Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hitting the ground running hard! - Nz Advice.

Options
  • 03-02-2009 12:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭

Hi all,

I had a quick search through some of the threads here, but thought that posting a thread more specific to my needs might be more pertinent.

I've got a WHV, 500EUR and the credit card to back me up, however for obvious reasons I'd much prefer avoiding that situation.

I have a degree in physics, A year in I.T. Customer support, A year teaching English in Korea to my credit. My only real concern is saving enough to leave the country in about 6 - 9 months time, I have no qualms about physical labor or any form of work for that matter, and being a keen cook, am wondering is this might be a chance for me to have a go at cooking for a small cafe, but this is just a pipe dream of sorts.
    However, settling and taking a 6 month contract in an office would not be a problem either.

What I'd like to ask is:
    • Which city would you reccomend for weather and surfing on the north island?
    • Would Wellington suit this purpose were I to have a cheap car?
    • Would it be worth my time getting a cheap car and hitting the harvest route for work?
    • How much is gym membership?

I have some contact's via a friend in wellington and a neighbor who has returned after living his life in NZ, but any info you could put forth would be appreciated.

I know 500 is cutting it thin, but I'm not drinking at the moment, and having been on the road for 3 months now, I am willing to endure a spartan lifestyle for another while longer.

Comments