Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting asked for I.D. in your twenties

• Registered Users Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

They place I work in its anyone under 24 - 25 gets asked for ID no questions and its a local offo. You would be surprised how many people you ID going this fella is gonna be 30 and it turns out he's only a day gone 18. Its serious trouble if you get caught these days. Large fine and upto a seven day mandatory closure. The thing about the passports is the old style laminate passports are pretty easy to forge you would be surprised how many you actually see floating around. Easy way to tell is that if you look at the spine of the passport. The laminate on the photo page goes from that page through the spine onto the front page, all of the fakes I have seen they have cut the laminate at the spine and peeled it back. Easy way to spot a fake drivers licence is the organ donor box, the top and bottom lines are actually really fine text with never gets printed on fakes it just looks like a solid line!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,862 Mod ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Only get asked for ID when stopped by the Gardai.
    They are nice though, they always say "Good bye Mr Jazdy" when they leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

I'm surprised they haven't begun to consider why there is so many people called Prawo Jazdy in Ireland these days.. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭miaowsky

I got stopped in Tesco for ID a while back and I had my passport cause I've lost my Garda ID, and the twit wouldn't accept it. So naturally I wanted my vodka so I kicked up a fuss and got the manager who finally let me have my precious vodka. I don't get it about the passport, I can get in and out of the country with the damn thing but Tesco won't let my have my vodka!!

Ahh then there was this other time when I was a little drunk (ie very) and went to Tesco (again for vodka), this time I'd no ID on me, and the poor polish guy behind the counter asked me for ID and I showed him my credit card and attempted to pay with my student card....not a very proud day for me :o

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭Shelflife

the reason they ask for garda id is because its the only id that can be used as a defence if the case goes to court ( i think its the only named id in the legislation).

if your drunk its illegal to serve you.

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭miaowsky

Shelflife wrote: »

But surely if that was the case an awful lot of pubs and clubs would be out of business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

the reason they ask for garda id is because its the only id that can be used as a defence if the case goes to court ( i think its the only named id in the legislation).

It isn't that was said before in another thread and rumour squashed.

They should be accepting driving licenses too if I remember correctly (or it could be passports but I think it was driver license).

The worst is when your in the cinema and the cashier ladie/fellow says ''how old are you'' and i say ''18'' (I am 18) and then they don't even ask for I.D

Like i'm going to say ''I'm 16 but can ya let me in anyway''

That boils my blood:mad:
    Dudess wrote: »
    and she was dolled up (with a five-year-old son at home!)

And to think even he'll be able to say that when he's only started hitting the town:

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article2233878.ece

What I don't get is why we don't just introduce a national id card that is our driving license etc.. all in one credit card sized file.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

thebman wrote: »
    What I don't get is why we don't just introduce a national id card that is our driving license etc.. all in one credit card sized file.

It would be practical but would have a lot of issues.. cost, security, privacy and they would probably make it too small for the larger trucks to drive through:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

I was never asked when I was under 18. After I turned into adult life.. that's a different story. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Got asked for ID in Dunnes a while ago when getting fags and also in Tesco's a while buying some beer. I'm 30 in September :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

irlmarc wrote: »
    They place I work in its anyone under 24 - 25 gets asked for ID no questions and its a local offo. You would be surprised how many people you ID going this fella is gonna be 30 and it turns out he's only a day gone 18. Its serious trouble if you get caught these days. Large fine and upto a seven day mandatory closure. The thing about the passports is the old style laminate passports are pretty easy to forge you would be surprised how many you actually see floating around. Easy way to tell is that if you look at the spine of the passport. The laminate on the photo page goes from that page through the spine onto the front page, all of the fakes I have seen they have cut the laminate at the spine and peeled it back. Easy way to spot a fake drivers licence is the organ donor box, the top and bottom lines are actually really fine text with never gets printed on fakes it just looks like a solid line!

I looked at this for about a minute and was convinced it was just a solid line with a few gaps in it. Now I can make out the word "local" and I think "tiomanai" but nothing else, I can't imagine how a bouncer or barman could possibly check this in the dark and chaos outside a club or in a pub.

Mr.S wrote: »
    Um no.

its not an ID card at all. its just proof of age.

If it was a ID card, we could use it as a passport within Europe, but we cant.

um yes, im not saying that its the only form of id acceptable in order to sell drink to someone im saying its the only form of id(proof of age) that provides a defense in court.

this is taken from a training manual i recieved from my solititor during my off licence application.

THE ONLY ACCEPTABLE PROOF OF AGE IS A GARDA NATIONAL AGE CARD, PASSPORT, DRIVER’S LICENCE, OR E.U. NATIONAL IDENTITY CARD (CARE IS TO BE TAKEN TO ENSURE THAT IT IS NOT A FORGERY & THAT THE PROOF OF AGE BELONGS TO THE PERSON PURCHASING) NB – ONLY THE GARDA NATIONAL AGE CARD PROVIDES A DEFENCE IN COURT TO A CHARGE OF SALE TO AN UNDERAGE PERSON

so yes you can accept other forms, but to really cover your ass the garda card is the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Rory123 wrote: »
    Bouncers do that as an excuse to engage in interaction with you to see if you are already too drunk for admission. Doesn't matter if you are 18 or 38.
    I had a feeling it might be something along those lines...and the fact i know a few doormen and haven asked them this doesnt really serve me well:P cheers for clearing that up.

um yes, im not saying that its the only form of id acceptable in order to sell drink to someone im saying its the only form of id(proof of age) that provides a defense in court.

this is taken from a training manual i recieved from my solititor during my off licence application.

THE ONLY ACCEPTABLE PROOF OF AGE IS A GARDA NATIONAL AGE CARD, PASSPORT, DRIVER’S LICENCE, OR E.U. NATIONAL IDENTITY CARD (CARE IS TO BE TAKEN TO ENSURE THAT IT IS NOT A FORGERY & THAT THE PROOF OF AGE BELONGS TO THE PERSON PURCHASING) NB – ONLY THE GARDA NATIONAL AGE CARD PROVIDES A DEFENCE IN COURT TO A CHARGE OF SALE TO AN UNDERAGE PERSON

so yes you can accept other forms, but to really cover your ass the garda card is the best.

That contradicts itself.

If a Garda card, passport or dirvers license or Eu identitiy card is acceptable proof of age then the the second part saying the garda card is the only acceptable defense in court is b*ll*cks.

Otherwise the first part is null and void.

One part of the the two statements doesn't exist in law or the law needs to be edited to remove the contradiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

That contradicts itself.

If a Garda card, passport or dirvers license or Eu identitiy card is acceptable proof of age then the the second part saying the garda card is the only acceptable defense in court is b*ll*cks.

One part of the the two statements doesn't exist in law or the law needs to be edited to remove the contradiction.

Welcome to Irish law.

it doesn't make much sense and it's all a bit backwards

ClioV6 wrote: »
    Welcome to Irish law.

it doesn't make much sense and it's all a bit backwards

A contradiction of that scale cannot exist in the law or you could not reasonably be held accountable in court for accepting one of the other forms of id (assuming only the garda age card is acceptable).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

mars bar wrote: »
    Everybody, no matter what age(over 18 of course) should get an age-card. I have no problems when I produce it. Saves me from carrying my passport and I don't have a drivers license.

I'm 27. Do you really think I'm going to go and queue in the Garda station with a load of spotty teenagers just so I can buy a bottle of wine in the supermarket???

I actually rang my local Garda station a while back to ask if there's an upper age limit on applying for a National Age Card as it's forever being said here that you can't even get one if you're over 23. The Garda I spoke to genuinely didn't know if there was because no-one "that old" had never tried to apply for one in his experience, and why wouldn't you just use your driving licence anyway?

My point exactly, ossifer...

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭midgetflynn

I don't think I ever got carded when I was under age, but usually do now and I'm 21. I don't mind,people don't usually get my age right anyway, either think I'm way younger than I am (Someone thought I was 12 when I was a month off turning 18) or much much older than I am, some girl in a shop thought that when I mentioned I had college work to do, that I was a lecturer!
    I was once out with a group of friends, we got into the pub no problem but the guy behind the bar was right fussy, wouldn't give my 26 year old pioneer friend a 7up cos he didn't have id. Then refused to serve his brother, I eventually got him a drink, despite being the youngest in the group. the barman sent over a bouncer to check out I.D.s and when he got the the 26 year old and asked him what age he was, he laughed at the fact the barman had sent him over and we weren't hassled for the rest of the night

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

That contradicts itself.

sounds like a case of a lazy solicitor more than anything else

you can be held responsible for serving an underage person alcohol no matter what evidence they produce to "prove" they are over 18.

Then the judge can decide to give you a slap on the wrist or fine you or close your business for days, weeks or permanently.

Normally as for any crime if it was a once off thing and you have a good excuse and you are suitably apologetic you can expect the judge won't be a bollocks about it. If you have a history of the same thing and don't make an effort to comply with the law you can expect him to throw the book at you.

All checking IDs does is shows that you made a good effort to find out the customer's age. In the case of Tesco for example they are very well protected as they can point to their strict policy of checking anyone who looks under 25 and only accepting Garda cards and disciplining/firing staff who don't do this. For a smaller off license you might be able to tell the judge that you try to get to know your customers better than someone like Tesco can, that would also be something he could take into account.

I'm not a lawyer but that's my understanding of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

This ever happened to you?

Yes but I normally say "oh hold on a minute" and take out about 7 different ids "Which one do you want?" They normally say sorry without looking at any.
    I was in lidl, had to run out of the house so I only had a college id. I did my weekly shopping and I decided to get a bottle of wine (to have a glass with dinner during the week), she refused the id I had and said she could ONLY except the garda id(which I had but gotten stolen, it also didn't look like the new ones), I argued with her, would have gotten the manager out but there was a long que behind me and only her on the tills.

Most recently was just before christmas, I was stocking up on chapagine ans wine(about 10 bottles) she looks at all the bottles, looks at me, looks at the bottles again and asks. I give her my driving licence, with a big grin on my face(just got the licence, first time using it for id too) she said "Oh, 1984, well then you'd be old enough" and she then spent the rest of the time I was there explaining why she asked for id.

On a completely different note when I worked in a shop, they always came in, in school uniforms looking for fags. I would turn put my hand on the box, face them and ask for ID (not one of them had any and I was working their for a good few months)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

RoundTower wrote: »
    I looked at this for about a minute and was convinced it was just a solid line with a few gaps in it. Now I can make out the word "local" and I think "tiomanai" but nothing else, I can't imagine how a bouncer or barman could possibly check this in the dark and chaos outside a club or in a pub.

It says something like "Department of the Enviroment and Local Goverment" repeated a few times. Yeah i know but its an easy way in the offo to spot them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Im 23 and would look my age maybe alittle older,Im told I have the mannerisms of a 35 year old and can be a tad intimidating sometimes,but I havent been asked for ID since I was 18/19 and I always took great offence being asked,but it hasnt happened since until last week,was in off-license buying 3 cans of guniness for myself and a baby powers for the Da,walked up the counter and this skeleton skinny,spotty,12 year old looking nerd with a big puffy haircut says 'any ID',I had a laugh and went 'what?',he says 'I need to see some ID',I snapped 'how old do I look to you mate'?,he starts to quiver,'em I just need to ask'.I repeated my question,he didnt say anything,'do I look f*cking 16 to you,buying guniness and a baby powers you dope','Im 23,how old are you','it doesnt matter how old I am'.I said 'are you old enough to work here',he says 'Yeaahhh',then the manager hears the commotion and walks out,takes a look at me laughs and goes 'hes alright.he's alright',made a fool of the little sh*t working there..................I think getting asked for ID is insulting and is a form of ageism,if your over 21 you have earned the right to walk into a pub and buy a pint,go into a porn shop and buy a blueie,buy a pack of smokes in the newsagent without getting asked by some minimum wage gobsh*te for 'ID',passports are important and expensive if you lose one,I cant afford to shell out 80 quid if I lose it,and not be able to go on my holliers,therefore Im not carrying it around with me

A contradiction of that scale cannot exist in the law or you could not reasonably be held accountable in court for accepting one of the other forms of id (assuming only the garda age card is acceptable).

unfortunately it does, it makes no sense, but then neither does the fact that its not an offense to try to buy drink or cigs while underage yet the poor shop assistant gets fined and a criminal record for trying to do their job.

the law is stacked against the retailer and their employees in this respect.

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    Im 23 and would look my age maybe alittle older,Im told I have the mannerisms of a 35 year old and can be a tad intimidating sometimes,but I havent been asked for ID since I was 18/19 and I always took great offence being asked,but it hasnt happened since until last week,was in off-license buying 3 cans of guniness for myself and a baby powers for the Da,walked up the counter and this skeleton skinny,spotty,12 year old looking nerd with a big puffy haircut says 'any ID',I had a laugh and went 'what?',he says 'I need to see some ID',I snapped 'how old do I look to you mate'?,he starts to quiver,'em I just need to ask'.I repeated my question,he didnt say anything,'do I look f*cking 16 to you,buying guniness and a baby powers you dope','Im 23,how old are you','it doesnt matter how old I am'.I said 'are you old enough to work here',he says 'Yeaahhh',then the manager hears the commotion and walks out,takes a look at me laughs and goes 'hes alright.he's alright',made a fool of the little sh*t working there..................I think getting asked for ID is insulting and is a form of ageism,if your over 21 you have earned the right to walk into a pub and buy a pint,go into a porn shop and buy a blueie,buy a pack of smokes in the newsagent without getting asked by some minimum wage gobsh*te for 'ID',passports are important and expensive if you lose one,I cant afford to shell out 80 quid if I lose it,and not be able to go on my holliers,therefore Im not carrying it around with me

if you came into my shop and insulted and intimidated my staff in that manner id have thrown you out, what give you the right to utter obsenities to a young member of staff when all they are trying to do is their job.
    if he was a 6ft 4" 30yr old you wouldnt have been half as smart. bully boy tactics should never be rewarded and its a poor manager that wouldnt have handled the situation better.

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

RaverRo808 wrote: »

Good man yourself. Must have felt good bullying a young member of staff like that, who's just doing his job and following orders. Of course you have earned a right to do all those things when you are 21 how does someone know what age you are without seeing proof? It's not "ageist" :rolleyes:, ridiculous. It's an establishment doing their moral duty AND trying not to break the law.

I hope you get asked by every "minimum wage gobsh*te" for the rest of your life just to p*ss you off. If you're afraid of losing your passport then get a Garda ID or a driver's licence and grin and bear it like everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

I was in Boston recently. Everyone gets carded regardless of how old they look. I was in the queue for drinks and an elderly man infront of my got carded. So I just accepted that was how things are done. If everyone gets asked, you can't feel bad.

I don't generally get asked in Ireland, doesn't bother me if I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i'm nearly 29 and always get asked for id.
    i dont mind, i do look young.
    I carry a garda id with me everywhere.

Am i the only one who has never heard of this "carded" word...??

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭andrewh5

I was in a newsagents earlier and got asked for I.D...... I'm 24!!.... I was buying a feckin scratchcard!! I had no I.D so I said to her 'I'M 24!' but she goes "I have to ask ya love'. I told her to leave it and slunk out of the shop feelin about 12.

I felt a bit better in tescos later, when there was a woman in the queue in front of me buying drink. The cashier asked her for I.D. and the woman said shamefacedly that she was 27. The cashier then goes "JAYSUS i didnt think ya were tha OLD!!!" The woman legged it redfaced out of the shop with the cashier shouting after her "AT LEAST YE LOOK GOOD FER YOUR AGE!!!!

This ever happened to you?

Be grateful that you look younger than you are! You will be in another 20 years or so!!