Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most hated names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I used to know a non-irish couple who gave their kid an Irish name.
    And then moved away from Ireland.
    Kid is marked for life because anyone not Irish will not have a clue how to pronounce that name.

Most Irish names i do like but i can imagine they are not so handy outside Ireland.

Horrible name: Gretchen. Makes me think of a 70 year old German nanny that pinches the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Funny thing is, some people outside of Ireland with Irish names don't even pronounce their own name the correct Irish way.

I've met a Key-ara (Ciara) and a fee-own (Fionn).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭jason&arthur

arthur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭whodoo

conor
    really annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Chloe, Frederick, Mildred, Doris, Fester, Felix

Blisterman wrote: »
    Funny thing is, some people outside of Ireland with Irish names don't even pronounce their own name the correct Irish way.

I've met a Key-ara (Ciara) and a fee-own (Fionn).

There's a singer, I think American , who goes by the name Ciara but pronounced Sierra. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Abigayle wrote: »
    Clara

for the same reason people hate Brian and Cowen?

• I've met a Key-ara (Ciara) and a fee-own (Fionn).

Could it have been Chiara? That's pronounced Key-ara.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 RuthyB

A family i know nick-named their youngest daughter Minnie ( Her real name was Rebecca), and the family name is Cooper. I thought nothing of it until i heard the mother one day...

"MINNIE COOPER ..... DON'T MAKE ME GO OVER TO YA!!!!!!!!!!"

I nearly wet myself :eek:

Glad to see my name isn't on anybodys list :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

Hagar
    Gretchen
    Maud
    Mildred
    Iarlaith
    Fiachra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

can't believe my name wasnt mentioned!! its not a very well known name i guess and people tend to find it a very hard name to remember..

My mom's name was mentioned..a few times...its the kinda name that always pops up in these kinda threads..and its my second name too.

My daughters name was mentioned once, but its a lovely name and suits her down to the ground...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

MG wrote: »
    Yeah calling your child Brain is putting a lot of pressure on them to do well in their leaving ;)

i thought it meant making them a fat useless waster... :confused: ....

• Registered Users Posts: 46 EskimoErased

Shawn.

*Shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Dublin Mama

Kate / Patricia/ Paddy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Gertrude

Mildred

Constance

And those weird american names like chuck, buddy, zach, chad, tad, Buzz, etc.

Except Chuck Norris of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

probably been mentioned: adolf.

that or calling your kid hitler. that'd be a great first name. imagine the roll call in class: "hitler o'reilly? An seo".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Att-tichoo

the name Goretti really grates on my nerves

oh an fionn/fiachra/osisin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Sharon.....It just reminds me of yer one in the Snapper:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Also don't like poncy Irish names like Ruairi or Saoirse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭magenta73

Bridget.........eeeeeeeeuuuuuuu

or Noeleen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 frizzle-frazzle

Shanice
    <cringe>

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Turd Ferguson...wait, whats this about again?

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭nedoo

Know two lads, one is Cornelius and his bro is Ambrose, nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭magenta73

Turd FergusonTurd Ferguson...wait, whats this about again

lol......very good, I'm in work, on my break and looking at the rain and did'nt think anyone could make me laugh today! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Darth

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭miaowsky

a guy in my class was called padre pio o'dwyer....needless to say he would only answer to paudie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Sowra

Norbhla (its Irish, dont know the proper spelling)

Timothy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

pat kenny

pat kenny

oops i mean:

pat,
    kenny.

Kimia wrote: »
    Gertrude

Mildred

Constance

And those weird american names like chuck, buddy, zach, chad, tad, Buzz, etc.

Except Chuck Norris of course.

some other weird merikan names , Chance, Lucky, Rock, China, Africa, Dawson, Perry, Theodore, Dirk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think the Irish and the skangers have really ruined some former
    nice names. Here's my list of names that I think stink when
    Irish go for them with their children:

Dylan, Jordan, Blake, Jack( I know it's Irish, but I hate it for a child in the 21st Century), Kyle, Reece, Ethan.

Now, all those names are okay, but it's the hijacking of these names by the skangers that bugs me! The then become synonomous with howyas

Some female names I like but think they stink when applied to Irish children:

Bethany, Britney, Jade, Jasmine, Tamara, Demi, and the best I ever heard, Sue 'f u c k i n g' Ellen? WTF is that all about?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Here's my list of names that I think stink when
    Irish go for them with their children

Any Irish? what about the middle class.

You raise a good point. The (Anglo?) middle classes will try and shy away from names associated with the poor, or unloved racial or ethnic groups.

Much good it does them ,as the poor copy the middle classes. So by the time of adulthood the name is skanger anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

ailbhe, windy, bartholemuw, matthew, bobby, shirley, britney, dick, harry, bruce, jacob, sally, polly :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

Kimia wrote: »
    Also don't like poncy Irish names like Ruairi or Saoirse.

+ 1 on that.
    They're really dung, aren't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't like loads of names but I hate my own name above all others

• Registered Users Posts: 35 catratbat

As mentioned before, the cutie names like Polly, Petal, Daisy ,Poppy or when they stick 'Boo' at the end... Daisy Boo...

Jamie Oliver is a real chef alright, preparing his kids for an absolute roasting...

Speaking of which, there's a young wan up North whose folks decided to give her a lovely forr-ing name... Lasagna!! I sh!t thee not!

Not mad about names like Rebecca, Sophie, Sarah and Chloe(sound like phlegm...sorry) and Emily, so very... pastel :P

My two kids are Darragh and Hollie, what do people make of these names? im interested in finding out

Really like Darragh, Hollie is a bit novelty.

I'm gonna call any of my future sprogs after auld family members... then at least they'll have some kind of meaningful connotations when they curse me for it.

Ye can nearly age kids by their names, Noah was popular a few years back for instance...
    My Dad wanted to call me Lutra and my brother Nimrod back in the mid-seventies... (No he's not a pretentious lord-of-the-manor type just innocent of the long term consequences of giving the offspring playground bait names):P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Aisling. Which is weird, because I love most Irish names.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

simon
    kevin
    daniel
    eugene
    neil eewww
    fred

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

maxxie wrote: »
    simon
    kevin
    daniel
    eugene
    neil eewww
    fred

Ah Jaysus! They're mild enough.
    What about the Holy Horror of 'car crash' names like Caoimhe!!!!

God spare us!

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭deereidy

V surprised mine hasn't come up yet, but reckon it's only a matter of time:P

god i'd hate to be a fiachra right now.. I think the worst name ever, ever, is Charlie for a girl. It just doesn't work, they don't even change the spelling. Charlie can only ever be a male name in my opinion, King Charles etc always springs to mind.

And now for nice names, I like David and Michael for men, they're good strong names with nice nice nicknames.. and Marie or Maria and Laura for girls, they just sound pleasant. Frieda is nice too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭D.R Adams

deereidy wrote: »
    V surprised mine hasn't come up yet, but reckon it's only a matter of time:P

Deirdre!!!!

Mine hasn't been mentioned either and im pretty surprised!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Aubrey! So pretentious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

Peggy....
    WTF.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

eugene i hate that name i had a bad experience with a bloke called eugene and ever since when ever i hear that name i feel like throwing up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

EDDIE HOBBES

In Arabic it means Anti-Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

I hate the sound of most Indian names.

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Mrs JackDaniels

Blisterman wrote: »
    I find a lot of Irish girls names to be unaesthetically pleasing to the ear.

Aoife
    Brefini
    Sorcha
    Aine
    etc.

There's nothing wrong with Aoife mister