Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAQ: Unlocking, Jailbreak, Cydia, etc - All discussion goes here

• Registered Users Posts: 42 karljd

Lovephones wrote: »
    Have a 3gs locked to o2 on ios 5.0 modem firmware 05.16.05, can anyone tell me how to unlock ? Ive seen lots of adds that guarantee an unlock for 25 dollars but want to know if they are legit before buying , need a solution asap, any help appreciated
    Its not unlockable at the moment,them sites are not legit. http://jailbreak-me.info/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭naasrd

sandt wrote: »
    Ok thanks, do you know a reputable dealer, and what is the process?

Sorry, im a bit new to this! :confused:

You'll pick one up on adverts.ie and can collect it right away from some sellers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

Just got an apple tv2 for xmas on 4.4! Wondering if you could point me in the right direction in how to jailbreak it? Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭massy086

http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-jailbreak-apple-tv-4.4.3-with-seas0npass-guide/ not the easy,st jailbreak but once its done its great i love my atv2

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭massy086

sandt wrote: »

Can anyone tell me if an iphone 4 on FW 4.3.2(8H7) and running baseband 04.10.01 can be unlocked. I think its already Jailbroken because it has cydia on it, Just got it from America and need it unlocked ASAP i.e. Tonight!!!!

thanks......

dont update any thing wat ever u do

biko wrote: »
    Mine remains unlocked no matter what I do - like it should after a proper unlock.

Odd that it needed an original sim, naasrd, an unlock shouldn't care about that.

I'd say it's sorted out now, but it was hell at the time. Seemed to be iOS 5 related only.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3374259?start=0&tstart=0

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Ajfunky

Hi There guys,

First to the jailbreaking side of boards after the recent acquisition of a new ipod touch! Just going about (hopefully) jailbreaking it and trying to do the necessary research. Was gonna go about getting the redsnow firmware for 5.0.1, but was wondering should i simply wait for the untethered frimware? or will it be simple as to upgrade once it comes out?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

massy086 wrote: »
    http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-jailbreak-apple-tv-4.4.3-with-seas0npass-guide/ not the easy,st jailbreak but once its done its great i love my atv2

Cheers...pretty sure I've gotten it jailbroken. I see the seasonpass logo on my appletv homescreen....does that mean it is jailbroken??

I have been tearing my hair out though trying to install certain add ons. When I go to ssh and enter the commands I get

Malformed line 1 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list.d/swkwardtv.list (dist)

I dont know where to go from here!!!!?????:confused:

any suggestions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Cameron Poe

Just got an ipad 2 running iOS 5. Can I jailbreak it?

Sorry if this has been answered but I couldn't find it in a search.

Cheers

Just got an ipad 2 running iOS 5. Can I jailbreak it?

Sorry if this has been answered but I couldn't find it in a search.

Cheers

Not yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Tefral

naasrd wrote: »
    Not yet.

Due any day no by all accounts

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭14murphy

I know its not exactly topic but dont wanna start another thread. Purchased 4s unlocked from apple. With Meteor can receive facetime but cant make outward Factime calls. Any ideas ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭fox007

Update!!!!

5.0.1 untethered jailbreak for non a5 devices is out !!!!

Go get it here http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

The untethered jailbreak been released for iphone 4, and the 3gs.

That for iphone 4s will be released hopefully soon.

Here are the links for both windows and mac computers.

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=18989

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=18991

A good way to celebrate the new year and Christmas interestingly a jailbreak was also released last year, i'm not sure but i think it was on ios4.2.1 it was definitely a greenpoison jailbreak.

enjoy the jailbreak lads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭carrotcake

I don't see anything about an unlock. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

carrotcake wrote: »

sorry i meant untethered jailbreak.

carrotcake wrote: »

sorry i meant untethered jailbreak.

Have a read on the bottom here http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sound, I'll wait a while for people to report any issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭themacdaddy

only works for Non A5 devices running 5.01...doesn't work on 5.0

• Registered Users Posts: 10,006 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

only works for Non A5 devices running 5.01...doesn't work on 5.0
    I'll let yiz know. Just updating to 5.01 now. Herrrreeeee 'goes :)

Iclarified link to Redsn0w download is maxed out at the mo. Everybody in on the act it would appear :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Haven't got time today cause I'll have backup and update to 5.0.1 before jail breaking. If anyone tries it let us know how ye get on.

At last i'll be able to turn my iPhone off ! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,209 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

fox007 wrote: »
    Update!!!!

What does non a5 device mean?

Want to put it on my iphone4 and iPad 2.

Anyone try this yet? Will be tomorrow before I can do it but looking forward to getting my paws on it!

fox007 wrote: »
    Update!!!!

What does non a5 device mean?

Want to put it on my iphone4 and iPad 2.

Anyone try this yet? Will be tomorrow before I can do it but looking forward to getting my paws on it!

IPhone 4s and iPad 2 both have the A5 chip this is not jailbreak able
    Yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

I've just untethered my iphone4 5.0.1 using the cydia download Corona and worked a treat

What is Corona Cathal?

Just did it on my iPad 1. Job done in 10 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Will it work on ipod 2g ?

Also how do you best backup your cydia apps and non app store apps, any ideas or experience to share ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

im dying to jailbreak my phone and ipad but need to sort this fecking itunes 3194 error out first....

anyone got a guide on how to sort it?

i have an ipad on 4.3 and an iphone on 5.0,both are throwing back 3194 errors when trying to restore/update.

naasrd wrote: »
    What is Corona Cathal?

Its a package on cydia which allows tethered to become untethered. More on it here

http://www.iphonehacks.com/2011/12/how-to-convert-your-tethered-ios-5-0-1-jailbreak-to-untethered-jailbreak-using-corona-untether.html