Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did Met Eireann Get Yesterday's forecast Wrong?

Options
  • 06-02-2009 9:04am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭

I am new to this particular forum.

The question I am asking is regarding the very poor weather conditions yesterday (Thursday 5th) around Dublin and the East coast. On Wednesday evening I checked www.meteireann.ie an it indicated a good day, albeit cold. I had a particular reason to check as I was planning to attend an outdoor event (which was eventually cancelled due to the weather).

I dont remember what was actually said on the site but the weather we got was not in any way forecast.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

They were wrong on numerous occasions in the past week, chopping and chaning their forecast from 6pm to 9pms, On monday they said no snow for ulster ,but letterkenny got snowed under . also here in donegal they warned of heavy snow on quite a few occasions since then and not once have i seen heavy snow!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

They dont update enough I think. They send out a script in the AM and people would read "Dry Conditions in Dublin" were a blizzard visible outside the window in the afternoon. For snow events, which are both more disruptive and more volatile than rain events - except for the severest storm - they need to nowcast it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent