Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭mullingar

39842047.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/lexus-gs-gs-430/8780731?offset=2

2003 GS430, €6,950.

Yes, 7k for a 12 year old car

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭JC01

166man wrote: »
    Because it looks like a sh1t car...?

Over €5k for something with no test and seemingly considerable bodywork needing doing.

Doesn't strike me as though the work was done by a professional either.

To be fair "it looks like a **** car" is a fairly nasty thing to say about it. Ya havta look at a car like that from the perspective of a Honda-head, ie it's a rare Ferio model, it's a facelift, it has a genuine set of Rays, it's the best 1800 engine set up for a turbo and most importantly it's a turbo. Hondas are not cheap to boost and someone into them will see the diamond in the rough in this one because granted the bodywork isnt great.

To call it **** would be like me saying an Alfa is **** simply because I don't like them regardless of whether or not it's the rarest, most desirable Alfa there is (I don't actually know which one that'd be :D) same goes for the VAG heads with there crazy-low golfs with big wheels and all-powerful 1.9 Tdi. Each to there own

Edit: and that was proffesionally put together; it's on the best of the best mapping software for a honda and mapped by arguably the country's best honda-man

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

mullingar wrote: »
    39842047.jpeg

2003 GS430, €6,950.

My car's 11 years old and i'd put a tag of €8k on it.

Granted the Lexus is a barge with a tax bill of €1809, it'll be a hard sell to anyone not foolish.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

mullingar wrote: »
    39842047.jpeg

2003 GS430, €6,950.

With a whale tail..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/ford-escort-van-doed-and-taxed/9214540

i know it's actually an 02 and is low mileage, well maintained etc etc, but i think that price is very optimistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That's almost certainly an ex Royal Mail van. It's def a UK import.
    I'd be dubious about the claimed mileage.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

colm_mcm wrote: »
    That's almost certainly an ex Royal Mail van. It's def a UK import.
    I'd be dubious about the claimed mileage.

A lot of post vans have low mileage. Which of course doesn't mean they aren't wrecked.....

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Did escort vans have digital odometers at that stage, or did they just go to 100k?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

http://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/ford-escort-van-doed-and-taxed/9214540

i know it's actually an 02 and is low mileage, well maintained etc etc, but i think that price is very optimistic.

I owned a MKIII Escort van like that. It was definitely the worst thing I have ever driven.
    Front crossmember rotted, the chassis flexes like wood (if you put a front wheel on a curb, the door jams shut), which is why it snaps away under cornering without any warning whatsoever, every week something else broke, slower than a wet week, ugly, horrible to drive, it is simply not worth it for any money. You couldn't pay me to have one again.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭job seeker

Looks okay... but erm..

2,450 for a 96 corolla.. someone needs their head examined..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla/9306786?offset=9

job seeker wrote: »
    Looks okay... but erm..

2,450 for a 96 corolla.. someone needs their head examined..

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla/9306786?offset=9

on the face of things it does seems expensive. there is a massive "scene" for these corollas in Ireland, more than ever at the moment. young lads pay crazy money for JDM parts for these. there is also a healthy market at the moment for buying these cars to break for parts to sell on again,

to give you an idea of the prices of some of the parts on that car go for, roughly speaking you could get:

JDM rear bootlid reflector €150
    JDM rear bumper €100
    20v front bumper €75
    JDM "C" grille €80
    Booster front lip €125
    G6R skirts €150
    Levin interior €100
    Rear disc brake conversion €150
    XXR 501's €350

i seen that actual bonnet sell on the owners club recently for €500, it's the only vented carbon fiber bonnet for an e10 corolla on the island of ireland and it will surely appeal to someone.

so he has €1700 or so in parts + a very tidy corolla with a years test and a bit of tax for sale, at least that what his target audience are seeing.

on the face of things it does seems expensive. there is a massive "scene" for these corollas in Ireland, more than ever at the moment. young lads pay crazy money for JDM parts for these. there is also a healthy market at the moment for buying these cars to break for parts to sell on again,

to give you an idea of the prices of some of the parts on that car go for, roughly speaking you could get:

JDM rear bumper €100
    20v front bumper €75
    JDM "C" grille €80
    Booster front lip €125
    G6R skirts €150
    Levin interior €100
    XXR 501's €350

i seen that actual bonnet sell on the owners club recently for €500, it's the only vented carbon fiber bonnet for an e10 corolla on the island of ireland and it will surely appeal to someone.

so he has €1700 or so in parts + a very tidy corolla with a years test and a bit of tax for sale, at least that what his target audience are seeing.

1,280 on parts? :eek: I see what your saying.. but at the end of the day it is just a 96 1.3 corrolla which go for sale in the bangernomics thread for 700 - 900.. So JDM parts or not thats all id pay..

job seeker wrote: »
    1,280 on parts? :eek: I see what your saying.. but at the end of the day it is just a 96 1.3 corrolla which go for sale in the bangernomics thread for 700 - 900.. So JDM parts or not thats all id pay..

i understand that, but as i say, you (and i) are not his target buyer. his target buyer is either someone else into corollas who will enjoy and value it for what it is and not mind paying €2k ish for it,

or someone else into corollas, who will buy it for around €2k, part it out to the tune of 15 or 1600 and sell the car standard for the guts of a grand a make himself a few quid.

here's a screenshot of the ad for the bonnet:
    bonnet.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

You have to understand, Toyota fans are an odd bunch abs will pay may more on "optional extras" than any other fan base. Almost to an autistic level. Haha

CianRyan wrote: »
    You have to understand, Toyota fans are an odd bunch abs will pay may more on "optional extras" than any other fan base. Almost to an autistic level. Haha

indeed. it's insane. you see ash trays and cup holders and stuff going for like €100+, same with old tape deck stereos madness to me, you'd even get a nifty fifty for a JDM flare. corolla stuff goes for really sick money, the rear lights from 3 door cars seem to be going for €300+ this weather.

if i seen a part i wanted for my toyota, that it didn't have from the factory, i'd buy it, but some lads are like magpies, have to have every single extra toyota ever made for their cars which massively inflates the price of bits and bobs.

i bought the rear strut brace for my starlet, got one for €120 and that was good going. didn't feel compelled to go whole hog and pimp the car though :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

indeed. it's insane. you see ash trays and cup holders and stuff going for like €100+...

Genuine trim and bits-and-bobs for ould shítheaps is worth ze moolah these days though, particularly in the UK and other jurisdictions. 200 Aussie for a 1963 Cortina radio, anyone??

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Rare-63-64-MK1-Consul-Cortina-ford-radio-/271860464292

• Registered Users Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I actually like that Corolla :o

• Registered Users Posts: 15,360 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

****e, i wish i didnt give my G6r to the breakers yard now.... :/

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

that rolla is nice -

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

I can't imagine how someone would pay that money for one tbh, even someone into their corollas. At the end of the day it's just a 19 year old car with bits stuck to it. Those parts may have some value but that doesn't necessarily mean that it adds to the car's value.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    I can't imagine how someone would pay that money for one tbh, even someone into their corollas. At the end of the day it's just a 19 year old car with bits stuck to it. Those parts may have some value but that doesn't necessarily mean that it adds to the car's value.

Never ceases to make me laugh the amount of people who seem to think pumping money into any old car will automatically make it worth more.

Absolutely ludicrous money for that car

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

Never ceases to make me laugh the amount of people who seem to think pumping money into any old car will automatically make it worth more.

My thoughts exactly. If I'm honest I've a feeling that the car is a bit of a wreck too. Not saying it is but it has that look about it imo.

If it was found in a field in that state like the photo suggests I trust that he has seen to perished bushings, belts and other assorted perishables on top of all of those fancy expensive bits

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

JDM rear bumper €100
    20v front bumper €75
    JDM "C" grille €80
    Booster front lip €125
    G6R skirts €150
    Levin interior €100
    XXR 501's €350

My Alfa 166 from a different perspective.

Engine and gearbox €800
    Wheels €500
    Leather €200
    ECU etc keys €250
    Exhaust €300
    ICS €200.

All these bits add up to close to €3k. Does that make my car that's taxed and tested worth €3k? Not a chance.

It's worth €1800 at most. That Corolla is ludicrously overpriced.

Engine and gearbox €800
    Wheels €500
    Leather €200
    ECU etc keys €250
    Exhaust €300
    ICS €200.

All these bits add up to close to €3k. Does that make my car that's taxed and tested worth €3k? Not a chance.

That's not to mention the paintwork

Engine and gearbox €800
    Wheels €500
    Leather €200
    ECU etc keys €250
    Exhaust €300
    ICS €200.

Exactly what I was trying to get across. Regardless of audience that's willing to pay silly money for it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Lose the splitter, insert 3s-gte and were on to a winner :D

I'm well impressed on its transformation

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I want what this lad is smoking

520, Auto, Mediocre spec, no Tax, no NCT, €3,450.

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-520i-automatic/9329697

41224085.jpeg

i completely agree. it's car guy rule #1, you're not getting all that "investment" money back. the thing is, toyotas seem to be particularly prone to being bought to be broken for parts, it's why there are sfa glanzas and levins etc left, search them on donedeal and they are all for sale in parts. i think he's aiming a little high at €2350, but you can be sure he'l get €1900-2k for it.

why would he sell it for €1k, when he knows someone who buys it for €1k will get the guts of €2.5k+ back for it. he might aswell go in near it's worth, whether that be as a whole car or in parts.

Engine and gearbox €800
    Wheels €500
    Leather €200
    ECU etc keys €250
    Exhaust €300
    ICS €200.

as you say, it's worth €1800 and he'l surely get that. your alfa is a very different proposition to that corolla though. not that they don't have their own cult following, but they certainly don't have the same demographic audience as the corolla (young lads who pay silly money for silly items). the market for a used standard 166 exhaust or set of keys is a whole lot less than say that corollas bonnet. i mean it has precedent at this stage, if it's already changed hands twice, in Ireland alone for ~€500 each time, you can be sure it will again.

i must stipulate, you'd have to prize €2350 from my cold dead hands for that car, to use as a daily driver, but he isn't dreaming, he's close to the money.