Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Republic of Ireland - v - Georgia (WCQ) Group 8 - 11/02/09 MATCH THREAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Well played Duffer.

But McGeady has been head and shoulders. Head and shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭The1337_Stephen

Duff for man of the match, definitely.

Hunt in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

CARRY ON CROKER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Its pretty clear now we're destined to win the world cup

on penalties.

Duff for man of the match, definitely.

Hunt in.

dunno about that kevin doyle has been superb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Duff replaced. Hmmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

GET IN!

who needs a good manager when ye have a lucky one

or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Well played Duffer.

Knees and Toes, Knees and Toes?

Nah i know what you mean, the performance McGeady supporters have been waiting for, i bet Dunphy will still have a go at him.

Hunt on is just what we need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Great performances from Duff, McGeady and Doyle tonight. And good solid work by Andrews.

Just keep attacking guys and don't let them get hold of the ball.

ntlbell wrote: »
    dunno about that kevin doyle has been superb

True True, either one at the moment deserve it, both been extremely good..

Special mention for Andrews too, hes been solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Well played Duffer.

Excellent shampoo. Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

don't fu*king concede

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

GOD DAMN WHELAN HAS BEEN ****ING ABYSMAL.

God damn. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Pigman II wrote: »
    on penalties.

Against Engerland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Can someone give descriptions of the goals, at work! Was sweating it there. we need to win this one! with 2 bulgaria game to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

A win here shouldn't disguise the fact that Whelan is a shocking weak link in the team. Get Carsley back!

Seriously Glen Whelan is an awful footballer. I hate how this result might sugar-coat his disgraceful performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

can anyone give me a link or tell me the dates of the rest of our fixtures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Andrews looks very solid. Whelan is completely out of his depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Whelan out, McAteer in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

murfie wrote: »
    Can someone give descriptions of the goals, at work! Was sweating it there. we need to win this one! with 2 bulgaria game to come

0 - 1 Shocking defending by Stephen Kelly which allowed a Georgian to score

1 - 1 Penatly which wasn't deserved, scored by Keane.

2 - 1 Corner, Keane, it of his shoulder after missing header.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Jesus this is nervewracking stuff. Never easy with Ireland! Fair play to them in the second half. Non stop attacking.

Lets just hope we can have Finnish officials all the way to the final, woo woo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

www.fifa.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

andrews has had a very solid game

fair play to him

i think my dog knows whealan is sub standard at this stage :(

I agree Carsley and Andrews could be a decent midfield.

Andrews looks very solid.

This needs to be said. He's got about, looked to get forward and make things happen - and been competent in possession. Good shift.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_-_UEFA_Group_8

Sorry, our pen doesnt mask the perfect goal we had dissallowed, and the pen we had turned down.

If this guy refs a game again... Then may god have mercy on us all.

hunt come on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Yeah they have been an absolute disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Another great shot by Whelan (!)

get off pls get off the pitch ffs

I guess the only positive about Whelan's performance is the fact that he can't possibly play any worse. It's all uphill from here so to speak. :(

Why the F**k out of all the players on the pitch would Whelan be allowed take that free kick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,102 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Sorry, our pen doesnt mask the perfect goal we had dissallowed, and the pen we had turned down.

Don't think he's a homer, just ****.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »

I'm pretty sure thats the only reason we got that penalty in the end. A cracked up blind man could see that wasn't a penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭chillywilly

can anyone tell me or give me a link to the dates of the rest of our fixtures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Sums up Whelan's night.

Poor decision making, inability to make basic bread-and-butter passes, lack of presence, and just looked out of his depth at this level.

And then slots a free kick over the bar like he's lining out for the Dubs. Worst Irish player by a bit, with Stephen Kelly not inspiring confidence either.

Contrast to Andrews, looked very solid, wanted to attack and had an air of confidence about his game. Put himself about well and used the ball intelligently. Very decent game.

Aidan McGeady MOTM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

Andrews shoulda got MoM imo...McGeady hmmm. Then again Jim Beglin ,.....

McGeady gets man of the match. Deserved.

Well done Aiden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

IvySlayer wrote: »
    0 - 1 Shocking defending by Stephen Kelly which allowed a Georgian to score

1 - 1 Penatly which wasn't deserved, scored by Keane.

2 - 1 Corner, Keane, it of his shoulder after missing header.

**** sake. Some people :rolleyes:

Google is your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

4 mins added time. McGeady MOM. Deserved in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭Craft25

should ask roy keane back, and if he says no, ask can we borrow his labrador, cos it'd be ten times that whelan fekker

http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/europe/teams/team=43953/fixturesresults.html

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I guess the only positive about Whelan's performance is the fact that he can't possibly play any worse. It's all uphill from here so to speak. :(

Oh I'm sure he can play worse. That's the great thing about watching this Ireland team, you're forever surprised by the depth to which they can slump.

Super take from Given. Super.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,944 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

We were extremely lucky tonight