Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Inter Milan v Manchester United Match Thread 24th Feb 09

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭robo

Berbatov & Park to come off.
    Jaysus they need fresh legs in there! Park just doesn't have the will to execute! Tevez or Rooney will have more fire in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Adriano isn't the quickest of course, but man is he strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

titan18 wrote: »
    They should bring on Balotelli, he could get a goal for them

This. Balotelli for Muntari is needed. His pace is a real wildcard and can make **** of players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

It would be a perfect game for Tevez and one of his late in the day specials...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Balotelli coming on, ill find it interesting to see how good he is ive heard good things and hes still very young for this level

Great block from Cordoba!! Heroic defending! Giggs destroyed Chivu there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

If ever a game needed Rooney and Tevez...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Three up front from Inter, should be an interesting finish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Berbatov even more languid than usual, Rooney on soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Rubbish game to be fair. Neither side looks like European Champions. Three four passes, then you have a go. The ref hasn't helped much either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Here comes Rooney

You have to say... Ibrahimovic has played out of his skin in comparison to Berba who has been v v subdued..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Here comes Rooney but right now i expect Mourinho to have a good result at the end of the 90 unless the game shifts again towards Utd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

MOTM performance so far by JOSH - yeah seriously! :eek:

Chivu looks very ordinary.

Jaysus United got aware with it there on the handball and the chance..

Oh dear, that should have been a goal for Inter

D.S. wrote: »
    You have to say... Ibrahimovic has played out of his skin in comparison to Berba who has been v v subdued..

That's because he's an infinitely better player

That was an unusually interesting flashed stat:

Park covered 9.99 km; Utd team average is 8.57

Bubs101 wrote: »

Or maybe, on the basis of one game, one played better than the other.

Grand statements like he is an "infinitely" better player than Berba is a wee bit incendiary (he isn't infinitely better by the way ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

Berbatov drags the whole average down though

The ref has been very poor tonight imo

Or maybe, on the basis of one game, one played better than the other.

Grand statements like he is an "infinitely" better player than Berba is a wee bit incendiary (he isn't infinitely better by the way ;) )

He is though, different class

He's leagues above him

On tonights performance, no doubt..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

The ref has been very poor tonight imo

Looks like he came on the plane from Manchester

On tonights performance, no doubt..

No in general. Watch both Serie A and Prem and there is no doubt who is better

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

refs a plonker. thank god hes not had any actual calls to make

Great ball by Berbatov. Julio Cesar has rescued Inter on more than one occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

You are having a ****ing laugh surely?

Not surprising at all in my opinion. He always runs the socks of himself. That is exactly what he is there for.

eh no. Do you watch Serie A or are you judging him on the Liverpool games??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Interesting aside: Van der Sar officially has the world record for most minutes without conceding a goal now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Come on Ronny..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

Huge opportunity missed.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,175 ✭✭✭✭beertons

So close

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Well well well, thats got to go down as an opportunity missed by Utd.

What a shame. Good result on balance. But they were there for the taking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

So we've got to win in OT to advance? A nervous 2nd leg awaits...but sure isn't that the fun of being a United fan?

With Vidic back, Inter will not win this tie.

Cambiasso is the only player who i rate for them.

Probably fair result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Hold on are you seriously saying Berbatov is better than Ibrahimovic??

Poor game but Cesar did well to keep it 0-0

I think Inter should be relived with 0 - 0. Away goals are king in the Champions League and Utd may yet rue their inability to convert their superiority into at least one goal.

You'd assume Utd will go through, but Inter will know that a goal gives them a real chance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

if fergie was braver that game wouldve been there for the taking easily

scholes and Rooney shouldve been brought on at 60mins

eh no. Do you watch Serie A or are you judging him on the Liverpool games??

I have seen him in about 20 matches I reckon and while there is no doubting that he is a quality player, the plaudits that he gets are drasitically exadurated.

Even if he plays as well as you say, it is in a league that is at an all time low in terms of quality where the team that is leading said league by 9 points are being outplayed at home by an under strenght United team. Considering you mentioned the Liverpool game, it is more of the same by Inter Milan.

Again, he is a very good player but not deserving of the largest salary in profession football.. Far from deserving it actually.

Sorry, I just don't subscribe to anything that you have said about him, Inter of Italian football at the moment on this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Dissapointed utd did not get that result.

Villain wrote: »

I have a problem with this "infinitely" better...better on the night, no doubt. Better player overall. Probably. But "infinitely" better to suggest a massive gulf in class between two world class strikers???? Yes, I think he is having a laugh..

Ibra surrounded by a bunch of clowns. Gives Adriano a golden chance, same with Balotelli, dominates the second half. J Cesar, Cambiasso,Zlatan ,Cordoba and Santon were so much better than the rest of those fools in black and white. Ref didn't help

Villain wrote: »

Did I say that? Have a look at the quote that I responded too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

The match was there for the taking. Rooney I think would have made the difference. As always, Fergie is too defensive to take the tie away. But with Vidic back, I think we'd be unlucky to concede at home, but I just don't like these sort of tactical type battles.

Rooney should been on earlier to get the away goal.
    Annoyed, but much more hopeful.

Ref pissed me off to be honest, how Stakovic was not booked is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

John O'Shea finished United's top passer with 85% followed by Fletch on 83%.