Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LAN/Networking Work Experience

Options
  • 11-02-2009 9:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

I'm currently working in IT and have done so since leaving College 5 Years ago.I guess you could say I'm an Application Support Engineer, dealing mostly in the UNIX admin side of things. Unix is good but I'm looking to move into the Network Support side of things i.e Cisco, Routing and Switching
    I'm looking to get some additional Hours Work Experience in the LAN/Networking area in Galway in my spare time (Evenings). ***Just want to make clear I have a job, I'm not looking for remuneration, just more experience in this area***

I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience or tips about taking this approach (In General)

I am thinking of approaching Companies( Small-to-Large) directly but I just wanted to put the feelers out there to see if this is a common thing to do and if anyone had any suggestions

I have some previous LAN experience within a Multinational Company but I am looking to extend that experience and build up my hours.
    I am currently studying for my CCNP. I am CCNA and A+ Certified with a BSc (Hons) Computer Science Degree.
    Any tips/pointers would be great, Cheers

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

I'd suggest that your time would be better spent working on the Cisco qualifications. Any networking work experience you'd get would be trivial stuff. No one is going to trust someone in on work experience to deal with complicated networks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 galwaylanman

Gavin wrote: »