Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Ex-Garda into the bargain too!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Rough as a bears a****

Could be wrong but looks very like a ex garda

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Was just ginna say that! 2.0 LX petrol = Garda

• Registered Users Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Was just ginna say that! 2.0 LX petrol = Garda

06d79232 - Mondeo 2.0 lx
    06d79233 - Mondeo 2.0 lx
    06d79234 - Mondeo 2.0 lx

Ah now that must be just a coincidence!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

"Technically in perfect condition". lol

I've seen cars holding up ditches in better condition. I'd hate to think what he regards less than perfect condition, technically that is.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,397 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

'03 BMW 520i E39 (1996-2003 model)

Automatic, but torque converter is broken
    ABS module broken
    Lambda sensor broken

No NCT

Asking €1,500 :)

Linky

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭DakarVert

unkel wrote: »
    '03 BMW 520i E39 (1996-2003 model)

Automatic, but torque converter is broken
    ABS module broken
    Lambda sensor broken

No NCT

Asking €1,500 :)

Linky

Not really.... Wheels are €500/€600 alone (If Genuine) Bumpers will be another €400 or so. Could be another €500 in the interior of its leather. (Between the Sport Headlining and Steering Wheel and Trim)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Got literally the same car in Glacier Green in great nick for €1400 only 2 months ago. She's a bit over priced alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

More dreamers

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-lancer-evo-6-tommi-makenin-edition/12225693

16 years old with just over 80k miles*
    Yours for just €32,000

I dont care if it's a TME, Yeah they are iconic, but they are not worth €32,000 (
    €18,000 tops is what they are worth and it would need to be 100% pristine!

Nope

No fog lights on that one!

oops. deleted the post nearly straight away when i realised it didnt have fogs, had mudflaps, had wind deflectors, and was a photo from 4 years ago :o

There was an identical red TME up for auction in Japan on the 19th with less mileage, be interesting to see what it went for. Auction sheet isn't great, but I wonder if it still made a good bit?

https://www.facebook.com/japancarsireland/photos/pcb.880145958798877/880145802132226/?type=3

There's another going for auction tonight. grade 4.

oops. deleted the post nearly straight away when i realised it didnt have fogs, had mudflaps, had wind deflectors, and was a photo from 4 years ago :o

There was an identical red TME up for auction in Japan on the 19th with less mileage, be interesting to see what it went for. Auction sheet isn't great, but I wonder if it still made a good bit?

https://www.facebook.com/japancarsireland/photos/pcb.880145958798877/880145802132226/?type=3

used to own an Evo V years ago

Savage cars, nearly impossible to insure at this stage though with insurance the way it is

I'm 32, 10 years NCB, no accidents,claims or convictions and the cheapest quote I could get was 2,000 euro!!! (On a 16 year old car!!!! I lol'd)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭selectamatic

MDcx_Yj_Fm_MWUx_Nj_Rk_Mzhh_ODQx_YTUz_Zj_Zi_ZDFl_ODUw_Yz_Qj_Srg_Y.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/12416785
    Immaculate Honda Civic (EJ9) - 23k miles

6 grand for a silver 1.4 civic with dodgy looking bbs wheels. This has to be one of the biggest dreamers this thread has ever seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Your right about the dodgiest wheels they are fake. He must think he has a ek9.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Wheels aren't fake they look like Bbs RA's off a mk2 golf GTI. They were too small for a mk2 never mind civic arches. Looks kack.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

The sellers name on donedeal is down as "cheesemaniac". Says it all really.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,687 ✭✭✭corks finest

grahambo wrote: »
    used to own an Evo V years ago

Savage cars, nearly impossible to insure at this stage though with insurance the way it is

I'm 32, 10 years NCB, no accidents,claims or convictions and the cheapest quote I could get was 2,000 euro!!! (On a 16 year old car!!!! I lol'd)
    Greedy bastar,s

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

It's hardly identical considering it's a Grade R and has obviously been smashed at the front. Anyway, it went unsold for what would have been €21,000+VRT which is about 4 grand. The Grade 4 one went sold for €34,500+VRT

The one on DoneDeal is nothing short of immaculate. Red TMEs are up for similar money in the UK.

My point is/was, it would be interesting to see if one in not great condition would still make big money. It did. (Well, relatively speaking anyway), I think my post that you quoted covers them not being in the same condition.

I don't think yer man is a dreamer, there's a global market for these cars. Just because this is Ireland where old equals worthless till the chape tax kicks in doesn't mean we should be able to get in 90s classics cheaper than everyone else

I agree I'm actually surprised that car hasn't sold to the UK yet. It's milage is all it has going against it. It's not high but not low.

You won't import one from Japan for less and you won't find one in the UK for less so the pricing can be justified.

Heres a white one for around €26,500+VRT so basically €30k on the road. Red with stripes is a far more desirable colour scheme
    http://www.pistonheads.com/classifieds/used-cars/mitsubishi/evo-iv--vi/mitsubishi-lancer-evo-vi-tommi-makinen-edition-tme/4849722?v=c

millington wrote: »
    I agree I'm actually surprised that car hasn't sold to the UK yet. It's milage is all it has going against it. It's not high but not low.

You won't import one from Japan for less and you won't find one in the UK for less so the pricing can be justified.

Heres a white one for around €26,500+VRT so basically €30k on the road. Red with stripes is a far more desirable colour scheme
    http://www.pistonheads.com/classifieds/used-cars/mitsubishi/evo-iv--vi/mitsubishi-lancer-evo-vi-tommi-makinen-edition-tme/4849722?v=c

I agree the Red with the TME stripe looks great. But it's 16 Years Old!
    You'd pick up an Evo IX MR FQ-360 or Evo IX GT for that money. (Which IMO are the best Evo's ever made)

why in good god would you spend that kind of money on a car that old!?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

You'd pick up an Evo IX MR FQ-360 or Evo IX GT for that money. (Which IMO are the best Evo's ever made)

Sure a Ferrari 250lm is over 50 years old, by that logic they should be worth peanuts...

They ain't.

kinda like why would you buy a mk2 escort mexico 15 years ago when you could buy a 90s Cosworth instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭crusha101

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Sure a Ferrari 250lm is over 50 years old, by that logic they should be worth peanuts...

They ain't.

Ferrari <= Super Car Manufacturer (Pedigree cars)
    Mitsubishi <= Regular Car Manufacturer

250lm <= Beyond Rare, You'd need to be in a Ferrari club to get one
    Evo <= Not that Rare, Have a good following in the UK (Lets face it, it's a 4 door saloon, with a powerful engine in it and has a very good AWD system... AND THAT'S IT! it's nothing else apart from that)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Ferrari <= Super Car Manufacturer (Pedigree cars)
    Mitsubishi <= Regular Car Manufacturer

250lm <= Beyond Rare, You'd need to be in a Ferrari club to get one
    Evo <= Not that Rare, Have a good following in the UK (Lets face it, it's a 4 door saloon, with a powerful engine in it and has a very good AWD system... AND THAT'S IT! it's nothing else apart from that)

Well, Evo's aren't rare, at all, but, as im sure you know right well that this one is. There was only 2500 t.m.e. Evo's built, i cant say how many made it to europe, and I presume not that many made it to Irish shores. Most that did have been either ragged beyond belief, broken for parts or wrapped around poles/trees. Not many in good condition left, let alone excellent condition. Especially in the desirable red suit.

So yeah, THAT'S IT, nothing else.

I wasn't comparing one with the other, I was trying to highlight the flaw on saying : "why would anyone spend big money on an old car"

If it was me with 30g in my arse pocket I'd gladly hand it over for a t.m.e. rather than waste it on a poxy year old ****in golf or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

crusha101 wrote: »

He'd be lucky if that thing even started on that on that little juice.

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Well, Evo's aren't rare, at all, but, as im sure you know right well that this one is. There was only 2500 t.m.e. Evo's built, i cant say how many made it to europe, and I presume not that many made it to Irish shores. Most that did have been either ragged beyond belief, broken for parts or wrapped around poles/trees. Not many in good condition left, let alone excellent condition. Especially in the desirable red suit.

So yeah, THAT'S IT, nothing else.

I wasn't comparing one with the other, I was trying to highlight the flaw on saying : "why would anyone spend big money on an old car"

If it was me with 30g in my arse pocket I'd gladly hand it over for a t.m.e. rather than waste it on a poxy year old ****in golf or something.

Completely agree

I meant 30g to spend on a sports car (There are far better, newer sports cars to be had for that kind of bread)

I agree that a 9 would be a better car but without a doubt a red TME is a more special thing.