Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

30k for 3 months

• 26-02-2009 1:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭

Hey kids

I know we're always talking about work and money here etc but I heard something in my hostel today that I really want to find out if anyone here has heard of

I was told that there's some place on a flight out of Alice Springs, 900kms from the nearest house, where you can do form work or labour on a form worker and get paid $30k in three months BUT you have to work the three months...
    Sounds to good to be true in one way but then again maybe they work you so hard that you can't do more than a few weeks and dont get much at all then...
    I was just wondering if anyone else had heard anything of this manner...

I got a job paying $20/hr and am told I'm lucky but I dont see how I can do any more travel on this money, its just enough to live on, plus I'm ****ting it cos I have to start paying off my loan at home soon whcih is impossible, dont know what all these unemployed at home are doing in that regard

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

I think they sow magic beans on this farm.

either that or you work as a hooker ... seriously you actually posted this???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

hussey wrote: »
    I think they sow magic beans on this farm.

either that or you work as a hooker ... seriously you actually posted this???

You earn $20 which is ok

$20 * 16 hours = $320

3 months = 93 days max

$320 * 93 = $29780

You already have this mythical job just do more hours

• Registered Users Posts: 339 ✭✭myhorse

Sounds to good to be true in one way but then again maybe they work you so hard that you can't do more than a few weeks and dont get much at all then...
    I was just wondering if anyone else had heard anything of this manner...

In fairness I have heard over the years of this kind of story being told in whispered tones around the whv'ers campfire. Just an urban myth.

Lets say for arguements sake that such a job existed
    1) the somalians or afghanis would be doing it for $10K
    or
    2) 2 months in to the job you would be told "see ya" heres a grand and good luck. Start walking nearst towns 900K thata way.

(btw there was a burger place in bondi that used to get the innocents abroad to do a weeks trial for free with the view to a paid position. got away with it for years. think they were finally taken to court. sometimes if it walks like a duck , quacks like a duck its a bunny rabbit)

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭k974

ya there is and you dont need to go as far as the alice for it! 30k isnt that much for 3months formwork in the bush you'd normally do 3 weeks on 1 week off. 30k isnt that great i wouldnt do it for that, you'd get 40/phr in the city why go out there for 50ish (depending on the hrs/per day!)

obviously you know nothing about formwork tho if you did you'd already be doing it and not working for $20/hr so that kind of rules it out.

there would be more if you were so remote i've paid my guys more than that for a job we did in the NT

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Mobooo

What in gods name is formwork? farmwork?????????????????:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

Form work is first fixing carpentry, isnt it. The pour alot of the walls for houses here, and from work is making the timber shuttering for the concrete, i think:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Sorry but it could be possible my friend is a formworker and a very good one he fixes wooden shuttering and steel structure to pour the concrete specialising in building bridges and overpasses on roads.

He makes $2,500 a (50 Hr) week or $10,000 a month and thats in Sydney and Newcastle area thats skilled work ........the labourers in his gang would only be getting $1800 a week inc all the allowances (living away from home/travel)

My other friend works on laying pipes under the railway lines in maitland and is picking up $2300 a week for just general labour.

I myself am a Service Engineer and I picked up $5500 for 2 weeks (76 Hr +13 OT + standby allowance)

So $30,000 for 3 months not a myth its same as $120,000 a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

There is a lot of money to be had working in the back arse of nowhere in Australia. But it's not for typing letters and answering phonecalls.

The mining and oil and gas industries pay big money to skilled workers if they need them in back of the beyonds. It's hard work, in high temperatures, (and I don't mean 30 degrees), and there really, truly is very little to do except work and sleep. The sort of workers they want are engineers, surveyors, planners, supervisors and people trained to operate heavy machinery, for instance.

There are other occupations that pay well.

I was out in the the city (Sydney) last year with the lads..... had a bit of luck with the pokies so decided to treat myself and a mate at the local bordello namely club121 which is of high quality.

Anyway since I was shouting my mate it was only fair to have first pick and in the line up there was the most cute little blonde Irish girl.... I just could not help myself.

It wasnt till I got her in the room she realised that I was a Paddy and I think she near sh1t... I thought she was going refuse and give me my money back.

Anyway I just said that I was just in Sydney on holiday and I didnt know any better and I would say nothing.

I was paying $280 for the hour and the lady usually gets 50% and the house gets the rest so at $140 for the hour...

$190 x 2 does not equal $280.

Plus nobody sets out to be a career prostitute. Keep your contributions intelligent from here on out, please.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

when i was in australia doing the job that i found (just bearly survng kinda money) the last week or two i was chatting to a few irish backpackers who gave me the number of a contact for demolition work and they were clearing 1200$/week in the middle of brisbane.
    kicking myself i didnt look hard when i got there :)

$190 x 2 does not equal $280.

Plus nobody sets out to be a career prostitute. Keep your contributions intelligent from here on out, please.

No worries!

Mandrake you sound like the "bad Irish" from another thread. :rolleyes:

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Mandrake you sound like the "bad Irish" from another thread. :rolleyes:

From what thread? Please paste details.

Cant think why I am bad, I have not anything wrong as far as I know.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    From what thread? Please paste details.

Cant think why I am bad, I have not anything wrong as far as I know.

Dont take offence mate its the hard drinking and hooring that takes you there...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Tea Leaf

Plus nobody sets out to be a career prostitute

Actually some do. And, in my view, there's nothing wrong with that.

I've met plenty of people who make damn good money as 'escorts' as they preferred to be called. In Australia, where laws in some States do allow such work, there's a union, health service and associated forums for sex workers and they do have a voice in community too.

In addition, they make fabulous money and live a lifestyle to match it.

I have a very good friend of mine with whom I went to school and she has been an escort for nine years. I always smile when people go on about 'whores and crack houses' as though the two belong together and they're sitting right next to her, totally unaware of what she does for a living. Most people mistake her for a lawyer or a politician which, amazingly, are respected professions but essentially involve the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Well said!

Are people getting more conservative?

And that's fine, Tea Leaf. My point is that I really can't see many Irish women under the age of 31 setting out to get a WHV so they can work in Australia as a prostitute.

I didn't mention whores, or crack houses, or little girls saying "I want to grow up to turn tricks, mummy".

This is a thread about whether or not you can make big money doing jobs for short periods in isolated areas, and while prostitution may fall into that category, it's hardly a recommendation.

And that's fine, Tea Leaf. My point is that I really can't see many Irish women under the age of 31 setting out to get a WHV so they can work in Australia as a prostitute.

I didn't mention whores, or crack houses, or little girls saying "I want to grow up to turn tricks, mummy".

This is a thread about whether or not you can make big money doing jobs for short periods in isolated areas, and while prostitution may fall into that category, it's hardly a recommendation.

Tea Leaf wrote: »

I've met plenty of people who make damn good money as 'escorts' as they preferred to be called.

And crims like to be called property relocation enginneers,
    Peados would like to be called young learning tutors,
    Murders would like to be called life solution scienctists but I think MJD is right if you do come to Aus on a WHV career prostitute is probably not the way to go.

There is also the proffesion of hostess some of my friends did for a while but for all there is perfectly fine comments they did not tell their parents.

Zambia232 wrote: »
    Dont take offence mate its the hard drinking and hooring that takes you there...:)

Well I know many Australian girls who said that the problem with the Irish.

Over Paid

Over Sexed

and Over here.

But they never really complain too much because most Australian guys spend too long looking at themselves in the mirror and the Paddies usually look like they fell through the wardrobe.

"Oh Mother dear I am over here and I am never coming back for what keeps me here is a rake of beer, the ladies and the craic".
    Tea Leaf wrote: »
    Actually some do. And, in my view, there's nothing wrong with that.

I've met plenty of people who make damn good money as 'escorts' as they preferred to be called. In Australia, where laws in some States do allow such work, there's a union, health service and associated forums for sex workers and they do have a voice in community too.

In addition, they make fabulous money and live a lifestyle to match it.

I have a very good friend of mine with whom I went to school and she has been an escort for nine years. I always smile when people go on about 'whores and crack houses' as though the two belong together and they're sitting right next to her, totally unaware of what she does for a living. Most people mistake her for a lawyer or a politician which, amazingly, are respected professions but essentially involve the same thing.

You are right

Its Legal in Australia and most of the classy places are council approved, morally it might be wrong but I do not go to mass every Sunday either.

What would my mother say......

I am sorry if I have offended anyone but I was just adding my experience and I know for a fact that there are many girls on WHV work in massage and nude modelling.

It might be a small minority but it does happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭terencemc

Hey samhail,
    You hardly still have that number in Brisbane ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

anyone who sets out to be a career escort has mental issues. Seriously. Think about it.
    So I don't think it should apply to this thread.
    If you can "make great money and have a lifestyle to match", why aren't all women at it?

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭rightyabe

Looking through old threads and came across this and was just wondering is 30k in 3 months really possible?

opinions please......

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

rightyabe wrote: »
    Looking through old threads and came across this and was just wondering is 30k in 3 months really possible?

opinions please......

Yes. Read the thread. Be a whore. Simple. :)

rightyabe wrote: »

opinions please......

read post number 3 ..... No, this appears to be BS

The original confusion came from people thinking 'formwork' was a typo.

Form work is carpentry.

Farm work is labouring.

You won't get $30K in three months out in Alice Springs area 900kms from the nearest town doing form work, because the whole point is there are no houses out there, so wtf would you be doing form work for...

You won't get $30K in three months doing farm work, because it just doesn't pay that highly.

You might get $30K in three months doing form work if you're skilled and get a good gig in a metropolitan area. But you'll work your arse off for it, and you need to have the skills in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,354 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

is 30k possible in 3 months, yes, quite easily. It works out at $2300 or so a week, I know quite a few guys who have cleared this weekly for a while. But these were obviously perple with qualifications, skills, experience, and who put in **** loads of overtime.

Will you walk into one of these jobs with no experience. No, of course not. simple common sense tells you that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

Just to clarrify something for people unfamiliar with Australian Geography
    No part of Australia is more than 1000KM from the coast

Places 900K from alice Springs, Ok these are aproximations but
    Whyalla SA
    Katherine NT
    Kalgoorlie WA
    Broken Hill NSW
    Longreach QLD

and at a bit of a stretch
    Mildura VIC

those numbers are based on me drawin a circle approx 100KM in diameter and seeing what I got