Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A dozen red roses.....

• 09-02-2009 10:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭

Cant believe in the current climate the florists are looking on average for SEVENTY euros for 12 red roses this Saturday. What planet are these people on :mad: over 5 quid each!!
    Aldi and Lidl do them cheaper but not half the quality.
    Anyone reccomend somewhere to get decent roses for a more reasonable price..40-50 Euro max.
    Not being cheap, being realistic :(
    Wish I could get the 70 Euros bunch but in light of recent events, I just cant.
    Anyone help? Cheers lads and ladies
    Liam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭BeanieBaby

Do you HAVE to get red roses? They'll only last for a few days.

If you really want roses, head out to Van Veens or McLysaghts and get a nice scented rose and plant it in a pot.

Lots and lots of roses for a long time, and a proper scented real rose rather than a hot house one that has a huge carbon footprint and a limited lifespan.

I'm sure you could even get a small pair of earrings with a faux ruby (red theme) for the €40 - €50 budget.

Maybe I'm a perverse woman but I'd prefer not to get red roses next Saturday :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Harpy

Liam79 wrote: »
    Cant believe in the current climate the florists are looking on average for SEVENTY euros for 12 red roses this Saturday. What planet are these people on :mad: over 5 quid each!!
    Anyone reccomend somewhere to get decent roses for a more reasonable price..40-50 Euro max.
    Liam

maybe you could get her a single rose, or even a rose for every year or month ye've been together providing ye haven't been together for more then 12 years cause then that plan is out the window

• Registered Users Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

A dozen red roses has always been a token rip off.

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RonanC

If you must have them, start queuing on Thursday:

http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/58_8246.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

As with all rip-offs, if enough stupid people are willing to pay it, they won't stop.

It'd be great if EVERYONE countrywide refused point-blank to buy roses some year.

Then you'd see February prices for roses drop to the same price as they are for the rest of the year.

Better still - and since the church supposedly hates the commericialism of Christmas & Easter & "Saints' Days" - get THEM to move the whole St Hallmark - sorry, Valentine's - Day to summertime, when you wouldn't have to rely on the greenhouse/forced stuff......!

I'd love to meet a girl who'd say "feck the shallow look, this huge, overpriced monstrosity PROVES my otherwise-inattentive b/f's better than yours one-upmanship in the office", and drop hints that the €100 could be spent a LOT better - like 5 nights in one of those hotels that have dropped their prices!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭anoble66

don't do it! 50-70euro for flowers! You could get her a really nice bunch of normal flowers for 25-30e and get her something else with the rest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

I have a few weeds my in background if you want them? For you only a euro. She will be all over you like butter on bread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 463 ✭✭Liam79

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    As with all rip-offs, if enough stupid people are willing to pay it, they won't stop.

It'd be great if EVERYONE countrywide refused point-blank to buy roses some year.

Then you'd see February prices for roses drop to the same price as they are for the rest of the year.

Better still - and since the church supposedly hates the commericialism of Christmas & Easter & "Saints' Days" - get THEM to move the whole St Hallmark - sorry, Valentine's - Day to summertime, when you wouldn't have to rely on the greenhouse/forced stuff......!

I'd love to meet a girl who'd say "feck the shallow look, this huge, overpriced monstrosity PROVES my otherwise-inattentive b/f's better than yours one-upmanship in the office", and drop hints that the €100 could be spent a LOT better - like 5 nights in one of those hotels that have dropped their prices!

Liam. 100 quid for 5 nights in a nice hotel....WHERE?!!:eek:
    Anoble, think i will get her a mixture boquet for about the 40 mark.
    Its still a rip off tho :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭anoble66

Yeah it is a rip off Liam79...I will do my usual and go into Tesco's...they usually do some decent bunches of mixed flowers for about 30 quid.....i refuse to pay more than that on some stupid flowers that will die in 3 days....romantic to the core i know :rolleyes: Would much rather spend the additional money on a nice meal out or something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 568 ✭✭✭TheLoc

I must be lucky. My GF is allergic to flowers. i'm getting her a card i'm going to let her make me dinner haha :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

last 3 years, tesco, on the day, no more than €30 for a dozen.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭LadyTBolt

Liam79 wrote: »
    Liam

Does it have to be roses? You could get some beautiful bouquets made up for €50 if you go to a decent florist.

There is a new florist in Shannon called Angel Flowers and oh my god they do the most fantastic bouquets for €40 - €50. I love getting flowers from there and have bought them from there on occasion myself. They deliver too but I don't know if they charge to Limerick. You certainly get value for money. I cannot recommend them enough!