Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boro v Liverpool Match Thread Sat 15:00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

BBC are suggesting Gerrard has cramp. If that's the case you'd wonder why he wasn't left on unless Rafa's decided to write off the game.

I think you'll see that Rafa has now written off the league more or less.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭coco06

alonso having a mare.. why is he still on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

mike65 wrote: »

I think he made the right call in taking him off but I found it surprising.

Interesting that Chelsea are blowing it at home to Wigan just like last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Which is despicable , seeing as ye were so far ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,520 ✭✭✭✭noodler

coco06 wrote: »

Who do you want on for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,310 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

coco06 wrote: »

No one to replace him with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Carra & Gerrard looking miserable on the bench.

BBC are suggesting Gerrard has cramp. If that's the case you'd wonder why he wasn't left on unless Rafa's decided to write off the game.

Come on Boro!

And there is a game on tuesday night

That is the mantra for most players in the pool side.

I bet ye wish ye still had robbie now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Shambolic display today. Even more annoying is that we had some clear cut chances and didn't take advantage of them.

Chong wrote: »
    That is the mantra for most players in the pool side.

eh, no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ah boo-urs! Coulda been 3

rarnes1 wrote: »
    eh, no
    Fair play, I know Id love to have robbie in my side at times like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

and thats that.

Lookout Real Madrid.

All over in both games,

Pool fans better leave as the flood gates will open now.

Ahhh well can try again next season at least we lasted until Feb this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,903 ✭✭✭SteM

rarnes1 wrote: »
    eh, no

Any Liverpool fan that thinks like that after the last few weeks you lot have had in the league needs to take off the red tinted glasses. It was a poor move by Rafa and the club to sell him when they did.

• Registered Users Posts: 465 ✭✭coco06

noodler wrote: »
    Who do you want on for him?

Reira would be better today and prob wouldnt have given the ball away as much.

thats it now for another year. they will prob start to play better now, too little too late though

and thats that.

Lookout Real Madrid.

Yeah, he will rest all the big boys now til that game.

Shocking today, good job arsenal are useless this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Disgraceful performance today from Liverpool. Boro didnt have to do a whole lot in fairness to win that game.

The mind boggles how they won at the Bernabeu :confused: Looked totally disinterested today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Nah, 'pool fans know that El Zhar, Ngog and Babel are the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

All over in both games,

Pool fans better leave as the flood gates will open now.
    What's this supposed to mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Nah, 'pool fans know that El Zhar, Ngog and Babel are the future.

LMAO !

Good one brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

Terrible performance, too many players just not producing. Sometimes that happens, a few too many times this season though. We're not going to win the league, but I never expected to. Still, given the start to the season it feels like a missed opportunity. Rafa takes responsibility alright but presumably he should get credit for the first half of the season (and Europe so far) as well as abuse for the rest?

Sherifu wrote: »
    What's this supposed to mean?
    Cause the crap is about to arrive in the thread, you know how it goes dude.

Right I am off before the meltdown begins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

"We still have [Ryan] Babel, [David] Ngog and Dirk Kuyt as well as Torres. It is a risk but the situation was not good and we needed to do something," said the Liverpool manager.

Bravo Rafa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭joe123

Cant defend Rafa there. Anyways pointless sacking him now.

Anyone who says they wouldnt like Keane now is talking ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

brilliant win for boro

now i think its time to sit back and take it all in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Macker1

joe123 wrote: »
    Cant defend Rafa there. Anyways pointless sacking him now.

Anyone who says they wouldnt like Keane now is talking ****e.

How many goals has Keane produced since his move back to Spurs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

I agree hat Keane was missed, I mean it's not like he spent most of his time missing the same sitters/chances we had today.

It was an absolutely shocking performance though, I just can't explain it, there was no spirit, no desire, nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

i would be lying if i said i wouldn't rather we had Keane. But i do believe the offer from Spurs was too good to turn down for a player who doesn't get into our best starting eleven or fit into our best formation

We were a disgrace today, lack of effort, passion.

That said though we really should have scored at least twice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Macker1 wrote: »
    How many goals has Keane produced since his move back to Spurs :rolleyes:

How many games has Robbie actually played so far for Spurs?

Jesus, its turning into a robbie keane debate. Hes gone ffs.

This thread has run its course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Must say I'm delighted for Southgate, comes across as a nice bloke in interviews. Good to see Steve Gibson isn't so trigger happy with firing coaches. They're not out of the **** yet but that will give them confidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

southgates a nice bloke, but hes a dreadful coach imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Fuming TBH. Players where an absolute disgrace today and let Rafa and the club down badly. Far to angry to give an overall worthwhile post. Disgraceful :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭ButcherOfNog

Team looked tired today, Alonso in particular was terrible in the 2nd half.

El Zhar I thought did well enough, had two good chances and probably should have scored one of them, wasbetter than 12M Babel, what the hell happened to Babel? He was awful and has been awful most of the season.

Gerrard seemed to be playing within himself. Still made a couple of chances for others.

Carragher offers nothing going forward at right back, why not try Skrtel out there?

Kuyt missed a sitter.

Overall, worst performance of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

what was rafa thinking putting Skrtel as RB:confused:

I taught Downing had a very good game,looked very dangerous and put in some very sweet crosses

deserved MOTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

No huge surprise here, Boro always seem to beat one of the "Big 4" up at the Riverside, thought it would be the case here today. Pool should be thankful Arsenal can't buy a win at the moment, makes the prospect of finishing 5th less likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Leaving Benayoun on the bench today was a very odd decision, I said about 2 weeks he was really looking on form and he done well at Madrid and then gets left on the bench??

Rafa will win you the CL but he will never win the PL title imo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Shocking performance, nothing wrong with the players he picked, they just didnt perform. El Zhar was good in the first half, that was about it.

Villain wrote: »
    Leaving Benayoun on the bench today was a very odd decision, I said about 2 weeks he was really looking on form and he done well at Madrid and then gets left on the bench??

Rafa will win you the CL but he will never win the PL title imo

Im sure Rafa thought the team picked would have enough about them to beat Boro while resting players for Sunderland on Tuesday.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,594 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Team looked tired today, Alonso in particular was terrible in the 2nd half.

El Zhar I thought did well enough, had two good chances and probably should have scored one of them, wasbetter than 12M Babel, what the hell happened to Babel? He was awful and has been awful most of the season.

Gerrard seemed to be playing within himself. Still made a couple of chances for others.

Carragher offers nothing going forward at right back, why not try Skrtel out there?

Kuyt missed a sitter.

Overall, worst performance of the season.

finishing was farcical, if you said there was a massive betting scam by the players to throw the game away I'd believe you.

ElZhar did alright, but to say he probably should have scored one of them is understatement of the year, it was a shocking miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Melion wrote: »
    Shocking performance, nothing wrong with the players he picked, they just didnt perform. El Zhar was good in the first half, that was about it.

Skrtel at RB, reaaallllly ?

Opr

As someone already said, Carra offers nothing going forward from RB so why not try Skrtel there. Arbeloa was injured and he didnt want to risk Darby(Rightly so)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Melion wrote: »
    As someone already said, Carra offers nothing going forward from RB so why not try Skrtel there. Arbeloa was injured and he didnt want to risk Darby(Rightly so)

I am not even going to argue this because anyone with the smallest amount of common sense can see trying someone who has never played at RB against a really good winger like Downing who is your oppositions main threat is insane.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭denashpot

ziggy wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

denashpot wrote: »

i reported it too for no reason other than ive been banned for calling liverpool fc the same thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

not sure why robbie keane is even being brought up you wouldn't play him when he was there so even if he was still at the club he probably wouldn't have made it into the first 18 as the premiership don't allow you to pick 19 players :rolleyes:

Anyway I got this one so wrong.

Great result for southgate nice to see a club stand by their man.