Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting asked for I.D. in your twenties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Shelflife wrote: »
    if you came into my shop and insulted and intimidated my staff in that manner id have thrown you out, what give you the right to utter obsenities to a young member of staff when all they are trying to do is their job.
    if he was a 6ft 4" 30yr old you wouldnt have been half as smart. bully boy tactics should never be rewarded and its a poor manager that wouldnt have handled the situation better.

If he was 7foot tall with machineguns for arms Id have said the same to em,and I wouldnt call it bully boy tactics,Im 23 going on 24 when I walk into a shop to buy milk,bread and even drink,I expect to be able to hand over my money take me goods and leave,simple,as,I dont look 16/17,not in the slightest,Im a grown man with a family and a job and I dont expect to be hassled for ID by some eejit who thinks he's a big man because he's asking for ID,be fair it never ever happens,that was an exception,but I didnt take kind to it,what 16/17 year old would be buying guniness and baby powers anyway?,you should be more concerned in maintaining good level of customer service by providing your customers a hassle free environment instead of targeting every customer in their twenties who wishes to buy alcohol

Good man yourself. Must have felt good bullying a young member of staff like that, who's just doing his job and following orders. Of course you have earned a right to do all those things when you are 21 how does someone know what age you are without seeing proof? It's not "ageist" :rolleyes:, ridiculous. It's an establishment doing their moral duty AND trying not to break the law.

I hope you get asked by every "minimum wage gobsh*te" for the rest of your life just to p*ss you off. If you're afraid of losing your passport then get a Garda ID or a driver's licence and grin and bear it like everyone else.

Sales assistants areant gaurds its not their job to enforce the law or ask people private details

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    Sales assistants areant gaurds its not their job to enforce the law or ask people private details

Eh, yes it IS part of their job to ensure the place they work isn't breaking the law by serving under-age people. Have you ever worked in a shop that sells alcohol or cigarettes? Because anyone who has will know that they are have to ask people for ID if they are unsure of their age. As has been said previously in this thread, some places ask anyone who looks under 23/25 just in case. The poor shop assistant who you belittled was probably not in the job that long and was adhering to the rules a bit more than others. Fair play to him for doing his job properly, unfortunate for him that someone decided they could act like an a*sehole towards him for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I turned 27 last September and was out in Dublin the weekend of it. Twice over the weekend in 2 seperate pubs I was asked for ID. Half my friends had gone in before and half after me and I was the only one pulled aside. It felt good.
    On New Years this year I was chatting to a 23 yr old girl and she asked what age I was. I told her to guess and she pegged me at 21. Now I've got the stubble/light beard so I don't look like a manboy, so I again felt very cool about this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I think it's also not so much about you looking 16/17 but, it's the 16/17 year olds that look like their in their 20's. I met one guy, he looked older than me about 26/27, he was about 18 or 19, I couldn't believe it.

Eh, yes it IS part of their job to ensure the place they work isn't breaking the law by serving under-age people. Have you ever worked in a shop that sells alcohol or cigarettes? Because anyone who has will know that they are have to ask people for ID if they are unsure of their age. As has been said previously in this thread, some places ask anyone who looks under 23/25 just in case. The poor shop assistant who you belittled was probably not in the job that long and was adhering to the rules a bit more than others. Fair play to him for doing his job properly, unfortunate for him that someone decided they could act like an a*sehole towards him for it.

So Im 23/24,but I dont have any passport or Driving license,get asked fo ID,do I not get my gargle that I want to purchase???

Yeah I've noticed that lately too, had a girl in a pub lie to me about her age recently. Told me she was in college and that she was twenty something, turns out she was 19 and repeating the leaving cert. Maybe you wouldn't mind but she was an immature 19 yr old.
    Would ya good luck...

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Six of One

So Im 23/24,but I dont have any passport or Driving license,get asked fo ID,do I not get my gargle that I want to purchase???
    As people were saying above, being civil, stating your age and explaining that you don't have ID on you will usually get you served anyway. (Whereas shouting the odds will not.) But of course they don't have any obligation to sell to you if they don't believe you are over 18 and you can't prove you are.

Personally I have no problem with getting asked, especially as it happens less and less now!

No, not if it's the stores policy that you have to have ID if you want to buy alcohol.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Im 23 and would look my age maybe alittle older,Im told I have the mannerisms of a 35 year old and can be a tad intimidating sometimes,but I havent been asked for ID since I was 18/19 and I always took great offence being asked,but it hasnt happened since until last week,was in off-license buying 3 cans of guniness for myself and a baby powers for the Da,walked up the counter and this skeleton skinny,spotty,12 year old looking nerd with a big puffy haircut says 'any ID',I had a laugh and went 'what?',he says 'I need to see some ID',I snapped 'how old do I look to you mate'?,he starts to quiver,'em I just need to ask'.I repeated my question,he didnt say anything,'do I look f*cking 16 to you,buying guniness and a baby powers you dope','Im 23,how old are you','it doesnt matter how old I am'.I said 'are you old enough to work here',he says 'Yeaahhh',then the manager hears the commotion and walks out,takes a look at me laughs and goes 'hes alright.he's alright',made a fool of the little sh*t working there..................I think getting asked for ID is insulting and is a form of ageism,if your over 21 you have earned the right to walk into a pub and buy a pint,go into a porn shop and buy a blueie,buy a pack of smokes in the newsagent without getting asked by some minimum wage gobsh*te for 'ID',passports are important and expensive if you lose one,I cant afford to shell out 80 quid if I lose it,and not be able to go on my holliers,therefore Im not carrying it around with me

I can tell you right now that you are the type of person who makes working in an off licence a pain in the arse! If you had of tried that **** with me you would have been fooked out and barred by the management. Zero tolerance for verbal abuse to staff where I work! If you look under 25 you're getting asked simple as that! The chap was only doing his job and you were being a pain in the arse

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Six of One

When I was 16 I was refused admission to the Savoy as the film was 18s and I had no ID. Myself and my friend went around the corner to a nice welcoming inn on Parnell St and had a few drinks instead. :D

Six of One wrote: »
    As people were saying above, being civil, stating your age and explaining that you don't have ID on you will usually get you served anyway. (Whereas shouting the odds will not.) But of course they don't have any obligation to sell to you if they don't believe you are over 18 and you can't prove you are.

Personally I have no problem with getting asked, especially as it happens less and less now!

I still dont like being verbally accostted by someone who hasnt any right to ask me how old I am,I enjoy a pint,and when I fancy a can or two I dont expect to be asked by some eejit am I old enough to drink,as I said,Im a grown up who works hard and have a kid myself,and look older then I am,I shouldnt be asked by some clown am I 17

Yes they DO have a right. You seem to be finding this whole thing very difficult to understand....shops HAVE to ID people before they can sell them alcohol/cigarettes if they're unsure of their age. There's no need to call someone an "eejit" or a "clown" because they're doing their job. They don't care that you have a kid yourself, as far as they're aware, you may look under 23/25 (to them) and they are obliged to ask you for ID. Don't be such a twat about the whole thing.

And as for being "verbally accosted?" A bit dramatic don't you think, he just asked you for ID. You're the one who verbally abused him.

irlmarc wrote: »
    I can tell you right now that you are the type of person who makes working in an off licence a pain in the arse! If you had of tried that **** with me you would have been fooked out and barred by the management. Zero tolerance for verbal abuse to staff where I work! If you look under 25 you're getting asked simple as that! The chap was only doing his job and you were being a pain in the arse

Id take you to court for refusal of service due to discrimination on the grounds of ageism,Im 23 years of age,I walk into a shop I expect to be able to purchase my goods and leave,without being intimidated,you have no right to refuse me service and no reason to reprimand me or 'bar' me for objecting,its like being in a wheelchair and been refused entry to a cinema because they have no access for disabled people which comes under the grounds of disability,or a someone being refused a pint in a pub because they are a nigerian/chinese etc which comes under grounds of race,what you are doing are refusing me to purchase goods even though I legally entitled to buy alcohol,but are refusing me and reprimanding me because I look young,as a licensed premises thats in breech of the equality act under the grounds of age,and you better believe Id pursue it

:eek::eek::eek: Your argument gets more and more ridiculous. OF COURSE SHOPS HAVE THE RIGHT TO REFUSE YOU SERVICE IF YOU HAVE NO PROOF OF AGE!!!! You know this law has been in place for a very long time, you're acting like it's the first time you've heard of it. You'd have no legs to stand on in court!!! It's not discrimination AT ALL!!! Refusing entry into a pub based on the grounds of race isn't even comparable to refusing to serve someone because you haven't got proof that they're underage.

No need to get thick with anyone asking you for ID, that's just bad character out of you.
    I got stopped for ID going into a club in the Glasgow School of Art 2 weeks ago. Me and my friend had queued for ages in order to meet people inside and it was freezing cold out. Did I get angry with them especially given I had no proper form of ID?? No.
    I did politely win him over and got us in to the club without a passport or drivers license. I showed him a very old Usit card and said "that's me at 18, clearly I'm aged a lot since then" as he looked at a picture of a very young looking Homerun_Homer.
    "Now if I'm clealy over 18, then my friend is clearly over 18" I said.
    He still wouldn't budge because they needed to see ID, so I said we were over for the weekend and were really looking forward to going into this club to meet people. He aske where we were from, we said Dublin and he let us in.
    Sometimes it pays to be nice.

:eek::eek::eek: Your argument gets more and more ridiculous. OF COURSE SHOPS HAVE THE RIGHT TO REFUSE YOU SERVICE IF YOU HAVE NO PROOF OF AGE!!!! You know this law has been in place for a very long time, you're acting like it's the first time you've heard of it. You'd have no legs to stand on in court!!! It's not discrimination AT ALL!!! Refusing entry into a pub based on the grounds of race isn't even comparable to refusing to serve someone because you haven't got proof that they're underage.

No they have no right,anyone over the age of 21 is legally entitled to buy alcohol or cigerettes from a licensed premises,to refuse someone service because they look young even if they are well over the legal age to buy alcohol which is 18 is against the equality act(which I suggest you read) under the grounds of age,it is open and shut case,your not the gardai,you or your employees(who are normally under the age of 21 in off lincenses)have no right to probe anyone for personal details,if someone looks very young and is clearly under 18 then you have every right to refuse them service,they havent a leg to stand,there have been cases before the equality authority regarding off licenses refusing people services on the grounds on age,and they have being open and shut cases,I suggest you relax your store policy and do what your shop is there to do,sell drink to people so they can get pissed,not be Charles Bronson and take the law into your own hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

I was in a shop before. This guy ahead of me was pretty small and was wearing a cap. he wanted a pack of smokes so the cashier, said "Any ID"

The chap stood there for a few seconds, pulled off his cap and revealed a semi bald head and grey hair and said

"THERES YOU FKIN ID"

Was hilarious!

Also got asked by some northern irish chap in my local offi for ID, im 22. I told him im a regular there but he still wouldnt serve me. Havent bought drink there since. Said "you`ve lost a customer" similar to homer said to Moe in the crowded pub in the simpsons :)

:confused::confused::confused: sentences please!!
    No they have no right,anyone over the age of 21 is legally entitled to buy alcohol or cigerettes from a licensed premises,to refuse someone service because they look young even if they are well over the legal age to buy alcohol which is 18 is against the equality act(which I suggest you read) under the grounds of age,it is open and shut case,

Yes, they are legally entitled to buy alcohol or cigarettes if they are over 21, but a shop is well within its right to as someone for ID if they have any doubts. Perhaps you can direct me to the part of the Equality Act which backs up your point, because I couldn't find it.

your not the gardai,you or your employees(who are normally under the age of 21 in off lincenses)have no right to probe anyone for personal details,if someone looks very young and is clearly under 18 then you have every right to refuse them service,they havent a leg to stand,there have been cases before the equality authority regarding off licenses refusing people services on the grounds on age,and they have being open and shut cases,

Whether someone looks over 18 or not is subjective. How do the shops know the person is over 18 without ID?
    I suggest you relax your store policy and do what your shop is there to do,sell drink to people so they can get pissed,not be Charles Bronson and take the law into your own hands

And risk getting prosecuted for selling alcohol to underage people? :rolleyes:

:confused::confused::confused: sentences please!!

Yes, they are legally entitled to buy alcohol or cigarettes if they are over 21, but a shop is well within its right to as someone for ID if they have any doubts. Perhaps you can direct me to the part of the Equality Act which backs up your point, because I couldn't find it.

Whether someone looks over 18 or not is subjective. How do the shops know the person is over 18 without ID?

And risk getting prosecuted for selling alcohol to underage people? :rolleyes:

Shop can have all the policy and rules it wants,but as a licensed premises it has no right to refuse service to anyone over the age of 21 who wishes to buy alcohol,regardless if they have ID or not,its clear case of discrimination on the grounds of age,the equality authority applies to everywhere,your rules,store policy and 'zero tolerance' mean nothing to them or the courts,it is offensive to ask someone for their passport if they are clearly over 21,and embarrassing,that is breeching someones rights,whatever way you look at it

But who's to decide if someone is "clearly" over the age of 21???? Have you actual proof of what you're talking about?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

No they have no right,anyone over the age of 21 is legally entitled to buy alcohol or cigerettes from a licensed premises,to refuse someone service because they look young even if they are well over the legal age to buy alcohol which is 18 is against the equality act(which I suggest you read) under the grounds of age,it is open and shut case,your not the gardai,you or your employees(who are normally under the age of 21 in off lincenses)have no right to probe anyone for personal details,if someone looks very young and is clearly under 18 then you have every right to refuse them service,they havent a leg to stand,there have been cases before the equality authority regarding off licenses refusing people services on the grounds on age,and they have being open and shut cases,I suggest you relax your store policy and do what your shop is there to do,sell drink to people so they can get pissed,not be Charles Bronson and take the law into your own hands

People have tried this before and it was not even followed up because it wouldnt hold up!! Of course we have thr right to refuse service to any persons who refuses to produce ID when asked! And staff are not there to take your high and mighty crap! By entering the shop you agree to the stores policies and criteria. What you deem offensive is irrelevant! I deem you language towards that member of staff to be offensive!

It would be illegal for a licenced premises to refuse you sale of items if they had proof that you were over the age of 21!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Im 23 and would look my age maybe alittle older,Im told I have the mannerisms of a 35 year old

Judging on what you have written here I would say you have the mannerisms of a 16/17 year old. I'm actually very surprised at the way you say you treated that situation. I don't know anyone in their 30's that would have acted like that, most of them would have just laughed and not insulted the guy.

Also in probably all shops 'the management reserve the right to refuse customers' This one should have been pulled on you for harrassing employees

Orla K wrote: »
    Judging on what you have written here I would say you have the mannerisms of a 16/17 year old. I'm actually very surprised at the way you say you treated that situation. I don't know anyone in their 30's that would have acted like that, most of them would have just laughed and not insulted the guy.

Also in probably all shops 'the management reserve the right to refuse customers' This one should have been pulled on you for harrassing employees

Im soooo hurt by your comments,I promise Ill grow up and never bully sales assistants again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

But thats it when i ask people for i.d its to catch out the younger people who look slightly older rather than not serve the older people who look younger.Im not getting sacked for serving someone underage and Raverroo808 i would have got security for you.How dare you bully a young man earning a wage,hes just doing his job.That really makes my blood boil,imagine if your mother got spoken to like that you would be going mad.A bully thats all you are,hope you pick on the wrong person some day.Maybe then you will get manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Ah here, they have the right to ask people for id FFS.

The issue I have is purely with the forms of id that are deemed acceptable. If the law is that poor nobody could be found guilty of it. I mean seriously if it contradicts itself then how it hold up?

If you ask for ID and someone provides a state issued id then they can't find a business guilty if it is produced. If they do, it is an admition by the state that the form of id provided is useless as id and so it isn't actually fit for its indended purpose either. If I can forge a drivers license that easily (or a 13 year old kid can) then how can a garda be sure that anyone they stop is actually licensed to drive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

**serious arguement in after hours detected**

**system shutting down**

marti101 wrote: »
    But thats it when i ask people for i.d its to catch out the younger people who look slightly older rather than not serve the older people who look younger.Im not getting sacked for serving someone underage and Raverroo808 i would have got security for you.How dare you bully a young man earning a wage,hes just doing his job.That really makes my blood boil,imagine if your mother got spoken to like that you would be going mad.A bully thats all you are,hope you pick on the wrong person some day.Maybe then you will get manners.

I have plenty of manners,he knew well I was in my twenties he was just tryna be the big man asking me for Id in front of the other lads that worked there,and he got put in his place,big time,I was coming from the gym and wearing a tracksuit and was about worse for wear from training,maybe he thought I was a young hoodlum or something,but Im not gettinf asked for ID by anyone,espeicially by some kid who is clearly alot younger then me

was in off-license buying 3 cans of guniness for myself and a baby powers for the Da

Did you argue this part to the guy working there, I'm sure it would have helped loads in your situation:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

I have plenty of manners,he knew well I was in my twenties he was just tryna be the big man asking me for Id in front of the other lads that worked there,and he got put in his place,big time,I was coming from the gym and wearing a tracksuit and was about worse for wear from training,maybe he thought I was a young hoodlum or something,but Im not gettinf asked for ID by anyone,espeicially by some kid who is clearly alot younger then me
    He cant be that younger than you if he can work in an off licence and he obviously thought that you looked young and was trying to do his job.So cut him a bit of slack and calm down.