Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie got 'jostled'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Like I said, Professional Protester.
    Again I have to ask do you not realise what is in corrib and in the current economic climate could help stabalise the country? Same person probably wants fee's brought in to help the reccesion but doesn't mind shell raping our natural resources

• Registered Users Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

WE had not planned to stop him, but after the actions of his political police then we felt compelled to stop him accepting an award.

Everyone keeps saying it is a disgrace and pointing the finger at FEE? We were nothing but peaceful in our actions yet people are telling us what we did?

I didn't, I said it was embarassing...

Planned or unplanned - you still stopped him.

KevR wrote: »
    I didn't, I said it was embarassing...

Planned or unplanned - you still stopped him.
    Tell me how it was embarresing? I worry for your social interactions if a peaceful protest makes you blush.

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭04KY

Again I have to ask do you not realise what is in corrib and in the current economic climate could help stabalise the country? Same person probably wants fee's brought in to help the reccesion but doesn't mind shell raping our natural resources

So how many Shell to Sea protests did you attend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭corribdude

Fair plate to the protestors. I think we need more protests, a big one in Dublin wouldn't go amiss that showed the politicians that the public have had enough and we want a general election sooner rather than later. Why is everyone here giving the students so much stick for god sake, Fianna Fail led by Bertie Ahern have disgracefully f*cked over the people of this country for the last 10 years while enriching themselves and their builder and banking buddys.

I have no respect for Ahern, a guy up to his ears in corruption, but this country is too afraid to tackle the guys with power/money. He should be doing time in jail not expecting the red carpet treatment and awards at a universities whose students now face the prosect of high fees because of the incompetence and corruption of his disgrace of a party.

04KY wrote: »
    So how many Shell to Sea protests did you attend?
    Honeslty none as I was unable at the time to be present

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

The point was to raise an objection to the award giving and highlight our campaign for free fee's. Simple as that.

Rubbish you are a Republican Socialist, with all the implies. You are into every cause that you think advances your agenda. You and your ilk have blundered around this country for many years troublemaking and attempting to advance the usual loony left ideology.

I love this phrase
    actions of his political police
    Why don't you cut to the chase and call them secret police, after all they weren't in uniform.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

I was there and I know what happened. Their is video footage backing up what I say, can you tell me what you think happened and then substanciate it?
    Pics or gtfo. Partisan posters throwing accusations aren't going to convince anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

So where's the video??

Rubbish you are a Republican Socialist, with all the implies. You are into every cause that you think advances your agenda. You and your ilk have blundered around this country for many years troublemaking and attempting to advance the usual loony left ideology.

I love this phrase Why don't you cut to the chase and call them secret police, after all they weren't in uniform.

What you think because my politics are to the left i believe most garda are secret service men? Chief wiggum impersonaters maybe. The gards not in uniform were special branch men wel know and not disputable. They were actually not as heavy handed as the lads in uniform thoug

JohnCleary wrote: »
    So where's the video??
    Here is one of the gardai racially abusing one of the protesters

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=7f_cDijEPbM&feature=channel_page

More to come I am uploading as we speak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭scottledeuce

My true colours? The fact that their is enough gas to get this country out of a reccesion and economically secure for the coming years means nothing to you?

So what, We turn ourselves into some Western Europe Pirates Hijacking oil and Gas wells.

I see now why you didn’t want to attend any debate.

If you could only go back and read all the sh*te you've been posting it might occur to you that this idea of some new age anarchism is not realistic in the slightest.

I know some of the people who were at this protest and YES they are out to cause trouble and get attention simple as that.

I'm a past student and whereas fees are not ideal I would be very much in favor of the system where fees are repaid to student's on completion of their exams each year,
    This system has worked very well in other countries as it rewards those who wish to study and complete their studies and also helps to weed out people who dont have the interest but figure they will go to university without an idea of why they are there.

I suppose thats not fair either...a system that puts more funding in to youruniversity and rewards all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shatners basoon

I love this phrase Why don't you cut to the chase and call them secret police, after all they weren't in uniform.

You forgot to mention the love of long walks, puppies, and a fine fleurie. Not to mention thinking U2 are crap, spiders are scary and that his favourite flavour is pistachio! :rolleyes:

Seriously, the level of spite coming from people against this guy is severly uncalled for and hypocritical. I don't necessarily support his views or those of the protesters nor was i present last night so i've no idea what happened at either the first blockade or the second but attacking the person directly as opposed to the ideas displayed is a blatant display of ignorance and undermines your point.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭serfboard

No it isn't. I've been reading this thread without forming an opinion on it, but don't claim to present evidence and then not present it.

All I heard there was some muppet with a screechy voice shouting "you're being racist, you're being racist" and then shouting a Garda badge number?

You think selective recording is going to help you out here? That video reminds me of the time Homer Simpson was being falsy accused of touching the girls arse. He's brought on TV and explains the situation. Then they edit it to make him look like a monster

This whole thread is turning into => :rolleyes:
    Lock the flippin' thing and don't give these 'protesters' any more publicity. Get a job ye fcukin hippis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭scottledeuce

I'm surprised you waren't protesting when the govnerment was auctioning off the right's to explore our waters to the highest bid.

They took shell's money...more fool them......maybe but for the Irish govnerment to develop the infrastructure to explore for oil would have cost you and I a bit more than our college fees, assuming you pay taxes that is!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

No I do not feel the elderly and studenst need to be burdened with fee's for the mistaks this government has made. Perhaps we cretake the corrib gasline as their is enough fuel their to get Ireland out of the reccesion.

You fool. It's laughable if that's your answer to solve our economic crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭thecivvie

At no stage does the Gard say any thing racist just whoever is saying it makes the fact that he is from Pakistan

Join Ireland Weather Network

serfboard wrote: »
    No it isn't. I've been reading this thread without forming an opinion on it, but don't claim to present evidence and then not present it.
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=jf8i9saW_t8&feature=channel_page

What?? It is a video of somebody accusing a garda of 'being racist'.

Given the scale of your claims, I really hope that you can do better than that.

I hope they are of better quality than that, that is one dumb ass video, your only hurting your position if you post that kind of crap up here. And I am a guy who supports protesting against third level fees.

Its interesting to see footage of the protest but I dont see the gardai doing anything wrong here, they are just pushing the protesters back, they never punched them or used a baton so I fail to see the so called heavy handedness that was alluded to. The gardai are perfectly within their rights to move protesters back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭mobby

Is that it! Jez H Christ you a joke EuskalHerria.grow up will ye.

Again very selective recording. All I see here is cops pushing people out of the way which tbh i've no problem with. Students were blocking the path and not willing to move. Such a conincidence that this film stops recording just as that guy in the scarf and black jacket VIOLENTLY pushes someone who is just trying to calm the crowd down

Dude, you're shooting yourself in the foot with these videos, it's hilarious :pac:

Oh right then. Can you point at what point in the video does the "brutality" start?:rolleyes:

That barely qualifies as a kerfuffle. There's more brutality involved in getting a drink at a busy bar tbh.

EuskalHerria, I'm starting to think that you would have been better off accusing the gardai of stealing all the cameras. At least that way you might have broken even.

This would be embarrassing if it wasn't so funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

In order to continue, please discuss the protests only and try to leave other things like gas lines and GAAW out of this particular discussion before the thread get too unruly.

Calling protesters/other posters names will not help your own position.
    Attack the post, not the poster.
    Also advocating baton charges etc is bad m'kay?

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,172 ✭✭✭Wompa1

thecivvie wrote: »
    At no stage does the Gard say any thing racist just whoever is saying it makes the fact that he is from Pakistan

Holy Snotballs...could that be the young gentlemen who turned the last thread into a a religous issue and got it closed...that grinds my gears!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Just wondering is there going to be a protest at the debate planned for next Thursday night? The debate is on: "Has student protesting has gone too far" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

Although I'm not Berties biggest fan, I think this behaviour was disgraceful. There is no need for such aggressive behaviour.