Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Various .22 bullets

Options
  • 06-03-2009 11:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

Apologies if this has been asked before so feel free to redirect me. Recently back in the shooting game after a few years absence. Was mainly a shotgun (pheasent, duck) man with the .22 for the odd rabbit in the summer. Have been fascinated by all the material in past threads by various people describing the ballistics of the .22. Its an area I've no knowledge of. My experience of buying ammo was 'a box of low velocity bullets please' :)

Could anyone give me a rundown of the options open to me for various bullets and their advantages? Hollow point, ballistic tip, etc. I understand the high/low velocity concept (I think :confused:) Also not sure if we are allowed mention commercial brands on boards but if so which is the best?!:)

Presently shoot with a .22 Brno Farmer with a fairly decent Tasco sights. Rabbits/ carrion will be the main quarry with the lamping session during lambing!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

try cci velocitors.
    loaded with a speer gold dot hp.
    they reckon there is 30% more energy that any other .22 bullet

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Alzir

dem are a good bullet alright.
    or cci stingers.

hollow point will expand on impact with soft tissue and create a larger wound cavity.
    are also more safer as they break up on impact with hard surfaces, less likely to ricoshea

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields