Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA 2009

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

Have to agree with you LeoB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Are there many Rebels on here going to the U21 semi in Thurles?They have made this a double header with the womens league semi final between the same sides.

I be going with my friend Mullet.If anybody wants to meet for a jar,PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I'm inclined to agree as well Leo, if only because I don't believe one player should have such a monopoly on one position.

I've been saying it for years but we need to tear apart the squad and start anew, beginning with people like Donal Og and Gardiner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

I think Gardiner has a bit of Hurling in him yet. I never was gone on Donal Og. Id be inclined to push a Callinan-Naughten full forward line as his presence alone will be worth a few scores to other lads and if he gets a good run he could be a god send.
    Apat from Donal Og I would also get rid of Sean Og. With the events over the winter he could be seen as a negative influance on young lads, despite his ability. Just maybe a little under current. Just a thought not a critism of the man.

Two man full forward lines don't work in Hurling in my opinion - I'd have it Naughton/Diarmuid O'Sullivan/Pa Horgan there, with Callinan and the two McCarthys in the center forward line.

Beyond that, we can only guess who and who isn't a 'negative' influence in the camp. Sean Og is injury prone and along with Gardiner, got destroyed against KK last year - hence the reasons they should go.

I dont think they work that well in football either as an out and out tactic but I think Callinan anyway close to goal in a 1 to 1 would be hard to stop from what I'v seen of him thats why I suggested the 2 man line. I wouldnt know that many of the Cork players to well but there is a depth of class which gives the manager plenty of options. If only to give Denis Walsh time to bed in he could be as well writing off 2009 season and plan ahead. Dont know if this is possible. Have a sneaky feeling thats what Pat Gilroy is doing in Dublin.

LeoB wrote: »
    I dont think they work that well in football either as an out and out tactic but I think Callinan anyway close to goal in a 1 to 1 would be hard to stop from what I'v seen of him thats why I suggested the 2 man line. I wouldnt know that many of the Cork players to well but there is a depth of class which gives the manager plenty of options. If only to give Denis Walsh time to bed in he could be as well writing off 2009 season and plan ahead. Dont know if this is possible. Have a sneaky feeling thats what Pat Gilroy is doing in Dublin.

Not really, and certainly not in the forwards. There isn't a top class center forward, wing forward or full forward in the county. Hurling club championship has been of a poor standard for years now, and we haven't won anything meaningful underage for years because our underage structure is years behind KK, Galway, Tipp and Dublin. No center of excellence, no full time coaches, no coaching seminars etc. Even sheer numbers and tradition can't make up for the fact that Cork GAA is so poorly and short sightedly run.

Orizio wrote: »
    Not really, and certainly not in the forwards. There isn't a top class center forward, wing forward or full forward in the county. Hurling club championship has been of a poor standard for years now, and we haven't won anything meaningful underage for years because our underage structure is years behind KK, Galway, Tipp and Dublin. No center of excellence, no full time coaches, no coaching seminars etc. Even sheer numbers and tradition can't make up for the fact that Cork GAA is so poorly and short sightedly run.

WOW, Is it that bad? Mind you are development squads the answer? Do they overlook the late developer? I am suprised there are no full-time coachs. Our club has 1 and he has made such a difference. If your club wanted a coaching seminar go straight to Munser council. We have had a few different people in giving talks and they have been eyeopening but our club coach Games Promotion Officer runs a mini-course every 6 to 8 weeks to help parents who are coaching teams. One big problem is a lot of people looking after teams have no real background in the games and this was causing standards to drop but they work done by the G.P.O. is raising the bar again for us anyway.
    In a previous thread a while back I said to you there are ways of doing things and if "people" get in the way or stifle the efforts of a club work around them. Are there any G.P.Os in Cork at all

LeoB wrote: »
    WOW, Is it that bad? Mind you are development squads the answer? Do they overlook the late developer? I am suprised there are no full-time coachs. Our club has 1 and he has made such a difference. If your club wanted a coaching seminar go straight to Munser council. We have had a few different people in giving talks and they have been eyeopening but our club coach Games Promotion Officer runs a mini-course every 6 to 8 weeks to help parents who are coaching teams. One big problem is a lot of people looking after teams have no real background in the games and this was causing standards to drop but they work done by the G.P.O. is raising the bar again for us anyway.
    In a previous thread a while back I said to you there are ways of doing things and if "people" get in the way or stifle the efforts of a club work around them. Are there any G.P.Os in Cork at all

Leo, you should read RebelGAA regarding Cork Hurling. It might be worth your time starting a thread, introducing yourself and asking the above questions, as they are more knowledgable then I. ;)

Will do that later Orizo ok. I am stunned. If I were sitting dow with a stranger and they wanted to go to a few counties for advice I would have had Cork at the top[ of my list. I suppose people just presume sometimes.

Dont know what time I will get home tonight but look forward to reading rebel G.A.A. dO YOU HAVE A PARTICULAR ANGLE ON jUVENILE SET UPS?
    ORIZO P.M me at some stage.

Will do that later Orizo ok. I am stunned. If I were sitting dow with a stranger and they wanted to go to a few counties for advice I would have had Cork at the top[ of my list. I suppose people just presume sometimes.

Dont know what time I will get home tonight but look forward to reading rebel G.A.A. Do you have a particular view on juvenil games set up?
    ORIZO P.M me at some stage.

Honestly, Leo, I wouldn't presume to know enough about how a juvenile system should be set up, but looking at the lack of underage success, the set-up elsewhere and the players coming through in both codes (although particurly in hurling) things simply aren't right. Anyway make the thread on RebelGAA, you'll get a more informed response. It might be useful to talk about the set-up at your club and in Dublin in general, I would find it veru useful. ;)

Cork 0-9 Armagh 0-4 HT.

Cork 0-19 Armagh 1-7 FT

Good win, some decent scoring, still have Pearse and Cussen to come in. League final against Monaghan two weeks time. Hopefully they might keep Kerrigan at center forward as he has had two stormers now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Fairdues

Great to see Cork G.A.A. having something to cheer about in 2009. Where is the match against Monaghan to be played.

Probably Croker a fortnight from now before Kerry/Derry.

Looks like it's the 24th in Croker. Must write that one in the diary,

Lads just reading rebelgaa and stunned to see there is no academy in Cork. Have ye Games promotion officers? G.P.Os. It is difficult to survive in urban or city settings without infrastructure. Rugby, Soccer and Cricket all have regional development officers. Clubs must take responsibility here and put in place a proper structure or ye will be eaten up by other sports eventually. Will post on rebelgaa when I am allowed.

If ya dont start kids off right your in trouble, the very basics hold the hurl right way, strike off both sides, kick with both feet hand pass with both hands. All very simple foundations but as ye know you try and build a house without foundations and eventually it falls down. Coaching now should have the iso9002 quality mark that is how vital it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Where's the Waterford match on this weekend lads? The last few times we've played down there it was in Pairc ui Rinn.

Might make the trip down to this one.

Pairc ui Chaiomh. Might be there my self if I can get a spin up, dying to go both I haven't gotten my driving licence yet. ;)

Elsewhere, the seniors played the under-21s in a practice match and won easy. Aisake started full-forward and got a pair of goals, Fintan O'Leary is supposed to have played well too. The latter should start against the Deise. The team announced on thursday should be interesting.

Cork Minor Football vs Limerick
    CORK (MFC v Limerick): S Mellett (Carrigaline); D O’Donovan (Ilen Rovers), D Rodgers (Brian Dillons), D Cahalane (Castlehaven); A Cronin (Nemo Rangers), R O’Sullivan (Argideen Rangers), S Finn (Glanworth); E Healy (Aghada), P Wiley (St. Finbarr’s); G Minihane (O’Donovan Rossa), John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), D Drake Carrigaline; D Fitzgerald (Kiskeam), J Dineen (Éire Óg), B Hurley (Castlehaven). Subs: A O’Donoghue (Aghada), S O’Shea (Adrigole), S Down (Klmurry), W O’Mahony (Clann na nGael), D Brosnan (St, Nicks), D Murphy (Castletownbere), R Deane (Banteer), D Nations (Nemo Rangers), M Russell (Aghada).

Leo, if you are having trouble posting on RebelGAA tell me and I'll get in touch with the admin. ;)

Ronan Conway, Barry Johnson, Eoin Dillon, Tadgh Og Murphy and Dara McSweeney all also got game time, with Hero Murphy and McGann playing midfield acoording to the Echo.

This was the team that lined out against the Under-21s as best as I can tell...
    Martin Coleman

Chris Murphy Eoin Cadogan Shane Murphy

Steven Cronin Ross Cashman Joe Jordan

Kieran 'Hero' Murphy Ciaran McGann

Ronan Conway Fintan O'Leary Pa Cronin

Barry Johnson Aisake O'Hailpin Tadgh Og Murphy

Subs:

Anthony Nash
    Dara McSweeney
    Eoin Dillon
    Billy Murphy

The team from RebelGAA, might be wrong so don't shoot me if it is...

Cork vs Waterford
    Donal Og Cusack

Shane O'Neill Killian Cronin Chris Murphy

Tom Kenny Ronan Curran Ciaran McGann

Kieran 'Hero' Murphy Jerry O'Connor

Pa Cronin Pa Horgan Graham Callinan

Barry Johnson Fintan O'Leary Cathal Naughton

I assume it will actually be Hero center forward, Hoggie in the corner with Johnson midfield? It would be a good full forward line at least. Cronin would certainly give 'presence' at full-back. More physicality at the back in general.

Brian Murphy, Cian O'Connor and Joe Deane are now definetly gone from the panel. Not sure about Timmy and Diarmuid, but I wouldn't be suprised if they were gone as well.

Munster Minor Football Championship

Cork 2-12 Limerick 1-6 FT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

It'll be a big game for Cork (as well as Waterford). No harm to see a mix of faces in the Cork team. Let's hope the hunger after the KK match will give them the impetus to put in a good performance. It's a great thing too to have a few players on the team trying to establish themselves and with a point to prove.

Our team:

1 C Hennessy

2 E Murphy 3 A Kearney 4 N Connors

5 R Foley 6 M Walsh 7 K Moran

8 S O Sullivan 9 S Molumphy

10 J Nagle 11 S Prendergast 12 E Kelly

13 E McGrath 14 G Hurney 15 J Mullane

Yay at Noel Connors continuing to get his chance
    Nay at persisting with Gary Hurney
    Big Nay at Adrien Power not getting another game in goal
    WTF at Aidan Kearney being tried out at full back

lol @ Gary Hurney. This really will be the game of 'big feckers who can't hurl for ****'.

I'd fancy a cork win against that lot, but I can see its going to be a poor enough game.

Yeah, tbh, it'll have a bit of a "its the final league game of the season and we can't be arsed whether we win or not" feel to it.

I don't get why Power isn't getting more games in goal though. He's had one game this year and was man of the match. If he's as good as Davy Fitz makes him out to be and is seriously meant to challenge Hennessy for the no1 spot, whats he doing on the bench for games like these?

Surely there is nothing wrong with Hennessey though?

Not at all, he's a great keeper. But when someone like Fitzy comes out and says he's one of the best young keepers he's seen in the past 20 years, you wonder what good it does him to play only 1 league match and be dropped, despite saving a penalty and making 2 seriously brilliant stops from clear cut goal chances for the Dubs.

It'll be 2010 before he can consider himself to be in with a chance of starting in goal for the Championship, but surely it's him that needs the games and not Clinton.

Cork 1-4 Dublin 0-4 HT.

Dublin have more possession, but Cork are far more clinical. Dublin forwards really poor. Colm O'Neill got the goal.

Jaysus that Gary Hurney is an almighty Hurler, almost as good as big Dan...

A 4 point defeat isn't that bad, considering the weakened team we had out, the inexperienced players and the Kilkenny result. Yet again, it was the young lads leading the way and showing the right attitude in the second half - Paudie Sul, Pa Horgan, Cathal Naughton, Shane O'Neill etc.

Daysha wrote: »
    Nay at persisting with Gary Hurney
    lol @ Gary Hurney. This really will be the game of 'big feckers who can't hurl for ****'..

What's that we were saying? :)

Nice to finish the league on a high, and it sounded like it was a good enough game.

Doesn't really matter either way though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭autograph

As many people have said, in view of all that happened this year, we weren't expecting anything exciting in 2009. Cork Hurling is in a transition phase and at least we won 2 matches. Let's hope that in 2 or 3 years, we'll look back on this as a watershed.
    Meanwhile, our footballers are doing the business. We are luckier than most counties as, over several years, we have been in the reckoning in Hurling, Football, Camogie and Ladies Football. Don't know any other county that has been involved in all disciplines to the extent that Cork has been. Many counties are involved in one G.A.A. discipline only.

In case you're wondering, Hennessy picked up an injury during the week so Adrien Power was meant to come in to replace him, but he fell ill himself so Ian O'Regan came in instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

autograph wrote: »
    As many people have said, in view of all that happened this year, we weren't expecting anything exciting in 2009. Cork Hurling is in a transition phase and at least we won 2 matches. Let's hope that in 2 or 3 years, we'll look back on this as a watershed.
    Meanwhile, our footballers are doing the business. We are luckier than most counties as, over several years, we have been in the reckoning in Hurling, Football, Camogie and Ladies Football. Don't know any other county that has been involved in all disciplines to the extent that Cork has been. Many counties are involved in one G.A.A. discipline only.

Galway don't do to badly in all codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

Jaysus that Gary Hurney is an almighty Hurler, almost as good as big Dan...

well i know him as he lives in the same estate as me. i will throw eggs at his house next time i'm home. hahaha:D

Cork Team vs Monaghan.
    Quirke

Carey Shields Lynch

O'Leary Canty Spillane

A O'Connor Murphy

O'Flynn Kelly Kerrigan

Masters D O'Connor Goulding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭sitout

Hey the cork under 21 winning captin and sigerson cup winner colm o neill ! Could we do with him in the senior set up or is giving the lad one more year the right choice! He is im sure you will agree a savage talent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭joulter

According to the back of todays Echo Brian Murphy will be returning to Cork training tonight.

This is great news, he'll be a massive addition to the panel and DW might now move Shane O'Neill further out the pitch where he can be more influential

joulter wrote: »
    According to the back of todays Echo Brian Murphy will be returning to Cork training tonight.

This is great news, he'll be a massive addition to the panel and DW might now move Shane O'Neill further out the pitch where he can be more influential

Bastard, I just came on to say this! :D

Great news.

Brian Murphy would be welcome on any team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 gallant1

He shouldnt have retired in the first place .Apparantly he doesnt get on with the number 1 goal keeper

gallant1 wrote: »
    He shouldnt have retired in the first place .Apparantly he doesnt get on with the number 1 goal keeper