Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic car swap site / forum / thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

junkyard wrote: »
    A classic car club with a selection of classics that you could join for a fee like in the UK, and book your car for a weekend or week. It could work if everyone played fair.

..........actually that was one of the first things I came across whe I wanted to use an old car daily.

A guy callled Clement Wilson in Wicklow set up something like this, anyone heard of or get involved with this ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

Saab Ed wrote: »
    There's the 5 I was talking about. Thats the last day she was driven about July/August 2007. The last time I saw the car it was in the very same condition only greener :D

http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p5/deckie27/EPSN2134.jpg

http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p5/deckie27/EPSN2133.jpg

http://i124.photobucket.com/albums/p5/deckie27/EPSN2138.jpg

Still no idea on the price?

Triumph is still available....

It's still up for sale on adverts.ie. A guy was supposed to come last weekend, didn't show up. He was supposed to come again this weekend, didn't show up. I was kinda hoping to sell it because i have been looking at something else, but if the Triumph doesn't go... You know how it goes...

So at this stage i'd swap it for something interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

whats the lowest you'll go 2cv?

aravan wrote: »
    I'm looking for one of these at the right money.

Doesn't have to be a GT4.

http://www.iwoc.co.uk/images/nonsubaru/gt4.jpg

seen an identical car to that today on the n11

whats the lowest you'll go 2cv?
    if i don't get that for it, i'll use it as a BBQ
    :D:D

fancy barbeque:p

tempted though what needs to be done to it if anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭8~)

Could be interested in a Triumph... always liked them.
    I have a rotten W123 230 CE that could be included as part of a trade. It looks okay but sills are patched and rear arches are rotten. Worth 500ish in parts or could be restored... which I will do one day if the car stays on my yard.

tempted though what needs to be done to it if anything?

check out the thread on here about the triumph 2000, it's all explained in there.

Basically it needs the rear bumper corners replaced (£60 brand new), the driver's seat is worn but nothing dramatic, it could do with a bit of a service and the wooden inserts on the door cards could do with a varnish.

Other than that she's ready to go, taxed 08/09, on ZVs.

8~) wrote: »
    Could be interested in a Triumph... always liked them.
    I have a rotten W123 230 CE that could be included as part of a trade. It looks okay but sills are patched and rear arches are rotten. Worth 500ish in parts or could be restored... which I will do one day if the car stays on my yard.

i could be interested in taking that 230CE off your hands...
    pm me with details and i'll ring you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,749 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

2cv wrote: »
    Triumph is still available....

It's still up for sale on adverts.ie. A guy was supposed to come last weekend, didn't show up. He was supposed to come again this weekend, didn't show up. I was kinda hoping to sell it because i have been looking at something else, but if the Triumph doesn't go... You know how it goes...

So at this stage i'd swap it for something interesting.

....ah, what you need is...............scones :D:D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....ah, what you need is...............scones :D:D

never even got to give him scones, he never turned up :D

...hmmm, good idea.

I've got the two yokes in my sig - but I'm looking for a different kind of swap.........I'm looking for a 996 - either coupe or cabrio. Maybe someone wants to trade down ? - or, right now, I'd take 14.5k ono for each one. Not classic tax - so don't even ask, but are on classic insurance.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

I've got a 2001 996, I'll sell it if I get enough for it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Not asking you to reveal your hand and there's no way under the sun that I could afford one, but what's a realistic price for one of these?

PM sent.

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭PIMPHO

Looking to buy a red Triumph Spitfire if anyone has one for sale or can point me in the right direction.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭carlosfandango

"I've got a 2001 996, I'll sell it if I get enough for it."

Nice car you have there junkyard.

Hey GalwayTT, you interested in this? I'm curious about owning one m'self.

No! Stop RIGHT there, what am I saying? No, Stop, Stop, Stop!
    I'll just go and have a little chat to myself, talk amongst yourselves..

CFD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

I have a good 1977 1500 spitfire for sale. It's not red but it's in good nick with new rear spring, polybushed, new clutch, starts great and pulls well. Chassis and floors very sound and original. Body and paint sound but not shiny. Perfect tyres. Newish battery. Hardtop and softtop (soft top really needs replacing at this stage). It stands me 5 grand but open to reasonable offer. Dublin area.

BTW would swap for good MR2 MK1 or similar...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 diver1

kerbdog wrote: »
    Anyone interested in a not so old classic? :D
    1998 Mini Coop with John Cooper 'S' Works conversion
    attachment.php?attachmentid=73521&stc=1&d=1235553793
    (img before it was put up on blocks for storage and covered)
    What are u looking 4 it?

I suppose 4,500 seeing as no one is flush at the mo! I like the car so won't give it away.

Triumph is now gone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

Sell for cash or swop for a modern car such as Mk3 Mondeo or Santa Fe Deisel

EscortForSale007.jpg

More pics on request.......

Triumph is now gone!!

well done 2cv......you had me doing some serious thinkin about that car;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Dermo123

Triumph is now gone!!

Well done, did you get all cash or did u have to swap?

Dermo123 wrote: »
    Well done, did you get all cash or did u have to swap?

Swapped... Cash seems to be a strange concept these days...
    I remember seeing it a while ago though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 multifranchise

how much cash have you in mind?Imlooking at a nice one on a uk website for euro1200.ono.

If it's me your asking,i would advise you to buy the one for €1200 as mine will not be sold for anywhere near that.

Maybe you can provide us with a link.

not really looking to get rid of but if someone fancied this in exchange for a triumph spitfire with a bit of cash from my side i could be convinced:D...not much cash mind!!:P vrt is about 1400

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭dutchcat

anyone interested in this 1981,needs welding,unused 4 years looking 3000 or offer, px motorcycle , its on adverts w.h y.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Any interest in my Humber against the Merc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭dutchcat

will give you a call tmrw ,junkyard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

Great idea for thread.

I have a '81 ford transit camper van
    Its got a pop top roof, sink, cooker, double bed, table and two hammocks.
    It runs very well and is in super condition inside.
    Outside its not so hot.
    It needs some work on the body but nothing to major.
    The chasis looks very good.
    So a bit of a project, but drivable and something that is getting rare.
    I was palnning on keeping it and doing some work myslef but i just never have time and id like to see it go to a good home where it will be used.
    I have nothing in mind for a swap, so make me an offer, car or bike....or van.

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    Great idea for thread.

Outside its not so hot.
    I was palnning on keeping it and doing some work myslef but i just never have time and id like to see it go to a good home where it will be used.
    Hi Mr Boots how much are u looking 4 the van and have u any picks

Open to offers on it diver 1.

Magnum wrote: »
    Sell for cash or swop for a modern car such as Mk3 Mondeo or Santa Fe Deisel

EscortForSale007.jpg

More pics on request.......

SOLD

Open to offers on it diver 1.
    Ball park Mr B any idea:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Don17

Thinkin of sellin/tradin my 1992 mercedes e190 ( okay its not offically a classic)
    its all electric ,nct till dec 09, can put up pics if you want
    I use it as my daily car so would need something reliable and nct'd if yis have any suggestions or offers.
    ( BMW e30 etc )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭salysol

Great idea for thread.

Outside its not so hot.
    i have a 78 austin maxi ,irish 3 owners,i drive it regular,body ,57000mls,will need tidying and respray ,but presentable.also have a suzuki gt185,tribsa 500,both need restoring,any interest !!!!

diver1 wrote: »
    Ball park Mr B any idea:D

Hard to put a figure on it as there just aint many of them around.....that why i was lookin for a swapper....but i guess it has to be worth a couple of grand.

salysol wrote: »
    i have a 78 austin maxi ,irish 3 owners,i drive it regular,body ,57000mls,will need tidying and respray ,but presentable.also have a suzuki gt185,tribsa 500,both need restoring,any interest !!!!

Nah, a Maxi just dosnt float my boat:p

Any picks would love to see them:D

002.jpg

001-4.jpg

BILD0553.jpg

logo.gif

the last pic is just a skit

002.jpg

001-4.jpg

BILD0553.jpg

logo.gif

the last pic is just a skit
    Cool crash but not into bikes:eek:the car is a little cracker are ya just fed up with her:D

no i actually like it ,but am thinking of buying another mini or sports car.
    i have a good few new spares for it,plus they are becoming scarce.

swop very good 1500 spitfire for pristine alfasud or mr2 mk1

how much cash for the spitfire?:)

Take €4,500 or very near offer. I viewed a lot of rotten spits before I bought this one a couple of years ago. I put a new clutch and pressure plate in it when I got it and at that point (purchase and clutch) it cost me just €5k. When I got it there was a new rear spring fitted, polybushes, brake pipes and new tyres.Chassis and floors perfect and bodywork solid with some minor repairs. Paint is BRG and acceptable (not show quality). There is a good hard top but the plastic windows in the softtop are cracking now although I use the softtop all the time. Starts immediately and drives well. That's it! It's a 1977 model so cheap tax and insurance.