Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Administrators Posts: 53,955 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,174 ✭✭✭Top Dog

SRFC wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4015777

a serious contender here 7 and a half grand for an old shape 3 series with 90k miles on the clock the interior is shocking no leather no steering functions
    Along with the smallest available engine. Perfect example of a car that was bought for the badge and nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4015777

a serious contender here 7 and a half grand for an old shape 3 series with 90k miles on the clock the interior is shocking no leather no steering functions

DREAMER :)

No electric rear windows, 120000 miles, no M kit, despite what it says in the ad. And it's not even a diesel...Dreamer is right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

sean1141 wrote: »
    3200 for a 95 diesel starlet.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4001988

Rare but not worth half that

It's worth practically nothing except scrap metal; It's what I'd call a "Frankenstarlet", a GT Turbo with a 1.5 diesel engine lifted off of another car; Nothing declared on the registration (the ad says "it's still a 1.3 on the logbook"). I can just imagine the comedy the moment it's brought up for the NCT :P

Somebody really takes their "amateur mechanic" hobby too seriously...

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3994521
    honda legend for 5850 euro, that dealer is pure cuckoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

166man wrote: »
    Regardless of how much I like them, have to be realistic sometimes. This guy is having a laugh asking nearly €4k for this one

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3609007

It looks like a sad 156 lol.

Two 2004 156s have crept into the bangernomics thread lately, this yoke if priced realistically should be in there too... overpriced by €1500 at least imo...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3861263

View2-14064519.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

RoverJames wrote: »
    Two 2004 156s have crept into the bangernomics thread lately, this yoke if priced realistically should be in there too... overpriced by €1500 at least imo...

View2-14064519.jpeg

Wasn't that 166Mans old family car?

tuborg_man wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3994521
    honda legend for 5850 euro, that dealer is pure cuckoo.
    Another new feature on DD that I hadn't seen before - listing the annual motor tax in the details. Not a bad idea! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

I'm nearly sure it was, because I was thinking of buying it before it went to its latest home in Cork. As far as I remember, it was sold for around the €2000 mark back then (now the asking price is nearly twice that).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

I'd like to nominate this dealer :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3510499

View2-12391902.jpeg

2002 530D M-Sport Estate asking €8745

Advert is 6 days old, much like this other 2002 530D M-Sport Estate which is asking ... €3000!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4003220

View2-14740568.jpeg

Ok, so the second one has nearly 40k more miles but it also has metallic paint and a recond gearbox with 6 month warranty, along with tax to Jan 2013. Can anyone tell me why there's over €5000 difference in price? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Am I missing something here?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3202681

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Pac1Man wrote: »

Posted already. It's a very rare spec c jap import. Nice car, but not for Irish market ( not anymore anyway )

And yes, it is slightly too much.

Absolute hack of the interior wouldnt pay 49 hundred never mind 49 grand :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Wait, is that someone shoehorning a diesel into it, or did that gen starlet actually come with a diesel option?

JDM did, petrol only here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Absolute hack of the interior wouldnt pay 49 hundred never mind 49 grand :rolleyes:

It's basically a group N rally car minus the roll cage and quicker than cars twice it's value. I know it's not everyone's cup of tea but while it is overpriced its not as crazy as it first seems.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Damokc

What "hack"? they've got seat covers on to protect the easily wearing alcantara seat and rubber mats to protect the carpet?! Even a rubber boot liner for the boot. Don't see what your rolling your eyes about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Damokc wrote: »
    What "hack"? they've got seat covers on to protect the easily wearing alcantara seat and rubber mats to protect the carpet?! Even a rubber boot liner for the boot. Don't see what your rolling your eyes about.

usually for an ad youd remove the seat covers though , unless your hiding some manky seats under them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

usually for an ad youd remove the seat covers though , unless your hiding some manky seats under them

or they try to show, that car was really cared for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭0066ad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

or they try to show, that car was really cared for.

If they were model specific fitted covers, or something higher end than lidl, or even fitted properly i might agree

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

€ 2,850 for a 1996 golf Gti
    Wouldn't mind it it were mint, had super low mileage, was a rare model, or a 16v. None of the above:rolleyes:

View2-14885667.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4032044

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 FacebookLAD

Wouldn't mind it it were mint, had super low mileage, was a rare model, or a 16v. None of the above:rolleyes:

View2-14885667.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4032044

Yea feck all special about it really. Alloys don't suit it...love it in red though!

Wouldn't mind it it .............. a 16v. ........

Being a mint 16v with low miles wouldn't justify that price either :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

A VR6 maybe

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

Haha no it wouldn't really, but it might go some way towards a higher than normal price. The VR6's are worth even less than the Gti's due to paddys inherent fear of high tax...

The right VR6 is nearly bangernomics material these days!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3898969

:):) some people are just away with the fairies 8 grand for an 02 old shape 3 series ffs not a hope of getting that money no matter how clean it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I like this... But it ain't worth 1400

It's a 2.1 lowered on cut springs :rolleyes:
    Full-14982225.jpeg

But I still really, really like it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

View2-14064519.jpeg
    fatbhoy wrote: »
    I'm nearly sure it was, because I was thinking of buying it before it went to its latest home in Cork. As far as I remember, it was sold for around the €2000 mark back then (now the asking price is nearly twice that).

That is indeed the old 166, I cry everytime I see those wheels though. Just awful. It was for sale about a month back down in Cork I think for about €2250, I'd imagine the current seller is trying to make a quick buck somehow.

Overpriced is right, but if anyone was looking at it, it's got the most comprehensive service history on it up to 85k miles. When it left us, it was mint.