Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Fox" calibre shoot at Midlands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

clivej wrote: »
    Oh so much talk and not much walk.

FS you still got your 223 to use glad you didn't sell it on now??

BS at least you may get to hit the bobing fox now that you have a REAL gun :P

gentleman jim don't listen to these people who speak with forked tounge they only want your $$$$$$$$$$$ on the day, you won't have a hope in hell of winning when Dwighet and myself turn up. ;) Shooting from the hip :rolleyes:
    If I shoot like I shot today at the farm,I havnt a hope..did manage a few wabbits to 300 but missed alot.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Clive, Dwight & FS this is for ye :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hYV-JSjpyU[/quote]

And on the day it'll be closer to:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_a-m3pH9Dr8&feature=related

If we're going 300 I might go something heavier than the 40gr's.

Clive I know it's only 200 but it is a 3 shot group C/C 1/4":

IMG_0155.jpg

MORE THAN LIKELY IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN :(

Clive, Dwight & FS this is for ye :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hYV-JSjpyU

And on the day it'll be closer to:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_a-m3pH9Dr8&feature=related

If we're going 300 I might go something heavier than the 40gr's.

Clive I know it's only 200 but it is a 3 shot group C/C 1/4":

IMG_0155.jpg
    Very nice group fish......All you have to do now is put them in the bull;)
    MORE THAN LIKELY IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN :([/QUOTE]

Dwighet : "Very nice group fish......All you have to do now is put them in the bullwink.gif"

Click, click, click:

IMG_0156.jpg

:):):) Thanks DM

Dwighet : "Very nice group fish......All you have to do now is put them in the bullwink.gif"

Click, click, click:

IMG_0156.jpg

:):):) Thanks DM
    Aye....This next shoot is going to be VERY INTERESTING.... Were all getting serious:cool::cool:

Again these were with 40 grs Imight switch to 55grs if we're going past 200.

What you reckon Dwighet?

can be pretty windy out on the windmill range.

Again these were with 40 grs Imight switch to 55grs if we're going past 200.

What you reckon Dwighet?

can be pretty windy out on the windmill range.

Personally I think there is very little diff between the 40s and 55 in wind drift..The 40grainers make up for it in speed.... down load this software and do a comparison between the two http://www.remington.com/products/ammunition/ballistics/remington_shoot_ballistics_software.asp

The last day, CJ was using the 55's and I was on the 40's, same rifles and same rounds except for weights.
    CJ could hold point of aim and be on bull where as I was aiming 2" high and 2 1/2" left to allow for wind and I was still being blown about a bit.
    And that was only 200.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭clivej

dwighet wrote: »
    Aye....This next shoot is going to be VERY INTERESTING.... Were all getting serious:cool::cool:

:p:p:p FS ----I have a biro that can do those groups :p:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Nice group FS :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭gentleman jim

thanks bs, thats grand to know!
    can't wait to get down to the shoot now! its okay i've a thick neck when it comes to slaggin! im sure i'll need it after the shoot

**** BUMP ****

Two weeks to go :cool:

Anyone here going to the shoot?

I'll defo be there :p

I`ll be there..
    What day is it?

I`ll be there..
    What day is it?

Sunday, May 17, 10am ;) (mixed up me dates :()

I better get some practice in then..looking forward to it

Looking at your previous score you won't need much :P;)

I think that was more ass than class.....I dare say yourself will be a contender now you have a shooter with a bit of weight it... No disrespect to your 17 intended there..

17 Rem is a great calibre and I was sorry to see it go tbh BUT I needed something with more legs in the wind. There was a bit of jibing here between the calibres but to be fair the results on the day more or less showed that it is more down to the individuals ability than their calibre especially in the format the competition was shot IMHO ;)

Really wanted a 204 Ruger but couldn't find anything at the right price. However I will be keeping my ear to the ground.

The 220 Swift is a great round for foxes. Although the Remmy VSSF is a bit heavy, I would have rathered the Ruger 77 MK2, but alas none to be found around here.

It's all on the day and from what I saw the last day and looking at the scores there wasn't too much between any of us.

There was a relaxed atmosphere and a bit of banter which is more important than winning IMO. Too many competitions I have attended are very straight laced affairs and the majority of people loose interest as it gets too competitive. I am looking forward to a bit of shooting, a bit of craic and making friends with like minded individuals tbh and to beat my mate would be a bonus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭gentleman jim

yeah lads i'll be there. really looking forward to it. it will be my first shoot:onot expecting much,just lots of craic. maybe some tips:D!! i have the tikka 223 stainless barrell with the 1 and 8 twist. any advice on how that rifle shoots on range?

Just tell someone that you're new to ranges and you will be "educated" ;) Don't try to bluff it. Not much to it really just a few BASIC rules ;)

As for tips all the lads I know who shoot there are only TOO willing to offer help and tips all you gotta do is ask ;)

Tikka's are very good rifles.

Craic, well after last one it should be mighty :) Clive's dancing and underwear will be topic of some banter I reckon :) not to mention his latest foray into movies :)

Lads i was down at the range today with my 7mm08 doing some testing for the deer season and old Clive was next to me shooting pea size groups all day with his 223... was a sight to see...But dont tell him I said that!!!!!

Dont ya hate when you help Educate someone and they end up shooting better than yourself:rolleyes:

But like you say Bunny Shooter..."its all up to the day"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Should be down for the VCRAI shoot and may well give this a crack while I'm at it. Should be a laugh.

Should be a laugh!!!!!! Its WAR..... The race face will be on sunday the 17th;);)

Well we'll see what happens anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭clivej

Just tell someone that you're new to ranges and you will be "educated" ;) Don't try to bluff it. Not much to it really just a few BASIC rules ;0

As for tips all the lads I know who shoot there are only TOO willing to offer help and tips all you gotta do is ask ;)

Tikka's are very good rifles.

Craic, well after last one it should be mighty :) Clive's dancing and underwear will be topic of some banter I reckon :) not to mention his latest foray into movies :)

How come I seem to have ended up with Dwighet's pink boxer's on this forum, see how as I started the rumer it all gets shifted over on to me. :mad:

Lads i was down at the range today with my 7mm08 doing some testing for the deer season and old Clive was next to me shooting pea size groups all day with his 223... was a sight to see...But dont tell him I said that!!!!!
    Dont ya hate when you help Educate someone and they end up shooting better than yourself:rolleyes:
    But like you say Bunny Shooter..."its all up to the day"

That's because your a good teacher, you nursed me along too well.

But then you did use me as a pack mule up the mountains in Kerry. ;)

And now I'm getting in shape for the trek again in September :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭pajero2005

Is there any chance of bringing a .22 magnum or is it strictly for cal's listed at top of thread?

pajero2005 wrote: »
    Is there any chance of bringing a .22 magnum or is it strictly for cal's listed at top of thread?

Now I ain't gonna tell ya not to but the format the last day had us out at 200 yards and this might be a bit far for magnum :(

BUT the shoot advertised as a "deer calibre" shoot ended up with 22lr's in it :eek:

There is a chance of prisoners being taken in a WAR :D

This is more than WAR :)

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh mum's the word :D

Ya, his "I ain't much good" won't wash this time :P

Now I ain't gonna tell ya not to but the format the last day had us out at 200 yards and this might be a bit far for magnum :(

The shoot advertised as a "deer calibre" shoot ended up with 22lr's in it :eek:
    Fair point:(
    I might take a spin up for a look and see if I can get any ideas for my next purchase.

Fair point:(
    I might take a spin up for a look and see if I can get any ideas for my next purchase.

:cool:

Next Sunday now lads ;)

Not too late for some late practice :D

Ive been off the beer for 2 weeks,drinking raw eggs each morning,listening to "eye of the tiger" and will be refraining from sex for this week........

"bring it on"

do you think my mates 17hmr will be allowed to enter?

Ive been off the beer for 2 weeks,drinking raw eggs each morning,listening to "eye of the tiger" and will be refraining from sex for this week........

"bring it on"

Nice to see your not taking it too seriously :D

do you think my mates 17hmr will be allowed to enter?

Was asked about a 22 magnum and I answered

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60091294&postcount=179

He could turn up and see what happens ;)

Ah man now im up in a heap again!! Mad to get out the magnum, but dont want to be laughed out the gate:o

.............but dont want to be laughed out the gate:o

I reckon I can safely say this would not happen. And if it did I reckon the culprit/s would be 'educated' fairly quickly that everyone, including them, had to start somewhere ;)

I'd agree with Bunny that would not happen, we might end up laughing at Dwighet (up wind) when all those raw eggs kick in!!:eek:

I think bring what you have and give it a lash you can only learn from the experience and possible educate a few others.

I'd agree with Bunny that would not happen, we might end up laughing at Dwighet (up wind) when all those raw eggs kick in!!:eek:

I think bring what you have and give it a lash you can only learn from the experience and possible educate a few others.

Fish.....Those pink frillies I will be wearing are scent loc......All good to go mate!!!!!:D:D

Cheers lads, I appreciate the encouragement! Hopefully see ye there Sunday. :D

Fish.....Those pink frillies I will be wearing are scent loc......All good to go mate!!!!!:D:D

But are they leak proof???:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭devil dog

Hi their bunny;)

Whats the course of events on the day:rolleyes:

will it be 100,200,300:p

or 100,200:p

or all at 100:o

Just like when you go foxing, you never know what range or where it'll pop up or whats going to happen.

There was also no "sighters" at the last Fox shoot so you take the target as you get it, a true test to call the wind with your first shot , I love it:D

Just like when you go foxing, you never know what range or where it'll pop up or whats going to happen.

There was also no "sighters" at the last Fox shoot so you take the target as you get it, a true test to call the wind with your first shot , I love it:D

Maybe i'll get a little more practice before I go to one of those............:o

Pajero, don't be put off, it not that hard if I can shoot in it and manage to hit the target then anyone is in with a chance, Trust me it well worth a go!!

devil dog wrote: »
    Hi their bunny;)

Whats the course of events on the day:rolleyes:

will it be 100,200,300:p

or 100,200:p

or all at 100:o

As FS said who knows all depends on the day, same as foxing ;)

The two spot prizes I have secured for Comp

Spot Prize 1 is sponsored by Sean, at Stakelums, Thurles
    Spot Prize 2 is sponsored by Tom, at Casale 2000 Ltd, Cashel

Nice, wouldn't mind a chunk of spot prize two. May have to see about this now...