Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

For anyone whose Dog(s) sleeps in the back Garden...

• 03-03-2009 11:16am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭

Quick easy question really,

How old was the dog when you started to put it outside to sleep in it's kennel, or whatever it sleeps in?

oh one other question aswell, anyone have a valuable dog that sleeps in the back garden? would it be an issue for you if the dog was valuable, whether or not you put it in the back garden at night?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭sorella

We would never put a dog outside to sleep - period.

And all our dogs are precious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭Munster Gal

My dog (chocolate lab.) has always slept outside. We have a very large garden which is fully fenced in so she can't get out.When she was a puppy she slept in a kennel in the shed. When she was about a year old we bought a 6x8 shed especially for her and had it specially insulated. We fenced in a run (5 metres x 8 metres) all around it. She roams free in the garden all day and in the summer nights can go out into her little run.
    If you only see the value of your dog in monetary terms you shouldn't have it in the first place. To a loving owner a mutt from the pound is just as valuable as a pedigree pup costing thousands of euro. The size and breed of dog is what will determine where it can sleep.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Look, I'm looking for honest answers, not smart answers coz i can imagine alot of them will come up...

Of course i love the dog!!
    I'm trying to decide for myself whether or not to continue letting a dog sleep indoors or whether to put it outside at night, i'm only asking a question to find out about other peoples experiences.
    I know some people find it cruel, or wrong or whatever else and some people have no problem with it.... I'm only asking a fair question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Harris

I think if you have had the dog sleeping indoors up to now, it would not be fair to suddenly chuck it outside.

Dogs genuinely sleep all night long indoors and rarely get up to any nonsense.

I think it could cause stress to the dog if suddenly he/she has its sleeping arrangements changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭looserock

Niamho! wrote: »

How old was the dog when you started to put it outside to sleep in it's kennel, or whatever it sleeps in?

oh one other question aswell, anyone have a valuable dog that sleeps in the back garden? would it be an issue for you if the dog was valuable, whether or not you put it in the back garden at night?

Most pups from a proper breeder will have been reared outside from the beginning.
    Probably in a insulated and heated kennel, most likely heat lamps.

If you can offer that level of accommodation you can put a pup outside from 8 weeks.

As for valuable dogs I have dogs outside whose value would not be believed by most people and they are very happy out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Our dog's nearly 11 and all that time he's slept inside.

I don't understand why people leave their dogs out for the night just for it to sleep, maybe it's to do with where i'm from but i just don't get it. Dog sleeps in just like I do.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Sorella you didnt answer the OPs questions at all. And yes, of course all our dogs are valuable, but i think the OPs point is a pedigree dog has a far higher chance of being stolen from a garden than say a mongrel.

Many dogs are perfectly suited for sleeping outdoors. It all depends on their coat length, type of kennel insulation and weather conditions. A very young pup (<3mths) could alternate between a bed in the house and a kennel outdoors during the day and gradually increase the length of time outdoors as time goes on. Make sure you have a secure well insulated kennel with enough room for the dog to turn around but not too much so it doesnt heat up. It all depends on how consistent you are. A dog used to being let in the house everytime he barks or whines will cop on pretty quickly that thats all he has to do to get in the house! If you have bought a "valuable" dog then garden security is paramount.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

My dog sleeps indoors, and always will. People see their pets in diferent ways, to me he's part of the family so he sleeps inside like a part of the family. Other people also consider their dog a part of te family but are perfectly happy to allow them sleep outside. Each to their own I suppose, so long as the dog gets plenty of interaction during the day and has sufficient shelter.

My dads dogs are outside from the day he gets them. They usually come from outdoor homes too. But they live outside all the time so I think there is a difference TBH. If your dog is indoors all day anyway, I wouldn't bother putting him out to sleep at night, he probably woudn't settle very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 dolly13

looserock wrote: »
    Most pups from a proper breeder will have been reared outside from the beginning.
    Probably in a insulated and heated kennel, most likely heat lamps.

If you can offer that level of accommodation you can put a pup outside from 8 weeks.

As for valuable dogs I have dogs outside whose value would not be believed by most people and they are very happy out there.

Proper Breeder - the above would refer to a puppy farmer and not a responsible breeder!

Well, yes I did actually.

In the only way there was.

Timing of putting the dog out? Never.

Is 'value'an option? See my answer to that.

I knew what she was getting at; she has a valuable dog and wants now to sleep it outside. And seeks approval for that.

Which others will not give her.

And neither will I:)
    anniehoo wrote: »
    Sorella you didnt answer the OPs questions at all. And yes, of course all our dogs are valuable, but i think the OPs point is a pedigree dog has a far higher chance of being stolen from a garden than say a mongrel.

Many dogs are perfectly suited for sleeping outdoors. It all depends on their coat length, type of kennel insulation and weather conditions. A very young pup (<3mths) could alternate between a bed in the house and a kennel outdoors during the day and gradually increase the length of time outdoors as time goes on. Make sure you have a secure well insulated kennel with enough room for the dog to turn around but not too much so it doesnt heat up. It all depends on how consistent you are. A dog used to being let in the house everytime he barks or whines will cop on pretty quickly that thats all he has to do to get in the house! If you have bought a "valuable" dog then garden security is paramount.

To be fair the OP could have phrased the question a little better. I have met so many people who introduce their dog and then boastfully tell you how much it cost.
    Regardless of the dog being valuable/pedigree or not you have to have a secure garden. Dogs are stolen for all sorts of reasons, particularly small ones - I personally know of a Shih Tzu being snatched from her front garden during the day while the owner was inside. We had a near miss with our dog, someone tried to steal her but she got away. We have since put a better lock on the side gate, installed new security lights and put a lock on her enclosure. She still sleeps outside because she is happiest in her own cabin. We brought her in while we were having the security updated and she was unhappy and uneasy the whole time.

Amen to this; very well said.
    jozi wrote: »
    Our dog's nearly 11 and all that time he's slept inside.

I don't understand why people leave their dogs out for the night just for it to sleep, maybe it's to do with where i'm from but i just don't get it. Dog sleeps in just like I do.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

sorella wrote: »

Why?

dolly13 wrote: »
    Proper Breeder - the above would refer to a puppy farmer and not a responsible breeder!

That's a very unfair generalisation!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Jaysus... Lots of snootyness here!!

Hi OP, my dog is a pretty good security dog, so he sleeps outside, we started in the middle of summer and left the back door open with a comfortable bed in the kennel and no bedding inside. Eventually he chose the comfy bedding of the kennel. My sheepdog was alive then, so he had company.

He has short hair, so when its very cold in winter we let him sleep inside, but the cold doesn't seem to bother him. He gets a bit restless inside, but every dog is different.

He would be difficult to rob, he is dreadful in the car and a little wary of strangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Lauragoesmad

I would be wary of leaving any dog outside all at night these days. Not because I think its cruel, although I do think its a tad pointless having a dog if its going to be out the back most of the time but I have heard of pedigrees and mongrels being stolen for ransoms!:eek:Just make sure you're back garden is very secure, not only to the dog but for dodgy people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 SheenaD

ok you sound a little bit to attached to this dog for my liking.. or you perhaps looking for a friendship with the dog ?
    I think animals any animal needs to be able to run free and never be caged up but at the end of the day its your dog and its up to you how you want it to live.

good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I knew what she was getting at; she has a valuable dog and wants now to sleep it outside. And seeks approval for that.

Which others will not give her.

A bit presumptuous and disingenuous of you. I see no plea for your, or anybodys approval and who are any of us to do so or not?

My dog has always been outside (a Rough Collie) and is a dearly loved part of the family. During the very cold spell in January she was in a few nights but it's a chore to get her inside as she prefers to be out. The garden is secure, her large run in padlocked and has 8ft high railings so she is safe. She was outside from a pup and is an outside dog. The debate depends on the breed of dog, I feel, and on it's age when being intoduced to sleeping outside. But please spare me the sanctimonious blurb about dogs needing to be indoors, or are not real family memers if put outside etc.

I think anniehoo summed it all up perfectly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭looserock

dolly13 wrote: »

I'm referring to breeders of champions including two breeders of world champion which I have visited.

Most serious breeders are likely to have a lot of dogs, they cant all sleep inside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

My two sleep outside. During the recent spell of heavy snow, i tried to take them in but there wouldnt settle and wanted to go out so i let them back out. I checked on them regularly and they were either cosily tucked up asleep in their kennel. I actually slept on the couch for those few nights because i was worried about them, i am 100% they slept better than me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

ive got to say i feel your pretty much always quick to get up on your high horse and get snooty.

Niamho! wrote: »

dogs are mostly well equiped to sleep outdoors given the right bed. but in saying that our king charles is out most days running around the back garden or asleep on the radiator. at night she sleeps on my chair. its really a matter of do you feel safe leaving your dog out at night. you have neglected to mention what type of dog. a small rare breed probably not right for keeping outdoors purely from a security standpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

[quote=sorella]

[/quote]

ive got to say i feel your pretty much always quick to get up on your high horse and get snooty.

Maybe the horse is too precious to get up on. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Busta Hyman

mikom wrote: »
    Maybe the horse is too precious to get up on. :rolleyes:

lolz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

She's an Alaskan Malamute. She's far more equipped to deal with the outdoors than most dogs. but before anyone jumps to conclusions - i'm not trying to justify the fact that she should be outdoors.

As previously stated, i'm still debating the issue. sleeping out the back is something that may or may not happen. There are pro's and Con's at the moment to both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 SheenaD

its not a child you are dealing with though an animal has the right to get out.... its cruel actually its beyond cruel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I'd have no qualms whatsoever about an Alaskan Malamute sleeping outside. I think the dog would actually be healthier for it but certainly weigh up the options for yourself. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,470 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I'd have no qualms whatsoever about an Alaskan Malamute sleeping outside. I think the dog would actually be healthier for it but certainly weigh up the options for yourself. :)
    I agree. Even the coldest weather we get here would be like a balmy summers day for a dog like that. Alaskan husky sled dogs, some of which have no thicker coats than a lot of domestic mutts, sleep outside in -20 degrees or colder with no bother at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Maddogg

I have a springer/collie mix.

since i have got her she has slept in the kitchen, at first i used to closed the door in the kitchen in case she had a n accident (which she never has) but now if i leave the doors open she will just sleep in the kitchen.

but if i am out late and she has been outside and i come home she is so comfortable in her kennel that she will just look at me as if to say "leave me alone"

so basically its up to her but more times then not she sleeps in the kitchen and is a brillaint guard dogs as she has proven twice already........;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Niamh, your dog is fine for staying outside in a good a kennel all my own pure breed dogs and mixed breeds have stayed outside with the exception of halloween and from a health point of view of the dog it will be fine, about the safety of the dog as a young pup it is an easy target(when it gets older it wont be so easy to rob its not a small dog) for theft you could perhaps venture to the local garda station and ask them are there many dog thefts in the area thats your only barometer on safety from that perspective. You should also get the dog chipped.

As for the people who gave abuse, a dog is a dog its not a human you dont feed it human food you dont treat a dog like a human because well its a dog not a human.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

A responsible breeder will ensure that their puppies are very well socialised before leaving for their new homes. Very, very hard to do that properly when they're out in a shed. They need to be handled by children, all different kinds of people (especially men) and exposed to all the noise and bustle of life with people - washing machines, the phone ringing, the doorbell, vaccum cleaners, other pets...

That is of course, unless the new owner is just going to keep the pup in the back garden, too. :(

I don't think the size/coat of the dog should have any bearing on whether the dog is allowed to sleep indoors or not. If you train your dog to be mannerly and groom it regularly, that dog could sleep in the tiniest apartment, if it came to it. (Not that all dogs are suited to living in tiny apartments - that's not my point!) A friend of mine has a Pyrenean Mountain Dog and a St. Bernard - they both sleep indoors in her cottage along with all of her cats.

I don't agree that all dogs are essentially "weather-proof" and can/should sleep outdoors if that's what the owner wants for the dog. Dogs can and do die of cold in this country - even if they have access to a kennel. I personally know of an eight year old Jack Russell and her pup that were found dead in their kennel in the garden during the cold snap after Christmas. They'd died of exposure.