Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

top 5 affordable aegs under 250e

• 23-02-2009 1:19am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭

in your opinion what are the best aegs for under that price?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

No particular order:

JG G36C

Kalash AK74SU/AK74/AK74S

TM/ARMY AK47

Dboys M4

TM mp7

Just aegs I have had first hand experience of.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

have a jg wad thinking to get a dboys m4

• Registered Users Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Couple of lads I know have the dboys M4,only one of them had a problem with gear alignment.Of course if you get one from eirsoft they will take care of any troubles.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

G&G M4/16 "Popular/Plastica" variants: At €190-200 it's the priciest of the bunch but still under your limit. I bought one of these just to get my mitts on the gearbox, such is the incredible quality.

JG G36c/G36k: Gods gift to budget airsoft, €160-190. The damn thing is indestructible it seems, the workhorse of beginner rifles. It's reputation precedes it and needs no introduction.

JG Styer AUG A1/2/3: Just as reliable as it's G36 sister, but in a bullpup package (which some people love, others loathe). The A3 is a true beast, with a complete rail kit and an actual LiPo ready gearbox (as opposed to KWA's false claims, this one actually is) with a preinstalled MOSFET. €150-190 depending on variant.

DBoys M4/16 variants: The starting point for many airsofters who want an Armalite. Metal bodies with good gearboxes and enough variants to cover just about every single possible version of an Armalite made it seems. Their bodies generally don't have markings but are strong and sturdy, and at €150-190, they're a bargain.

Kalash AK variants: Same deal as the DBoys M4/16's. Metal bodies, sometimes steel. Often have proper wood grips as opposed to the wood effect grips found on even a lot of high ends. Loads of variants. Great finish and a solid performer. €150-180

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

there's a G&G high end armalite rifle for about 250squid, I think it might be the R4., the quallity is very nice., :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭peter-pantslez

i can vouch for what Dex and hande hoche with whats they say about the jg g36c and the dboys m4.

i always hated the g36 then i got one and i have to say i have used my m4 in ages it fantastic and you can stick a 9.6v battery in to and get a great rate of fire out of it!!

the m4 s are also great you can get so many add ons, accessories, and spare parts for them! iv got 2 dboys ones an old one with a plastic body and a newer full metal one and both are still going strong.

and a friend of mine has the jg steyr aug a1 and he says it deadly.

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭irishlostboy

the A3 is a beast, with lots of upgrade options. but you have to get some sort of sight seperate. the plastic yokes that it comes with are a total joke. but then with all that railage, i dont think anyone is buying it to have ironsights on it. i love my A3.

yeah a3looks great read the reviews here and it seems to have alot thatmost cheaper guns dont have!have a jg g36c its great!!

The great thing about the ones I mentioned above is that they're all well under the €250 limit, so even if you choose the most expensive on that list, you still have plenty of change for extras like sights, mags etc. Budget aegs are actually good enough these days to consider over high ends on occasion. CA G36c's are the bones of €350, the JG is €160 and outperforms it in every sense, so getting it leaves you with shy of €200 to spend on Guccifying your gear. Things have come a long way since I started and it's only getting more affordable.

yeah thats what iwas thinking,iwas going get a top tech hk416 or a vfc scar,iv saved for ages but then i wouldnt be able afford a sight or extra mags,also you need add bout 50 to a highend for a battery!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

Again JG g36c as said before, for that price is a steal.

Seeming how you're more than likely going to be starting out with one gun you want that one to be reliable.

The worst thing is to have to be constantly handing in your gun to be repaired.

Believe me on that one...

Also the G&G Plastica or Popular range, is amazing.
    Brilliantly built and the performance is like all G&Gs, brilliant.

have the jg g36c want something diff to spice things up.the a3 mags are 15 for jg type in eirsoft,the ca mags for a3 are 26e in mia and 35e in go tactical why such a difference in the 2 ca type mags!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

G&G High End M4A1 Carbine

It is a high end G&G, full metal body and the gearbox that makes this things drip sex. It comes in at a nice price because its just a plain old m4a1, and G&G recognise that they shouldnt demand high prices. One of the finest carbines you will see on the market.

G&g UMP

A SMG for those who want to stand out from the crowd of MP5. At €250 euro, it boasts a gorgous constructed body with a nice feel and sweet cocking handle. Mags are severely quick to reload and one of the few AEG's to actually be more silent with a silencer.

JG MP5 series

The best mp5 on the market behind the G&G one imo. For €150, you get a decent enough plastic body, but its the range, accuracy and rate of fire that puts this above some of the more longer budget range rifles. Can suffer from the odd wobble, but an absolute beauty to fire.

G&G popular /plastic series

Starting out with m4carbines, m16 carbines, expect to see this guys swarm the field. With top notch G&G internals in a high quality plastic body, this is what the CA Sportslines should have been. There is absolutely no reason why these will not overtake the clone market in this country, there is simply no comparison. You dont rate this against clones, cause they kick the bollox outa clones, you rate these against high ends, where the only fall down on the externals. And with G&g promising a 416 and mp5 range in this series, I for one am itching to see them come in stock.

JG G36 range

The G36c gave Jg its name. Reliant, durable, performance and lightweight. JG have continued this trend with all of their products in recent times and have become probably the top clone manafacturer. It is always recomended as the finest starter gun, and behind the G&G plastica range, I tend to agree.

And to add some spice.

The top 5 things that amaze me people keep on buying.

DE UMP.

There is only two UMP's on the market worth mentioning, this and the G&G one. Compare the two together and the G&G one smacks the arse of the DE one with a wet fish. It completely baffles me why people wont shed out the extra 100 euro to get a gun that will mop the floor with most high ends, nevermind clones. Considering the DE needs some work outa the box to even comepte with Dboys and Jing Gong, it baffles me why people get them. But like that, there is a big demand.

Classic Army Sportslines

I think this stems from today. Had a number of people into me asking why we dont sell classic army. I think I forget sometimes airsoft is a worldwide sport, not just irish. And CA still have a good rep abroad in the states. But its just so well known that they are piss poor here. Constant trouble and snags, granted some lucky people have good ones, but most of them completely rattle and bend, shoddy plastic body, piss poor magazines and an atrocious gearbox. Even more shocking is they cost the same as a G&G plastica, I know what I would take. I dont see how people keep falling into buying them though, obviously not researching enough. An interesting article i must link here later, an american airsoft dealer in the states, had a 85% return on these with internal issues, from selling over 200 units, thats shocking.

ESS Turbo Fans.

I cannot believe there are people who have spent €140 for these, and a guy yesterday telling me he got a bargain on them for €100 buying from the UK. Maybe its just my history of playing sports that require running around with eye protection, but seriously. Kitchen roll, drip of water, dap of washing up liquid, apply to glasses, then clean with dry kitchen roll. Thats all you need, for absolutely any pair of glasses. So much so I've got 4 pairs of lidls glasses, and not once had fogging issues. My arena flackjacks i get away with not having to clean for a while, but I just cant ever see myself spending that money on goggles.

ACU Camoflauge

I dont even need to get into it do I

Desert Eagles.

Possibly the most ridic skirmish gun I've ever seen. I know the cool factor for colelctors, but I've seen these absolute hand cannons swinging from peoples thigs in the field, and it leaves me baffled.

The top 5 under rated

Double Eagle shotguns.

€40 shotugn, your having a laugh right? At 300 fps with accuracy up to 60 feet, no I'm not laughing. This baby saw first action in the warehouse where it literally mopped the floor, then saw immense lane clearance in HRTA, and it was literaly only then I watched about 50 units walk out the door. I myself, saw a member of Na Madra absolutely tear up HRTa with one of these and said to myself that I need one. It is literally the best gun you will buy sub €100 I feel.

Fastmags

I've been using fastmags now for a few months, and I cannot believe I have played without them. A test shown on sunday, using fastmags, the point from releasing the mag from magwell, to inserting new mag and fire, is 1.5 seconds. I dont know bout anyone else, but been able to sustain 8 mags of fire, with loosing 10 seconds to reloading, is just a ridic advantage. I have people say to me they look like you would loose mags, or you cant access them quickly. I actually got convinced to buy them from Masada, who said they are really "Readymags" so that you can move mags from there to your nomal molle magpuches quickly to get ready to reload. But ive dumped them altogether, its fastmags all the way. And for 6 bucks a pop, thats having a laugh.

Clones

Over a year ago a clone might have been something to be ashamed off. But it seems clones these days are impeccable, and are compeltely surpasing some brands considered high ends ( Classic army, TM for example). The JG AUG A3, ACM P90 and more recently the Masada, are example of how clone companies can really churn out a fantastic product that can compete on the highest level. And with price tags of always sub €200 euro, they are a steal.

Type 89

I first saw this carried by Dar from the band of hawks, oldish looking, with batteries taped the side and thought " what a hideos creature" then I witnessed it being wielded by the master himself, it was like Mace Windu with a lightsabre, literally cutting through people with a 3 round burst. It is a rifle constantly overlooked, not modern enough, looks ****ty, but is one of the most accurate and efficent rifles i've laid my eyes on. And granted there is a clone version that is practicully par for par with the TM, and costs only 180, I cant believe I have not seen more of these on the field.

Dual Wielding

Its something I thought I'd see ****loads in airsoft. I thought I'd walk into fields and warehouses with tons of blokes in shades and leather jackets mincing around with two mp5k's and m9's. Suprised that I dont, but tbh its such an effective method of play. I witnessed Gar from Ghosts obliterate literally a whole 15 man team in the warehouse, walking casually firing two mp5ks like he was something outa Equilibrium. I myself have had one or more "Matrix" moment firing two pistols at once to great effect. Now granted I've seen some horrendous attempts at duel wielding, its when I see Dr.Pepper duel wield two m16's with m203s that makes you think, " ****, two 25 rps rifles are ****ing much better then one"

• Registered Users Posts: 14,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The top 5 guns that amaze me people keep on buying.

ESS Turbo Fans.

I cannot believe there are people who have spent €140 for these, and a guy yesterday telling me he got a bargain on them for €100 buying from the UK. Maybe its just my history of playing sports that require running around with eye protection, but seriously. Kitchen roll, drip of water, dap of washing up liquid, apply to glasses, then clean with dry kitchen roll. Thats all you need, for absolutely any pair of glasses. So much so I've got 4 pairs of lidls glasses, and not once had fogging issues. My arena flackjacks i get away with not having to clean for a while, but I just cant ever see myself spending that money on goggles.

ACU Camoflauge

I dont even need to get into it do I

ACU and goggles are guns now? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

Blay wrote: »
    ACU and goggles are guns now? :pac:

Leave him alone, he just got into a serious "thing" there. :p

Excuse the funny way of replying, no copy paste functions on the iPhone so this won't be hugely well structured as a quote reply.
    That's a fair bit above the €250 budget. I do agree, you can't go wrong with one, they're just about flawless, but it's not a budget aeg really. If you include things in the high end price bracket you've got innumerate choices unavailable to those on a budget.
    G&g UMP
    No arguments here, I still want one. Quality is fiercly good and it performs as well as it feels.
    JG MP5 series
    I should have tweaked this myself, especially given that I own one. Such an underrated aeg but so very effective.
    G&G popular /plastic series
    Again, cannot but agree. I bought one just to get the gearbox, such is the unfathomably excellent quality.
    JG G36 range
    Always my first recommendation to new players or people wanting a new, reliable aeg. Remarkable quality for the price. JG have moved into being a mid-range company now, rather than a clone thanks to their outstanding performance and reliability.
    And to add some spice.

DE UMP.
    This one baffled me too, especially since, when you hold the G&G one beside it, the quality of the plastics become laughable.
    Classic Army Sportslines
    I've hated them since day 1, before even the "incidents" began to occur with them. The plastic body always looked and felt weak and cheap. The internals, as it turned out, reflected the externals. Utter tat.

ESS Turbo Fans.
    I see the point of these. Airflow is important to eliminate fogging obviously, but even more so for those of us who wear glasses. Getting a good pair of goggles to fit over glasses without being uncomfortable, restricting airflow, pressuring the sides of the glasses, limiting view and fogging the goggles, glasses or both is an absolute nightmare. Those of us who aren't able to use contacts are willing to spend good money on this perpetually frustrating problem. None of the recognised solutions are cheap, but this is one of them so it'll be bought.
    ACU Camoflauge
    In airsoft in Ireland, the average engagement range is 20 yards. At that range, let's face it, your target could be wearing a tree and still be seen. I use ACU as a loadout, not a camoflage, in much the same way I use my desert DPM. Neither blend in to grassland, but then the way I play usually has me out of cover, doing a lot of shouting, so I'm not going to blend in anyway.
    Desert Eagles
    I felt the same until I brought mine to a skirmish and found it to be surprisingly effective. I originally did it as a joke but it turned out to fit just about perfectly in the front pouch of my molle vest so it didn't interfere with anything, and it's position there made it a perfect left hand draw pistol (something that I needed).
    Besides, everyone needs some kind of nonsensical rifle or pistol that's just nothing but fun. You have your chrome 6-shot revolver which you draw with visceral relish on occasion. The Desert Eagle is just the same for others.
    The top 5 under rated

Double Eagle shotguns.
    A near perfect clone of my TM M3 shotgun, that cost me €240, for forty bucks? Anyone who doesn't have one should be shot with one.
    Fastmags
    I'm not a fan. They're a great idea but they take up too much room for me. You'd get about 6 Fastmags onto the front of a molle vest, which is just 6 mags. When I'm using locap or realcap mags, 6 isn't an option, not when I can hold that many in just 3 small twins, or even 2 triples, leaving room for other vitals like grenades and pistol mags.
    Clones[/quotes]

They've opened up the market to being accessible at all price ranges, and kept the high end makers on their toes to be inventive with new products and produce higher standard equipment as clones begun to match them. They can only be hailed as a positive force in airsoft.
    Type 89
    Ugly, horrific thing that proves the same point as the FA-MAS. The most reviled can also be most revered.
    Dual Wielding
    Dual wielding looks the business and is immense fun. Until you need to reload...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

I am suprised at you Dex.

You forgot the single most n00b-proof rifle ever to come out of TM works. The daddy of them all, the FAMAS.

Sure, its ugly as Bulldog trying to lick the back of its own head but ignore the aesthetics (and the horrific creaking). The gear box, barrel and rate of fire are substantially better than a lot of other peices outof the box and even a large proportion after upgrade. Mine is second hand and has been through the mill and it's still accurate, fast and light.

It's also usually available for around the €200 note mark new.

Edit: Bollocks. Note to self: Read ALL the posts before responding.

Your recce and spotting skills are fading fast...

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

DE UMP.

There is only two UMP's on the market worth mentioning, this and the G&G one. Compare the two together and the G&G one smacks the arse of the DE one with a wet fish. It completely baffles me why people wont shed out the extra 100 euro to get a gun that will mop the floor with most high ends, nevermind clones. Considering the DE needs some work outa the box to even comepte with Dboys and Jing Gong, it baffles me why people get them. But like that, there is a big demand.

Have to disagree. Mine shot 327 out of the box. Still 100% Stock. Great effective range for a 9cm barrel. Mags are infalable, unlike some other models, though there are a shortage of options bar Hi-caps. I've probably put bottle after bottle through mine, and lots of dry firing. Opened her up like two months ago, slight wear on the piston teet, but very slight(Running 9.6 BTW). Greased and reasembled. I have mistreated mine so much(only cost €89 back in the day), it shouldn't be in one piece at this stage. Ask everyone at YG Day 2, I was the meatflag and that UMP perforemed seamlessly. Also, see the quote below. Hate to burst you're bubble there Doc :D
    Elemoe2 has sent you a message:

fingal young guns
    when do....

btw: im the guy with DE UMP i got the 9.6V firefox and it's incredible.

whas the jg hk416 like is it as good as there a3?also what grenade launcher will fit the a3?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

bazza888 wrote: »
    whas the jg hk416 like is it as good as there a3?also what grenade launcher will fit the a3?

The AUG A3 will take an airsoft M203 launcher. Unlike the real world we dont need all the extra doohickeys.

will a short m203 not stick out very far on an aug a3?

It'll take an M203 long or short, but to be honest, the Madbull XM203 looks a heck of a lot better on it. The regular M203 leaves a gap between the launcher body and the rail it connects to that (to me anyway) looks awful. The XM203 uses the whole rail along the length of the launcher, leaving no gap (and is consequently leaving it a lot more solid too).

yeah i saw that one it looks more compact,nobodys mentioned the jg hk416,is it any good?

It's JG, therefore yes, it's great. It has a plastic body (a point that surprises people when I tell them that after they pick it up and don't believe it's plastic). They perform brilliantly and are a nice alternative to the usual M4's but will still accept just about any accessory made for an M4/16 (see where they got the name?)

yeah i like the one with the collapsable stock but hate the peq box!have make a trip to the shops to check all these out soon!are the rails plastic aswell?

No, the rails are metal. If you dislike the PEQ (and who could blame you?) you could always rewire the gearbox so the battery can be placed in the stock, then just get a regular Crane stock from an M4 and stick a battery in that.

do you know does the battery go in the stock in the solid stock jg hk416 or the under the rails

Any rifle with a solid stock (bar ones like the M14) take the battery in the stock. It's actually the best system I reckon, it's the easiest to change and means you can use any battery size you want due to the huge space.

yeah im starting to like the 416 because of the huge ammount of things i could add to it 160e is great value aswell!want get a silencer and red dot sight,hand grip etc