Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd v Blackburn Match Thread 21st Feb 09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

BENCH

FOSTER GIGGS VIDIC TEVEZ FLETCHER FABIO WELBECK

Nice to see Welbeck on the bench , Hopefully he'll get a run out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Stronger team than I thought it was going to be, particularly the midfield. I just wonder if this means it'll be Ronaldo-Carrick-Giggs-Park in the Inter game?

(Also: does anyone, anywhere like, or even tolerate, Pat Dolan? Seriously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Always scared when Vidic isnt playing.

Did anyone just see that little "United are amazing, look how good their squad is..." montage on Setanta? Spine-tingling stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Always scared when Vidic isnt playing.

I know he's been amazing this season, but United's best defensive performance over the past 5 years was last year against Barca, where Brown and Rio were the CB's. I wouldn't be scared at having such defensive depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

those streams aren't working for me,

anyone else having this problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

does this mean scholes won't start against milan?

United have started v well. The best start really iv seen really in a good while..

The commentator on Fox Sports, having heard that Nelsen hadn't scored in 133 games for Blackburn, remarked "it's amazing how defenders are so dominant in their own areas, but ask them to score a goal and they can't". Eh...they're defenders, not strikers. It's not amazing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

great start, unfortunately :pac:, from utd. they look in good nick and have a great rhythm about them.

fortunately blackburn are defending quite well thus far (up until that scare with ronaldo cross, evra shot). don't see it lasting 90mins,though.

if blackburn continue to at least compete this could be a very good game. without vidic set pieces could bring joy for blackburn...nelson has already had a near post header from a corner.

we'll see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Get in Rooney!

1-0

Game has settled down now..and blackburn have got a foot in the game...particularly in midfield..but uniteds passing is v slick at times..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

i have to say, spot on ball from nani......i can see this being nani tryin to prove himself so he isnt shown the door which certain people have been calling for! great start!

decent goal for spud.

good ball from nani, but inept effort at a clearance.

i predict 3-0 at a canter now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

YESSSS!! ROoooooooooooooooooooney!

Nice from Nani.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,175 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Good goal

Goal! Rooney..easy enough finish..

Lovely play between Ronnie and Carrick..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Nice to get the goal, should kick on well from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Good stream

http://www.justin.tv/dhkffksek

password is 2222

this standing off utd, even in attack needs to stop.

the amount of time teams get decent possession, but insist on launching it in from 50 yards out is ridiculous. warnock, this time I'm looking at you.

I mean utd are the best defenders of their 18yard line in the league. lumping it in like that is just pointless with the way utd are defending at present.

ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

shocking stuff from united keeper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Ah crap. Roque scores.

1-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

ha ha ha ha ha and Fergies plan works a treat ;)

just as I've finished moaning.

thank you santa.

boll*x...wtf you doing Piggy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I presume the record is still on considering VDS is not in goal. Obviously the 14 consecutive games is out the window.

This is what happens with no Vidic !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

ffs had 5e on rsc to score first at 12/1 only have 20 quid to last me till thursday now!

Wait...Blackburn just scored. That's not allowed happen. Good goal, though.

I still expect utd to kick on....

there will come a time when blackburn sit back. it's just a question of whether they can hold on when this happens.

turning into a right old game though...hopefully.

iraqgoals stream has just died on me.
    Any other streams lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Nani is so wasteful with the ball the majority of the time, so so frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

damn i was complimentary about nani in my last post, then he sloppily loses the ball which results in the goal! daaaaargh!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Lol look at ye all looking for a scapegoat, watch it again and watch the defender make a crap tackle and essentially take down Kuz.
    Get in :)

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Now that the clean sheet record is gone, it had to go at some stage, I reckon United will still be strong enough to over come Blackburn

stream back..ahh the relief

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

mayordenis wrote: »
    Lol look at ye all looking for a scapegoat, watch it again and watch the defender make a crap tackle and essentially take down Kuz.

Well my criticism of Nani wasn't just related to the goal, I was just commenting on his general play really.

Roque is making a right nuisance of himself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

The PIG made a poor decision to launch himself at the ball imo. He should have stood up and narrowed the angle for Santa Cruz.

Cmon Nani, you should be getting those crosses in the box...

Ronaldo all over nelsen - correct decision I'm afraid.

Fcuk all wrong with that disallowed goal

Ah **** off ref!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

ugh disallowed a perfectly good goal :mad:

Ronaldo all over nelsen - correct decision I'm afraid.
    Take off your pool blinkers will you. The goal should have stood

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

nothing wrong with that , Evans should have a goal to his name now

unbelievable decision to disallow goal. lol!

but it was an unbelievable decision to give the corner in the first place.

In all fairness, it was no corner, despite nothing wrong with the goal..

lol nah Nelsen tried to jump just in front of Evans, Ronaldo all over him keeping him down - nothing but foul. Of course I'm happy to call it as it is.