Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chuggers new tactics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

javaboy wrote: »
    I'd say he was having you on about getting the first month or two's donations. I'd believe an hourly wage, commission and bonuses but being paid all of the donations for any length of time sounds like absolute rubbish.

huh? the first months donation is his commission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

huh? the first months donation is his commission.

So he gets paid 100% commission and €15 an hour for the first month? :confused: Doesn't seem like a very sensible way to run a business.

Where do I sign up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

no, chuggers sign people up for a monthly standing order, his commission is that he gets the first payment.

Ah right. Gotcha now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I was in the city centre yesterday and walking through Temple Bar there were a group of chuggers (charity muggers, for the uninformed), as per usual.

Except now simply walking by and not making eye contact doesn't work, because they've taken on the idea of shouting over at you, forcing you to look!

Looking down and playing with my phone, or even making calls to voicemail to make it seem like I'm having a conversation just doesn't seem to give them the message that maybe I don't want to be bothered... but now, they're going to shout at me too?

Are people handing over bank details hand over fist when they shout? There must be some level of success if they've adopted this new technique...

Turn down your hearing aid :P

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭jum4

these fukwits really annoy me, would never give them a penny, (I support the charities that I choose directly)

if i'm bored i give them messed up bank details just to waste their time.

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭MrMiyagi

Hello

There is only one remedy for chuggers

Start talking in a made up foreign language when they approach! Game, set and match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,525 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What I always found strange was that these people could do this for years
    with impunity; yet if I sat on a street corner freezing cold with a cup in my hand, I was breaking the law!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Just tell them to f*ck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

So he gets paid 100% commission and €15 an hour for the first month? :confused: Doesn't seem like a very sensible way to run a business.

Where do I sign up?
    I remember seeing some site posted up on boards that told you how a charities 'profits' were divided between actual aid work of some kind, and admin costs/wages etc. In a surprising number of case, they are badly run businesses. I think this is the site: http://www.charitynavigator.org/ Maybe read up on a charity before donating, make sure your € is going to someone who needs it and not for a new plant in some exec's office. ;)

Daddio wrote: »
    I remember seeing some site posted up on boards that told you how a charities 'profits' were divided between actual aid work of some kind, and admin costs/wages etc. In a surprising number of case, they are badly run businesses. I think this is the site: http://www.charitynavigator.org/ Maybe read up on a charity before donating, make sure your € is going to someone who needs it and not for a new plant in some exec's office. ;)

Oh I wouldn't be in the least bit surprised if some of them are quite badly run or have exorbitant "admin" costs... it's just that my original misinterpretation of phantom_lord's post would have meant the charity would be losing money like crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 TheParrot

phasers wrote: »
    Just tell them to f*ck off

That is the correct response.

But new cultered Irish man would not resort to such measures.

He has a newely developed "social conscience" after all.

Hey, I'm not pro the chugger and I know they can be very annoying;
    but what is wrong with being polite and firm without resorting to "**** off."

Being rude and nasty for the sake of it is hardly a trait to be proud of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

walshb wrote: »
    Hey, I'm not pro the chugger and I know they can be very annoying;
    but what is wrong with being polite and firm without resorting to "**** off."

Being rude and nasty for the sake of it is hardly a trait to e proud of!

Well if you're against the swearing just tell them you're under 18.

My dad, a balding, clearly over-40 gentleman always tells them he's under 18 and it stops them in their tracks

No; I am against being rude for the sake of it. I know well they can annoy and get on your tits; deal with it without being so offensive and aggressive!

Lets be honest, nobody says "**** off" in a gentle and mannerly tone.

The word is not to be used like that!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 galwayfotogrfr

Ass wrote: »
    Tell them you're not interested like a normal human being instead of rather ignorantly ignoring them while they speak to you.

Hello Ass
    I have become rude in this situation, but this is due to years of saying to them that I am already doing the direct debit up to 10 times as I walk through town. After canceling the direct debit I told them I am not interested but when you are faced with somebody initiating a conversation that you want no part of on a daily basis, you tend to become jaded.
    All the best
    G

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

In Glasgow last week I saw this:
    • Guy with headphones singing away to himself walking down Sauchiehall St.
    • Chugger tries to sell him a scratch card, he didn't jump out at him or even use much body language/hand gestures.
    • Save to say that guy no. 1 didn't hear the chugger, he carried on listenin to his Walkman Sounds.
    • Chuggers calls guy no.1 "frickin winker"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

walshb wrote: »
    What I always found strange was that these people could do this for years
    with impunity; yet if I sat on a street corner freezing cold with a cup in my hand, I was breaking the law!:rolleyes:

They are begging for money partly for themselves and aggresive begging can get you a fine of €700 now.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/new-law-to-crack-down-on-pushy-beggars-1550823.html

The chuggers are far more "aggressively" begging than most homeless beggars too.

It doesn't surprise me the abuse these beggars get, people will respond aggresively to other law breakers too, people will shout at somebody who is drunk and harrassing/annoying people that they are a f*cking kunt.

People washing windows and handing out crap & begging/chugging at cars in traffic are usually jaywalking and should be fined too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Oh I wouldn't be in the least bit surprised if some of them are quite badly run or have exorbitant "admin" costs... it's just that my original misinterpretation of phantom_lord's post would have meant the charity would be losing money like crazy.
    Ah yeah I know what you mean, tis a useful site though.

But those charity execs with their tropical plants and mahogany bookcases... /begins rant

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

Though they annoy me as much as those people handing out the Herald AM. God i hate those fcukers!!

Aaaaargh, there's one particular Herald AM giver-outer just outside Londis on Westmoreland Street, she's a fookin headwrecker - she would make a FANTASTIC chugger! I was walking towards her yesterday morning, pelting down it was, had my big umbrella covering my face, and striding along purposefully, and she just stepped out in front of me shoving a paper under me nose! Annoying me at 7am is not a smart move...but because I'm such a nice person I treated her to a dirty look instead of launching a barricade of abuse at her.

Seriously...no chugger has ever annoyed me that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

00112984 wrote: »
    Ah yes, but they have personaliteeeee, doncha know.

no,they dont.

i saw one of them once getting one of his teeth knocked out

he called a guy a miserable **** or something

the guy just flipped

it was hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

i really don't see the point of them,i mean how much money can they really generate??and the real kicker is my OH wouldn't speak to me for ages after i angrily shouted NO!!!at a fairly persistent chugger.....he wouldn't even join me in laughing at their silly hats:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

Every time a hot girl initiates conversation with me on the street she turns out to be collecting for charity.

I'd be walking along minding my own business, then I make eye contact with a little hottie. She smiles and say's hi. For those glorious few seconds I imagine a world where I'm actually attractive to this girl, my self confidence grows and I smile. A calming happiness overcomes me and I feel right. The ever present burning emptiness inside disappears and I feel truly fulfilled.

But then it's all shattered when I see her clip board and I tell her to go **** herself. Cunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Ebonyellie wrote: »
    i dont really lose the head much but these people make me want to scream, im sick of them ambushing me with "hello do you have a few minutes to be screwed on the street" that enthusiasm has COMMISSION written all over it. I used to pretend to be on the phone but i dont bother anymore, its the only time im rude to people is when im dealing with these clipboard cowboys. So they are upping the ante now you say? im going to have to take tranquillisers.

it's generally not commision it's "performance based employment"; sign les than five people up in the week and kiss your job goodbye

theyre still cnuts though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

The way I usually deal with "Chuggers" is simple. It goes like this.

Me: One off donation or are you going to ask me to hand over my bank details in the middle of the City Centre? If it's the latter, I'm afraid you are out of luck.

Them: *hurt face* Do you not trust me with your bank details?

Me: No, I don't trust any potential muggers staking you out who will get their hands on my bank details and every other personal detail under the sun that you ask for. I don't trust that your employer won't bandy around my personal details so I can be harassed by phone or mail.

Them: But what about the kids?

Me: I am very charitable in regards to one off donations. Can I ask you a question? How many people actually hand over their bank details. Of the ones that do, how many ended up being bogus details?

Them: *hesitation*

Me: And your bosses still don't get the message. No offence but I just don't hand over bank details. Nothing to do with yourself.

Them: Oh well, thanks for stopping anyway, most people just tell me to **** off.

Me: Pleasure. Goodbye.:)

Works a charm every time.

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    The way I usually deal with "Chuggers" is simple. It goes like this.

Me: One off donation or are you going to ask me to hand over my bank details in the middle of the City Centre? If it's the latter, I'm afraid you are out of luck.

Them: *hurt face* Do you not trust me with your bank details?

Me: No, I don't trust any potential muggers staking you out who will get their hands on my bank details and every other personal detail under the sun that you ask for. I don't trust that your employer won't bandy around my personal details so I can be harassed by phone or mail.

Them: But what about the kids?

Me: I am very charitable in regards to one off donations. Can I ask you a question? How many people actually hand over their bank details. Of the ones that do, how many ended up being bogus details?

Them: *hesitation*

Me: And your bosses still don't get the message. No offence but I just don't hand over bank details. Nothing to do with yourself.

Them: Oh well, thanks for stopping anyway, most people just tell me to **** off.

Me: Pleasure. Goodbye.:)

Works a charm every time.

What if you don't have 2 minutes to go through that conversation (possibly 3 times on the one street)? What if the chugger deviates from your script?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

One time, when I was working in Dublin, around the Stephen's Green area, chuggers came up to me and some of my friends from the office I was in, as we were walking back from our lunch break, running a bit late as well, I might add. One guy politely declined their invitation to 'talk for a few moments' and they shouted at the guy,

"Go on, fcuk off back to your office then, drone!"

Or something along those lines.

Curiously enough, they'll probably end up working in the civil service after they come back from their year abroad, paid for with daddy's credit card.:rolleyes:

They give mad socialist hippies a bad name! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Myself and one of the lads were heading to the shop on our break one day, while in uniform.

A chugger approached us and gave the usually piece about saving the world etc. so of course we politely declined. On this, said Chugger decides to shout after us "Oh yeah I forgot, you're miserable bastards in the military" :eek:

With this, my mate turned around and politely informed him "Yes, I'm so miserable that I'm going to Africa for 4 months to actually do some good instead of standing in Dublin waving a bucket you ****"

Oh how I laughed :pac: