Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sicknotes of our time

• 16-02-2009 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

I see Dean Ashton is out for the next 6 months, the guy must have played about no more than about 20 games per season for the last 4/5 years.

Harry Kewell spent half his Liverpool career at home/in gym, Fabio Aurelio could give him a run for his money yet. Obviously Darren Anderton and Jamie Redknapp are legends of the physios room but are out of the game.

Who else is picking up a wage for not too much actual football these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Ledley King...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Duncan Ferguson too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Stephen Reid, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

Hargreaves, Rosicky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Oh, and poor unfortunate Bojinov!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Michael Owen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Owen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Theres only one LOUIS SAHA! one LOUIS SAHA!

and im still not convinced we ever sold him, its highly possible that Owen Hargreaves is in fact, Louis Saha in disguise!

Messi up till this season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Keiron Dyer is good for about 5 games a season, used to be about 15.

And sadly Newcaslte only get about 15 minutes a month from Mark Viduka, if we're lucky.

Craig Bellamy is due to be injured again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Robben

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭itsjaybud

Kieron Dyer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

Philipp Degen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭The Hustler

Lucas Radebe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Rosicky definitely, Van Persie up to this season where I cant believe he hasnt torn, pulled or broke something and its looking like Walcott could be another to rival them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

Laursen :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭shakespeare

jesper blomqvist...

obafemi martins seems to always be injured...

as a utd fan...ronny johnson was most unfortunate...really was a fine ball playing centre half... if only he could have stayed fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭itsjaybud

as a utd fan...ronny johnson was most unfortunate...really was a fine ball playing centre half... if only he could have stayed fit.

Surely Ole Gunnar Solskjaer!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

Duff

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Didn't Winston Bogarde join Chelsea but hardly played for them cos he was injured all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

itsjaybud wrote: »
    Surely Ole Gunnar Solskjaer!!

ole was relatively injury free until the knee, he never really recovered from that......but up till that point i cant remember him ever being injured much

Wayne Rooney on the other hand is good for a mid season break a couple of times a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Rosicknote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,999 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Half the Everton squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    Didn't Winston Bogarde join Chelsea but hardly played for them cos he was injured all the time

Nah, he wasn't injured. He just wasn't good enough for chelsea and waited out his contract rather than join someone else. He was probably on something like 40 grand a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Robben aka "the glass man"

RVN has had two serious injuries now which have him missing two entire seasons on top of all the more minor he has picked up. Still a great player though when fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Wes Brown has had some shockers...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Ye're all forgetting Eduardo for Arsenal last season. Was in that vicious challenge against Birmingham, is only making his way back into the team now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Caseraghi. We got 1 day for our 10 million pound signing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,102 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

DaPoolRulz wrote: »
    Ye're all forgetting Eduardo for Arsenal last season. Was in that vicious challenge against Birmingham, is only making his way back into the team now.

thats a bit unfair though. he's missed a lot but it was 1 serious injury. I'd think of a sicknote as being someone who consistently gets loads of injuries. After all anyone get get a broken leg, doesn't make them brittle or anything.

Someone like Anderton on the other hand could barely play a match without pulling a hamstring or groin and putting his back out or spraining a wrist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,139 ✭✭✭flanzer

Liam Daish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

eagle eye wrote: »
    Half the Everton squad.

Care to elaborate? We've been quite lucky with injuries this year...

Previous season we haven't been too bad either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Djimi Traore is forever absent from our first team...although that has more to do with the fact he can't actually play football rather than him being injured.

he is on loan to brum now by the way. An emergency loan :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Jermaine Jenas, Kieron Dyer, Ledley , Trezeguet

Djimi Traore is forever absent from our first team...although that has more to do with the fact he can't actually play football rather than him being injured.

he is on loan to brum now by the way. An emergency loan :D

The guy is a class act.... leave him be :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Someone like Anderton on the other hand could barely play a match without pulling a hamstring or groin and putting his back out or spraining a wrist...

Anderton's reputation is horribly exaggerated due to a few bad years. He still managed 447 games over 18 years (an average of 26.5 games a season).

If he had say three dud seasons then the average goes up to 31.8 games which is very respectable for any professional footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,102 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Anderton's reputation is horribly exaggerated due to a few bad years. He still managed 447 games over 18 years (an average of 26.5 games a season).

If he had say three dud seasons then the average goes up to 31.8 games which is very respectable for any professional footballer.

i know but you know what i mean, that its harsh to call someone a sicknote because of one layoff that happened to be an exceptionally serious one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Care to elaborate? We've been quite lucky with injuries this year...

Previous season we haven't been too bad either..

Wasn't aimed at me but what about Andy Van Der Meyde?

Hasn't he only played half a dozen games or something since he joined?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Louis Saha.

I win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

JOS will be when everyone is back from injury

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Evil_Clown wrote: »

No, he hardly played because was ****e, refused to move (was on 50k a week and knew he wouldnt get half that anywhere else) and trained with the youth team EVERYDAY for like 3 years, after that chelsea just agreed to pay the last year of his contract and let him stay at home, but he couldnt sign for anyone else, he agreed and retired at 32.

Seaneh wrote: »
    No, he hardly played because was ****e, refused to move (was on 50k a week and knew he wouldnt get half that anywhere else) and trained with the youth team EVERYDAY for like 3 years, after that chelsea just agreed to pay the last year of his contract and let him stay at home, but he couldnt sign for anyone else, he agreed and retired at 32.

Joke of a player

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

in fairness, he was determined to get his ****ing money, he was never late, never missed a day, never gave the coaches ****e, just kept his head down and did what he was told.

**** it, whatever, he got his.

His reasoning is that he grew up in poverty and he didnt want his kids to grow up worrying about money so he did what he had to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

redout wrote: »
    Joke of a player

To a degree, yes. But then when you come from the background and poverty that Bogarde did, that money can provide a very comfortable existence for not only yourself, but for your family back home also.

How many people in 'real' jobs, slum it in something they don't really enjoy, or don't really fulfill their potential, because they have bills to pay and responsibilities to account for. Not all that different really.

Back on topic though, at least one out of every two players we sign, will be crocked season in, season out. Viduka is taking up that role nicely at the minute.

Seaneh wrote: »
    in fairness, he was determined to get his ****ing money, he was never late, never missed a day, never gave the coaches ****e, just kept his head down and did what he was told.

**** it, whatever, he got his.

His reasoning is that he grew up in poverty and he didnt want his kids to grow up worrying about money so he did what he had to.
    Charlie wrote: »
    To a degree, yes. But then when you come from the background and poverty that Bogarde did, that money can provide a very comfortable existence for not only yourself, but for your family back home also.

How many people in 'real' jobs, slum it in something they don't really enjoy, or don't really fulfill their potential, because they have bills to pay and responsibilities to account for. Not all that different really.

Back on topic though, at least one out of every two players we sign, will be crocked season in, season out. Viduka is taking up that role nicely at the minute.

I dont agree lads. He was no doubt a millionaire long before he went to Chelsea and could have quite easily have lived comfortably off interest alone. I think he was just a greedy git who had no dignity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

in a way i appreciate wat that bogarde lad did. was just reading about him and he said of it 'This world is about money, so when you are offered those millions you take them. Few people will ever earn so many. I am one of the few fortunates who do. I may be one of the worst buys in the history of the Premiership, but I don't care.'
    all that is essentially true. its not his fault chelsea were stupid enough to pay him that much and he did exactly wat he was told. he is proof that there is too much money in football, he took advantage of that and fair play to him.

sure, a joke of a footballer as he showed no ambition and no need to excel in his field.. but he made his point and made it well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I used to think that Bogarde was a lazy git until I read his Guardian column the time he got 20 minutes in a Carling Cup match. He said he was delighted. Also, you'd have to be ****ing stupid to give up 50k a week. That's Ken Bates' fault, not Winston's

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

Duff
    Owen
    Woodgate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Most League of Ireland supporters would say Paul Osam.

There was a fanzine named after him called "Osam's doubtful"

Very unfortunate with injury was John O'Flynn. Those that saw him before he did his cruciate up in Belfield will testify to this guy being potentially the best striker the league had seen in a generation.

Pressure from the fans and maybe Pat Dolan's lack of options meant he was brought back too soon and has been suffering niggling injuries ever since.

Ironically Kevin Doyle came on as substitute in that game and got an equaliser near the end.

I've no doubt JOF would be playing at least Championship level had he not got injured that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

From a few short years back, Alan Moore and Joey Ndo have to be up there for missing games with mysterious injuries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,677 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

How come no-one's mentioned Chris Kirkland yet...? The man's a goalkeeper for feck's sake!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.