Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2009 Thread - NO NUMBER SWAPS HERE

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Going to be skipping the long run on Sunday due to hangover :o. I hate missing these and falling out with the program. Just feel as if I've fallin out of touch with a lot of friends because of the lack of nights out to do long runs on Saturday/Sunday. Anyone else feel that way since starting the program? Turning into a problem page.

This is the story of my last two and a bit years. I don't feel like I'm missing anything though. Nights in or just a few hours out is far more enjoyable, for me, than staying out for hours with everyone around you getting bladdered. I've never been a drinker anyway so would never be drinking as mych as them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

http://dublinmarathon.ie/map-2009.pdf

I see they've changed the location of the first energy drink station this year to mile 9 instead of mile 8. Nicely done, I thought I was out of the marathon last year with the way I was feeling running up that hill on St. Laurences Road after a couple of sips of energy drink. :D

Are they giving them out in those big bottles again this year? Hardworker might know? Seemed an awful waste last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

SUB 2'50"
    tunguska 2'34 balls on chopping block

SUB 3'00"
    Lex Luther 2:58.59
    Abhainn (2:59:59 will do for now)
    TFBubendorfer (2:59:59 will do nicely for me, too)

SUB 3'11" BOSTON QUAL
    christeb (very optimistic this early on...) 3:10:59 (Peckham Pacer)
    MCOS 3'10'59" Feic it may as well go for it eek.gif

SUB 3'15"
    Killerz 3'14'59"

SUB 3'21" BOSTON QUAL
    AndrewDhuey (join me, anyone? I BQed last April for next year; this would be for 2011).
    figs 3:20:00 - always the optimist!

SUB 3'30"
    Colblimp 3:29:46 (Or quicker!) biggrin.gif
    MrCreosote 3:29:59
    Plodder 3:29:59.5
    Earlyevening 3:20 - 3:25
    Potsy11 3:26:00
    Woddlesure we'll give it a lash :D
    ULstudent 3:25 or there abouts

SUB 3'45"
    ManFromAtlantis 3:39
    nutzzz123 3:44:59 biggrin.gif
    Eliwallach (with the help of HM)

SUB 4'00"
    Hardy Eustace 3:59:59 (Go team Peckham) biggrin.gif
    osnola ivax 3:59:59 (amadeus allstars)
    Oryx 3:59:59 (amadeus allstars)
    RacoonQueen - as close as possible to 3:45 (Peckhams Pacers)
    menoscemo 3:59:30
    nomadic (for now , maybe 3.45)
    hawkwing 3:59:59
    Oisin11178 3:59:59 (maybe lower)
    jrar (out loud time) 3:54:59 - dreamland time - 3:44:59
    Sharktale 3:53:59
    actwithoutwords officially 3:59:59, but would love to get close to 3:45
    Krusty_Clown - pacer - 3:59:59 - If you see me go past you, then you're not SUB 4'00" any more. smile.gif

SUB 4'30"
    Sub430 (what's in a name?) smile.gif Also amadeus allstars
    Rainbow Kirby (amadeus allstars - 4:30 is my inner child goal, 4:45 is probably more realistic)
    Munster_Gal (Amadeus All Stars)
    Spaceylou 4:29:59 or below will make me happy - actually just finishing will make me happy but I need a target!
    IronTractorBoy 4:29:59

SUB 5'00"
    Racheljev - all on me ownio redface.gif
    Bally8 (just want to finish but 4:59:59 would be nice)

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

SUB 2'50"

SUB 3'00"

SUB 3'11" BOSTON QUAL
    MCOS 3'10'59" Feic it may as well go for it

SUB 3'15"
    Killerz 3'14'59"

SUB 3'21" BOSTON QUAL
    AndrewDhuey (join me, anyone? I BQed last April for next year; this would be for 2011).

SUB 3'30"
    Colblimp 3:29:46 (Or quicker!)
    Woddlesure we'll give it a lash

SUB 3'45"

nutzzz123 3:44:59

SUB 4'00"
    Hardy Eustace 3:59:59 (Go team Peckham)
    Krusty_Clown - pacer - 3:59:59 - If you see me go past you, then you're not SUB 4'00" any more.

SUB 4'30"
    Sub430 (what's in a name?) Also amadeus allstars
    Rainbow Kirby (amadeus allstars - 4:30 is my inner child goal, 4:45 is probably more realistic)
    Spaceylou 4:29:59 or below will make me happy - actually just finishing will make me happy but I need a target!
    Blueskye (maybe a bit ambitious)

SUB 5'00"
    Racheljev - all on me ownio
    Bally8 (just want to finish but 4:59:59 would be nice)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

SUB 2'50"

SUB 3'00"

SUB 3'11" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'15"
    Killerz 3'14'59"

SUB 3'21" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'30"

SUB 3'45"

SUB 4'00"
    Krusty_Clown - pacer - 3:59:59 - If you see me go past you, then you're not SUB 4'00" any more.
    How Strange 3.58.57 According to my 10m finish time on mcmillan

SUB 4'30"

SUB 5'00"
    Bally8 (just want to finish but 4:59:59 would be nice)[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭WhitestBoyAlive

SUB 2'50"

SUB 3'00"

SUB 3'11" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'15"
    Killerz 3'14'59"

SUB 3'21" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'30"
    WhitestBoyAlive Finally plunging

SUB 3'45"

SUB 4'00"

SUB 4'30"

SUB 5'00"
    Bally8 (just want to finish but 4:59:59 would be nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭nutzzz123

I posted a few weeks back that I had a stress fracture in my foot and had to stop training for the DCM. But I was back out in hospital last week and it turns out that It was tendinitis. Now here is the deal, they told me not to run until next week which I must say im looking forward to it. Im still considering doing the DCM, ive already done Cork (1st marathon) this year. Just before I stopped due to foot I was up to 13 mile runs. I have cycled every second day and swam every other day to keep my fitness up (ive even signed up for the Sean Kelly tour of Waterford with all the cycling ive been doing).
    I want opinions on whether the marathon is doable, lets say start training around 1st September. The week before that I will be doing small runs just to ease into it.
    However, if the foot gives me any trouble I will stop and not bother with DCM, so thats not an issue with me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

Hey Guys,

Hope its okay to post this here instead of starting a new thread.
    Is it too late to start training for the Dublin Marathon?

I'm not an inexperienced runner and had planned on doing it earlier in the year;

Did the Simon Community Christmas 10K in 44minutes
    Rahney 5Mile in 33minutes
    Great Ireland Run 10K in 42 minutes

Problem was I moved house this year and simultaneously took on a larger workload in work. Anyway both problems are settled now and I have more time on my hands but I just wanted experienced opinions on this.

Do I still have enough time to make a proper go at it or am I better off planning for a different marathon?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Hey Guys,

I'm not an inexperienced runner and had planned on doing it earlier in the year;

Problem was I moved house this year and simultaneously took on a larger workload in work. Anyway both problems are settled now and I have more time on my hands but I just wanted experienced opinions on this.

Do I still have enough time to make a proper go at it or am I better off planning for a different marathon?

It depends on your targets I guess. If your aim is to just run the 26 miles and not care about the time you do it in, then Id say you'd be grand. I knew a guy last year who decided to run the marathon 1 week before entry closed, so that was the end of september. He did 4hrs 59mins and he was not an experienced runner at all. So definitely go for it. 10wks to the marathon, so you could still pull something decent out of the bag I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Hey Guys,

Pick the last 9-10 weeks of one of the proven schedules such as the Hal Higdon ones, with those times for earlier races it would seem you are in pretty good shape anyway. Make sure you get in the long runs off what ever schedule you pick and you should be fine if you can stay injury free till the end of Oct, that's my tuppence worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Howdy all, first post for a first time marathon runner.
    I've been training since mid may on the coolrunnings.com training programme for beginners.
    up to 18 miles the week before last but haven trained since 11th august due to back pains. saw a guy about it and feels fine so hoping to get back in the groove tonight! Aiming at 20 miles on sunday.

hoping to complete the marathon first and foremost, but would love to do sub 4 hours.

Lots of hills on the roads I train on so hopefully this will stand me in good stead come marathon time.
    I've a few very basic questions if anyone can help

1) whats the course like, flat, hilly ?

2) drink stations, are they just water stations or energy drinks like lucozade sport etc,and how often?

3) toilets. Are there toilets en route? I find for long runs due to taking in plenty of liquids I need to step into the odd field along the way :o

4) are there signs telling you your time and mileage as you go along?
    I'd rather not bother with the watch!

any help is much appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Howdy all, first post for a first time marathon runner.
    I've been training since mid may on the coolrunnings.com training programme for beginners.
    up to 18 miles the week before last but haven trained since 11th august due to back pains. saw a guy about it and feels fine so hoping to get back in the groove tonight! Aiming at 20 miles on sunday.

hoping to complete the marathon first and foremost, but would love to do sub 4 hours.

Lots of hills on the roads I train on so hopefully this will stand me in good stead come marathon time.
    I've a few very basic questions if anyone can help

1) whats the course like, flat, hilly ?

2) drink stations, are they just water stations or energy drinks like lucozade sport etc,and how often?

3) toilets. Are there toilets en route? I find for long runs due to taking in plenty of liquids I need to step into the odd field along the way :o

4) are there signs telling you your time and mileage as you go along?
    I'd rather not bother with the watch!

any help is much appreciated.

The course is reasonably good. I know plenty of people who have run many marathons and yet have run their best in Dublin.
    There are 9 water stations on the course giving 250ml bottles of water. There are also 3 Club Energise stations.
    Plenty of toilets on route.
    Clocks every 5 miles and at half way.
    All details are available on the Dublin Marathon website.

thanks a mill hard worker!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Yikes :eek:!
    Will bear that in mind when struggling up Merrion Rd. :rolleyes:

9 weeks.
    Tick, tock, tick, tock..............

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭central park

This is my first time to tackle the Dublin marathon. I am not a fast runner but finished comfortably in all previous marathons. My last 2 marathons were 4.58 with only 10 seconds in difference! Talk about consistant!!I did the 10 mile in Phoenix Pk last week in 1.45. Any advice about how I could go even a little faster this time as i don't want to go over five hours. Been there, done that! Best time was 4.41 in 2005. Can anyone advise, thinking of joining gym! Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

SUB 2'50"

SUB 3'00"

SUB 3'11" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'15"
    Killerz 3'14'59"

SUB 3'21" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'30"

SUB 3'45"

Louthandproud (this is roughly where McMillian puts me)

SUB 4'00"

SUB 4'30"

SUB 5'00"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭chez-moi

As a matter of interest 'chez moi' how many 800's are you doing and at what speed. I have been trying to break four hours for the past 3 years and have run 2 at 4.07/8 and 5 at around 4.15. I have recently returned to the track (afer 20 years+) in an effort to improve pace and achieve that elusive sub 4 hr. I have been doing (10) 400's at around 1 min 35 second and (6) 600's at around 2min 33. I have been alternating 4s & 6s twice a week but going to drop to 1 session of 800's as I increase mileage. Any advice appreciated
    Paddy sounds like you have a lot more experiance than myself. But on the 800's I'm doing sub 3:30 800's with a 3 min jog between each. I started with 5 x 800's and am now at 7. I'll build this up by 1 each week till I reach 10 x 800. I read about this on Runners World website. I had a really bad July with holidays and sickness only really got training around 8th August. Have the lsr up to 17 miles and doing recovery run 6 mile + 6 x 100 meter stides, Pace run over 80% HR for 5 miles (incresing 1 mile every week), 800s as above and mid-lenght run 8 - 12 mile.

Not too confident of beating the 4 hour mark this year after missing July but we will keep the PMA going

SUB 2'50"

SUB 3'00"

SUB 3'11" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'15"
    Killerz 3'14'59"

SUB 3'21" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'30"

SUB 3'45"

SUB 4'00"
    HisHolinessNB 3.59.55 (just to feel superior to the 3.59.59 guys :P )
    SUB 4'30"

SUB 5'00"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

Hey Guys,

Hi, this was my own post last week.

Thanks for the comments I received. Gonna give it a bash and hope for the best. Have a trainning schedule planned out and all, just gotta stick to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭geoff29

Must be nearly a year since I last logged in. Thought I'd kicked the running habit but then 3 weeks ago someone I know said, 'I'm doing the marathon', and that old feeling came back. You know - that Friday feeling? What happens when the old fire-horse hears the bell? Apparently it laces up the old asics 2130s and heads out for a couple of sighters over last few weeks! Went to the track tonight and ran very easy. Did 5k in 22:50 without attempting to get out of breath and succeeded! It's funny, I'm a million miles away from my old running pace but I'm really enjoying the easy runs - it's nice to just run and come in not feeling like your legs have done their last mile!! Might just go on a few more reconnaissance runs and increase the mileage - haven't gone over 5 miles as waiting to see how I'm feeling. Will try longer sometime this week. Thinking I might try the marathon even just for a laugh with absolutely no thoughts about time/pace.

I say that now, of course..!

ps. When I bought these shoes last year I thought they were terrible and consigned them to the wardrobe, but for how I'm going now - they really seem the business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

You haven't gone over 5! Good luck, but I'm just thinking....injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭geoff29

You haven't gone over 5! Good luck, but I'm just thinking....injury.

No dice. I forbid injuries.

But yeah, in all truth I think in about 2 weeks I can see myself rolling around on the floor crying. But not for 2 weeks!! Woo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Did anyone else enter the competition for the free adidas runners that lifestyle and the Dublin marathon organised, I won :D collecting them tonight out in blanch, there's a free foot scan and a QnA with some runner, not sure who and there's 30% off all adidas gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Yeah me... didn't win anything though :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭earlyevening

I won too. I dont know how on earth I'm going to get out there to collect my runners. I've gotta do a quick 16 now then battle against the Lucan rush hour traffic to get out there.... They better be good runners.
    Might see ya out there woddle!

I entered but no luck, well done to ye lads anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Woddle wrote: »
    Did anyone else enter the competition for the free adidas runners that lifestyle and the Dublin marathon organised, I won :D .

I sense a fix :rolleyes:.

I didn't win, just as well I suppose if I had to travel to Blanchardstown (?) to collect them!

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Ciaran15

SUB 2'50"

SUB 3'00"

SUB 3'11" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'15"
    Killerz 3'14'59"
    Ciaran15 3'12

SUB 3'21" BOSTON QUAL

SUB 3'30"

SUB 3'45"

SUB 4'00"
    HisHolinessNB 3.59.55 (just to feel superior to the 3.59.59 guys tongue.gif )
    SUB 4'30"

SUB 5'00"

• Registered Users Posts: 722 ✭✭✭psychozeb

would have been better if they had the dublin marathon runners competition for a weekend.all well and good if you are around dublin but when down the other end of the country how are you supposed to make it
    up on a midweek night so didn't bother entering.

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Blueskye

I entered too but no joy! Well done to those who did win.