Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Yeah, more interested in the car (van?) in front :)

Foxbody mustang? :P

Saleen-3-e1457835078795.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It's one of these....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

It's one of these....

Was wondering if it was the front of a camper van.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

It looks like a camper alright. If you look at the reflection in the drivers side headlight on the TT you can make it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,820 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I’m convinced it’s the back of an escort xr3i with clear lights on the back.some craic if the person selling the tt saw this and told us what it was while telling us to fcuk off for calling him a dreamer

Looks nothing like it it's a camper and if it weren't a camper it's a van.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

Now we have the camper sorted, what's under the tarp on the bottom left? :p
    #catchphrase theme

• Registered Users Posts: 28,947 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

SCOOP 64 wrote: »

i'd a 05 one I couldn't give away for €500

Kamili wrote: »
    Now we have the camper sorted, what's under the tarp on the bottom left? :p
    #catchphrase theme

Can I have a prize.

Personally I feel this is a dreamer. In and around 3 grand. Just cause you stick on a set of gimp alloys does not mean it should cost more.

YTcxNDI4YWYyOTM5MDcyYjgxM2IyY2JiODFhZGY1MGFFFIrMfXg490NdJ_6xt0QZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185NDExNTgyN3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1993-toyota-corolla-gli-16v-best-avaliable/17904565

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It’s not even ROI reg!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭selectamatic

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It’s not even ROI reg!

But it's a "rare" 4dr e10 saloon

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I sold one with 30k on the clock, 10 main dealer stamps and in showroom condition (really) for less than half that 12 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

But it's a "rare" 4dr e10 saloon

Rare in the uk to be fair

• Registered Users Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭emeldc

You’re great.

Glad you could join us. Welcome along.

Personally I feel this is a dreamer. In and around 3 grand. Just cause you stick on a set of gimp alloys does not mean it should cost more.

YTcxNDI4YWYyOTM5MDcyYjgxM2IyY2JiODFhZGY1MGFFFIrMfXg490NdJ_6xt0QZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185NDExNTgyN3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/1993-toyota-corolla-gli-16v-best-avaliable/17904565

Crazy money. You still see them for sale here for a fraction of that and even though they sre not plentiful nowadays a good example can still be picked up.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Rare in the uk to be fair

Ay never thought of that tbf he'd wanna find a more suitable site than DD though to pull off that angle, it might work on piston heads :P

Could get very political going down that UK rabbit hole though, the seller's called paddy after all ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

No nct, no tax, looks rough and 4k.. yep he will sell that in no time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

homer90 wrote: »

Realistically, it that car worth any more than scrap value? I'm struggling to think of a reason why anyone would want it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Gravelly wrote: »
    I'm struggling to think of a reason why anyone would want it.

Its actually got quite a nice engine, its a very good looking car, the interior is well spec'd and it is from a time when Peugeots had some degree of reliability.

If the tax was even half the price, it'd be worth close to the asking price I'd say. People just (understandably) will not pay the mental tax prices on pre 08 stuff unless the car is seriously exotic.

€1500 for motor tax? That's more than a months wages at minimum wage, it's 2 months mortgage payments on a 3 bed semi outside the pale, it's a lot of money for effectively nothing and as such, like you say it devalues (an otherwise lovely) car to the point of scrap value.

Came across this yesterday. No NCT, English reg and not even a sought after car. €3,250

NmZmMThiZTllNWUxNDc5N2Y2M2RkMzk4ZTRiZjcxZjLwaEfmL7Wxx7u6lSANTOZaaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185MDYzMjE1OXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-st170/17472057

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Its actually got quite a nice engine, its a very good looking car, the interior is well spec'd and it is from a time when Peugeots had some degree of reliability.

Errr, no. They were far from reliable, particularly electrics. I saw a few being scrapped through leccy faults that couldn't be found. I've seen lads with entire looms out of them trying to fix issues.

Be some machine alright if it was running ok, but for hundreds and not thousands.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Came across this yesterday. No NCT, English reg and not even a sought after car. €3,250

NmZmMThiZTllNWUxNDc5N2Y2M2RkMzk4ZTRiZjcxZjLwaEfmL7Wxx7u6lSANTOZaaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185MDYzMjE1OXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-st170/17472057

I don't know, it's quite nice to be fair to it and it's service history is present.
    The interior looks clean and from the looks of things has a nice spec.
    1k lower and on Irish plates and I'd say it wouldn't be too far off the price.

bear1 wrote: »

But that's the thing it's not 1k lower and on Irish plates....so dreamer.

bear1 wrote: »
    I don't know, it's quite nice to be fair to it and it's service history is present.
    The interior looks clean and from the looks of things has a nice spec.

Not really worth it at all. The mot history shows the sills were corroded

They're a fair lazy warm hatch too. And that's by 90's standards never mind early noughties.

That's why I said it's not very desirable in the original post.

Ay and that's why I thanked your post...

pablo128 wrote: »
    Errr, no. They were far from reliable, particularly electrics. I saw a few being scrapped through leccy faults that couldn't be found. I've seen lads with entire looms out of them trying to fix issues.

Be some machine alright if it was running ok, but for hundreds and not thousands.

I never understood why they were sort of put on a pedestal in the motors forum. They are flimsy enough and as you say electrics weren't their strong point. Even some of the facelift hdi's are known to self combust. It happened my neighbor's 02 406 a few years back.