Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Inter Milan v Manchester United Match Thread 24th Feb 09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

VDS
    Evra
    Ferdinand
    Ronaldo
    Giggs
    Park
    Carrick
    O Shea
    Evans
    Fletcher

Offical line up from uefa.com

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

Pretty sure Fabio started off as a RB, and he is naturally right footed. So he should be veyr comfortable playing there.

Evans and O'Shea both............START!!!

Teams just came up on SSN

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mgoraf

No Rooney or Berbatov? WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,455 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

KevIRL wrote: »
    VDS
    Evra
    Ferdinand
    Ronaldo
    Giggs
    Park
    Carrick
    O Shea
    Evans
    Fletcher

WTF?

Boned.

Fergie only selects 10 players - its a gamble alright.

Berbs or Rooney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Mgoraf wrote: »
    No Rooney or Berbatov? WTF?

Berbatov starts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

KevIRL wrote: »
    VDS
    Evra
    Ferdinand
    Ronaldo
    Giggs
    Park
    Carrick
    O Shea
    Evans
    Fletcher

forgot berbatov from that

Its Berbatov starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Weird...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

1840: TEAMS Inter Milan v Man Utd
    Inter Milan: Julio Cesar, Maicon, Santon, Rivas, Chivu, Cambiasso, Muntari, Zanetti, Stankovic, Adriano, Ibrahimovic. Subs to follow.
    Man Utd: Van der Sar, O'Shea, Ferdinand, Evans, Evra, Carrick, Giggs, Park, Fletcher, Ronaldo, Berbatov. Subs to follow.

QUITE HAPPY WITH THAT TEAM.

INter:

Ceasar
    Maicon
    Rivas
    Chivu
    Santon
    Cambiaso
    Zanetti
    Muntari
    Stankovic
    Ibrahimovic
    Adrianho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

big gamble by fergie tbh

oshea and evans loaded up with pain killers

going to turn into addicts now

edit: disappointed Rooney isnt starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Headshot wrote: »

disappointed Rooney is starting

He is not !

redout wrote: »
    He is not !

sorry ment to say isnt starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

looks like berbs up front on his own , With 5 across the middle , the usual away European formation , Rooney or Tevez still could have a big say from the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

So that's how Fergie found out how to go defensive :) No Rooney makes me both very sad and very worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Lads stop destroying the English language :D

Fergie hoping that Rooney will come on at 65 minutes and destroy b*tches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

No Rooney is huge... I aint as nervous as I was tho. Back four look competent imo, with park and fletch too. Things are looking up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Well I've critiscised what I thought were strange Fergie selections both in the League this year and in the Cl last year, I'm gonna trust him this time and say he knows what he's at...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,400 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I have a bad feeling about tonight.
    Ferguson seems far too cocky and United's away form in Europe is suspect.
    I think its going to be a long 90 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Okay. Okay. Fergie has been right enough for me not to freak out. I don't see how a team without Tevez or Rooney can work that well. But Fergie knows more than me. He proved me wrong last year in the CL finals sticking Hargreaves on the right wing and Ronaldo up front. He destroyed Roma. I just hope that Evans & O'Shea are fit. And that Fergie has pulled a masterstroke.

Just when I thought this match couldn't get more intriguing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

sup with scholes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Disapponted Rooney isn't starting, going to be funny to see Dunphys reaction that Scholes and Rooney aren't playing and Ronaldo and Berbatov are! :)

Going to predict a 1-1 draw.

come-on utd

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Watch for Dunphy to go on a rant about "the 2 biggest show ponies in England (Ronnie and Berba)" and then each of them to score! Now that would make my night :D And I can see it happening ;)

i'm thinking i should freak out Chelsea style, maybe for good luck or something....

GOD DAMN Fergie screwing us over.... picking Giggs, GIGGS!! in midfield, and then no Rooney? What is he thinking? Does he not want us to win?

Conceding the initiative to Inter in both this match, and the tie overall. I can't believe it. I am gutted. GUTTED

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

So who will Dunphy slate most? Berbatov or Ronaldo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Watch for Dunphy to go on a rant about "the 2 biggest show ponies in England (Ronnie and Berba)" and then each of them to score! Now that would make my night :D And I can see it happening ;)

"put your house on chelsea to win everything this season"

i'm thinking i should freak out Chelsea style, maybe for good luck or something....

that was right good freak out

more of that tonight will be pleasing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I'm happy enough with that side. Contain Inter, hope that Ronaldo and Berbatov can provide some spark in the early going, then throw on Rooney and Tevez to hunt for an away goal or win late on when the legs are growing tired. Typical European 1st leg fare for Fergie these days. He appears to have thought it through and, if it goes to plan, then it'll be a relatively simple job come the return leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Can't wait for this match now. Intrigued by the selection, but I'm still some-what confident, especially over 2 legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

half 7 or quarter too kick off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

I honestly don't know what to make of this. However Fergie has proven me wrong me a couple of times this season so I will wait and see how the game pans out.

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

vds

shea ferdinand evans evra

Fletcher giggs carrick park

ronaldo
    berbatov

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

You have to love RTE. Obviously the ad was made before the teams were up, but the "watch it live on rte.ie" ad just has Rooney in the picture..

I'm happy with that midfield though. Hopefully Giggs can play as well as he has been. Fletcher is, somewhat strangely, a big game player. Park is reliable.

Jaysus I missed the Champions League :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Julez

A7X wrote: »
    half 7 or quarter too kick off?

1/4 to.
    Mad selection, I trust fergie though! U.N.I.T.E.D. United are the team for me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Rockman didn't get to post the team up first! Ye are screwed so imo...:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Rockman didn't get to post the team up first! Ye are screwed so imo...:p
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

haha, Dunphy doesn't have a clue about the Inter side, it was hilarious listening to him there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Dunphy on Chivu: "he's no big deal" .. based on conceding 7 against Utd for Roma. :D Utd had about 7 or 8 shots on goal that day, it was a 1 off. Chivu will relish playing against Berbatov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,400 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

"Compared to Manchester United ,man for man,Inter are ragball rovers"
    Dunphy you loon.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Classic Dunphy write off the other team completly to set himself for a good Fergie and United bashing at half time and full time regardless of the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Well Dunphy's assessment of Inter eased my concerns. Julio Cesar is an 'accident waiting to happen', Ibrahimovic is 'tall and awkward', Adriano is 'a playboy, overweight Brazilian', Stankovic is 'okay at best' and Cambiasso is 'decent'. Nothing to worry about so, lads...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Dunphy working it as per usual. Awesome. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Dreading this game, Suprised Rooney did not get the start ahead of Berbatov.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

legend eamo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Ugh, Dunphy demostrating his complete lack of any knowledge of any non-English teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

sorry to bring dunphy into this, but he just went through the inter team and pretty much called them all donkeys. well maybe not donkeys, but all just 'ok' and 'average'.

just some snippets....apparantly ibra is merely tall and awkward, cambiasso's useful, and he didn't even mention maicon whose being impressive as hell this season.

anyway...in terms of utd i think there's a point to be made in no rooney being a weird move. fergie could prove me wrong but it's weird. as well as giggs in centre mid instead of scholes??

interesting evening ahead i feel.

i fancy 1-1 though. based on not a lot more than a hunch i'll admit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

PHB wrote: »
    Ugh, Dunphy demostrating his complete lack of any knowledge of any non-English teams.

Indeed his summmary of inter was laughable.