Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I hope everyone's enjoying RAG week!

• 10-02-2009 12:06AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭

Because I seriously doubt we'll have it next year! College road is already completely insane, I was walking up about five thirty this afternoon and it was like something from 28 days later. Some bunch of eejits had dragged their dining room furniture out on to the front lawn and set it on fire, people were already messily drunk, and the place was a tip-bins overturned etc. I've heard two sirens going by in the past while which I assume are student related, and apparently there's guys going around slipping into house parties and robbing rooms. The state of the place by Thursday is going to be ridiculous.

People:SAVE YOUR DEBAUCHERY FOR THE B-TOWN! Get their **** cancelled, not ours!I dread to think what town's like atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

Town was actualy kinda quiet last night as in there wasnt much trouble.Well around 2.20 anyway.Have seen town a lot lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Alan Smith

:eek: Just walked past there, didn't seem TOO destroyed. I suppose it's early in the week still, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

most of the life rings on the western road are gone. that's helpful. other than that I didn't see much evidence, but it's early days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭quincyk

From what I believe, Rag-week campus events have been canceled after last night's tragedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭mobius42

Does anyone know what actually happened? I just heard someone was killed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Seraphicblue

ahhh
    no so good
    and thats everything cancelled for the week yes?

I heard that it has all been cancelled too but there are still tickets been sold for events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Burklert

I can confirm, Rag Week is entirely canceled.

How? Campus stuff might be cancelled, but tbh I seriously doubt the clubs give enough of a **** to cancel anything that's planned. Gorby's and Fast Eddie's are hardly going to give people refunds out of respect for the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭quincyk

How? Campus stuff might be cancelled, but tbh I seriously doubt the clubs give enough of a **** to cancel anything that's planned. Gorby's and Fast Eddie's are hardly going to give people refunds out of respect for the guy.

Afaik, it's just campus events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I think its important to distinguish this tragedy from drunk students. Not fair on the lad or his family.

Out of campus events will be still on, as far as I know. I can hardly see the bands who were scheduled to play being too happy as well as people who had bought tickets for events, so I'd imagine things like the Corona's gig etc will be still on.

It's very quiet around college now, at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Alan Smith wrote: »
    Out of campus events will be still on, as far as I know. I can hardly see the bands who were scheduled to play being too happy as well as people who had bought tickets for events, so I'd imagine things like the Corona's gig etc will be still on.

It's very quiet around college now, at the minute.

It is actually as I've just said over on the PROC, theres a weird atmosphere on campus. Had to be cancelled out of respect in fairness.

See FEddies and Gorbys people still handing out fliers so looks like town will be busy, I'd say the clubs will be very strict tonight.

It's quite sad but I hope people don't come to conclusion's about stereotypical piss head student etc.

razorblunt wrote: »
    , theres a weird atmosphere on campus.

there really is. never seen the place like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Argh my first Rag week and might be the last :(

My heart goes out to the guys family in Limerick tho.

Your right, the atmosphere is really weird, people are going to lectures and stuff when they never planned to so people aren't in the best mood.

Apparantly he was friends with the SU lads so its kinda understandable that things were cancelled....still sucks tho :(

3269536522_18539c5b04.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 gavinok

Crustyjuggler, you are a horrible human being!
    Have you no respect for his family and friends? You clearly don't for yourself you idiotic pill head. I doubt you have enough brain cells left to even read, let alone be in college

The Gardai have called his death a "freak accident" so i doubt drink was involved. My deepest sympathy goes out to all of his family and friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Fabio

No drink involved, could have happened at any time but it's a sad conincidence that it happened on the same night as the other messy stuff.

Condolensces to the guys family and his friends for this must be a very hard time for them.

A tragedy to die so young on a week we are supposedly meant to be enjoying ourselves.

Eerry feeling about the place today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭titan18

gavinok wrote: »
    Have you no respect for his family and friends? You clearly don't for yourself you idiotic pill head. I doubt you have enough brain cells left to even read, let alone be in college

The Gardai have called his death a "freak accident" so i doubt drink was involved. My deepest sympathy goes out to all of his family and friends

My deepest sympathies to his family and friends too, but I dont doubt that the SU's decision was influenced by the idiots who lit their furniture on fire.I also imagine that their was some drink involved in the death, even though it was a "freak accident".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭fredmc

I heard about the burning furniture last night alright .

I live a few doors down from them, AFAIK they're getting evicted. The landlord seems to like them which is why they've gotten away with so much ****e this year.

My sympathies to the guy's family. Any official word from college 'bout it? I've only got an e-mail from the Chaplaincy about the mass today, would've thought the SU would have e-mailed too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

gavinok wrote: »

I am not a pill head and I do have deepest sympathy for the family . I presumed the death was linked with the drunken morons burning the furniture . My mistake .

To clear up any confusion:this thread was started as a general rant against the carry on along college road, and I posted it before the news of the death broke. As far as anyone knows the lad who died was stone cold sober, to assume otherwise is unfair to him and his family. A debate about the benefits of E versus alcohol really isn't relevant

fredmc wrote: »
    I live a few doors down from them, AFAIK they're getting evicted. The landlord seems to like them which is why they've gotten away with so much ****e this year.

From what I've heard from neighbours of their's they are going to be evicted.

Also, I've heard a couple of times that RAG week will go ahead tomorrow. Not heard anything official but the SU ticket office is only refunding today's events- there's a sign outside the office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭fredmc

Alan Smith wrote: »
    From what I've heard from neighbours of their's they are going to be evicted.

Also, I've heard a couple of times that RAG week will go ahead tomorrow. Not heard anything official but the SU ticket office is only refunding today's events- there's a sign outside the office.

The SU President-dude called to all the houses on College road. He said that only today's events are cancelled, the rest of the week is still on. I'm looking forward to abseiling off the Kane on Thursday:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Blarney92

Apparently the lads aren't getting evicted- it was just someone lighting something in the house and they dropped it on the ground and the curtains went on fire. It spread to some furniture and instead of calling the fire brigade they got the bright idea of taking it outside and pouring buckets of water on it.

The new bar are back serving alcohol tomorrow and afaik all on campus events are cancelled for the week. Not sure if this is true but the echo has a front page story on it.

As for the lad killed- complete accident, non alcohol related and just a coincidence it happened during RAG week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I am not a pill head and I do have deepest sympathy for the family . I presumed the death was linked with the drunken morons burning the furniture . My mistake .

I deleted your original post since it's pissing people off so much.

Blarney92 wrote: »

The new bar are back serving alcohol tomorrow and afaik all on campus events are cancelled for the week. Not sure if this is true but the echo has a front page story on it.
    Events will continue but alcohol will not be serve until after 6pm.

The Echo would have been gone to press before any decision like this would have been made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Threat closed lest people continue to link alcoholism with the young man's death.

Please express your condolences here.