Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lookin for Pugalier

• 06-02-2009 3:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

I have been lookin 4 ages 4 a pugalier dog would anybody know where or who I could get one please:o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Oh god, not another one of these designer dogs:mad:

If you want a cross breed there are plenty of them in shelters and pounds where you dont have to fork out huge money that will line the pockets of puppy farmers.

There is no such thing as a pugalier, puppy farmers are crossing breeds of dogs and giving them fancy names so people will buy them and they can make their money.

No decent breeder will be selling these so-called breeds so god knows what you will get for your money health wise.

I would suggest getting either a pug or a cavalier if its those breeds you are interested in, but please dont encourage these poor dogs to be sold at the expense of their health because some idiot wants to make a quick buck.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

There is no such thing as a "Pugalier"! It's a mongrel (nothing wrong with that) but given a stupid name as an excuse to actually charge money for them. They're usually advertised online as having "the best features of both breeds" which is drivel- who's to say they haven't the worst features and health issues from both breeds?

I've seen ads for them on various websites and they often say "Purebred, non-registered" which is complete bull and an attempt by the breeder farmer to make it look like they're a legitimate breed. No, they're not! If the owner of a Cavalier or a Pug really wanted to breed, they'd do it in the best interest of the breed they love usuing a suitable stud dog and only using parents that are healthy (and vet checked), good tempered and excellent physical examples of the breed.

"Pugaliers", "Cavachons" and "Samsations" are just an example of dog owners breeding anything and everything for profit.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭kenmc

And if you actually knew anything about Pugs and their health issues, you wouldn't touch them with a bargepole. Unless you could afford weekly vet visits, and expensive medication ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭lucky111

kenmc wrote: »
    And if you actually knew anything about Pugs and their health issues, you wouldn't touch them with a bargepole. Unless you could afford weekly vet visits, and expensive medication ....
    Well said
    My sis has a male pug, the ammount she paid for him was :eek:
    Anyway....... pugs ARE known for having such alot of problems, himself has breathing problems, constant cleaning around his folds of skin [ eyes and mouth ] he's only 1 and has already been to the vets 4 times.
    This "breed" you're on about is not pure bred:rolleyes: but a mongrel
    So many pups/dogs are lookin for homes [ shelters];)

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,921 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

kenmc wrote: »

And caviliers aren't short of health complaints either. Can't imagine why you'd want a combo of the two.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭votejohn

i saw some on gumtree a while back, so maybe keep an eye out for them there. They are a really cute cross breed, and at least it in some way cuts out the breathing problems pugs have by lengthening their muzzle.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Bluefrog

OK, first I can't tell you where either.

I can't even try to tell you not to go ahead and buy one. If your heart is set on one I know that won't work. Still...

If you want a dog, I assume you are a dog lover and ready to take on the long commitment of owning one. So, though I claim no right to, I would ask, that before you go further, take a couple of hours out and go visit your local rescue centre. It is a fraction of the time you will spend with whatever dog you end up with.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

True, but of all things to cross them with... A Cavalier? When almost every CKC has a heart murmur? Just goes to show this crossbreed was designed purely to appeal to consumers (the cute factor) and to make money... There are few healthy Pugs out there, and even fewer Cavaliers that don't have heart murmurs.

OP, please avoid Pugaliers, unless you want the dog to suffer a lifetime's ill-health and you have very deep pockets to cover the vet bills.

If you have your heart set on a Pugalier, at the very least, insist on seeing the pup's parents so you know their health and well-being has not been neglected. Most people churning out these kinds of "designer dogs" are only in it for the money and their breeding dogs are living in deplorable conditions without proper veterinary care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 nikkinik

I have one that needs a home. Let me know if you're interested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 eaves78

Hi what can I say...it seems after reading about pugaliers many pug breeders seem to be wearing white clothes with hoods to start there own.anti pugulier group....I think breeders of pugs are scared because puguliers are becoming a recognised breed and pug breeders are worried for there own pockets incase puguliers become more pop then the pug.I am not a breeder I own 2 dogs..and this is why I am angry at snobby breeders..My bullmastiff was 3 when I had her,she was being ill treated and we had her for free,she is the most good natured dog ive have ever seen,I have small children also who she adores and although my mastiff has no papers,if I had a choice between a pug for £900 or my free dog,I would choose my mastiff as her temperment is out of this world..My puppy is a pugulier,and yes a pug was to dear for me and I wanted a nice little dog for the children,I read about puguliers on many sites and read that in 2 years time they will be registered...dont no why..and it wasnt from a yahoo site it was from some top site for breeders/dog council ect..so those of you looking for a pugulier you carry on,mine is black and white,tiolet trained at 8weeks old,very clever little thing,very playfull,no problems at all seems a healthy little chappy...Even with top breeds you can pay hundreds for a puppy and not garentee a healthy dog in the future...OHh and one more thing I think its because puguliers are 2 top breeds of dogs that go well together,(thats why they might soon have papers)..so take no notice of pug breeders,I paid £300 for my puppy x

Sorry, but "PUGALIERS" :rolleyes: will not be registered/recognised within the enxt 2 years, dont know where you got your info from but im guessing it was prob from the person selling the pup to you to get you to hand over money for a mongrel.
    Any of these so called designer breeds are not breeds, they are mongrels, call them what you like but they will not be recognised.
    Sure look at the labradoodle which has been around for a lot longer than any of the other cross breeds and it hasnt been recognised so your so called "pugalier" wont be either im afraid.

Fools and their money comes to mind when i hear about these made up breeds....
    Just so you know, there are plenty of "free" nice little dogs out there for your children. You dont need to hand over 300 euro for that. If people werent buying these so called breeds, then these so called "breeders" wouldnt be breeding and crossing all these lovely breeds to line their pockets, which is all they are doing by selling these "designer" dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

eaves78 wrote: »
    Hi what can I say...it seems after reading about pugaliers many pug breeders seem to be wearing white clothes with hoods to start there own.anti pugulier group....I think breeders of pugs are scared because puguliers are becoming a recognised breed and pug breeders are worried for there own pockets incase puguliers become more pop then the pug.I am not a breeder I own 2 dogs..and this is why I am angry at snobby breeders..
    My puppy is a pugulier,and yes a pug was to dear for me and I wanted a nice little dog for the children,I read about puguliers on many sites and read that in 2 years time they will be registered...dont no why..and it wasnt from a yahoo site it was from some top site for breeders/dog council ect..so those of you looking for a pugulier you carry on,mine is black and white,tiolet trained at 8weeks old,very clever little thing,very playfull,no problems at all seems a healthy little chappy...Even with top breeds you can pay hundreds for a puppy and not garentee a healthy dog in the future...OHh and one more thing I think its because puguliers are 2 top breeds of dogs that go well together,(thats why they might soon have papers)..so take no notice of pug breeders,I paid £300 for my puppy x

I don't think anyone who has commented on here is a Pug breeder!!

I would love to know where you got your info/what site you read that 'pugaliers' will be registered breeds in 2 years, could you post the link I'd be interested to read it, I can't see anything on the IKC site, which is the only organisation that recognises breeds, the other one (can't think of the name of it) is basically for puppy farmers to have 'legitimate papers' so they can get more money for their dogs, but the papers mean sod all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,524 ✭✭✭Zapperzy

Hi what can I say...it seems after reading about pugaliers many pug breeders seem to be wearing white clothes with hoods to start there own.anti pugulier group....I think breeders of pugs are scared because puguliers are becoming a recognised breed and pug breeders are worried for there own pockets incase puguliers become more pop then the pug.I am not a breeder I own 2 dogs..and this is why I am angry at snobby breeders..My bullmastiff was 3 when I had her,she was being ill treated and we had her for free,she is the most good natured dog ive have ever seen,I have small children also who she adores and although my mastiff has no papers,if I had a choice between a pug for £900 or my free dog,I would choose my mastiff as her temperment is out of this world..My puppy is a pugulier,and yes a pug was to dear for me and I wanted a nice little dog for the children,I read about puguliers on many sites and read that in 2 years time they will be registered...dont no why..and it wasnt from a yahoo site it was from some top site for breeders/dog council ect..so those of you looking for a pugulier you carry on,mine is black and white,tiolet trained at 8weeks old,very clever little thing,very playfull,no problems at all seems a healthy little chappy...Even with top breeds you can pay hundreds for a puppy and not garentee a healthy dog in the future...OHh and one more thing I think its because puguliers are 2 top breeds of dogs that go well together,(thats why they might soon have papers)..so take no notice of pug breeders,I paid £300 for my puppy x

Reputable pug breeders do not sell pups to line their pockets so therefore would not care if the pugalier became more popular than the pug in that sense. I actually don't even think there are any pug breeders on this website nevermind on this thread.

Labradoodles have been around since the 70s and are still not registered so what makes you think that the pugalier is going to be registered. :confused: To be registered as a purebred they have to conform to a breed standard, if you breed a pug and a cav together within the one litter you will get pups that differ vastly, how can you define what a pugalier is supposed to look like when they all look different. :confused: Before a breed can be considered a breed they have to be breeding true, in other words if I bred a pugalier and you bred a pugalier then the 2 dogs shouldn't differ too much in build. All you have to do is google pugalier and you will see pugaliers with corkscrew tails, some with straight tails, some will be tall and a bit leggy and some will be smaller and stockier. Yet if you google pug the only major difference between them is colour.

You cannot create a breed by constantly breeding pugs with cavs and creating F1 pups, now if someone were to actually go out to breed the pugalier true then they would start with a pug and a cav and breed an F1, then an F2, outcross a few times along the way possibly to other breeds and in a few decades, possibly a century, you will have a pugalier breed, but until then they are just x breeds with fancy names.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭lisasimps

mine is black and white,tiolet trained at 8weeks old,very clever little thing,very playfull,no problems at all seems a healthy little chappy

Just a point. If your pup is 8 weeks old, you can't have had him for more than a day or two, in which case its far too soon to claim he's fully toilet training.

Also, it is unlikely that your pup would have been handed over to you limping, vomiting, or with his eye balls hanging out. A dogs health can't be determined over a couple of days. Come back to us when your dog is six, and let us know about his health then!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

lisasimps wrote: »
    Just a point. If your pup is 8 weeks old, you can't have had him for more than a day or two, in which case its far too soon to claim he's fully toilet training.

Also, it is unlikely that your pup would have been handed over to you limping, vomiting, or with his eye balls hanging out. A dogs health can't be determined over a couple of days. Come back to us when your dog is six, and let us know about his health then!

Eight weeks is too young ; most reputable breeders know this. .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

Zapperzy wrote: »
    Reputable pug breeders do not sell pups to line their pockets so therefore would not care if the pugalier became more popular than the pug in that sense. I actually don't even think there are any pug breeders on this website nevermind on this thread.

why do reputable breeders breed then?

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Steve30x

mine is black and white,tiolet trained at 8weeks old,very clever little thing,very playfull,no problems at all seems a healthy little chappy

Im sorry but you are talking total bull there. An 8 week old puppy will never be house trained and you dont know how healthy that puppy will be in a few years time. It took me three and a half months to train my Cavalier King Charles (I am starting to think she is just a king charles cause her head is more round than a cavaliers head) and she will be a year old on sunday week. She is healthy now but when she is five years old I will be watching out for a heart murmur because 50% of Cavaliers die at the age of 5 because of heart problems and 80-% of them die at 10 because of heart problems. Also I dont know yet if she has Syringomylea.
    ppink wrote: »

To fill their pockets. Thats why they charge such extortionate prices for their puppies. It sure as hell doesnt cost them 900 euro to raise the puppies for two months. I would be surprised if it even costs them 200 euro to raise the puppies for two months.

Steve30x wrote: »

To fill their pockets. Thats why they charge such extortionate prices for their puppies. It sure as hell doesnt cost them 900 euro to raise the puppies for two months. I would be surprised if it even costs them 200 euro to raise the puppies for two months.

Im sorry, are you serious? Do you know what it costs to raise a litter from start to finish? Obv not if you think its 200 euro, that wouldnt even cover the cost of food for the pups and mother for a month let alone 2 months.

The costs involved are a lot more than you think.

Stud fee eg Rottweiler €800
    Transport costs to stud dog if abroad.
    Vet costs - Vaccinations for pups and mother.
    Health tests for mother eg, Hip/elbow scoring for a rottweiler is over £200 alone.
    Food - For mother and pups
    Bedding for whelping box
    Scans
    Microchipping pups, vet checks, worming, flea treatments.
    Time off work to look after pups
    Registration with kennel club

Will i continue? So if you think you can raise a litter on €200 go ahead but it wont get you very far, actually it wont get you anywhere. Im sure there are other things that i just cant think of at the moment but thats the basics.

So that is why reputable breeders charge big money for pups, its not to make a profit, its so they can do it right from start to finish and breed healthy, well reared, fed and socialised pups.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Reputable breeders breed out of love for the breed, because they are knowledgeable about the breed, they understand the standards of the breed, they have a history with the breed. Most breeders barely break even. Most good breeders, if asked why, will probably respond with "I just love them."

Non-reputable ones don't care what they're breeding, what it looks like or even if it's healthy so long as they can make a buck out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Knine

A reputable breeder never lines their pockets, if they have any money leftover you can guarantee it will go back into their dogs. Often the stock they are breeding from are Champions of their relevant breed or are at least graded excellent. Have you any idea how much money/time/travel/hidden costs it takes to gain a champion title? or a working qualification?

The costs mentioned above are no exaggeration, also add to that the costs of buying or building a proper whelping box, crates, heat lamp, kennel name prefix and I'm sure there are numerous others. Many reputable breeders I know also do breed rescue.

Just like anything else in life you pay for quality and if you are buying a dog and are not sure of how to recognise quality then do a lot of research beforehand and dont be afraid to ask for help. BTW the reputable breeders will have waiting lists for their puppies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

andreac wrote: »
    Im sorry, are you serious? Do you know what it costs to raise a litter from start to finish? Obv not if you think its 200 euro, that wouldnt even cover the cost of food for the pups and mother for a month let alone 2 months.

The costs involved are a lot more than you think.

Stud fee eg Rottweiler €800
    Transport costs to stud dog if abroad.
    Vet costs - Vaccinations for pups and mother.
    Health tests for mother eg, Hip/elbow scoring for a rottweiler is over £200 alone.
    Food - For mother and pups
    Bedding for whelping box
    Scans
    Microchipping pups, vet checks, worming, flea treatments.
    Time off work to look after pups
    Registration with kennel club

Will i continue? So if you think you can raise a litter on €200 go ahead but it wont get you very far, actually it wont get you anywhere. Im sure there are other things that i just cant think of at the moment but thats the basics.

So that is why reputable breeders charge big money for pups, its not to make a profit, its so they can do it right from start to finish and breed healthy, well reared, fed and socialised pups.

+1 and that's if everything goes to well and to plan, not to mention the added emotional and financial burdens when things don't ie. C-section, death of the mother, poorly pups, rejection by the mother.
    IMO you would really have to love what you were doing to breed responsibly, I take my hat off to those who do. Every penny they get usually just lets them break even, any profit goes back into their dogs, showing etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭pokertalk

QUOTE No decent breeder will be selling these so-called breeds so god knows what you will get for your money health wise.
    I would suggest getting either a pug or a cavalier if its those breeds you are interested in, but please dont encourage these poor dogs to be sold at the expense of their health because some idiot wants to make a quick buck.[/QUOTE]
    pugs and cavs are also riddled with health problems which might cost you a bomb in the long run .your better off going to the pound and rescuing a cross as there are plenty of good dogs out there needing good homes

liah wrote: »
    Reputable breeders breed out of love for the breed, because they are knowledgeable about the breed, they understand the standards of the breed, they have a history with the breed. Most breeders barely break even. Most good breeders, if asked why, will probably respond with "I just love them."

Non-reputable ones don't care what they're breeding, what it looks like or even if it's healthy so long as they can make a buck out of it.

so do the reputable breeders ignore show standard requirements for the breeds then?
    I am wondering how the CKC,GSD etc ended up in such a bad state? Perhaps that is too big a question for this thread

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭pokertalk

so do the reputable breeders ignore show standard requirements for the breeds then?
    I am wondering how the CKC,GSD etc ended up in such a bad state? Perhaps that is too big a question for this thread
    what are ya trying to say pink:D

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭teacherspet

Defo with you ppink on the GSD. Those frogs legs and yes bred to breed standard. Dreadful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

You shouldn't tar all breeders with the one brush. My last GSD's parents, grand parents, g.grand parents etc. had titles and Championships coming out of their ears. They had near perfect hip scores and they were titled in Obedience, Agility and Schutzhund, these are not things an unfit dog could achieve. Daisy lived to be 13 and never had any joint issues except some arthritis in her foreleg from an injury she'd recieved some years before.

Im sorry but you are talking total bull there. An 8 week old puppy will never be house trained and you dont know how healthy that puppy will be in a few years time. It took me three and a half months to train my Cavalier King Charles (I am starting to think she is just a king charles cause her head is more round than a cavaliers head) and she will be a year old on sunday week. She is healthy now but when she is five years old I will be watching out for a heart murmur because 50% of Cavaliers die at the age of 5 because of heart problems and 80-% of them die at 10 because of heart problems. Also I dont know yet if she has Syringomylea.

I am not telling fibs,I didnt mean she trained as in sit down,fetch ect,yes had her a few days and she started using the training pads to wee ect,why would I tell fibs about that? lol and I meant she a livley little thing,and you could also have health problems with any puppy you buy,weather its a pedigree or crossbreed! whats everys ones problem your all barmy lol I brought a puppy he is well loved well looked after so whats your problem,you say these things about humans when there are mixed races would you???...Can I JUST POINT OUT A MONGRELL IS A DOG WITH LOTS OF BREEDS IN HIM AND A CROSSBREED IS 2 DOGS...so stop moaning about pugs and breeds its a dog a pet lol do I need to hold a white flag on here,I respect what you are all saying but honestly why do breeders sell there puppies at a high price anyways? £500..£900 whatver breed it is why would anyone sell a dog for such high prices???

liah wrote: »

dosnt matter what dog/puppy you buy you will never garentee its health,and what is wrong with everybody moaning about puguliers lol I brought a puupy he is loved and we look after him...I cant understand why breeders have such high prices for puppies anyway? why would you sell pups for such a lot of money,I saw a british bulldog puppy for sale for £1500! its rediculus..

lrushe wrote: »
    You shouldn't tar all breeders with the one brush. My last GSD's parents, grand parents, g.grand parents etc. had titles and Championships coming out of their ears. They had near perfect hip scores and they were titled in Obedience, Agility and Schutzhund, these are not things an unfit dog could achieve. Daisy lived to be 13 and never had any joint issues except some arthritis in her foreleg from an injury she'd recieved some years before.

I just asked the question, I did not tar anyone with any brush.

Tranceypoo wrote: »
    I don't think anyone who has commented on here is a Pug breeder!!

I would love to know where you got your info/what site you read that 'pugaliers' will be registered breeds in 2 years, could you post the link I'd be interested to read it, I can't see anything on the IKC site, which is the only organisation that recognises breeds, the other one (can't think of the name of it) is basically for puppy farmers to have 'legitimate papers' so they can get more money for their dogs, but the papers mean sod all.
    no not on here it was a thread on here and breeders were complaining about puguliers lol never mind I love my puppy and because he cute,I also have a rescue female bullmastiff which ive had for 3 years and she has the best temperment a dog could have x