Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for airsoft lovers to take action!

123457»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Airsoft Reloded

Tigger wrote: »
    firing squads?

are ye trying to get the game a bad name

i'd ask that firing squad discussion be banned from here by concensus at leasrt if not by the mods, stupiddists thing i ever heard

True, better we say nothing and allow it to continue!

o1s1n wrote: »
    The user Boroimhe started this thread. You do know you're only meant to have one account, right?

As I have said recently enough not to do that here.

If you have a complaint bring it directly to the site/team whoever. Don't moan and bitch about it on here but in reality do absolutely nothing. This is not a soapbox/blog/complaints handling site. It's a discussion forum. We're here to discuss how to resolve this. Not point fingers and accuse people.

Fair enough o1s1n, point taken!

I think all the points I wanted to make have been made here, I have spoken to other site owners and will be leaving the organisation of this system to the IAA/IASRA!

Thanks for all the posts everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

firing squads?

are ye trying to get the game a bad name

i'd ask that firing squad discussion be banned from here by concensus at leasrt if not by the mods, stupiddists thing i ever heard

Tigger, with all due respect, no.

For long enough now, when something becomes contraversial or in somewhat discomforting, we request it to be banned from here, or not discussed or kept hush hush, for fear that the DoJ or some reporter will read it and get one over on us.

But I personally feel it better that these things are brought to light. Boards is used, because it is the most efficient medium to bring these items to the attention of airsofters around the country.

This thread is an example of that. Beforehand we would probably lock this thread, or we would be having rows left right and centre. But I think we have all turned a corner in realising there is some fundamental problems in airsoft, and it is best these problems are weeded out now whilst the sport is young and the community small, rather then trying to do it in 5 years time when possibly the community is alot larger.

Fair enough o1s1n, point taken!

I think all the points I wanted to make have been made here, I have spoken to other site owners and will be leaving the organisation of this system to the IAA/IASRA!

Thanks for all the posts everyone!

I hope that this is transparant and there is alot of player consultation in this.

The last thing you, as a site owner needs, is to bring in a piece of legislation, that will effectively drive away business.

For example I do not really want to have to go through anal means and modes, or signing in every gun I own etc to have a skirmish. To me that was an IASRA wish point, which I strongly detested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭hrta

I hope that this is transparant and there is alot of player consultation in this.

The last thing you, as a site owner needs, is to bring in a piece of legislation, that will effectively drive away business.

For example I do not really want to have to go through anal means and modes, or signing in every gun I own etc to have a skirmish. To me that was an IASRA wish point, which I strongly detested.

you already did, at my site, and every time you sign in.

FIELD VELOCITY.

• All participants intending to use their own equipment must report to the chronograph & target range after signing in.

• Field velocity limit is 328 FPS with .20 gram BBs

• All Airsoft Guns will be choreographed before and after each round.

• Any participant found not abiding by or abusing these standards will be warned. If this happens twice the participant will be removed permanently for the day without refund.

I HAVE READ THE RULES AND THE ABOVE WAIVER AND RELEASE, BY SIGNING IT.

What I mean is having all my airsoft kit registered. I get chronod yes, but I dont write down the name of my gun, make model, last time it was opened etc etc.

Doc, what we are going to do is stick by the standards we have already set for ourselves. I think the IAA should make this system quickly and they should consult all interested parties (members or not).

We will sign up to any system made by anybody that safegaurds airsoft and its honor system!

What we don't want is for people reading this thread to think we are serving our own agenda here (because we are not), we have nothing to gain by this thread. All I have gotten is a lot of bitchy phone calls, some warrented but most not.

You understand why we started this and you know our intentions are pure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Tigger, with all due respect, no.

For long enough now, when something becomes contraversial or in somewhat discomforting, we request it to be banned from here, or not discussed or kept hush hush, for fear that the DoJ or some reporter will read it and get one over on us.
    well yes

But I personally feel it better that these things are brought to light. Boards is used, because it is the most efficient medium to bring these items to the attention of airsofters around the country.

ok fair enough but what if sopme reported starts with
    "airsofters hazing 16 year old jonny o'connor leaves parent slightly annoyed"

by the time it makes the jo sho there will be roving gamngs of vigallante airsofters doling out their own brand of plasitic justice

This thread is an example of that. Beforehand we would probably lock this thread, or we would be having rows left right and centre. But I think we have all turned a corner in realising there is some fundamental problems in airsoft, and it is best these problems are weeded out now whilst the sport is young and the community small, rather then trying to do it in 5 years time when possibly the community is alot larger.

can i propose that although i don't want peeps prosecuted i also thing that "firing squads" should be replacedwith something a little less media friendly such as a wrirtten warning and listing on a site watch list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭G3-Nut

well yes

can i propose that although i don't want peeps prosecuted i also thing that "firing squads" should be replacedwith something a little less media friendly such as a wrirtten warning and listing on a site watch list

Have you read any previous posts man:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭-PornStar-

ok fair enough but what if sopme reported starts with
    "airsofters hazing 16 year old jonny o'connor leaves parent slightly annoyed"

by the time it makes the jo sho there will be roving gamngs of vigallante airsofters doling out their own brand of plasitic justice

Huh?

That is kinda what the last 21 pages of posts are about.

Tigger man I do not know what your point is, or what you are trying to say, besides the blatant disregard for grammar or spelling of any sort ( **** now im hivemind :P )

I would also say, I do not think this is something that should be thrown on the door and feet of the IAA. By right ( and probably to their preference) the governing body of Airsoft, should be dealing with internal airsoft affairs, like this.

But as is to everyones knowledge, every year, they get bogged down with some new challenge, that requires all there attention, their 100% attention to resolve.

Last year, the commitee dealt with the serious threat of Airsoft being banned.
    This year, the commitee has had to deal with similar issues, but also deal with the IASRA fiasco, aswell as other pressing issues.

I could well see their priorities being everywere but with this. And rightly so, and I think it is very much unfair to throw this on their lap, from an idea you have conceived without consulting them beforehand and expecting them to pick up the labour and sort this out along with all the other stuff.

In saying that, this is a matter that has been brought to our attention by a siteowner. Who has been in touch with other site owners to get their support. I think that the site owners should do the groundwork on this, and merely consult with the IAA in matters legal or otherwise. But do not just drop this at their feet and if they do not get it done in 10 months time shout " o they didnt even sort out cheating"

Just something I wanted to point out, as I see it knocked about a few times on this thread, that the IAA should make the system. I do not see them having the time to fully flesh out this system, when currently they are up to their tits in matters elsewhere of a much higher priority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

to clarify

ban the cheaters (country wide) for a month then 2 etc

don't have firing squads

chrono everyone: at start (hop off) and randomly during game (hop on cos otherwise it'll be hassel)

spell better

Tigger man I do not know what your point is, or what you are trying to say, besides the blatant disregard for grammar or spelling of any sort ( **** now im hivemind :P )

I would also say, I do not think this is something that should be thrown on the door and feet of the IAA. By right ( and probably to their preference) the governing body of Airsoft, should be dealing with internal airsoft affairs, like this.

But as is to everyones knowledge, every year, they get bogged down with some new challenge, that requires all there attention, their 100% attention to resolve.

Last year, the commitee dealt with the serious threat of Airsoft being banned.
    This year, the commitee has had to deal with similar issues, but also deal with the IASRA fiasco, aswell as other pressing issues.

I could well see their priorities being everywere but with this. And rightly so, and I think it is very much unfair to throw this on their lap, from an idea you have conceived without consulting them beforehand and expecting them to pick up the labour and sort this out along with all the other stuff.

In saying that, this is a matter that has been brought to our attention by a siteowner. Who has been in touch with other site owners to get their support. I think that the site owners should do the groundwork on this, and merely consult with the IAA in matters legal or otherwise. But do not just drop this at their feet and if they do not get it done in 10 months time shout " o they didnt even sort out cheating"

Just something I wanted to point out, as I see it knocked about a few times on this thread, that the IAA should make the system. I do not see them having the time to fully flesh out this system, when currently they are up to their tits in matters elsewhere of a much higher priority.

I agree whole heartedly Doc, the reason I was hoping the IAA could do it (and the reason I offered any help we could give) is because atleast it would be trustworthy and not tainted by any one site owner/retailer.

Also in terms of organising such a large scale system and implementing it I think the IAA are the only ones with the capacity to do so but you are right.

I also think team captains should meet up to discuss some system where they can boycott sites/retailers that don't abide by the rules the honest teams want to go by, Kiwi and I will meet anywhere for this representing AON (obviously The Warehouse is available)!

Rite then, there are a lot of site owners reading this I'm sure, lets organise a meeting somewhere at some time, I'm sure the IAA or IASRA could be there to help out. Lets get it done then.

We are available any time, any day and we will meet the other site owners anywhere to get this done!

to clarify

ban the cheaters (country wide) for a month then 2 etc

don't have firing squads

chrono everyone: at start (hop off) and randomly during game (hop on cos otherwise it'll be hassel)

spell better

Spelling better?, lol

Only joking!

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭vkchris

Looking at site waivers and rules i think you will see they already have the rules we want in place and i think marshalls do their best to control cheating but i dont think it is possible for only a few marshalls to watch everyone on the site all the time. We the palyers need to make sure marshalls know who to look for and if we inform them who we think is cheating they can then do their best job to confirm it.A marshall cant do anything without seeing the rules broken themselves and rightly so otherwise it will turn into one mans word against the other but if we tell them when we KNOW and only when we are sure someone is cheating they can then focus more of their attention on those people.

I myself in the past when i would have hit someone and they didnt call it would have gone off annoyed and only told my close frinds on the site but now i will inform the marshalls and be sure that the cheater is dealt with properly and according to site rules.

I think the problem can only be dealt with by us the players.We have to talk to our marshalls and make their jobs a little easier we need to speak up more about cheating than we have in the past if someone is cheating and you know they are have a please have a word with them and the marshalls it will improve the sport for everyone.

I dont think a system of connecting all our sites with a common cheaters list and then forceing them out of the sport is needed and i dont think it is even possible at the momment i think it is a issue the whole sport needs to talk about with the help of the IAA if it is to really work and the IAA already have enough on their plate as it is. As some of the site owners have said if you ban someone from the site for a limted time when they return they play more honestly. Thats all we need right now and when our sport can settle down then we can address these issues.

Airsoft is still very much a small community and we all need to work together to keep it growing and developing. We cant just put all our problems to the IAA and hope they come up with a magical anwser that will solve everything.

Those interested in this thread may want to check out the "Airsoft blacklist" thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Phractal

I recently noted a old thread condemning players who play on private land, asking should one call the Gardai. Well, my team practices on either
    a) Our own private property.
    b) Proper skirmish sites
    c) Private land, with full written permission of the landowner.

I see no legal problem with this. We once had some local youth come into the game area, using it for 'bushing' or illegal underage drinking, and there was a close call when one was almost struck by a stray BB. We asked them to leave, and went out of our way to accommodate their drunken antics - so in the end we were forced to call the local police. The police were very fair to all parties involved, asked the lads to leave and they did. The Garda there even let them take their ethanol containing beverages with them in order to avoid any altercation. We continued to play, without incident.

Another time, local children turned up to spectate the 'cool shootout'. We asked them to leave, as it WAS private property and they got their parents. After some arguing and such, the parents accepted that
    a) It was a risk to their children
    and
    b) Their children were trespassing.

The only oother time was when some IDIOTS came to the forest shooting real steel. I was practicing with a good mate, with permission of the landowner. The shooters had no such permissions. When the live rounds started coming our way, some literally within feet of us, and the guys seemingly could not hear us shouting, we ran for it and reported the incident to the authorities.

Now, who here thinks that airsoft SHOULD be restricted solely to Skirmish sites?

I dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Necro-thread...

Well better to dig up old ones, and re-show relavent points, than make new ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

I think you'll find that, although what you're saying makes logical sense, the general consensus right across Boards.ie, and not just the Airsoft forum, is that resurrecting old threads is not a good idea, and is discouraged.

I'm just saying this as a neutral observer, because it doesn't affect me one way or another, but that's how it is.

AH. Then I apologise for my mistake. On most other forums, creation of new threads covering the same thing is frowned upon as wasting space.

Anymore I will make new threads.

Thanks fot that bit of info Tony. Oh, expect a order soon, once I decide... G36c or AUG A1...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Phractal wrote: »
    I recently noted a old thread condemning players who play on private land, asking should one call the Gardai. Well, my team practices on either
    a) Our own private property.
    b) Proper skirmish sites
    c) Private land, with full written permission of the landowner.

I see no legal problem with this. We once had some local youth come into the game area, using it for 'bushing' or illegal underage drinking, and there was a close call when one was almost struck by a stray BB. We asked them to leave, and went out of our way to accommodate their drunken antics - so in the end we were forced to call the local police. The police were very fair to all parties involved, asked the lads to leave and they did. The Garda there even let them take their ethanol containing beverages with them in order to avoid any altercation. We continued to play, without incident.

Another time, local children turned up to spectate the 'cool shootout'. We asked them to leave, as it WAS private property and they got their parents. After some arguing and such, the parents accepted that
    a) It was a risk to their children
    and
    b) Their children were trespassing.

The only oother time was when some IDIOTS came to the forest shooting real steel. I was practicing with a good mate, with permission of the landowner. The shooters had no such permissions. When the live rounds started coming our way, some literally within feet of us, and the guys seemingly could not hear us shouting, we ran for it and reported the incident to the authorities.

Now, who here thinks that airsoft SHOULD be restricted solely to Skirmish sites?

I dont.

So you're saying is that you play on private land, and as a result you have:

- Nearly shot some kids.
    - Had some parents come and hassle you because kids were straying on to the site
    - Nearly gotten shot with a real gun.

Your entire post makes sense apart from the last line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Necro thread - locked