Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭nialler

galwaytt wrote: »

Holy sh1t that's a horrendous price.

There's a 2000 Blue CL500 for sale in the Merc Garage on the way to cobh and it's €13,000 which is still overpriced, I let an S320 LWB petrol go for €5,800 just before chrimbo.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Is it me or are these W124's vastly overrated cars?
    It is probably just you. However, I have never seen any 124-series Mercedes-Benz in this country worth 3k Euro. It is mainly due to very poor general technical culture, lack of care and maintenance. There are no bombproof cars, but in right hands the W124 (with a Diesel engine especially) will cover astronomical mileages, I would say five or ten times more than "the national maximum mileage" which makes any car sellable. Regarding the W123, which I used to drive, I can't say that they are more reliable than the W124. Both models are as reliable as they owners take care of them. Generally saying, the W123 is simpler and the W124 is like W123 with every bit re-engineered and improved. Build quality is very same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

And after you can pay all the lovely VRT :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1364970

View2?id=3253144

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Saab Ed wrote: »

and potentially get the lights converted as well to pass the NCT :D

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Is it me or are these W124's vastly overrated cars? I mean, there's nothing about that car that makes it worth 3 grand, let alone 7. I don't doubt their effectiveness as a comfortable executive car, but people really seem to have high ideas about their indestructibility.

I agree, the E34 petrol BMWs are far better, fair enough the diesel Merc goes for ever but the e250 W124 nasp is a rotten, slow pig of a yoke. Nice and comfy though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

View2?id=3253144

A left hooker with a 3.2 petrol engine. It will be a very hard sell at that money.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Barr wrote: »
    A left hooker with a 3.2 petrol engine. It will be a very hard sell at that money.

A right hand drive with €3000 in the glovebox wouldnt sell for that money :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

In fairness, anything post W124 has been crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

View2?id=3253144

,---Mercedes Benz E 320 1999 Automatic left hand drive petrol engine brought home from Boston USA

Should have left it behind in America tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

• Registered Users Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭mullingar

Must be in a coma that they are having such a deep dream (€5750, lmao)

In fairness, looks very clean, but about €1000-1500 clean depending on engine/spec

Full?id=3565320

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

mullingar wrote: »

In fairness, looks very clean, but about €1000-1500 clean depending on engine/spec
    That's quite funny, prices for these are all over the shop. I was driving to Howth the other day and a garage has a (admittedly mint) light blue '88 300e outside so I stopped to have a look. Been in storage I think, no NCT, no tax, cloth seats (Ok, unmarked)...€3000 to you sir. I couldn't even be arsed negotiating.

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭CarMuppet

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1401399

Nice car but a bit of a steep price when a good one is 6k to 7k...

EDIT: A good one here : http://www.classiccarsforsale.co.uk/classic-car-page.php/carno/95929

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

mullingar wrote: »

Full?id=3565320

Been in that car and it's a very, very good example. I don't think that would be the selling price either;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

CarMuppet wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1401399

Nice car but a bit of a steep price when a good one is 6k to 7k...

EDIT: A good one here : http://www.classiccarsforsale.co.uk/classic-car-page.php/carno/95929

280 isnt a 260 and never will be,

price is steep tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

€4,000 for an '87 Starlet (the FWD model too!)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1464833

• Registered Users Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭mullingar

Max_Damage wrote: »

1987 starlet 1.0. 60,000 genuine miles, new 1.3 engine. 2 owners from new, mint condition, never crashed or resprayed. always garaged, professionally modified with lots of extras

Full?id=3637592

Cough:
    Toyota Starlet
    Engine: 1.0L
    Fuel Type: Petrol
    Colour: Grey

• Registered Users Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Max_Damage wrote: »

But it has some TRD stickers on it; that must add at least 50bhp and shave a good 5 seconds off the 0-60 time, right? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

My parent's had an '86 Starlet (same as the one above, only it was a Jap import and in white) back in the 90's. It was a bucket of shíte. I wouldn't pay €400 for one of those turds, let alone €4,000!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭mondeo

Some of these guys with these older cars think
    their sitting on a goldmine. To me that starlet is a bucket
    with wheels. Professionaly modified with mg zr wheels.
    He might get 1000 for it if the right person comes along..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭alias no.9

mondeo wrote: »
    Some of these guys with these older cars think
    their sitting on a goldmine. To me that starlet is a bucket
    with wheels. Professionaly modified with mg zr wheels.
    He might get 1000 for it if the right person comes along..

Using the strict definition of the word professional, if he did the modifications himself and expects the money he makes from selling the car to form a substantial part of his income, then they're professional modifications. I really hope for his sake that he has another, more dependable, source of income.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

4k for a 87 Starlet is just lunacy. mmm wonder why it needed a new engine after only 60k miles.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Old motors with low miles are rarely reliable in my experience. Complex machines like cars need to be used regularly or else they just die or become extremely unreliable. Four k!!! He'll be waiting. It'd be funny to call him and state that there was a misprint in the ad and follow this up by offering four hundred. I'm such a dick for even thinking it. :D It's what it's worth though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Yours for 3 grand ...... Or nearest offer :D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1490906

Full?id=3740015

• Registered Users Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Not sure if it'll go for 3 grand, but Escort Mk1 and Mk2's are big big money, no matter what state they are in. They are rally favourites.

/M

• Registered Users Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

Full?id=3740015

he will get 3 grand!

bmw535d wrote: »
    he will get 3 grand!

If it's an Irish car, which I'm assuming it is... YOu'd be off your game to pay 3k for it if it was on a ZV plate

• Registered Users Posts: 65,353 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Full?id=3740015

Seller is a dreamer. Look at this for €6k :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

unkel wrote: »

OMG...did that crash into the B & Q metal pieces stand, or Halfords front window ??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

unkel wrote: »

The 8th pic with the red arch/wing is confusing the life out of me! There doesn't seem to be red anywhere else on the car!

The high rise kit, wheels/tyres are prob worth something, but no way in hell is it worth 6k!