Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Inter Milan v Manchester United Match Thread 24th Feb 09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Inter are getting destroyed here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

awsome 45mins for utd,only disappointing thing that its still 0-0

should at least be 1-0 to utd

Ronaldo shouldve scored

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I am having that exact conversation with some United supporting mates. There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that United will deserve to advance and completely outplay Inter. I just wonder whether if Inter do manage to scrape 1, will United be able to stick 1 more past them..

That's the fear. If Inter score Man Utd will make an immediate substitution to bring on a more out and out striker. Why don't they just do that now and try and capitalise on their midfield domination? They will definitely come out with more bite 2nd half. But Mourinho.... What his next move is I just don't know and that is keeping my money in my pocket and not under a betting slip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,400 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Tom65 wrote: »
    We should've scored in that first half. In fact, we should've scored twice.

At this level its all about taking your chances,United have had about 4 or 5 good opportunities and taken none.Inter havent even created a decent chance.
    Inter cant be as bad in the second half and Utd must get an away goal.
    They should try to finish the job tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

A. Inter are fouling loads. Loads. I don't think many would argue that United deserve nearly every single one of their free kicks.

B. How some of the Inter players aren't booked yet is beyond me.

C. Ronaldo is very very much up for this. United's best player in the first half I'd say. Shoulda scored that header though.

D. United dominating but not putting away the goals. Mourinho has a talent at half time team talks.

E. Rooney is needed imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

Missed the bloody first half due to work..the RTE boys are singing United's play..is it all justified lads??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Rivas was awful.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Cordoba on Rivas off at half time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Utd should be two, three maybe even four up, Inter are even worse than last year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

how much did pompey get for that clown muntari?
    woefull stuff so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,400 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

How many times in the past has a Mourinho side been outplayed and outclassed in a match yet somehow jammed a win ?
    I wouldnt count my chickens yet.

Great play from Inter - Adriano should have finished it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Jesus Adriano how did you mess that up, Inter looking much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Looks like game on in the second half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Am I the only one who doesnt think that Inter are being destroyed out there?United are slightly on top but not by a lot imo.They've tested Cesar but outside of when Giggs got in, they have never looked like scoring.

Inter have ahd more possession aswell and to the poster who says that Inter are fouling loads, they've had 2 more than United

think Mourinho woke a few of those inter heads up at half time by the look of things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Good Ibra is back

Oh Rio keep your bloody hands off!

Rio maybe a bit lucky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Wow, Inter have really stepped it up.

Rio maybe a bit lucky?

It wasn't a penalty. But I have seen softer ones given all the same. Ferdinand should know not to have his hands there for that very reason.

I can't figure out whether Ibrahimovic is so good he makes Adriano look awful, or Adriano is so Awful he makes Ibrahimovic look good

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    It wasn't a penalty. But I have seen softer ones given all the same. Ferdinand should know not to have his hands there for that very reason.

Twould have been harsh alright. Rio has been poor enough tonight

Zlatan is enjoying playing against O'Shea a lot I think

What a take by Ibra on his chest

Villain wrote: »
    I can't figure out whether Ibrahimovic is so good he makes Adriano look awful, or Adriano is so Awful he makes Ibrahimovic look good

Harsg on Adriano - won an amout of ball hoofed up the pitch tonight. Although the attempt at goal was weak.

I think Adriano & Ibra's problem has been no service whatsoever from the other players

Inter on top so far this half

Ohhh that was close, looked just off maybe

Oh dear, ADVANTAGE TO THE ATTACKER?? Sigh. Zlatan's next touch was boom! Goal.

Zlatan is enjoying playing against O'Shea a lot I think

Game really showing the two sides of him. First half anonymous, second half looking divine. The dummy was absolutely unreal, phenomenal control just there (not offside btw)

Villain wrote: »

Eh? Adriano has been pretty good tonight? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭am i bovvered

didn't look offside to me

Eh? Adriano has been pretty good tonight? :confused:
    I guess Ibrahimovic must just be playing well so, Adriano is holding the ball up but he looks slugish and that effort was awful

Berbatov and Giggs off for Tevez and Rooney?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Berbatov and Giggs off for Tevez and Rooney?

Good call. Berbatov has not been impressive at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The fivelive boys just said exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

Park's distribution this half has been v poor..but he offers a lot going back...

EDIT: Evra is really putting his body on the line there the last few mins..

Inter have been the better side for the first 20 minutes of this half. Not by as much of a margin as Utd in the first half obv, but the better side nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

mike65 wrote: »
    Utd should be two, three maybe even four up, Inter are even worse than last year.

I disagree,
    Granted Zlatan hasn't been up to the impeccable standards that he has set for himself,
    but he has begun to be a bit of a dominant force in this early part of the second half.

God dammit, Houghton is a terrible commentator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

In fairness to berbatov he is getting feck all service.

Rooney on for park hopfully but i can see ferguson sticking with the 11 already out there.

Inter look far more likely to score atm, united need to bring on atleast one of their strikers from the bench

Tell you what, that Santon fella looks to be a decent defender.

Fair play to young Santon, he's doing a great job against the world's best player. Nice to see the ref has begun to drop his bias as well

Jinx tip my heel

Time for Rooney surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Tell you what, that Santon fella looks to be a decent defender.
    Bubs101 wrote: »
    Fair play to young Santon

He looked good in the Milan derby as well, two good performances in two big games, not bad for a youngster

Would love to see Figo for Muntari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,595 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

OT again but relevant for United fans. Swansea are 1 up at Fulham in the cup replay

That's twice this half that Cambiasso has delivered a great low ball from the left hand side of the box.

Would love to see Figo for Muntari

They should bring on Balotelli, he could get a goal for them