Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie giving lectures in Central America on the success of the Celtiic Tiger model.

• 23-02-2009 11:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

According to the Irish Times on Saturday Berty O Ahern is currenty travelling Central America giving lectures on Irelands great economic success. With tickets being charged at $150, and “formal dress code” and cocktails were served after Senor Bertie’s speech. As if the state pension is not enough.
    Governments in developing countries have been warned that a smooth-talking Irish charmer who tours the globe peddling the secrets of Ireland’s great economic success is a wanted man at home for running the country into the ground.

Former taoiseach Bertie Ahern and his mangy tiger were in Central America this week, delivering a keynote lecture to the Honduran National Business Council. It was entitled "The Celtic Tiger" The Irish Model of Development.

While meanwhile Back in Ireland, as politicians bickered while the economy spiralled further out of control; as the banking system went into meltdown and citizens took to the streets in protest, there was no sign of the man who took the nation from boom to bust, leaving others to deal with the resultant mess".
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0221/1224241586161.html

• Registered Users Posts: 22,424 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Is Bertie Ahern not supposed to be a sitting td?
    We're paying him a feckin fortune and he's not even bothering to do the job

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Lyle Lanley: Well, sir, there's nothing on earth
    Like a genuine,
    Bona fide,
    Electrified,
    Six-car
    Monorail!
    What'd I say?
    Ned Flanders: Monorail!
    Lyle Lanley: What's it called?
    Patty+Selma: Monorail!
    Lyle Lanley: That's right! Monorail!
    [crowd chants `Monorail' softly and rhythmically]
    Miss Hoover: I hear those things are awfully loud...
    Lyle Lanley: It glides as softly as a cloud.
    Apu: Is there a chance the track could bend?
    Lyle Lanley: Not on your life, my Hindu friend.
    Barney: What about us brain-dead slobs?
    Lyle Lanley: You'll be given cushy jobs.
    Abe: Were you sent here by the devil?
    Lyle Lanley: No, good sir, I'm on the level.
    Wiggum: The ring came off my pudding can.
    Lyle Lanley: Take my pen knife, my good man.
    I swear it's Springfield's only choice...
    Throw up your hands and raise your voice!
    All: Monorail!
    Lyle Lanley: What's it called?
    Lyle Lanley: Once again...
    Marge: But Main Street's still all cracked and broken...
    Bart: Sorry, Mom, the mob has spoken!
    Monorail!
    Monorail!
    [big finish]
    Monorail!
    Homer: Mono... D'oh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Give it a whirl through google translate?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

"Welcome to the distinguished Irish "conference-giver""

Businessmen, civil servents and members of the capital (ie city) society,came together on the 19th of Feb in the function froom of the Marriott Hotel of Tegucigalpa to drink a cocktail in honor of the ex-primte minister of Ireland (1997-2008), Patrick Bartholomew, better known as Bertie Ahern.

(puke at the fawning..)

During the three-day visit, the distinguished Irish speaker arrived in the country on the 18th of Feb to give a talk on "The Celtic Tiger": the Irish model of development" to members of the Honduran Council for Private Enterprise (aka COHEP).

During the address, Bertie Ahern discussed important themes of social interest.

The intention of COHEP is to invite figures like Mr. Ahern to be presented, as examples, of the processes that other countries have followed to remove themselves from poverty.

In his country, the professional (Ahern) acted under various political roles, including: Mayor of Dublin, Minister for enterprise & employment, minister for finance, leader of the political party Fianna Fail and president of the European Council..err Council of Europe.

Edit: meh, looks like Google can do it better and faster than I can.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Zynks

The relevant bits on the first article:
    EGUCIGALPA.-
    El propósito del COHEP, es invitar a personalidades como el señor Ahern, a que expongan, con ejemplos, los procesos que han seguido otros países para salir de la pobreza.

En su país, el profesional fungió en diversos cargos políticos entre otros como: Alcalde de Dublín, ministro de trabajo, ministro de finanzas, líder del partido político Fianna Fail, y presidente del Consejo Europeo.

The purpose of COHEP is to invite figures like Mr. Ahern to present with examples processes followed by other countries to come out of poverty.

In his country he (Bertie) had several political roles such as: Mayor in Dublin, minister of work (ent. & employment), finance minister, leader of FF, and president of the european council.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Zynks

If nobody has done it by then, I wil translate the second one later. basically Bertie's case is being used to support the candidacy of the nationalist party candidate for president.

He seems to be proposing social partnership as the way forward and is commending the candidate for their national development plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

• Registered Users Posts: 24,077 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I didn't know there was a comedy circuit in that part of the world. Surely his agent would know that his routine might get more laughs at Jongleurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

Well, he should go down a bundle in South America. He comes from a mostly Catholic country, with lots of priests, gunmen and gangsters with massive unemployment, unrest and run by a barely incompetent, corrupt government riddled with croneyism and nepotism. A country where a tiny elite ensure they get richer at the expense of everyone else.

Sound just like a lot of South American countries. To top it all the man himself is implicated in corruption accusations. I wonder how much his bribe, sorry fee is. He should put it all on a horse, he's good at that apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,809 ✭✭✭thomasj

Akrasia wrote: »
    Is Bertie Ahern not supposed to be a sitting td?
    We're paying him a feckin fortune and he's not even bothering to do the job

Throw in the news of berties 111.000 pension he received last year read that news on one of the papers over the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭r0nanf

Smirking and jetting round the world on his lap of honour, makes me sick. I was in Honduras in January, and the last thing the poorest country in the western hemisphere needs is our blueprint for cronyism and corruption. Less like Celtic Tiger, more like Golden Calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Not often I agree with Bob Geldof, but......
    Banana Republic
    Septic Isle
    Screaming in the suffering sea
    It sounds like crying
    Everywhere I go
    Everywhere I see
    The black and blue uniforms
    Police and priests

The purple and the pinstripe
    Mutely shake their heads
    A silence shrieking volumes
    A violence worse than they condemn
    Stab you in the back yeah
    Laughing in your face
    Glad to see the place again
    It's a pity nothing's changed
    http://www.lyricsdownload.com/boomtown-rats-banana-republic-lyrics.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 6,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Macha

http://www.latribuna.hn/news/49/ARTICLE/56939/2009-02-19.html

The ex-prime minister of the Republic of Ireland, Bertie, met with the Liberal Party's presidential candidate, Elvin Santos, and with other leaders of the same party. The purpose of the meeting was the share their experiences in the "economic and social miracle" of his (Bertie's) country that, during the last few years, has reached the highest qualities of life.

During the meeting, the visitor, who comes from the Republican Praty of Ireland, expressed to the liberal leaders, how Ireland used to be one of the poorest nations in Europe but achieved a fundamental change, based on a social pact that brought about 5 large national agreements.

He continued with details that these agreements consisted of a programme of national recovery, a programme for social and economic progress, a programme for competitiveness and work, a pact for inclusion, employment and equity and finally a programme for properity and equality among Irish people

• Registered Users Posts: 24,077 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

taconnol wrote: »
    http://www.latribuna.hn/news/49/ARTICLE/56939/2009-02-19.html

The ex-prime minister of the Republic of Ireland, Bertie, met with the Liberal Party's presidential candidate, Elvin Santos, and with other leaders of the same party. The purpose of the meeting was the share their experiences in the "economic and social miracle" of his (Bertie's) country that, during the last few years, has reached the highest qualities of life.

During the meeting, the visitor, who comes from the Republican Praty of Ireland, expressed to the liberal leaders, how Ireland used to be one of the poorest nations in Europe but achieved a fundamental change, based on a social pact that brought about 5 large national agreements.

He continued with details that these agreements consisted of a programme of national recovery, a programme for social and economic progress, a programme for competitiveness and work, a pact for inclusion, employment and equity and finally a programme for properity and equality among Irish people

They've obviously missed the last paragraph from his recipe for success, the one that discusses the shape of pears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Bertie couldn't pocket the money though ,could he ?
    Surely we pay for the flights and stuff like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭diverdriver

They've obviously missed the last paragraph from his recipe for success, the one that discusses the shape of pears.

No, the last paragraph would have described the later off the record meeting where Bertie explained how to convince 'friends' to give you 'dig outs' and later he held a Cheltenham Preview Night where he outlined his foolproof money making tips for the festival.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Well, he should go down a bundle in South America. He comes from a mostly Catholic country, with lots of priests, gunmen and gangsters with massive unemployment, unrest and run by a barely incompetent, corrupt government riddled with croneyism and nepotism. A country where a tiny elite ensure they get richer at the expense of everyone else.

Sound just like a lot of South American countries. To top it all the man himself is implicated in corruption accusations. I wonder how much his bribe, sorry fee is. He should put it all on a horse, he's good at that apparently.

One minor quibble. You describe our country as being run by 'a barely incompetent, corrupt government'. You give them far too little credit sir! They are completely and utterly incompetent.
    Apart from that i believe your post to be spot on.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

As the man said himself, everything was fine while he was in charge - the gobs**t.

Perhaps he is spreading his own peculiar brand of socialism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Wouldn't put it past bertie ,that he may have organised his own departure from fianna fail.

cute hur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Is this acceptible from a sitting TD? :mad: Is it even legal?

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭eoinbn

Is this acceptible from a sitting TD? :mad: Is it even legal?

Anything goes in the land of FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

the us installed dictators, you didnt' like that and kicked them out, so do what we did and invite them in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Can't we email them to warn them of what Bertie's plans lead to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Snakeoil salesman Ahern strikes again! How long do we have to put up with him tarnishing the whole political system? His position as Taoiseach became untenable, and he should be forced to leave his job as a TD aswell. Fannying around the other side of the world doing nixers when he should be representing the people of his constituency in the Dáil is an absolute disgrace. Bertie Ahern appears so corrupt he is beneath contempt at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭LoveDucati2

ascanbe wrote: »
    One minor quibble. You describe our country as being run by 'a barely incompetent, corrupt government'. You give them far too little credit sir! They are completely and utterly incompetent.
    Apart from that i believe your post to be spot on.;)

Brilliant

Hopefully he offends someone down there, and they use their usual skills at erasing people, best wishes Bert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

I can imagine his opening gambit ...

"Ha oído usted de una burbuja de propiedad?" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Opening statement, I have no bank account in your country I'm that poor, any chance of a dig out?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I suppose it gives him a chance to wear that nice yellow jacket of his.

Perhaps they haven't heard how our economic miracle has worked out :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Nodin wrote: »

You do know we are, in fact ahh, the biggest banana exporter in Europe.

All thanks to Fyyfesand the crop from Belize.

I am not allowed discuss …