Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WHV Work thread - What Industries Are Still Booming Down Here?

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭jockey#1

jockey#1 wrote: »
    Hey everyone,

Just looking for any advice from anybody working in accounting downunder. Are there many jobs? I am thinking of heading to Brisbane in September, I see a load of jobs with agencies but I don't know how 'real' they are!

Would appreciate any feedback.

Cheers

Jockey

Anybody able to offer their opinion here? Accountants in Oz must be having too much of a good time not to be able to reply!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I have a question for those in the trade. What are the chances of someone (not me, a friend) getting a job in OZ through sponsorship. He is a qualified electrician with 8 years work exp behind him. WHV is already used up so thats a no no.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

jank wrote: »
    I have a question for those in the trade. What are the chances of someone (not me, a friend) getting a job in OZ through sponsorship. He is a qualified electrician with 8 years work exp behind him. WHV is already used up so thats a no no.

It wouldn't be impossible but there are factors to consider.

I am not a trade Electrician but have completed the NREL Restricted Licence because the Linear Accelerator is over 650V and hard connected and that course was 14 weeks.

As far as I gather to work as a general Electrician you require an Electrical Licence and to get that you have to do the Gap Training no matter how much experience you have. This is the info from Vetassess.

Background to 457 Skills Assessments
    The Australian Government offers a program called the Subclass 457 Business (Long Stay) Visa – Standard Business Sponsorship (subclass 457 visa) visa for Australian employers to sponsor approved skilled workers from outside Australia to work in Australia on a temporary visa.
    From 1 July 2009, the Australian Government has introduced changes to the Subclass 457 visa program in order to ensure that it continues to provide Australian industry with the skills it needs and to improve the program for overseas workers.
    Trades Recognition Australia (TRA) is progressively introducing formal skills assessments from 1 July 2009 for 457 visa applicants from 10 nominated countries in 5 nominated trade occupations.
    From 1 July 2009 temporary workers applying for a 457 visa in the nominated trades from the nominated countries must undertake a five step skills assessment managed by Trades Recognition Australia.
    One electrical trade occupation has been included in the list of trades nominated for a skills assessment: General Electrician. A licence is required to work in this trade in Australia. The information below relates to the skills assessment and licensing in Australia.
    Information for Overseas worker (Employee)
    Overseas workers seeking sponsorship in the licensed trade of General Electrician will be assessed in their country of origin by an Australian Registered Training Organisation (RTO).
    Overseas workers who meet the technical requirements for the range of duties required for the occupations will be issued an Offshore Technical Skills Record (OTSR).
    When you arrive in Australia you will need to apply to the relevant state/territory licensing regulator for a provisional electrical licence. A provisional licence allows you to work under the supervision of a qualified tradesperson. You must present your OTSR to the licensing regulator when you apply for the provisional licence.
    Contact details of licensing authorities for all states/territories may be found at: http://www.licencerecognition.gov.au/authorities.aspx
    Even though your skills assessment will confirm your technical skills, you will naturally not be familiar with specific Australian knowledge such as Australian wiring rules, occupational health and safety regulations, and codes of practice and other Australian standards. Gap training has been developed to help migrants meet the Australian specific knowledge gap.

The gap training will consist of:
    gaining essential knowledge and skills from a Registered Training Organisation (RTO)
    completing up to 12 months work experience under appropriate supervision; and
    passing a compliance assessment related to safety and compliance testing to Australian standards
    More information on the gap training is available at the ElectroComms and Energy Utilities Industry Skills Council website : http://www.ee-oz.com.au/content/view/82/56/.
    Once you have successfully completed the gap training and been issued with the required Certificate III qualification you can present this qualification to the relevant licensing regulator to be issued a full electrical licence.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,336 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

If he isn't already over here then it would be very hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Caroline B

I don't agree that you can't get sponsorship unless you are here - it's just not true. It really depends what level you are at and what you are prepared to do to get a job. A lot of the work here is by word of mouth or by people with connections referring you - maybe thats what the previous poster meant. There are loads of mining/construction companies looking for contract workers with good experience still here. I put a link to an agency further up the thread I know hooks people up with interviews before they come over, by Skype and by phone, has them fully VETassessed etc so you know what youre able for - you've nothing to lose from getting your friend to email them his CV (if you're worried about personal info, take personal details out and just leave professional stuff!!) and asking them if they can help. There are only 2 answers, right?

Nice one, cheers for the info.

There is an IT job going in my place.

Senior Technical Support Consultant
    Min 5 years exp needed

PM me for more details.

This job is still going. 457 Sponsorship is also on offer for the right person.
    Drop me a PM if interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 dabbido

Guys, as a recent civil engineering graduate I'm thinking of heading to Oz for a while. Anybody know if there is still a shortage of engineers out there, or how difficult it would be to get work in this profession? Heard a rumour saying there are jobs in Perth?
    Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

dabbido wrote: »
    Heard a rumour saying there are jobs in Perth?
    Cheers

Really jobs in perth thats mad stuff ted....

Sorry i jest try seek.com.au and see what it tells you

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

dabbido wrote: »
    Guys, as a recent civil engineering graduate I'm thinking of heading to Oz for a while. Anybody know if there is still a shortage of engineers out there, or how difficult it would be to get work in this profession? Heard a rumour saying there are jobs in Perth?
    Cheers

Same as any other professional job if you got plenty of experience should not be a problem although the 6 month work restriction can sometimes be a bit limiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Heard the pay is ridiculously good in WA for, well, pretty much everything

Anybody able to confirm? Thinking of stopping off there for a couple of months' work before going to Thailand on the way home.

I suppose I'd be looking for IT work, but even labouring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 j_doyler

Hi Everyone,

I'm thinking about making the big move myself, I'm currently living in Dublin with 3 years Software Development experience and a Degree in Computer Engineering.

Would any of you know about the prospect from Software Engineers over in Australia?

Thanks for reading!

Zambia232 wrote: »
    First things first mate you need to specialise to be honest C+ , Oracle , java etc

Sorry I didn't want to bore people with the technicalities of Software Engineering this late on a Sunday night!!!!!
    In university I was introduced to C and C++ programming.
    When I moved into industry though I started programming into C#, VB.net and XML, I also spent some time working on a Mainframe so i picked up a bit of JCL and COBOL.
    Also have experience in the Agile Software Development Methodology.

Cheers for the quick reply!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

j_doyler wrote: »
    Sorry I didn't want to bore people with the technicalities of Software Engineering this late on a Sunday night!!!!!
    In university I was introduced to C and C++ programming.
    When I moved into industry though I started programming into C#, VB.net and XML, I also spent some time working on a Mainframe so i picked up a bit of JCL and COBOL.
    Also have experience in the Agile Software Development Methodology.

Cheers for the quick reply!

Monday Morning, Your half a day behind us.

Sorry my initial reply presumed you where looking to stay here full time hence you need a specialist route for a realistic chance of PR. I am no longer au fait with the SOL list.

However for a WHV this is a good range of skills the lads may even know where these skills are required.

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Monday Morning, Your half a day behind us.

Sorry my initial reply presumed you where looking to stay here full time hence you need a specialist route for a realistic chance of PR. I am no longer au fait with the SOL list.

However for a WHV this is a good range of skills the lads may even know where these skills are required.

I've taken a look at the SOL and Software Engineer is on the one released on the 1st of July 2010.

I would like to leave Ireland for longer than 1 year so I'm looking at any .NET programming jobs or pre sales engineer.

Thanks for the info

• Registered Users Posts: 6 guice_t

Hello,
    Was thinking about going to Perth for a year on a WHV. I just finished college in May and have an Arts Degree. Just wondering does anybody know if I would have any chance of getting a labouring job or something similar in Perth. I also have bar experience, are there any pub jobs goin either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 alibenny

Hi All, this is my first post :) Myself and my boyfriend are flying over at the end of September. I am leaving a permanent grade 3 post in the HSE.(Tried hard for a career break but no joy) He is a qualified pipe welder/fabricator and has been out of work for nearly a year now, with no job prospects arising in this country. We are both going over on working holiday visas but hopefully will either live in a rural area for 3 months (somewhere not too rural with good job prospects?? any advice?) or work in a farm (would prefer the rural living if possible) in order to get our 2nd year visa. We will be going to Sydney for the first week to family and then move on from there. we were thinking of Melbourne as the temps are bareable in the summer (and i am a typial fair skinned irish cailin) Has anyone any advise to give us? all advise truly welcome!! My boyfriend getting work in his profession is the most important, we can build from there. I have excellant office skills (which i know are a dime a dozen over) with a quality management diploma but I really am willing to work at anything. Can anyone offer us advise on the best place to get work in my boyfriends field/best place to live etc. all advise welcome

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭betting fool

Hi,Just want to know how tricky is it to get a job in sydney in the insurance/customer service sector.I see there are alot of these jobs advertised on Seek and mycareer but most seem to be with agencies. Are there really that many jobs going in Sydney??Do anyone have any experience is looking for office based jobs.Im 25 and working in insurance for 3 years and have irish insurance exmas qualification, also higher cert in business.Finally, if anyone knows the best time to look for these and what sort or wages would i be looking at??Thanks in advance...

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Chet Zar

alibenny wrote: »
    Hi All, this is my first post :) Myself and my boyfriend are flying over at the end of September. I am leaving a permanent grade 3 post in the HSE.(Tried hard for a career break but no joy) He is a qualified pipe welder/fabricator and has been out of work for nearly a year now, with no job prospects arising in this country. We are both going over on working holiday visas but hopefully will either live in a rural area for 3 months (somewhere not too rural with good job prospects?? any advice?) or work in a farm (would prefer the rural living if possible) in order to get our 2nd year visa. We will be going to Sydney for the first week to family and then move on from there. we were thinking of Melbourne as the temps are bareable in the summer (and i am a typial fair skinned irish cailin) Has anyone any advise to give us? all advise truly welcome!! My boyfriend getting work in his profession is the most important, we can build from there. I have excellant office skills (which i know are a dime a dozen over) with a quality management diploma but I really am willing to work at anything. Can anyone offer us advise on the best place to get work in my boyfriends field/best place to live etc. all advise welcome

Hey there,

The chances of his getting employed obviously depend on a load of different factors, but just look at the difference in unemployment rates. Australia's unemployment rate is 5.10% - Ireland's is 13.7%! So you are talking about 3 times less unemployment in Australia. I was over there in April and didn't hear the 'r' word mentioned once. No sign of a slowdown as far as I could see. Now that doesn't mean it hasn't been affected but it does vastly improve your chances of getting a decent job.

Do you mean you will go over and start the rural work straight away? That prob wouldn't make a lot of sense seeing as you need to see how you get on and how you like it before thinking of a second year visa. Also, your rural work doesn't have to be done all in the one go, you just need to work up your 88 days before the year is up. Just a tip in case you didn't know.

As regards where to live, both Sydney and Melbourne will be hot hot during the summer. But sure that is what you want, you can have the grey skies of Ireland any time! I hear great things about Melbourne but others say they prefer Sydney - really just depends on your own preferences. I haven't been to Melbourne but reckon it would have to be pretty special to beat Syd! Don't also rule out Western Oz - hear good things about Perth.

As regards rural work/getting your 2nd year visa - you might find this helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 21 swazzie

jockey#1 wrote: »
    Anybody able to offer their opinion here? Accountants in Oz must be having too much of a good time not to be able to reply!!

I'm new on here however can help with this one.
    I have lived in Brisbane for 5 years - left Ireland end of '05
    The accountancy positions have defintely picked up recently in Brisbane after a very slow 2 years.
    It does depends on how much expierence you have etc however in general there is a fair bit of work available in the mining sector for accountants.
    Agencies regurlarly advertise position that don't always exist. Also in general Brisbane companies don't tend to take people on short term contracts( in accountant roles) however there is a high demand for accountants at the moment so that is changing.
    Many of the bigger companies advertise on their own websites so worth doing a bit of reasearch.
    Good Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 elle3

Hi!
    im heading over to sydney the beginning of Dec with a couple of friends and was wondering does anyone know of social care jobs going, residential or otherwise? Or does anyone know of an agency that I could contact and join?
    thanks for reading!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭lucky-colm

am thinking of making the move next year
    i want to work in WA in the mines, generally because it would give me long hours of work so i could gather a good bit of money together. the move is not because i want to its because i have to.
    i drive machinery here and was hoping to get a job out there in the mines doing the same thing.
    i have heard that there is recruitment agencies that sort you out with a job before you go, and organise the visa for you aswell. so if anyone has a link for one of these could you stick it up.
    also any other relevant info would be great

i would also go to canada aswell as i hear their is mining jobs there aswell so if any of ye know about this any info would be great

thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Chet Zar wrote: »
    Hey there,

The chances of his getting employed obviously depend on a load of different factors, but just look at the difference in unemployment rates. Australia's unemployment rate is 5.10% - Ireland's is 13.7%! So you are talking about 3 times less unemployment in Australia. .

Or in the case of Sydney at least, zero unemployment. Anyone in Sydney who is jobless is too lazy to work, and tbh when you get something like 300 a week in a city this cheap, if you are living with your parents rent free its easy to see why so many cant be bothered working.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,727 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Hey guys,

I've a science background (Immunology/Microbiology) and I was wondering if anyone knew what the story is over there with science jobs. I am just finishing an MSc at the moment and I figured Oz might be a good place to see as I have done sweet feck all travelling. Also, how much cash would be required before moving over?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kazen26

Does anyone know the best way to secure farm work in oz? Im flying into Brisbane on ocy 26th and hope to work on the harvest trail for 3 months in order to secure my 2nd year visa before i turn 31 on March 26th 2011. I have looked at the website regarding the harvest trail. They only direst me to phone numbers. My friend who is in oz moved from sydney, alone to Cairns, on the basis of a phonecall. When she arrived, she was told there was no farm work for her, only bar work. I dont want this to happen to me. Any advice please? Im travelling alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Does anyone know what the legal profession and other areas requiring legal personnel are like at the mo?

I have a Masters Degree in law, well due to get it soon enough, not looking to become solicitor or barrister over there as that will require time and commitment and I wouldn't be looking to stay there long term. I was thinking more paralegal, legal executive or working in legal department of large companies. Thanks in advance for any info.

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

Dan133269 wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the legal profession and other areas requiring legal personnel are like at the mo?

I have a Masters Degree in law, well due to get it soon enough, not looking to become solicitor or barrister over there as that will require time and commitment and I wouldn't be looking to stay there long term. I was thinking more paralegal, legal executive or working in legal department of large companies. Thanks in advance for any info.

No idea what it's like at the moment but I used a temp agency called Legal Eagles when I first got here (over 4 years ago) and they were good for paralegal positions.

Seems like they've rebranded now and are http://www.randstad.com.au/jobseekers/candidate-services/legal.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 1986abcd

swazzie wrote: »
    I'm new on here however can help with this one.
    I have lived in Brisbane for 5 years - left Ireland end of '05
    The accountancy positions have defintely picked up recently in Brisbane after a very slow 2 years.
    It does depends on how much expierence you have etc however in general there is a fair bit of work available in the mining sector for accountants.
    Agencies regurlarly advertise position that don't always exist. Also in general Brisbane companies don't tend to take people on short term contracts( in accountant roles) however there is a high demand for accountants at the moment so that is changing.
    Many of the bigger companies advertise on their own websites so worth doing a bit of reasearch.
    Good Luck

Would this just apply to fully qualified accountants... are there any decent jobs for part qualified?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 ollie2426

Hi i am a qualified bricklayer/blocklayer have no work for the last two years , thinking about getting a skilled migration visa for Australia just wondering if its hard to get and what would be my best options I'm a 39 year old father of four and I spent the last 13 years working as a bricklayer I don't know anything else been on the building sites since I was 14.I need to get some work if not in this country then it's got to be somewhere else I don't care what part of Australia it is or how much a hour what ever ip.t is it's better then nothing. Is there much work if any at all for bricklayer. p.s done all the on line application forms and got 100 points any honest or true answers would be much appreciated. thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭padrepio

ollie2426 wrote: »
    Hi i am a qualified bricklayer/blocklayer have no work for the last two years , thinking about getting a skilled migration visa for Australia just wondering if its hard to get and what would be my best options I'm a 39 year old father of four and I spent the last 13 years working as a bricklayer I don't know anything else been on the building sites since I was 14.I need to get some work if not in this country then it's got to be somewhere else I don't care what part of Australia it is or how much a hour what ever ip.t is it's better then nothing. Is there much work if any at all for bricklayer. p.s done all the on line application forms and got 100 points any honest or true answers would be much appreciated. thanks

could be a bit of a delay getting that skilled migration visa through which is a big problem. cant see any harm in applying for it, hopefully someone else can give you more advise on this. anything employer nominated would be quicker, try and use any contacts you have from home maybe some builder you know has come over here and might sponsor you. Plenty of work here in construction anyway wouldnt be sure on blocklaying but I'm sure you would chance anything at this stage. The real money construction wise in Aus is in the remote areas, takes a bit of networking, lick arsing and being based in Perth to give yourself the best chance of getting into one of those crews. Tough life for a family man that game - 26 days on 9 days off but the dollars will come rolling in.

Best of luck with it. A very sad story yours but same as anything else once you make it out here and get earning things will start looking up.