Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Friday Quiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

redout wrote: »
    Answer Round 2 Question 3 please ?

Motherwell

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Soccer Forum Quiz Round 3

1)What year were Nets first used

2)Gary MacKay scored a goal that got Ireland to Euro 88,who did he play his club football with at the time

3)Who is the only player to win the FA Cup with both Merseyside teams?

4)Cryptic Clue,Detectives need them

5)Who is this
    deanwhitehead628425.jpg

6)Who Preceded Brian Kerr as St Pats manager.

7)Which player was capped by Ireland while playin for Brighton, Liverpool and QPR?

8)Guess the player from his previous Clubs,Leeds United,Nottingham Forest,Sheffield Wednesday,Bolton,Doncaster,Oldham.

9)4 European cities are each home to two clubs who have made it to a European Cup Final. (ie Champions League or its predecessor the European (Champions) Cup).Name the citysMilan

10)One player has played the FA Cup final twice for 2 teams,so 4 times for 2 clubs.Who is he..?

11)Who is the only player to have scored in the top division of England,Spain,Italy,France

12)One Player has played in these 4 derbies who is he,Liverpool v Everton,Man city v Man Utd,Spurs v Arsenal,Sunderland v Newcastle

13)Name Wimbledon's original home ground

14)Who was the last Scotish manager of Chelsea

15) 3 players have played in a Euro 1992 qualifier and a Euro 2008 qualifier,name 2 of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

I'm out lads. Most of these questions are before my time (all 3 rounds included) I am just guessing ffs. All the best lads.

I think Dub13 needs a recount as I got 5 correct which should 10pts at two a piece.

Fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,960 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Only got two of the four cities, couldn't name Pats boss before Kerr, should have asked the decade and not the year for the nets...

Not too good in that round.... :(

Couple of fails there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

crap round for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,001 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

not great there either.

Round 2 scores

Zebra3 19
    redout 14
    CARROLLER 14
    Xavi6 20
    eagle eye 12
    gustavo 12

I had a stab at Gary Ablett for the 4 fa cup finals one. Waiting to see if I'm right.

Xavi has it methinks....

Only reason i'm still in work is for the results

theres a pints awaitin

I will do round 3 now but here is were we stand now.

Xavi6 40
    Zebra 31
    CARROLLER 27
    redout 24
    gustavo 24
    eagle eye 23

Are we all happy with that..?

Round 3 answers.

Soccer Forum Quiz Round 3

1)What year were Nets first used.1891.
    2)Gary MacKay scored a goal that got Ireland to Euro 88,who did he play his club football with at the time.Hearts
    3)Who is the only player to win the FA Cup with both Merseyside teams?gary ablett
    4)Cryptic Clue,Detectives need them.Leeds
    5)Who is this,Dean Whitehead
    6)Who Preceded Brian Kerr as St Pats manager.Jimmy Jackson
    7)Which player was capped by Ireland while playin for Brighton, Liverpool and QPR?Michael Robinson
    8)Guess the player from his previous Clubs,Leeds United,Nottingham Forest,Sheffield Wednesday,Bolton,Doncaster,Oldham.John Sheridan
    9)4 European cities are each home to two clubs who have made it to a European Cup Final. (ie Champions League or its predecessor the European (Champions) Cup).Name the citysMilan:Madrid:Belgrade;London
    10)One player has played the FA Cup final twice for 2 teams,so 4 times for 2 clubs.Who is he..?Frank Stapleton
    11)Who is the only player to have scored in the top division of England,Spain,Italy,France.Raducioiu
    12)One Player has played in these 4 derbies who is he,Liverpool v Everton,Man city v Man Utd,Spurs v Arsenal,Sunderland v Newcastle.paul stewart
    13)Name Wimbledon's original home ground.plough lane
    14)Who was the last Scotish manager of Chelsea.Ian Porterfield
    15) 3 players have played in a Euro 1992 qualifier and a Euro 2008 qualifier,name 2 of them.Giggs,Litmanen,Dorinel Munteanu

delighted

Should have got Robinson.

Should have got Madrid, didn't know Partizan played in a EC final.

Dean Whitehead? Who the fvck is he? :confused:

I think I got `12 points on the first round. There is one question and when I went back over it, I thought I hadn't given the answer. I put down Joe Fagan and when I was going back over it I though I had forgotten to put in the answer and put in Ronnie Moran after that again. Anyways you prob gave me 1 point there, but I thought I still had another five correct.

Gazza, Sheedy and the last three questions.

Just looking back at it, I even forgot to put in Howard Wilkinson.:rolleyes:

Did crap in that one. Happy I got Paul Stewart and John Sheridan right though.

Zebra3 wrote: »

Dean Whitehead? Who the fvck is he? :confused:

Sunderland captain

Jaysus I got totally confused on that four derbies question. I started thinking of Niall Quinn and then Howard Kendall popped into my head and I put down Quinn as the answer, you know at Man City he improved Quinns balance with the wobble board and all that. Mad.

Round 3 scores.

Zebra 7,I gave you one point for the European city's question.
    CARROLLER 7
    Xavi6 11
    eagle eye 12
    gustavo 8

Well done Xavi

Dub13 wrote: »
    Round 3 scores.

Zebra 7,I gave you one point for the European city's question.
    CARROLLER 7
    Xavi6 11
    eagle eye 12
    gustavo 8
    Ha, won the last round. \0/

Like the FA Cup winner of the last round is the Champion imo. :)

I think that leaves us with this..?Any disputes fire away.Congrats Xavi6.

Xavi6 51
    Zebra 38
    CARROLLER 34
    eagle eye 33
    gustavo 32
    redout 24

Xavi6 51
    Zebra 38
    CARROLLER 34
    eagle eye 33
    gustavo 32
    redout 24
    Yeah I think I have either 35 or 36. See previous post regarding first round.

Woo hoo! Cheers for organising that Dub. Same time next week?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Xavi6 51
    Zebra 38
    CARROLLER 34
    eagle eye 33
    gustavo 32
    redout 24

redout only undertook two of the three rounds before I am called dummy ;)

But fair play Dub13 that was a tough quiz. As I said earlier it definitely favoured the older crowd. How about a premiership quiz only down the road ?

eagle eye wrote: »
    I think I got `12 points on the first round. There is one question and when I went back over it, I thought I hadn't given the answer. I put down Joe Fagan and when I was going back over it I though I had forgotten to put in the answer and put in Ronnie Moran after that again. Anyways you prob gave me 1 point there, but I thought I still had another five correct.

Gazza, Sheedy and the last three questions.

Just looking back at it, I even forgot to put in Howard Wilkinson.:rolleyes:

I have you down as 9 points,I gave you one for the liverpool question as you got it right but you gave 2 answers.

Here is what I got from you..
    1)Who was the last player to captain England before David Beckham? Alan Shearer

2)Fill in the missing name in this sequence of Liverpool Managers Shankly,Paisley, ???,Dalglish Joe Fagan Ronnie Moran

3)Who was the first £100,000 football transfer.

4)What decade was the white ball legalised in football? 1970's?

5)Who was the first £2m football transfer between English clubs? Gazza

6)Fill in the missing name in this sequence of England managers: Taylor, Venables, Hoddle, ??? , Keegan.

7)Who was the first football transfer over £10m between English clubs?

8)It is said that an international football match in 1969 started a war between which two nations,who are they..?

9)Who took Irelands first peno in the 1990 world cup match v Romania Kevin Sheedy

10)Which English club has a fanzine called "A Load of Bull

11)Which was the last English team to play in a Uefa Cup final? And who did they lose to? (a point for each)

12)Who is the Irish player in this Pic

13)Whats Cobh Ramblers home ground called. St. Colmans Park

14)Cryptic Clue,Guess the club.Not an eastern dish. West Ham

15)Who was the first club Alex Ferguson managed East Stirling

I think we could have a league thing on this where you get points for your finishing position. Everybody had to do a round of questions and take that week off obviously. Base it over a two month period. Your 5 best results counting towards your final league score given that people will miss a week or two through being off work, holidays etc.

Thanks to D13 for putting the work in there and congrats to Xavi on winning it.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Woo hoo! Cheers for organising that Dub. Same time next week?!

I was thinking it may be better to have a different quiz master every week,that way it would have a different angel each week.But if nobody is up for it I can always do another one.

How about the defending chap gets first refusal on been the next quiz master..?
    But fair play Dub13 that was a tough quiz. As I said earlier it definitely favoured the older crowd. How about a premiership quiz only down the road ?

LOL....see the Sky Sports Generation thread.

What did you lot think if the questions..?I was not sure how hard easy to make them,I think I got a good mix of questions in overall.

Sounds quality

What did you lot think if the questions..?I was not sure how hard easy to make them,I think I got a good mix of questions in overall.

Yeah a decent mix. A few too many Merseyside related questions for my liking though! ;)

I'll do the next one then so. If I'm not gonna be online at the time of the quiz I'll just PM the questions to you in advance.

Ok, if you are not giving me points for Gazza then I have 9 points. But sure everybody knows that Gazza is Paul Gascoigne and that was the answer I think. You explained the Joe Fagan one and thats fair.

The other ones are Kevin Sheedy, and the last three East Stirling, West Ham and St. Colmans Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Yeah a decent mix. A few too many Merseyside related questions for my liking though! ;)

I'll do the next one then so. If I'm not gonna be online at the time of the quiz I'll just PM the questions to you in advance.

Yeah, and the one Man City one in there ya got wrong:D

Ok, if you are not giving me points for Gazza then I have 9 points. But sure everybody knows that Gazza is Paul Gascoigne and that was the answer I think. You explained the Joe Fagan one and thats fair.

The other ones are Kevin Sheedy, and the last three East Stirling, West Ham and St. Colmans Park

No sorry you are right,I taught I had you in for the Gazza one.So thats 2 more points.I will fix that up now.

Mushy wrote: »
    Yeah, and the one Man City one in there ya got wrong:D

Cant believe that one myself,how did you miss that...?

For some reason I thought he signed after the WC and not just before (he joined in March 1990).

Xavi6 51
    Zebra 38
    CARROLLER 34
    eagle eye 33
    gustavo 32
    redout 24

After a Stewart's inquiry here is the revised table.

Xavi6 51
    Zebra 38
    eagle eye 35
    CARROLLER 34
    gustavo 32
    redout 24

I dont think anybody got the Frank Stapleton one,thats a good one.

Cheers Dub13, that was excellent. Good tough questions imo.

So what about a League thing then?

Who is interested? Will this week count or will we start a League thing from scratch?

I think three rounds might just a wee bit time consuming for a Friday towards the end of the working day. Thoughts?

I am willing to do the next round if you want.

I dont think anybody got the Frank Stapleton one,thats a good one.
    That killed me, I should have got it. Would have given more time. For some reason I though Everton were beaten in a Cup final around the time they won it and went for Ablett.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I think three rounds might just a wee bit time consuming for a Friday towards the end of the working day. Thoughts?

Yeah, I found I was swamped with the questions, even for a Friday afternoon.

I had to pull out after the first round.

You may get away with two rounds but there is a lot more possibilities of a draw.We could run it earlier in the day.

Somebody mentioned how rushed it is,well thats to stop lads using google.

The league thing is something to conceder.

You may get away with two rounds but there is a lot more possibilities of a draw.We could run it earlier in the day.

The league thing is something to conceder.
    Yeah I understand the google element alright. If you can't trust guys not to use it then so be it. There is an answer to that though. You will see it when I do a round of questions.;)

Yeh, defo worked in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Has Henry not scored in those 4 top flights?

10)One player has played the FA Cup final twice for 2 teams,so 4 times for 2 clubs.Who is he..?Frank Stapleton

Apparently Stapleton played in three finals for the Arse, 1978-1980.

Would explain why no-one got it. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

playa3 wrote: »
    Has Henry not scored in those 4 top flights?

And John Carew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,725 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Fúck I missed it.

Looking at the questions, thank Christ! :o