Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Most hated names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My two kids are Darragh and Hollie, what do people make of these names? im interested in finding out

Darragh is fine, but "Hollie with an ie" isn't very nice. Also people with Christmassy names depress me, because it makes you think of Christmas in February-November, which I dislike

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭Harolds+

Paul, Jordan, Darren, Wayne, Dean, Jonathan,

Tracy, Sharon, Tanya, Debbie, Lisa, Michelle

Hector Grey wouldn't sell names as cheap and common as that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

So happy my name hasn't come up! :P
    Always liked my name...

And whats with all the hating of Grainne, I don't see how its so horrible!

I would have to say that Gerard is an awful name coz its a poor relation of mine... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Gerald is a crap name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

javaboy wrote: »
    Britta is a silly name. Sounds like a water filter or something.

Also Brittany, Britney, Britters, Bratney, Bortney and whatever other possible variations of your name I missed out on. :p

Bridget too

Oh and the name Conor :pac:

*runs*

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

So happy my name hasn't come up! :P
    Always liked my name...

And whats with all the hating of Grainne, I don't see how its so horrible!

I would have to say that Gerard is an awful name coz its a poor relation of mine... :cool:

Grainne is a terrible name because of its ridiculous similarity to the irish word for ugly.
    phasers wrote: »
    Gerald is a crap name
    Jerrold is even worse.
    FFS.
    Jerrold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

JackM_79 wrote: »
    Callum

Well fu very much.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

arama wrote: »
    i hate sylvia, declan, valerie, seamus, helena, thomas, collette(horrible name) :pac:emma, ...
    Really? What's so bad about Emma?

I don't like most Irish girl names (even though mine is one :o): Gráinne, Ciara, Siún, Blathnaid, etc. I especially hate Sinéad.

I do like Niamh though which is my sister's name. She got the good name :(

Grainne is a terrible name because of its ridiculous similarity to the irish word for ugly.

Jerrold is even worse.
    FFS.
    Jerrold.

I couldn't name my child after a Chorus decoder box! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Someone told me recently that Gobnait is the irish for Deborah.
    Plllleeeeaaaasssseee tell me this is'nt true!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Bridget too

Oh and the name Conor :pac:

*runs*

Who's Conor and why did you *run*?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

My first son's name appears here, but my second does not. I guess, like anything with anything else, you get better at naming kids with practice. Also, 5 of my siblings names are here, but not mine - score!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

One of my mates' name's Daniel O'Donnell and he's only 20, we just call him Hank instead the reason being that however bad Hank sounds its still 100 times better than Daniel O'Donnell.

I hate Jon, just leave in the H for jaysus sake.

Also, anybody younger than 30 named Dermot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

One of my mates' name's Daniel O'Donnell and he's only 20, we just call him Hank instead the reason being that however bad Hank sounds its still 100 times better than Daniel O'Donnell.

I hate Jon, just leave in the H for jaysus sake.

Also, anybody younger than 30 named Dermot.

The only Jon I know is really a Jonathan, if that makes you feel better. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭fj1200

Someone told me recently that Gobnait is the irish for Deborah.
    Plllleeeeaaaasssseee tell me this is'nt true!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fraid it's true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Alphonsus, Ebeneezer, Tobias, Bartholemew, Ezekiel, Saul, Zebediah
    Why on these threads are names that NOBODY HAS (in this day and age/region of the world at least) always listed?

fj1200 wrote: »
    Fraid it's true

Nooooo!!!!! God, the way the Irish Language just brutalises EVERYTHING in it's path!!!!

Quackles wrote: »
    The only Jon I know is really a Jonathan, if that makes you feel better. :)

Its not as bad as people spelling it Johnathon, now thats a smackable offence, for the parents of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Dwayne and Ultan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladyella

Really? What's so bad about Emma?

I don't like most Irish girl names (even though mine is one :o): Gráinne, Ciara, Siún, Blathnaid, etc. I especially hate Sinéad.

I do like Niamh though which is my sister's name. She got the good name :(

I think this is the first time this one was mentioned - I'm stupidly pleased its on a positive note:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Dudess wrote: »
    Why on these threads are names that NOBODY HAS (in this day and age/region of the world at least) always listed?

I actually know a Bartholomew and an Ezekiel. Although the Ezekiel is from Africa.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Not keen on the name Wayne either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

I actually know a Bartholomew and an Ezekiel. Although the Ezekiel is from Africa.

That mean you know him less? Don't ban me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Thought of another name I hate- Blaithnaid. Reminds me of that smug ginger wan off RTÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Fintan.
    Gobhnait.
    Chip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭MadelineNYC

I know a family with 3 kids: Atticus, Calliope and Kismet...omg.And their last name is something along the lines of Johnson..(not their real last name but that sort of name)

Wanda
    Bertha
    Dot
    Mable
    They all sound like big woman names.

Earl
    Randy
    Jethro
    Budd
    Wayne
    Cletus
    All sound like hillbillies and/or men with criminal records

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭*adele*

Also Brittany, Britney, Britters, Bratney, Bortney and whatever other possible variations of your name I missed out on. :p
    HAHAHAHA! BORTNEY!! I have to get a pet and call it that.

I managed to dodge a little bullet called "Carly Kavanagh".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,460 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I think by this point, 90% of people's names in Ireland have come up.

Thank god I was christened Blister. Nothing stupid about that name.

YDMHSSB wrote: »

on another note, i know a lad call Anus :eek::eek::eek:

Really? What a bummer LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry, could'nt resist..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

Really? What a bummer LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry, could'nt resist..........
    bet he was an asshole...lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Has anyone said Nigel yet? (Im not reading back thru all that!)

I knew a guy called Nigel once, was a complete w**kstain....

The Anus name is actually spelt Aeneus? or somethin like that? Still funny tho :D

Or, he could have been a bit Anal about things!

No, really, cant get arsey about this sh1t...........DOH!!

Has anyone said Nigel yet? (Im not reading back thru all that!)

I knew a guy called Nigel once, was a complete w**kstain....

The Anus name is actually spelt Aeneus? or somethin like that? Still funny tho :D

Good call on Nigel, there was a fella in my school called Nigel and he was just as odd as his name.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

My name hasn't come up. It's not a bad name at all, it just seems to be the new Emma/Sarah/Aoife.
    Names I hate are Kelly, Annie, Daisy, Cheryl, Savannah, Summer...hmm, all girls names. I'll have to think harder about the boys.

The one which always comes to mind for me first is Dympna, not sure if I spelled it properly. Sounds even worse when spoken with a female scanger Dublin accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Ulick. Fintan.

Starting to hate Eoghan, merely because when I think of the name all that comes to mind is:

A young lad with stupid hair from Norn Iron.
    A slightly bonkers senator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Seth really pisses me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Blue-Eyed

Congratulations. You're the first and only person on my hate-on-sight list. Haaappy?! :mad:

The water filter's Brita! You've gotta learn to listen! Not my fault they copied my name anyway...

Any I'm sure I hate your name as well. Humph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Bob, john, jim, david, james, joe, davie, dale, george, micheal, Brain, Bob again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

Grainne, Sharon, Fergal, Fergus, Janine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Psychobiker

Right, I heard of someone calling their child Chardonnay .

Imagine, some early-20s London tart calling : "HAY, ChardonAAAAAY! Peeno Nwaaaa!"

Oh my

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭MG

S.I.R wrote: »
    Bob, john, jim, david, james, joe, davie, dale, george, micheal, Brain, Bob again.

Yeah calling your child Brain is putting a lot of pressure on them to do well in their leaving ;)

MG wrote: »
    Yeah calling your child Brain is putting a lot of pressure on them to do well in their leaving ;)
    Where's Pinky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Any name you hear being screamed at one of her litter by a hoopie wearing welfare sponging tracksuit wearing skanger as she attempts to light her last johnny blue before going into the shop to buy more chicken nuggets, usually named after a character on Home and Away or Neighbours....tyler, scott, summer...

• Those awful wannabe French names (on non French people) like Chantelle, Dominique and Monique (the worst offender) - just scream cheap and chavvy. Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Ulick.

Ulick McGhee :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Right, I heard of someone calling their child Chardonnay .

Imagine, some early-20s London tart calling : "HAY, ChardonAAAAAY! Peeno Nwaaaa!"

Oh my

Fergal? Fergal is a frackin' great name!!

Because it's

FERGALICIOUS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

jane86 wrote: »
    I'd like to add

Conal
    Cornelius
    And Padraig/Porick(?)...

I like some of the Irish names though.

Its not porick. Its (P)Rick.

Geddit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai