Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FAI Awards

• 08-02-2009 11:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭

Anyone watch? Traps bit was gas :pac:

Also that is now at least the second year running that a presenter has told a female award winner not to drop her trophy :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

Ha yeah Trap holding the mic up to the interviewer was gas.

Also Carl Spain was TERRIBLE. Worst stand up ive seen in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭anladmór

hahahah was class alright. trap was so confused. was watching all ireland talent show so missed most of it, only turned it on when trap arose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

A7X wrote: »
    Ha yeah Trap holding the mic up to the interviewer was gas.

Also Carl Spain was TERRIBLE. Worst stand up ive seen in a long time.

Yeah he was terrible but it was ridiculous hiring a comedian for an awards night, surely a band or even better the Apres Match lads would have been a vast improvment

They had Cathey Davey at the end. I think thats her name. But yea the apres lads shud of done a little sketch. Im pretty sure Carl knows how muck he was.

hes at all ireland matches. hahah got booed at the poland game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Anyone actually care to tell us who won the bloody awards ?

haha I was just looking out to see how A girl i know got on for one of the awards. She didn't win sadly. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Happy to see Michael Spillane get U19 player of the year. Gunn wanted him back at Norwich but Roeder fecked up the loan agreement leaving his contract run out and a dilemma for Norwich to get him to extend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

The winners are:

Senior
    Kevin Doyle - Reading

Young/U23
    Aiden McGeady - Celtic

U21
    Owen Garvan – Ipswich Town

International Goal of the Year
    Andy Keogh v Serbia (H) 24/05/08

League Of Ireland
    Brian Murphy - Bohemian FC

U19
    Michael Spillane - Norwich

U17
    Aaron Doran – Blackburn Rovers

U16
    Mark O'Brien – Derby County

Intermediate
    Derek Prendergast – Bangor Celtic

Junior International
    Seamus Crowe – Athenry

Senior Women's
    Niamh Fahey – Arsenal

U19 Women's
    Karen Duggan – Piltown (Kilkenny)

U17 Women's
    Ciara Grant – Kilmacrennan Celtic

FAI School's
    John Mulroy – Moyle Park College

Football For All
    Stephen Coleman – Street Leagues

Special Merit
    Eddie Foley

Hall of Fame
    Arthur Fitzsimons

International Personality
    Ruud Gullit

fair play ruud.

"U19 Women's
    Karen Duggan – Piltown (Kilkenny)"

If it's who im thinkin of then yes.. yes i would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

redout wrote: »

Keogh, McGeady, Doyle and no other than Rudd Gullit!

Im surprised there is no manager of the year award.

haha I was just looking out to see how A girl i know got on for one of the awards. She didn't win sadly

The under 19 winner IIRC was pretty hawt

pedobear.png[

As is Traps translator as the other end of the scale :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭dogpile

Always an embarassment to watch, small time mickey mouse awards! Guillit must have been thinking WTF am I doing here!!

highlight of the night was Trappatoni's interpretor, she's not what you'd call a stunner but there's something about that Mary :rolleyes: clever girl too

dogpile wrote: »
    Always an embarassment to watch, small time mickey mouse awards! Guillit must have been thinking WTF am I doing here!!

highlight of the night was Trappatoni's interpretor, she's not what you'd call a stunner but there's something about that Mary :rolleyes: clever girl too

What was he doing there? Why the hell are we giving him an award?

Ah now, I thought she was. Given a chance now in all honesty? :)

What was he doing there? Why the hell are we giving him an award?

They always fly in whoever has nothing better to do the night it happens :) IIRC Rudd is on the dole right now having left LA Galaxy, so Im sure by tomorrow he will be moving his Euro 88 medal out of the way for the FAI trophy at hish home in Amshterdham ;)

Id leave her like a painters radio in all honesty :) Fine yoke.

I checked before, unfortunately there are no decent pics of her on Google images :p

she was looking fine tonight.

U just know Traps tried it on, being Italian an all. :)

http://images.google.ie/images?hl=en&q=manuela+trappatoni&gbv=2

Losing the glasses is a definite plus :pac: I hope he never fully masters English, his half attempts at it are great ;) He has the same exact gravelly voice as two lads from near Milan I work with.

Liam Brady looked either like he was nearly asleep, bored or embarrased during Traps bit. Though I suppose he is never too animated looking regardless of the situation. Hard to believe there is only 5 odd years between him and Rudd and all. He looks more like within 5 years of Trap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Murphy for Ireland!

Did Trap recognize him? Was the best keeper in the country for decades ok getting past security?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

International Personality
    Ruud Gullit

Lol I wonder what LA Galaxy fans would have to say about that.

Joke of an award

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

SectionF wrote: »
    Was the best keeper in the country for decades ok getting past security?

"Er, the goods entrance is that way, son"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭dogpile

You might have misunderstood, I think she's a little cracker! like said she's not what what you'd call a stunner but she has something I can't quite put my finger on....and I would like to put my finger on it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

SectionF wrote: »
    Murphy for Ireland!

Did Trap recognize him? Was the best keeper in the country for decades ok getting past security?

I can't believe how over-rated this guy is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

anladmór wrote: »
    fair play ruud.
    Jesus he didn't shut up. An interviewers dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

dyl10 wrote: »
    I can't believe how over-rated this guy is...

I take it your trolling? Conceded 13 goals in 33 league games last season, 17 in 33 the season before.

eirebhoy wrote: »
    Jesus he didn't shut up. An interviewers dream.

Compared to McGeady :) He sounded like he was in a police interview using his right to remain silent.

I take it your trolling? Conceded 13 goals in 33 league games last season, 17 in 33 the season before

I think he is referring to his lack of international call up and the bitching associated with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Bizarre awards ceremony!! Ruud Gullit talking about Rick James and 'Superfreak', Trap interviewing Tony O' Donoghue, Peter Collins leaving us with Cathy Davey!!
    You wonder what Trap makes of it all. "I lyka your Geeenas, i lyka your soapa, how you say, Fair City? Turlough, i donna like. He conman, i think. No, no. i say Bye Bye Turlough. Bada man!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The winners are:

Senior

Kevin Doyle – Reading

Young/U23

Aiden McGeady – Celtic

U21

Owen Garvan – Ipswich Town

International Goal of the Year

Andy Keogh v Serbia (H) 24/05/08

League Of Ireland

Brian Murphy - Bohemian FC

U19