Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Personal Issues too busy?

• 03-03-2009 9:36pm

In my humble opinion, PI is getting too busy..

I'm sure the idea of a Relationship Issues Forum as a sub-forum to Personal Issues has been thrown about? There's some very serious issues in PI but too many relationship advice threads for them to get proper exposure..

Maybe I'm completely off the mark but I've been a lurker and poster under various accounts for years and definately think the increased site traffic is making one or two forums move a little too fast.. Going back in PI, there's 5 pages of issues before we get past yesterday.. that's alot of threads. I don't even click a quarter of them anymore..

thoughts?
    Post edited by Shield on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I'm sure the idea of a Relationship Issues Forum as a sub-forum to Personal Issues has been thrown about?

Yes, PI is very busy.
    But, if you have a Relationship Issues Forum, what will be left in PI exactly?
    90% of PI is about relationship problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It might have legs tbh. Red a few days ago suggest a "Social Help" forum, which may just be an extension of what you're suggesting.

I think in reality though the PI mods would be the most affected and would have to agree that separating the forum into various topics would serve it best. You have to remember that two forums does increase their workload and effort.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Yes, PI is very busy.
    But, if you have a Relationship Issues Forum, what will be left in PI exactly?
    90% of PI is about relationship problems.

that's a fair point aswell..

i suppose it'd be hard to get the split right between what is a personal issue and what is a relationship issue. eg. drugs addiction affecting relationship.
    seamus wrote: »
    It might have legs tbh. Red a few days ago suggest a "Social Help" forum, which may just be an extension of what you're suggesting.

I think in reality though the PI mods would be the most affected and would have to agree that separating the forum into various topics would serve it best. You have to remember that two forums does increase their workload and effort.

this is something a regular poster like myself wouldn't think off :P

another thing i've been thinking recently is that i'd like to write about what i've done to get out of a crappy faze that i was posting about in PI anonymously a few months ago.. but there is nowhere to post it..

• Registered Users Posts: 83,224 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Long Term Illness was set up in 2006 to take some load off of PI. Ultimately PI is all about the relationship issues, and the sociality issues, and the human interaction issues. Splitting PI is thus not unprecedented. A social help forum (how do I get more self confidence? kind of generic advice) might be a good investment.

You can always pay more attention to threads with 0 replies. OP's can bump their own threads if necessary. I'll pick a few unattended threads at night to respond to and then track them later as threads I've replied to.

would the social help forum allow anonymous posting? the only way a forum like that could take off i think..

edit: i just realised it makes more sense to create a forum like that than try move 90% of a forums traffic to another forum. as in creating a relationship forum..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Wow, I never realised it was that busy, you have to go to page four to get to yesterdays posts :eek:

Must be the busiest fourm on boards in that case?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't know about the busiest, but it's exploded since the recession really took hold. People with money troubles, people with relationship troubles caused by money troubles and so forth.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,224 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Its easy to corellate PI activity to the time of year too - Winter always sees more and more depression threads, february always brings out a ton of relationship issues/loneliness threads, May and June and August/September sees a lot of school related threads but for the most part the summer gets fairly tame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

It has gotten mega busy the last 3 months which is one of the reasons we added an additional mod.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

seamus wrote: »
    I don't know about the busiest, but it's exploded since the recession really took hold. People with money troubles, people with relationship troubles caused by money troubles and so forth.

Some could be moved to Personal Biz, eg. mortgage arrears, personal debt, MABS help.

It would avoid personal viewpoints and more factual, to the financial point advice.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Some could be moved to Personal Biz, eg. mortgage arrears, personal debt, MABS help.

That forum would require being able to post unregged then.
    A lot of people want to remain anonymous for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

I've noticed a lot of the threads in PI lately are really more suited to Sex and Sexuality but because this is a subscribed site, people are not posting there.

Is there anyway to open up the S and S forum to over 18's without a subscription fee?
    This would help with some of the overload.

People can have personal issues and problems which are sex related which are better suited to the personal issues for then the sex and sexuality forum.

The sex and sexuality forum does not have unreggistered posting.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

how about a "Should i text him forum" . every second thread is about someone wanting to know that or what does this text mean or i texted him two mins ago and he hasnt replied is he trying to dump me or should i phone the police in case something has happended to him.

you could have it as a sub-forum of the mobile phone forum

then you could have i havent paid my mortgage in 4 years because of the recession and now i will be homeless - you could make that a sub-forum of the accomdation forum

and then "i hate my mother/father/dog/ cat- whatever" and move that to the parenting forum

and just send all the bunny boilers to the animal and pet forum.

then you are just left with the people who want to kill themselves and aware.ie could set up a hosted forum for that

yeah, problem solved - no need for PI anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

how about a "Should i text him forum" .

No need for a forum.

A script that automatically creates a reply saying JUST RING HIM FOR JAYSUS SAKE would suffice.

stovelid wrote: »
    No need for a forum.

A script that automatically creates a reply saying JUST RING HIM FOR JAYSUS SAKE would suffice.

QUOTED FOR FECKING TRUTH

WHAT IS WRONG WITH THESE PEOPLE :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

I can't understand why someone would ask for help on a forum about their relationship.

"Hi honey, I'm dumping you cause someone on the internet said I should"
    "Hello Tom, I think we should get married cause someone on the internet said I should"
    "Hello Mary, we should have kids cause the internet says so"
    "I like hardcore porn"

PI is a wierd one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I can't understand why someone would ask for help on a forum about their relationship.

"Hi honey, I'm dumping you cause someone on the internet said I should"
    "Hello Tom, I think we should get married cause someone on the internet said I should"
    "Hello Mary, we should have kids cause the internet says so"
    "I like hardcore porn"

PI is a wierd one.

The benefit is in the act of asking, I assume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

how about a "Should i text him forum" .

maybe not a forum, but how about a sticky?

a "Does She Like Me" thread.
    a "Am I pregnant" thread etc etc. We're only posting the same advice over and over anyway, maybe stickies would help?

hmm, that's odd. I don't *remember* ordering a can of whop-ass, yet here it is. Oh! it's from Beruthial too. OH SHI-

tbh wrote: »
    maybe not a forum, but how about a sticky?

a "Does She Like Me" thread.
    a "Am I pregnant" thread etc etc. We're only posting the same advice over and over anyway, maybe stickies would help?

hmm, that's odd. I don't *remember* ordering a can of whop-ass, yet here it is. Oh! it's from Beruthial too. OH SHI-

For fecks sake tbh, you're here since 2003, you moderate multiable forums and yet you still don't know that people NEVER read the stickys!!
    Hello????
    *Shocked, utterly shocked*

For fecks sake tbh, you're here since 2003, you moderate multiable forums and yet you still don't know that people NEVER read the stickys!!
    Hello????
    *Shocked, utterly shocked*

okay then - can we have automated responses to stupid threads then ?

and i would like change my positioning on where the bunnyboilers should be sent to - rather then animal and pets, they should be sent to the shooting forum

and any who asks about speed dating or online dating should with a perma ban.

Actually, why i am not mod of everything ? there would be no messing around then :P

okay then - can we have automated responses to stupid threads then ?

That would be great wouldn't it?!
    and i would like change my positioning on where the bunnyboilers should be sent to - rather then animal and pets, they should be sent to the shooting forum

Killing two birds with one stone.
    I like the way you think.
    Actually, why i am not mod of everything ? there would be no messing around then :P

There's a fine line between being firm and a nazi. I walk it daily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

There's a fine line between being firm and a nazi. I walk it daily.

Surely with the Jackboots of Love you used to sport that should be "I frogmarch it daily" :p

Because people always think it is different when it happens to them and the mental and emotional release they get from posting and the reassurance they get from people responding to them will never replace stock answers and questions and tbh
    to put such a system in place is insulting to them.

Yes PI does need a firm hand but we also need to be understanding and supportive
    and not matter how frustated we get as the answer seems to be simple just because
    we are able mentally and emotionally to take that action easily often the OP can not.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Because people always think it is different when it happens to them and the mental and emotional release they get from posting and the reassurance they get from people responding to them will never replace stock answers and questions and tbh

Yes PI does need a firm hand but we also need to be understanding and supportive
    and not matter how frustated we get as the answer seems to be simple just because
    we are able mentally and emotionally to take that action easily often the OP can not.
    Nail on the head. It's easy to be all, "oh cop on!". I can often understand that reaction and god knows I have been tempted, but it's not really helpful in a lot of cases. In some cases it's either downright rude, stupid or shows serious lack of empathy.

People differ. There are things that might freak me right out and others would look at me askance and wonder did I need my bumps felt. There are things that would barely register on my radar that could have some reaching for strong drink.

I know the "cop yourself on" response in me comes from a self satisfied place, a non insightful self centered place, or even a "how was I myself such a fool in the past and now I'm cynical and reactionary" place. It's assuming that someone thinks or feels or reacts the same as me and that is a very silly way to view the world and other people in it.

IMHO the beginnings of of any kind of wisdom or insight into the human condition we all share is to understand that regardless of how we personally feel, others differ.

As for stupid threads? Well yes there are some that are plainly stupid, but they're few enough considering the traffic. Others may appear stupid at first, but it could be that the person can't express themselves well, or the person isn't as up to speed as others with the whole web forum guff, or it's an aforementioned genuine issue for them. TBH there are more stupid and ill thought out responses(my own included at times) than stupid threads.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Thaedydal wrote: »

I've been posting on PI for about five years, and you are exactly right. It's really frustrating when the same questions come up over and over, but all you have to do is not answer them. There's always someone willing!
    Yes PI does need a firm hand but we also need to be understanding and supportive and not matter how frustated we get as the answer seems to be simple just because we are able mentally and emotionally to take that action easily often the OP can not.

I think, generally speaking, the PI mods have always gotten the line between firm and overly-firm just right. The mods make the forum what it is, and I'm thankful to ye all for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

New Sub-Forum of PI - Relationship Issues is up.
    New fancy Smod buttons ba0a63f828ff4521429252dd45da767f.jpg

New Sub-Forum of PI - Relationship Issues is up.
    New fancy Smod buttons ba0a63f828ff4521429252dd45da767f.jpg
    cool cool.. :cool: glad i started this thread now!

:(

unhappy face?