

Cheers

cheers man the course was just amazing!!the greens where in amazing condition but id best describe them as un-readable haha!! had a great day and even tho i lost it was a great day out! you played some serious golf in the back nine had me on near every hole just out right played brilliant. great meeting you and hope to play again sometime. best of luck through the rest of the comp with golf like that ya better win lol (no pressure) haha:P

Hallowed (16) Buchaill (9) Venue Coollattin my home turf.

Let me start off by saying I had a very enjoyable day and met a really decent chap in Hallowed, as for his golf well let me just say it wont be long till he is in single figures, has a very consistent core to his game and was very cunning around the course ( one he had never played before).

The game was up and down right the way through to the last. Hallowed was up for most of the game and I only managed to get ahead once which didnt last too long. I was 2 behind with 4 to play and got it back to all square with 2 holes left. Hallowed took the next a par 3 with a great iron from the tee and all I could do was half the last with him. Congrats on a great day and best of luck on the next round, he will be a stern test for anyone but more importantly he is good company and we had a great round with a bit of fun. Hallowed won 7 holes I won 6 and only 5 holes shared, great game.

Shot of the day was Hallowed chipping it in the hole from about 20 yards on one of the toughest greens on the course. Fair PLay and thanks again for the game, we will do it again!!

Buachaill

Is it true the draw for the next round is live on sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

Is it true the draw for the next round is live on sky

Yes Shankly it is, unfortunately the package to get it costs 75euro a day, requires that you have 3 hi-def boxes in your house and have at least a 72inch screen. Given the current economic situation I'd say we will all be running out to buy it ;)

So to summarise so far:

Remaining Trohpy Competitors:
    Hallowed
    Mscull
    Hobart
    Ziggy
    Jabberwocky
    tobinj6
    Plus 10
    Kingshankley
    Obni
    JCDUB
    Mr Check Raise
    Denisoc16

Plate Competitors:
    Buachaill
    1stuey1
    whodini
    Blunder
    Neckedit
    Clada
    DonkeyPokerTour
    Licksey
    Whip It
    Poster
    Stevire
    WillyWonka

Clearly the plate is the more prestigious competition to win ;)

Edit to Add: Just a suggestion for the plate competition, how about making 4 groups of 3, each player within the group plays the other 2, the top player in each group advances to the semi finals, the remainder are eliminated. That way everyone is guaranteed another 2 games. Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Hallowed

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    Hallowed (16) Buchaill (9) Venue Coollattin my home turf.

Let me start off by saying I had a very enjoyable day and met a really decent chap in Hallowed, as for his golf well let me just say it wont be long till he is in single figures, has a very consistent core to his game and was very cunning around the course ( one he had never played before).

The game was up and down right the way through to the last. Hallowed was up for most of the game and I only managed to get ahead once which didnt last too long. I was 2 behind with 4 to play and got it back to all square with 2 holes left. Hallowed took the next a par 3 with a great iron from the tee and all I could do was half the last with him. Congrats on a great day and best of luck on the next round, he will be a stern test for anyone but more importantly he is good company and we had a great round with a bit of fun. Hallowed won 7 holes I won 6 and only 5 holes shared, great game.

Shot of the day was Hallowed chipping it in the hole from about 20 yards on one of the toughest greens on the course. Fair PLay and thanks again for the game, we will do it again!!

Buachaill

I want to thank Buachaill for his hospitality on the day. He was genuine and accomodating and in the true spirit of the boards matchplay competition he gave me a good line to hit off every tee and also a line for approaches too.
    We had a great up and down game as Buachaill has already mentioned. A good laugh and a very pleasant morning.
    Buachaill had an off day and I could see in his game the quality that he has. Hits his irons a country mile too. On another day he could have given me a serious whipping.
    Thanks again Buachaill for the game and the great company.

Hallowed.

PS. I would recommend Coolattin to anyone. A lovely course with a lot of great holes and blind tee shots. A real shotmakers course and with the redevelopment that is going on at the moment it is only going to get better. Well done to the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Well, We played on Saturday in the Goldcoast and while the course was fairly soft in places we had a good oul day out!! I managed to come out on the right side of the result by 4&3 but the winning of it was probably on the greens where Willywonka had no luck whatsoever, whereas luckily enough a few dropped for me. We mostly matched other tee to green and had lady luck smiled in Willywonka a bit more than myself, the result could well have gone the other way. Anyway, well played Willy, maybe we'll meet on a golf course again sometime. Best of luck in the Plate comp too by the way