Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gmail Offline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭niallb

IMAP access is mostly working, though authenticated SMTP is not,
    so you'll have to make alternative arrangements for sending mail.
    This means you can access your mail with an application such as Thunderbird,
    or the mail client on your phone, but not using the gmail web interface.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

what?
    just give me my mail!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Des wrote: »
    Why do you lie?

WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY??????????????????????

:(:(:(

I've had access now for the past 10 minutes so I have.
    It's still occasionally glitching when I delete messages and chat isnt working but I can navigate through mail fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Might actually be slightly productive today due to no g-talk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    I really need to setup an offline sync of all my gmail account.

It's pretty handy, although I didn't notice that anything was down until someone said it to me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭smackyB

Withdrawal symptoms in 3...2...1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭vigos

you can track the status of the problem here

http://mail.google.com/support/

the register have taken notice too

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/02/24/gmail_broken/

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

back now for me

Can anyone post any links they find on the net about todays downtime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

It's working, but I did have to resend a couple of times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Zascar wrote: »
    back now for me

Not yet for me :(:(

Google obviously hates me.

Bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Its a prelude to an attack from the lizard people!!

/puts on tinfoil hat and runs for bomb shelter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Zascar wrote: »
    back now for me

Can anyone post any links they find on the net about todays downtime?
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59162564&postcount=23

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59162658&postcount=27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

Its a prelude to an attack from the lizard people!!

I was gonna say Cylons...I really have watched too much Battlestar Galactica this week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

dag nam it, hope its back soon or im fecked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭jmcwobbles

I have been ridiculously productive this morning, this just isn't on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Some users reported that Google Mail was working on G1 mobile phones, which are powered by Google's Android operating system.

Cybernetic organisms? Judgement Day? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Have you tried turning the machine off and on again?

/snort.

That status page (http://mail.google.com/support/) doesn't seem to be displaying any sort of status update for me, it's just the regular support page, no message regarding this - am I missing something??

jmcwobbles wrote: »
    That status page (http://mail.google.com/support/) doesn't seem to be displaying any sort of status update for me, it's just the regular support page, no message regarding this - am I missing something??

Same here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Des wrote: »
    Not yet for me :(:(

Google obviously hates me.

Bastards

It hates me too! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Top right of page:
    Status Update

2/24/2009
    We're aware of a problem with Gmail affecting a number of users. This problem occurred at approximately 1.30AM Pacific Time. We're working hard to resolve this problem and will post updates as we have them. We apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused

Not much use though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I can SEE my new emails in my inbox window but they won't open for me! And one is about the new job I am starting on Monday so that's driving me mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Gmail working for me but not my college email which uses google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Remember when the Postmen went on strike in the early '90s.
    This is kinda like that, but worse and more frustrating.
    I sense I have mail, but I can't access it... :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The Nokia mail app is accessing GMail OK for me, but the Java GMail app is not and getting the 502 error from the PC as well. :(

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

like someone cut my willy off!!!!! Hell but arent we really reliant on Gmail! :)

Imap is working for me in Outlook :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

It never went down at all for me. Suck to be ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Now it actually is back.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

It never went down at all for me. Suck to be ye!

Ah ya but your an Arsenal fan, thats worse :) Gmail been down is temporary, Arsenal not winning trophies isnt' :D:D

PS. I am only pullying your leg ;)

yop wrote: »
    Ah ya but your an Arsenal fan, thats worse :) Gmail been down is temporary, Arsenal not winning trophies isnt' :D:D

PS. I am only pullying your leg ;)
    in 2015 I will bump this thread and who'll be laughing then!!

seamus wrote: »
    Now it actually is back.

Its like the return of Oxygen :)

seamus wrote: »
    Now it actually is back.

YAY!!!

back up now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Nope, still acting like a little bitch for me.

Eh I just got a we're sorry... but your query looks similar to automated requests from a computer virus or spyware application. To protect our users, we can't process your request right now.

It's back here too.

Eh I just got a we're sorry... but your query looks similar to automated requests from a computer virus or spyware application. To protect our users, we can't process your request right now.
    I'd check my blood pressure. I think Google is telling you that you are dead!

Dragan wrote: »
    Nope, still acting like a little bitch for me.

Same as that, its like she came back, flashed her nickers and ran off :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

Wasnt off with me at all.......yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

After all that - I don't have even one poxy new email.

Feck's sake. :mad:

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    After all that - I don't have even one poxy new email.

Feck's sake. :mad:

LOL :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Kieo

so is it gmail or my puter thats the problem!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Internet Explorer is acting the maggot for Pighead. Keeps on freezing which is very annoying.

seems to be gee-mail. I tried 2 other computers and no joy with them either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Pighead wrote: »
    Internet Explorer is acting the maggot for Pighead. Keeps on freezing which is very annoying.

Firefox is your friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'm gettin this now...
    We're sorry...

... but your query looks similar to automated requests from a computer virus or spyware application. To protect our users, we can't process your request right now.

We'll restore your access as quickly as possible, so try again soon. In the meantime, if you suspect that your computer or network has been infected, you might want to run a virus checker or spyware remover to make sure that your systems are free of viruses and other spurious software.

If you're continually receiving this error, you may be able to resolve the problem by deleting your Google cookie and revisiting Google. For browser-specific instructions, please consult your browser's online support center.

If your entire network is affected, more information is available in the Google Web Search Help Center.

We apologize for the inconvenience, and hope we'll see you again on Google.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

YAY! :D

I just got in! two new mails. :)