Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Inter Milan v Manchester United Match Thread 24th Feb 09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Lol spooky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

SlickRic wrote: »
    sorry to bring dunphy into this, but he just went through the inter team and pretty much called them all donkeys. well maybe not donkeys, but all just 'ok' and 'average'.

just some snippets....apparantly ibra is merely tall and awkward, cambiasso's useful, and he didn't even mention maicon whose being impressive as hell this season.

anyway...in terms of utd i think there's a point to be made in no rooney being a weird move. fergie could prove me wrong but it's weird. as well as giggs in centre mid instead of scholes??

interesting evening ahead i feel.

i fancy 1-1 though. based on not a lot more than a hunch i'll admit.

I remember when the Man Utd squad was announced against Chelsea and plenty of fans was like 'wtf'. Fergie obviously has a game plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Rockman didn't get to post the team up first! Ye are screwed so imo...:p

lol I'll take the blame so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

leggo wrote: »
    Well Dunphy's assessment of Inter eased my concerns. Julio Cesar is an 'accident waiting to happen', Ibrahimovic is 'tall and awkward', Adriano is 'a playboy, overweight Brazilian', Stankovic is 'okay at best' and Cambiasso is 'decent'. Nothing to worry about so, lads...:rolleyes:

Thats eased my fears too somewhat. Gas about Julio Cesar too. lets hipe that accident happens tonight!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭dor83

LOL at Dunphy, I really wish I could see it. I think Inter will score 2 tonight but I'm hoping Utd score because I think it will be a great game at OT if its 2-1 going into it because both teams will have to attack(I cant see Utd not scoring at OT).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

PHB wrote: »
    Ugh, Dunphy demostrating his complete lack of any knowledge of any non-English teams.

he has knowledge of english teams?news to me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

Indeed his summmary of inter was laughable.

Couldn't believe it when he said ibra is not as good as Ronaldo, and we know how much he *loves* Ronnie! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Fergie obviously has a game plan.

hopefully he doesn't and i get proven right :cool:

in terms of it being a screw up by fergie, not the 1-1 draw i predicted, as that would more than likely mean you're through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Scholes was never gonna start tonight after playing two games last week.

Tevez was never gonna start.

The only surprise is park/fletcher instead of Rooney.

dunphy needs to shut up.

managed to get in a dig on ronaldo while talking about ibra, which i'm all for, but at least take a dig at something that's not a clichéd, tired line like 'he doesn't perform when you really need him in big games'.

i didn't think people were still peddling this line? apparently i was wrong. although lumping dunphy in with right minded people probably is a bit of a push.

freakin' idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

I'm surprised you guys are bigging Inter up so much. Fully expect United to get the draw that Fergie wants. They'll take that back to the home leg, then unleash Ronaldo, Rooney and Berbatov and destroy Inter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Here's the inevitable question: does anyone have a decent stream?

Fecking RTE and their 'no streaming abroad' policy.

Alternatively does anyone know if ITV will be showing the matches online? They do occasionally, but nothing is happening at the moment.

I'm surprised you guys are bigging Inter up so much. Fully expect United to get the draw that Fergie wants. They'll take that back to the home leg, then unleash Ronaldo, Rooney and Berbatov and destroy Inter.

i'm surprised you're arrogant enough to believe it's going to be as easy as that against Italy's top team, managed by a guy whose only lost once against fergie. utd won't simply do as they wish.

i fully expect this to be close. all evidence points to it being so. if it's not, your confidence will end up looking well placed i'll admit. it's just bloody well not likely.

Forgot we have to wear the white socks this eve - never have a good feeling when we do :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Rockman didn't get to post the team up first! Ye are screwed so imo...:p

Do normally post European games and look what happen last year:D:D

Cmon lads - give it loads!

I'm not being arrogant, I'm simply going by previous Champions League records.

Inter have a dismal record in the Champions League. Ibrahimovic has consistently flopped along with most of his team mates.

Chance here i hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Ronaldo could be a real dangerman tonight

OT I know, but there will be some on this thread interested. Lawro said on tonights Last Word that Rafa has walked out on Liverpool.

There's discussion of it on the Liverpool thread, with most sayin its nonsense, but I thought I'd let United fans on here know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Atmosphere pretty intimidating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

yesssssssssssssssssssssssss

Ronaldo hits the target:D

What the F**k are them boots about ????

Ooooh O'Shea...made me heart stop...

I'm just going to start crying. Why is there no stream anywhere!?

O' Shea seems to be a little rattled

adriano already thinks he has all the time in the world.

lol at o'shea. good start for him :p

Tom65 wrote: »

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=31108&part=sports

ooooh thoguht that header was in

Tom65 wrote: »

Get a TV, put in the pipe and watch on RTE 2.

I swear I should start charging people a euro to enter me house and watch the footie. I'd be rich!

The 'Disaster waiting to happen' makes a fine stop to deny Ronaldo from a corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

JESUS!

Some very weak defending on the corner from Inter there. Who knows, maybe a win mightn't be that optimistic? We certainly seem the fresher so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

Very close by Ronaldo!

not a good sign for inter that corner.

great reaction save from cesar though.

ronaldo has started great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

utd are playing great stuff so far

I swear I should start charging people a euro to enter me house and watch the footie. I'd be rich!

Dude is in Sweden...

not a good sign for inter that corner.

great reaction save from cesar though.

ronaldo has started great.
    Yeah i'd say he wants to show those inter fans something savage. Inter aint as attacking as i thought they'd be

EDIT: Nice cross Sully:)

I hate Italian fans and their incessant jeering of the Opposition when they have the ball. Wtf is the point!

Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Greek, Russian, Korean etc, etc do it. It ramps up the pressure on the opposition and makes it more difficult for them to communicate going forward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I'm starting to think that Fergie leaving out Rooney was just a risky mind-game. United seem to really want to go for the early goal, they've defo got Inter on the backfoot. Strange...but if the shoe fits...

Dude is in Sweden...

:o:o

They don't....:o:o...have RTE 2 in Sweden..:o:o

Very good start for Utd. Look compact and composed without the ball, and have been able to hold on to it and move it about when they have it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

try here No sound though

inter obviously don't believe all the ronaldo free-kick hype...

Inter have a packed San Siro on their side and a crowd that seems really up for it. Why they haven't come out and really got in Utd's face and pressed them high up the pitch is beyond me...

I love you :p I knew myp2p had stopped showing EPL matches, forgot they show CL. Thanks!

What I would do for RTE in Sweden. Actually, that's a complete lie. I just want their CL coverage :p

Good game so far. Surprisingly open, could be a few goals here.

United fans must be loving Muntari so far.

inter obviously don't believe all the ronaldo free-kick hype...

Well, they don't have Paul Robinson in goal!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Inter are looking very poor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Really hope rooney gets on early in the second half as I could see him bagging a goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Poorish by Berbatov there - suppose not many options