Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do younger voters want???

• 20-02-2009 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Hiya! someone asked me recently what kind of issues worry teenagers to twenty somethings? I could only think that we need jobs.......

if one of the politicians landed at your door what would you want them to change? a uni for south east? cleaner areas?

im stumped

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

fairy50 wrote: »
    Hiya! someone asked me recently what kind of issues worry teenagers to twenty somethings? I could only think that we need jobs.......

if one of the politicians landed at your door what would you want them to change? a uni for south east? cleaner areas?

im stumped
    Stop rejecting every idea that comes to town, more stuff to do. I dont drink or hurl. Kilkenny's a boring place for me

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

An end to corruption, waste and jobs for the boys in Irish politics would be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 miece

Stop rejecting every idea that comes to town, more stuff to do. I dont drink or hurl. Kilkenny's a boring place for me

exactly. and im sure the both of us aren't the only two who think this...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

miece wrote: »
    exactly. and im sure the both of us aren't the only two who think this...

+1 on that, I'm sick of living in a county with a reputation for hurling, getting pished and nothing else.

bleh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 fairy50

so we have established we need more to do in kk but what are your ideas???

i know its very easy just to not answer the door to canvassers but if we dont answer it how will they know what we want........... and younger people are always the ones stuck with the raw deal when policies do come in

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

No, we haven't established the need for more to do in Kilkenny. We have established that there are people that like sitting in front of their computers bitching about the fact that they do nothing else. If they lived in New York, they would still be at that.

I am SO sick of people moaning about there being nothing to do in Kilkenny. Kilkenny has loads to do. Apart from a much better music and theatre scene in comparison with most other Irish towns their size, there is lOADS of other things to do in Kilkenny, not all are hurling related. I have zero interest in hurling, yet my weekends arent long enough for all I want to do...

Kayaking, sub aqua, flying, chess, music, theatre, photography, martial arts, hillwalking, swimming, athletics, golf, tennis, bowling, archery, bridge, clay pigeon shooting, motorsport, poker/casino, horse racing, Journalism, birdwatching, pool, snooker, literature... The list goes on and on! What hell do you want like? Do you want a politician to come up to your house and take you by the hand and walk you into one of these places and sign you up?

And what is stopping you setting up a club if there's not one that you like already? You could set up a club for people who like bitching about there being nothing ever to do in Kilkenny, and you could meet up once a week and piss and moan about it and do nothing... EVER.

To answer the original question, as a twenty something year old with what I suppose is a reasonable interest in politics, I would like to see much more transparency and accountability at the higher echelons of the country's leadership, and I would like to be spoken to directly by the people in charge, instead of constantly reading journalistic interpretations of what's going on and conflicting opinions on the same.

I would like to see the opposition parties (FG in particular), instead of standing up on a pedestal and systematically dismantling and slating any effort made by the government to right past wrongs, to offer their own constructive critisisms instead, and assist the people in charge make the best of this situation as such.

I have no political affiliations whatsoever.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭jiggajt

im stumped

Which party are you representing fairy50?

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Threadhead

From the perspective of the arts and entertainment scene in Kilkenny, there's always **** all turnout for theatre and a lot of gigs in the town. There's definitely enough going on but unfortunately not enough people going along to check things out. We're starting to finally get in some decent music acts down in Kytelers and the crappy cinema situation has been helped by what Billy Byrnes and The Kilkenny Film Club are doing. So in terms of the arts and entertainment, everything is picking up really well and it just needs people to keep showing up to the events.

Im in definite agreement that the jobs for the boys mentality is a big thing in Kilkenny that should have no place here at all. That and the Inner Relief road. There's my beefs.

What's the Jobs for the Boys thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 fairy50

I have never voted before as I have always been abroad when there has been an election or the government have shrewdly allocated the election date so students can't vote because of exams.

I don't think I'll support one party rather more the candidates who represent my views best.....

What would you think if one candidate came out and said-I want to help younger people immigrate?

or would you prefer someone who fought for jobs here?

I am getting great feedback about what needs to be done on a national level but what about Kilkenny? I think if there was a candidate to represent the younger people who took all the issues pointed out here we would be so much better off. It seems that Kilkenny's one young candidate is a mini me.

fabbydabby wrote: »
    What's the Jobs for the Boys thing?

The way government politicians in this country can appoint their mates to well-paid positions of power in all sorts of quangos and govt departments.

• Registered Users Posts: 176 ✭✭Only one Keano

More money and lots of free drink!

Only joking - we want a future and a government who can at least make the effort to provide it.

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭ChristIsMurph

I think if there was a candidate to represent the younger people who took all the issues pointed out here we would be so much better off. It seems that Kilkenny's one young candidate is a mini me.

There is a second young candidate you know?
    http://www.darrenmurphy.ie

If any of ye here want any issue represented just email me. The links are on the site. I'd be more than happy to debate particular issues with you and see what we can do to make Kilkenny better for younger people. I mean I'm only 20 myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Purry Cat

No, we haven't established the need for more to do in Kilkenny. We have established that there are people that like sitting in front of their computers bitching about the fact that they do nothing else. If they lived in New York, they would still be at that.

I am SO sick of people moaning about there being nothing to do in Kilkenny. Kilkenny has loads to do. Apart from a much better music and theatre scene in comparison with most other Irish towns their size, there is lOADS of other things to do in Kilkenny, not all are hurling related. I have zero interest in hurling, yet my weekends arent long enough for all I want to do...

Ha, nicely put!

To partly back up Fabbydabby on this, one of the greatest plays of the last century, Endgame, was on in the Watergate last week. How many people here went to it? ("Oh, but I'm not interested in theatre. That's only for a certain section of society.")

Just because we didn't get an ice rink for a few days last Christmas doesn't mean there's nothing to do in Kilkenny.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,497 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Purry Cat wrote: »
    Just because we didn't get an ice rink for a few days last Christmas doesn't mean there's nothing to do in Kilkenny.

Agreed, plenty of things to do in Kilkenny tbh

Decisions, decisions! :D

main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=54&g2_serialNumber=2dm.jpg

Is there like a political section in Frank Wall's where they get ye togged out for the publicity shots?

Don't get all offended now, I just think it's funny is all!

Decisions, decisions! :D

main.php?g2_view=core.DownloadItem&g2_itemId=54&g2_serialNumber=2dm.jpg

Is there like a political section in Frank Wall's where they get ye togged out for the publicity shots?

Don't get all offended now, I just think it's funny is all!

haha no no its cool! i never actually noticed that before! rigth i'll change myself for the proper photo bein taken next week!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

i was half-jokingly going to say fix the pot-holes but instead I find myself shocked at the fact that:
    a)Darren Murphy is up for election (nothing personal against you, i think you went to school with a cousin or two)
    b)he's on Boards
    c)the startling coincidence that ye both went to the Model School and Kilkenny College AFAIK, Paul Cuddihy really must have taught you a lot! :D

KatCookie wrote: »
    i was half-jokingly going to say fix the pot-holes but instead I find myself shocked at the fact that:
    a)Darren Murphy is up for election (nothing personal against you, i think you went to school with a cousin or two)
    b)he's on Boards
    c)the startling coincidence that ye both went to the Model School and Kilkenny College AFAIK, Paul Cuddihy really must have taught you a lot! :D

well your not the first person to say a! a lot of people were shocked really, never quite knew how to take it! :P

but why b? a lot of people are on boards

c......well little i can say! but by the looks of it if cuddihy was tryin he failed with andrew! i was the one that ended up in FG! :D

which cousins out of curiosity?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

This guy is supposed to be pretty good http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cllr-Sean-O-hArgain/39812611266?ref=ts

The increased support for his party could be due to the excellent oratory of his party leader. I hear he does good stuff for Kilkenny City of some Kilkenny mates I have in College. I think younger voters in general are leaning leftward and rejecting FF/FG.

but why b? a lot of people are on boards
    Yep, there are thousand of people on Boards, you just happen be the closest person i'd know and now recognise on Boards. (like I know that one of my friends is on Boards, but i dont know her username so that doesnt count)
    which cousins out of curiosity?
    That'd be telling! :cool:
    I think younger voters in general are leaning leftward and rejecting FF/FG.
    They may be leaning leftward but I dont think many of them know they difference between left and right in politics! :o .. Myself included!

Yep, there are thousand of people on Boards, you just happen be the closest person i'd know and now recognise on Boards. (like I know that one of my friends is on Boards, but i dont know her username so that doesnt count)

They may be leaning leftward but I dont think many of them know they difference between left and right in politics! :o .. Myself included!

now im curious as to who you are! :P do i know you?

there is no real left and right in ireland though. labour are as capitalist as the rest of us. while they call themselves socialists, they are not. now fidel castro, he's a socialist!

now im curious as to who you are! :P do i know you?

there is no real left and right in ireland though. labour are as capitalist as the rest of us. while they call themselves socialists, they are not. now fidel castro, he's a socialist!
    Know me? Nah seriously doubt that! i just remember people fairly well! ..although i do know you enough to know where you went to school.. Maybe i'm just your friendly neighourhood stalker!!

Well the term "labour" sounds fairly soicalist to me anyways, like workers/labourers unions.. no?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

Know me? Nah seriously doubt that! i just remember people fairly well! ..although i do know you enough to know where you went to school.. Maybe i'm just your friendly neighourhood stalker!!

Well the term "labour" sounds fairly soicalist to me anyways, like workers/labourers unions.. no?

ah your first stalker! Thats when you know you've made it :D

when are these elections anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

They're not til June. I havent figured out where I'll put my vote. I know its not going to Andrew McGuinness.

For me the most important things locally are jobs. Kilkenny has to offer more to its citizens than hospitality/retail. I work for the public service, not out of any love for it mind you, just that there are no jobs in my particular specialty. I'm not looking for jobs to come to me, but theres many like me. A lot of people I know have to settle elsewhere, because outside of retail/hospitality, all there really is here is the call centres and State Street.

I would like to see the council encouraging industry/shops etc rather than scaring them away (i.e. Tesco).

Proper planning measures to discourage the building of unsightly and unnecessary apartments, and to better protect the heritage of the city. Has anyone taken a look at the city skyline lately? Its awful!

And Darren, I had a look at your site. Well done in putting yourself forward. I do have issue with a number of your policies, but, at least you're out there doing something about it and not hiding behind your laptop!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Simply put, right wing is evil, left wing is good:D:D

Nightwish wrote: »
    They're not til June. I havent figured out where I'll put my vote. I know its not going to Andrew McGuinness.

For me the most important things locally are jobs. Kilkenny has to offer more to its citizens than hospitality/retail. I work for the public service, not out of any love for it mind you, just that there are no jobs in my particular specialty. I'm not looking for jobs to come to me, but theres many like me. A lot of people I know have to settle elsewhere, because outside of retail/hospitality, all there really is here is the call centres and State Street.

I would like to see the council encouraging industry/shops etc rather than scaring them away (i.e. Tesco).

Proper planning measures to discourage the building of unsightly and unnecessary apartments, and to better protect the heritage of the city. Has anyone taken a look at the city skyline lately? Its awful!

And Darren, I had a look at your site. Well done in putting yourself forward. I do have issue with a number of your policies, but, at least you're out there doing something about it and not hiding behind your laptop!

In the line of jobs, the rezoning of lands for industrial and commercial use is one way to increase the likelihood of jobs coming to Kilkenny. We need to keep rent and cost measures down for businesses.

Tesco/Aldi/M&S etc. all should be coming to Kilkenny if their is a demand. The fact that shopping is dominated by Dunnes is not a great thing. We need competition. As it stands their is no room for another operator. If we introduce another, it tips the balance to much and jobs will be lost as businesses pull out from lack of money. However, the population of Kilkenny is actually still growing, for how much longer I don't know. but if we get enough people, we will see another chain added.

The high rise apartments are destroying our skyline yes, and is this circumstance, we do need to ensure our older buildings dominate the look of the city still. There is still plenty of room to build housing estates outside the city centre. Which would keep the centre as our tourist attraction. Rather than destroy it with modern buildings taking away the look. (Similar to those new bins they put in around town, they wreck my head, the older ones looked nicer and you can't fit anything into the new ones unless it's the size of a coke can!)

Which policies did you not agree with?

You'd think that. But no. Look at Britain, Labour are in government, but it is far from a socialist country. Social democrats perhaps, but not socialists. Sure even Bertie said he was the last socialist of them all. And to be honest he was fairly leaning right.

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

http://www.darrenmurphy.ie

If any of ye here want any issue represented just email me. The links are on the site. I'd be more than happy to debate particular issues with you and see what we can do to make Kilkenny better for younger people. I mean I'm only 20 myself!

I just took a quick look at your website, in particular, your policies. To be honest, I don't think a lot of them are feasible. Until Kilkenny grows by a significant amount, I don't think there will be a construction of a railway line to Cork or Limerick, and especially not in the current climate where access to capital is extremely limited. I also don't think it is conceivable when (in my opinion at least) Irish Rail are an inefficient company, but that is a matter for the national government to tackle. I also don't think we will see any sort of third level institution built here any time soon, but given the character of the city, one would be most welcome. In any case, doesn't the decision have to come from the HEA?

What I would like to see in Kilkenny is job creation, and specifically local businesses being supported. ISME's are crucial to an economy, and while it is sad when a big company closes, the knock on effect to ISME's is of far greater importance. I would also hazzard a guess that these companies are more likely to be innovative, as the entrepreneur is closer to the customers, rather than a middle manager who doesn't really care that much. I am aware that there is a Kilkenny Chamber of Commerce, but am not really sure as to what they do?

Increased funding for social services, including funding for youth orientated programmes is pretty important, and probably more likely to be more effective against anti-social behaviour than more guards on the streets (at least in the future anyway!)

And of course, given the various scandals between those in power, various banks and property developers, an end to the cronyism that exists in Irish politics is an absolute must. Again though, more of a national political problem.

I think your youth will count against you, but good luck in any case.

zootroid wrote: »
    I just took a quick look at your website, in particular, your policies. To be honest, I don't think a lot of them are feasible. Until Kilkenny grows by a significant amount, I don't think there will be a construction of a railway line to Cork or Limerick, and especially not in the current climate where access to capital is extremely limited. I also don't think it is conceivable when (in my opinion at least) Irish Rail are an inefficient company, but that is a matter for the national government to tackle. I also don't think we will see any sort of third level institution built here any time soon, but given the character of the city, one would be most welcome. In any case, doesn't the decision have to come from the HEA?

Increased funding for social services, including funding for youth orientated programmes is pretty important, and probably more likely to be more effective against anti-social behaviour than more guards on the streets (at least in the future anyway!)

I think your youth will count against you, but good luck in any case.

Building the rail lines would only mean building one to Thurles. Where it would join the existing line. But the matter can be put forward by local councils and it will be considered by the Minister for Transport. It is actually quite a conceivable project as the amount of people who wish to travel in those directions but cant, due to the ridiculously long bus journey, is actually quite large.

The 3rd level institute wouldn't be for a few years until any upturn in the economy. It takes serious planning to bring about. I'm simply proposing a study into the possibility of us getting a 3rd level institution. And we do have a serious chance of getting one should Waterford gain Uni status. The decision can come from the Minister for Education.

I've got both increased funding for youth activities and more Gardaí, including a second Garda barracks, in my policies. The youth activities would take a few years before we see the positive benefits. And we do need a second barracks for the St. Johns side of town. In a recession, crime will increase and we need to be prepared for it.

Youth may not exactly go against me, I feel it could help me in a way. The fresh approach and whatnot. And also the fact that I'm not a businessman or loaded.

(Similar to those new bins they put in around town, they wreck my head, the older ones looked nicer and you can't fit anything into the new ones unless it's the size of a coke can!)

I think those appeared because of assholes dumping bags full of household waste into the old style bins with the open tops, rather than paying for their own houshold waste collection. There's always some dickhead out there to ruin things for everyone else.