Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin bus to strike on the day of Ireland vs England rugby

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Maybe if they hadn't been so strike happy in the past then people would be willing to rely on public transport and 200 of them wouldn't be losing their jobs.

But sackage of the govt. appointed carpet baggers on the board would certainly help

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭grahamo

What a shower of opportunist f**kers. last thing that the economy needs. Should fire any of them that dont show up for work. Or at least dock their pay for the day.

Obviously not been in the workforce very long.:rolleyes:
    They don't get paid while on strike. They are given a small allowance by their union.
    Why should the Dublin Bus workers stand by while their colleagues lose their livelihoods in a feeble attempt to fix a mess caused by incompetent moneymen and TD's.
    Power to the People. I'll be supporting them.
    I hope the upper echelons of this banana republic are brought to their knees in the next few months!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

What a shower of opportunist f**kers. last thing that the economy needs. Should fire any of them that dont show up for work. Or at least dock their pay for the day.

As "Big Jim" used to say "let the Brit fcukers walk".:eek:
    The rest of you can get a lift in "Daddys Car":D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

grahamo wrote: »
    [/B]Why should the Dublin Bus workers stand by while their colleagues lose their livelihoods in a feeble attempt to fix a mess caused by incompetent moneymen and TD's.
    But how will the strike solve anything? How will it solve the financial issues at DB and Bus Eireann? How will it increase the company's take so that they can afford not to fire these workers? It's all well and good having principles, but it doesn't change the fact they can't afford them and walking around, waving a placard, doesn't generate the required revenue to resolve the issue: Do you honestly think a company can keep affording to make a loss? Or will the strike be supplemented by alternate and viable cost-cutting measures or profit-generating concepts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

People have the right to stand up for their jobs and their liveliehood.

I think there's actually a hidden agenda here - DB are striking because they want to choose the manner in which the redundancy is managed. Most of the drivers in the firing line are recent recruits and still on probation - hence not entitled to redundancy payments. The union wants a voluntary program open to senior drivers, which will obviously cost a hell of a lot more and no doubt would be well padded.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

[/B]

Why should the Dublin Bus workers stand by while their colleagues lose their livelihoods in a feeble attempt to fix a mess caused by incompetent moneymen and TD's.

because their own behavior is one of the reasons that they're now losing their jobs?

ixoy wrote: »
    But how will the strike solve anything? How will it solve the financial issues at DB and Bus Eireann? How will it increase the company's take so that they can afford not to fire these workers? It's all well and good having principles, but it doesn't change the fact they can't afford them and walking around, waving a placard, doesn't generate the required revenue to resolve the issue: Do you honestly think a company can keep affording to make a loss? Or will the strike be supplemented by alternate and viable cost-cutting measures or profit-generating concepts?
    Tally ho! old bean.Quite right!.Damn peasants cluttering up the streets and exercising their right to protest. I say Ooofy pass me another sherry ,and lets watch some rugger What!.

How about actually addressing the issue? I couldn't care less about rugby, but I'm trying to see the point of the strike or what they're hoping to achieve with it: No redundancies, handle them differently, what is their aim? Are they presenting a plan to increase profitability? Just marching to let their dissatisfaction be known isn't going to change the cold financial truthes, but maybe alternate proposals might.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

So, they can bugger up Joe Public AND have a day off to go to the match.
    Say what you like but they are not stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

Rubbish. Croke park is near mainline train and luas links. The bus drivers are trying to imporve the bus service. fair play to tehm!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Rubbish. Croke park is near mainline train and luas links. The bus drivers are trying to imporve the bus service. fair play to tehm!

I don't see how having no service and making people more wary of relying on public transport is improving the service?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

same day snow patrol play the O2
    Fortunately, neither of their fans will be in the country that day. Or exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭thomasj

gandalf wrote: »
    I don't see how having no service and making people more wary of relying on public transport is improving the service?

Okay maybe not best put but they are striking against the cuts against their jobs which is going to result in cuts in services.

Blanchardstown have been waiting on improvements and changes to services nearly a year and this has been held up by the DOT and now cutbacks coming to euro services. Swords and Lucan have had the same delays of planned improvements.

The 128 bus route should be a testimony as to how things could work out for the better shuld proper planning and consideration put into services.

Anyone notice that the day after these cutbacks were made dempsey made a statement to overhaul the bus network and now its just "radical reform and cost cutting measures"

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhsnsneyojcw/
    Transport Minister Noel Dempsey has said Ireland's bus services need radical reform, including cost-cutting measures.

Mr Dempsey was speaking before the Oireachtas transport committee this morning.

He said passenger numbers on bus services were falling and savings needed to be made.

Dublin Bus and Bus Éireann are already headed for confrontation with their workers over a plan to shed almost 600 jobs and remove hundreds of buses from service.

They say the measures are needed in order to avoid massive losses this year.

Critics, however, say the decision flies in the face of the Government's stated policy of boosting public transport.

The National Bus and Railworkers Union has announced plans to mount a series of strikes in the coming weeks to protest against the cuts.

ixoy wrote: »
    but I'm trying to see the point of the strike or what they're hoping to achieve with it: No redundancies, handle them differently, what is their aim? Are they presenting a plan to increase profitability? Just marching to let their dissatisfaction be known isn't going to change the cold financial truthes, but maybe alternate proposals might.
    Weather you see the point or not is irrelevant.Obvisiously these guys feel strongly enough about this issue to protest about it.It is their right to protest against perceived wrongs and weather its inconvient or not is beside the point.People who protest generally upset other people its the norm.Maybe the only point of the strike is just to show how pissed off they are,and if thats the case fair play to them.;)
    As for the others get on your bike or walk.

PS:One thing that strikes(no pun intended) me is that people who are saying "you can't operate a company at a loss" are wrong in this particular case.The EU is hitting Ireland with massive fines on carbon emmissions,the losses of bus eireinn are miniscule in comparison.We could afford to operate even more buses at a loss if it reduced our carbon emmission and took more people out of their cars.fines.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Weather you see the point or not is irrelevant.Obvisiously these guys feel strongly enough about this issue to protest about it.It is their right to protest against perceived wrongs and weather its inconvient or not is beside the point.
    That's a ridiculous statement. So people's right to strike should not be questioned, regardless of what it is they are protesting about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Im with dublin bus or anyone else who can stand up for the right not to be used and abused, as these 300 workers are being showen such contempt why shouldent they stand up for their right to work.
    :confused:Whats the big snobbery thing going on about rugby fans,we are not all from D4 you know,dont all speak like that or like sherry for that matter(much prefer champers:D).
    I think people will get around town no prob that day,and hope they show support for workers who are only looking fortheir right to a decent livelyhood.

thomasj wrote: »
    Okay maybe not best put but they are striking against the cuts against their jobs which is going to result in cuts in services.

Oh I am aware of the cuts in service. But I am also talking about the reliability of that service. Striking just re-enforces an awful lot of peoples impression that the public transports systems cannot be relied upon therefore they don't use it and there is less revenue being taken in. Then more jobs go, they strike again and the cycle continues.
    Blanchardstown have been waiting on improvements and changes to services nearly a year and this has been held up by the DOT and now cutbacks coming to euro services. Swords and Lucan have had the same delays of planned improvements.

The 128 bus route should be a testimony as to how things could work out for the better shuld proper planning and consideration put into services.

Anyone notice that the day after these cutbacks were made dempsey made a statement to overhaul the bus network and now its just "radical reform and cost cutting measures"

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhsnsneyojcw/

Well if Dublin Bus are unable to carry out their remit and provide a decent public transport system the time has come to allow private firms to take up the slack. This isn't happening because the same unions that are taking 3 days of revenue from Dublin Bus are also blocking freeing up of routes for private firms.

The concept of Public Transport and Public Services are totally alien to the unions obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Public Services like transport should be subject to legislation that makes it illegal to strike. How the hell are we going to get out of the mess we are in when vital services are allowed be held to ransom to union whims.

Its hardly a whim - its the day 300 drivers are laid off in a clear violation of government policy.

People whinging about the 'economic impact' of buses being pulled for the day are obviously oblivious to the impact of a 25% cut in bus services in the capital.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭dragonfly!

bobbyjoe wrote: »
    There will be something on whatever day they pick. I doubt guys worrying about their livelihoods are to worried about Rugby or Snow Patrol fans.

True but there is now a real possibility that i wont be able to go to this gig after looking forward to it since october...:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Hagar wrote: »
    So, they can bugger up Joe Public AND have a day off to go to the match.
    Say what you like but they are not stupid.

So you missed the bit about 300 drivers being let go that day?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭dragonfly!

djpbarry wrote: »
    Fortunately, neither of their fans will be in the country that day. Or exist.

I exist and will very much be in the country that day
    if they sold out 2 nights in the o2 and 4 in belfast we exist:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

Bloody unions. Can they not see what damage they are doing to the country? Judging by most of the posts on this thread they don't seem to have much support. I understand how the workers are angry about job losses, I lost my job. But it's not just all about them. 1000's are loosing their jobs worldwide. The money isn't there, what do they expect. It's nothing personal it's economics.

Its hardly a whim - its the day 300 drivers are laid off in a clear violation of government policy.

People whinging about the 'economic impact' of buses being pulled for the day are obviously oblivious to the impact of a 25% cut in bus services in the capital.

And yes I have seen that but given there are job cuts absolutely everywhere I am not surprised.

Welcome to the real world. If the money ain't there you can't pay people. Government policies are being amended and are going to have to be amended left right and centre.

Again if the government don't sort out their finances very soon and get us on a more prudent line we'll have the IMF on board and then what is happening now will seem like a cake walk.

Bloody unions. Can they not see what damage they are doing to the country? Judging by most of the posts on this thread they don't seem to have much support. I understand how the workers are angry about job losses, I lost my job. But it's not just all about them. 1000's are loosing their jobs worldwide. The money isn't there, what do they expect. It's nothing personal it's economics.

Oh! Thats ok then. As long as its not personal. :rolleyes:

I think they will have a lot of support in Dublin. Maybe the Dublin 4 people and a few self employed 'I'm all right Jack' types may be a bit put out but the ordinary dub will be behind them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

I think they will have a lot of support in Dublin. Maybe the Dublin 4 people and a few self employed 'I'm all right Jack' types may be a bit put out but the ordinary dub will be behind them
    Only if they're not commuters.

Oh! Thats ok then. As long as its not personal. :rolleyes:

So what makes them more special than someone let go in Dell, Waterford Glass and the multitude of others who have been let go in a multitude of other organisations. Its called the real world, if the cash ain't there then something has to give.

I'm a dub and not a Dublin 4 type and not self employed and totally against this strike. If we had a proper government they would use these strikes as an opportunity to root out the rot in these organisations and to hobble the unions once and for all. Unfortunately we don't have a government of any substance at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

The bus drivers are trying to imporve the bus service

No they're not!
    If they're not demanding that they be kept on, they'll be demanding a bigger payout.
    How this improves the bus service is indeed a tricky one to pick :eek:
    Somehow the bus service owes them a job even though a job might not be viable.

The comments from the self-perceived class warriors/deludes in this thread are funny though. I'm sure Orwell is laughing his head off somewhere.

Do you honestly think they'll have support on March 9/10 when people, many already worried about their job, struggle to get into work? Not everyone will have an alternative and anyone who has to end up getting a taxi probably won't feel sympathy when presented with a large fare bill or those, unable to get in at all, are forced to use up a holiday day.

So what makes them more special than someone let go in Dell, Waterford Glass and the multitude of others who have been let go in a multitude of other organisations. Its called the real world, if the cash ain't there then something has to give.
    So basically what your saying is that seeing as the lads in Dell & Waterford Crystal were made redundant its perfectly all right to turf a load of Dublin Bus Drivers onto the dole? Its not OK for any of them to lose their jobs while the bosses of these companies and the rich in this country lose nothing!

I'm a dub and not a Dublin 4 type and not self employed and totally against this strike. If we had a proper government they would use these strikes as an opportunity to root out the rot in these organisations and to hobble the unions once and for all. Unfortunately we don't have a government of any substance at all.
    People are entitled under the constitution to union membership whether the 'Smash the union' brigade like it or not. The only rot I can see is in Corporate Ireland and the Self serving government

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The comments from the self-perceived class warriors/deludes in this thread are funny though. I'm sure Orwell is laughing his head off somewhere.

George Orwell who fought for the Marxist POUM in the Spanish Civil War? Why would he be laughing considering he was a convinced socialist himself? I'm not a "class warrior" by any means, rather I made a quip á la Ross O'Carroll Kelly and you went off whinging about it.

As for "the money isn't there" arguments, fair enough. But people might want to start asking why "the money isn't there" and who is to blame, who still has "the money" etc before targetting the likes of bus drivers and nurses.